X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
2949 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 84%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Location is very convenient. Place is clean. Roomates are nice Staff so friendly

  • 20th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Very good hostel for backpapers !!! Staff very freindly and big commun room to socialize with others travellers. I spent one night in a dormitory very clean, like the bathroom what is enought big and very clean too. Amazing location in Tokyo downtown, easy to take buses. Just one thing coul be best, a breafast (even if you can put food in a fridge and, but coffe and tea are available for free !


91%

Nice and great stay we had in Kyoto. Great Location!

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Was there for one night and everything was great.


100%

Excellent all around. Right in the middle of the city and close to buses and train stations/subways. Would stay again.


100%

i've no complain to this hostel,two thumbs.


100%

Excellent location, comfy and clean place and very nice and friendly staff, everything as usually in Khaosan hostels. Keep going !


89%

Great location & friendly staff


100%

It's quite clean, convenient, friendly and affordable. Greatly recommend!

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Great staff and location. Staff were always ready to help. I gave a 5 rating because the staff at their other location were much more fun and welcoming, but staff at both locations were awesome. I highly recommend khaosan hostel if you want to party with travelers, guest house if you want a nice place to relax. The location for the Guest house and the hostel couldn't be better.

  • 13th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Little room with a window facing a wall.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


91%

Clean and Funny when you stay here... I love Khaosan Kyoto Guest House.

  • 10th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

I only stayed here 1 night - beds were at a premium in Kyoto! I would aim to stay the other side of the city, in Gion if possible. Staff friendly enough and there are some organised activities. People in my room nice too.


89%

This hostel is a very good option in Kyoto, as it has a great location: very easy to reach from the train station and walking distance to many touristic sights and night life. The room was very clean, the shared toilets and showers were not always super clean, depending if you are arriving right after the cleaning shift. Suggestion: to add more cleaning shifts when there are a lot of guests. The staff were nice and avaiable to give tips on where to go etc. Excellent value for Japan standards.

  • 8th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Awesome stay with Khaosan Kyoto Guest House! It's a pity that we only managed to book a night stay due to the guest house's high demand and peak season. The guest house is well located and the room and toilet are super clean and well maintained! Highly recommended to all travellers :D


80%

Clean and good lovation

  • 7th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

The only complaint here is that there was one toilet and one shower for two rooms with six people in each. Otherwise the beds were comfortable, the room had small lockers in for valuables. The common room upstairs was lively, the reception was large and used as another common room so there was a place to escape to if required. The location was bang in the middle of town and had 24 hour convenience stores located nearby.


100%

Nice place to stay!!!


89%

very valueble choice. just a few steps down KAWAHARA CHO and near Gion area, it's very convinent for sightseeing, shopping or dinning. The facilities are simple and clean and the price is very reasonable.


97%

Great location, wonderful and helpful staff, clean and spacious rooms. The only backdrops were that the washrooms and the lounge tended to be overcrowded while we were there and the Wifi did not work in our room. Still, we had a really good time and you will hardly get better value for your money.


(129 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback