X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2234 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 96%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Staffs are friendly, location is very great


54%

+ Good location, near public transport and interesting areas in the city. Cleanliness and service level feels average for Japanese hostels. - Dark, dull dorm. Very crowded, not very clean kitchen. - There was a boring feeling about the place. We came from a small hostel in Hiroshima that had a far warmer and more welcoming atmosphere.


100%

Probably the nicest and cleanest hostel I've ever stayed in. Great job!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


94%

A nice hostel, but much too big for my taste. Really comfortable though and feels more as if you are staying in a hotel than a hostel. Can't really fault it, I just prefer the smaller family run hostels.


94%

Kyoto is so gorgeous and this hostel was an awesome base. Great staff, great lounge to relax in, great level of cleanliness, great security. Really good location just a few minutes from the Main Street and walking distance to Gion. Would definitely recommend.


66%

I just staying there for 1 night only. But for what I see, this place is quite good....near the subway.

  • 22nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Hostel was awesome! The staff and people were real fun, friendly and helpful. Bed was comfortable & facilities provided were sufficiently comfortable.


100%

Clean , tidy, centric and a great staff. It has too a lot of social activities. Very convenient specially for people who travel alone around Japan. One of the best guesthouses where I had been!!!

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Great facility - very convenient, clean accommodations, and friendly staff. This is a good sized hostel, with many visitors. I was able to meet up with similarly interested travelers and have a great experience hanging out.


100%

The best!

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

One of the cleanest hostels I've ever stayed in. Even the communal areas were spotless. The beds were really comfortable and the rooms were decorated nicely. Central location near to several cafes, restaurants and shops.


89%

good place

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The place was clean, though there's only one shower on the 3rd floor. Staffs were real friendly. The dorm bed has curtain for privacy. But the wifi signal was bad on the 3rd floor, you would need to go down to use the wifi.


97%

Was a little worried about leaving our bags in the cupboard as we didn't need to attach labels, but there was always someone on the desk (as far as we know) and they were there on our return. The room was great and shower facilities lovely. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, very clean, helpful staff. Highly recomended


100%

Best place I stayed in during my 5 month visit to Japan.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in a private bunk bed room and was very pleased with the cleanliness of the place. Shared bathrooms were very clean, as were the showers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is conveniently located near a major shopping district. The hostel has plenty of maps and suggestions for sightseeing.


91%

I was surprised that the beds in the dorm were better then the ones in the double rooms, they were bigger with more room on both levels which made them confortable. Plan to book dorm with my friends next time round.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

There were people on the check-in desk at all times although it wouldn't be hard for people not staying at the hostel to come in. Top location: also close to Gion and Ponto Cho. Nice staff. Nice people too although as a single traveller the communal area wasn't exactly buzzing but maybe that's just Japan.


80%

Will go to japan again and would love to stay in Khaosan Kyoto Guest House again and again :)

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


(174 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback