X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
3157 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Best Hostel Ever!


74%

The hostel is a kind of old but the location is great, it near Gion and restaurant. There is a living room in the fourth floor which is very comfortable, also with the kitchen room and facilities.


94%

Excellent. Staff very helpful


80%

Good and nice guesthouse. Very strategic and spacious.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

nice hostel with all the essentials -- wifi, lockers, hot showers, etc. clean rooms and bathrooms. common area is nice, but since it's big and spread out, ppl tend to form small cliques or stick with their own group. so the atmosphere was not very social. would maybe suggest more hostel events? however, location is awesome and that made up for a lot. close to public transport and walking distance to some great temples. I'd stay here again.


100%

Friendly staff and atmosphere. They speak English very well. Everything was great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, this is Khaosan Kyoto Guesthouse. Thank you for staying and reviewing our hostel !! We are really happy that your review is the best score. We will keep working hard :) Please come back here anytime !!

86%

Laundry area close too early. Normally traveller will be back to hotel at night time. But lauandry close at 9pm is too early for those gravelly back late.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

I really liked he Hostel, the staff were so friendly and accommodating. If I ever wanted any tips such as where to go for food or planning a day itinerary, they were very knowledgeable. The only thing was there were very few showers, especially for females which made waiting very difficult. Otherwise I would definitely recommend to anyone wanting an excellent base to travel around Kyoto.

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Hostel cleaned and confortable with a nice common space for relaxing, cooking and eating! Excelent position from the main shop avenue! Really appreciated!

  • 29th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The hostel is very clean, rooms not too small compared with "normal" room size in Japan. Staff is very friendly.


86%

Great location! Gion was within walking distance and the hostel is very close to numerous trains that will take you everywhere in Kyoto. And very nice for the price! The dorms were comfortable and spacious. They had free lockers and rental towels for anyone who needed them. The lounge was comfortable and get low key. Would definitely stay here again!


97%

We stayed 2 nights in a twin bunk room. Everything was clean and pretty comfortable. The lounge/kitchen area on the top floor is a nice place to hang out after a day in Kyoto. Definitely recommended.


80%

Firstly, sorry for late feedback; good location, nice staff; suggest to have extra hook in the washroom; also request the visitors to keep quiet after 11:00pm

  • 21st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


57%

- 10 domitory room were scattered by guest's baggs. - The lounge sofa and TV were occupied for long hours by young guests or staff(I don't know true or not), and they were chattering with loud voice.


66%

We stayed on 1/F floor, room E, the carpet is rather dirty, the room is too small.

  • 17th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

The staff are friendly and helpful. Maps and suggested itinerary are available at the counter. Location of the hostel is close to Gion area and very accessible by either bus or train. Only downside will be the size of the room.

  • 15th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

As I had booked late the only available bed was within a 10 bed mixed dorm which wasn't one of the most pleasant experiences as there is very little space for luggage. There also weren't any windows in my dorm so it was always dark. But the staff are very friendly and the common room is very spacious and comfortable! I loved all the free weekly programs hosted by the hostel and the free walking tours around the district by the local students. :)


91%

All good but no smoking anywhere on premises not even rooftop. Should be mentioned on website as I would have chosen elsewhere.


71%

Pro: location, clean bathroom and space in lounge floor. Cons: a room is very small, not enough light &outlet, and we had to make our beds. There' re only 2 sets of washer and dryer machine, it can be use on 9am-9pm, located on a small balcony outside kitchen, a door to balcony will be locked at 9pm so you better start your laundry before 7pm. Don't use pay phone on reception desk, staff said 10 y:30 sec, I paid 400 y but last 1.30 min, couldn't complete my conversation and staffs didn't care

  • 10th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Well located hostel with friendly staff


(80 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback