X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2248 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

good place

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

The place was clean, though there's only one shower on the 3rd floor. Staffs were real friendly. The dorm bed has curtain for privacy. But the wifi signal was bad on the 3rd floor, you would need to go down to use the wifi.


97%

Was a little worried about leaving our bags in the cupboard as we didn't need to attach labels, but there was always someone on the desk (as far as we know) and they were there on our return. The room was great and shower facilities lovely. Staff were very helpful and friendly.

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, very clean, helpful staff. Highly recomended


100%

Best place I stayed in during my 5 month visit to Japan.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Stayed in a private bunk bed room and was very pleased with the cleanliness of the place. Shared bathrooms were very clean, as were the showers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The hostel is conveniently located near a major shopping district. The hostel has plenty of maps and suggestions for sightseeing.


91%

I was surprised that the beds in the dorm were better then the ones in the double rooms, they were bigger with more room on both levels which made them confortable. Plan to book dorm with my friends next time round.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

There were people on the check-in desk at all times although it wouldn't be hard for people not staying at the hostel to come in. Top location: also close to Gion and Ponto Cho. Nice staff. Nice people too although as a single traveller the communal area wasn't exactly buzzing but maybe that's just Japan.


80%

Will go to japan again and would love to stay in Khaosan Kyoto Guest House again and again :)

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great place, great atmosphere, friendly people. The internet wasn't the best at some points during the day, but we didn't go to Japan to check facebook?

  • 12th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

very nice. Very Clean. Very professional staff. well located. I recommend this hostel in Kyoto.


97%

I stayed in Khaosan for 2 nights during my time in Kyoto and only have positive things to say! The facilities and location are outstanding, minutes walk from popular areas like Gion and Nishiki and even less from a subway line that links to Kyoto Station. There is nowhere in Kyoto you can't go from this hostel! My only recommendation would be to check the wifi - I seemed to only get it on the first floor - and invest in some softer pillows. Other than that, 10/10 would recommend!


100%

The staff was hands down the friendliest and nicest hostel staff I've ever met! Everyone there was so genuinely cheerful and so eager to help make my stay in Kyoto as fun and comfortable as possible. Thanks so much for a great visit! I'll definitely be back the next time I'm in Kyoto. ^_^


74%

I like to stay in Khaosan Kyoto. The location is near to the bus stop and also to the laundry :-) Hope will come back again there :-)


83%

good location for sight-seeing and shopping. but room is tooo small.....

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and clean hostel. Good location near the Geisha district and everything. Atmosphere in the common room could be better though. Not much talking or socializing there. There were a lot of families/older people there hanging around during my visit. I stayed in Kyoto too long (6 days) 4 days is more then enough. Best way to go around Kyoto is by bike. I REALLY recommend getting one!


100%

We have enjoy our stay here. I will recommend this accommodation to anyone whom visit Kyoto. I will stay here again when I visit Kyoto :D

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

handy location. cozy hostel. nothing to complain about. would stay there again. good wifi.


91%

Staffs are very helpful

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Lovely ghesthouse. Staff was really nice and helpful and the location couldn't be better! You are right in the heart of the city, with Gion just across the bridge. The street is really quiet at night. The rooms are a bit small but this is something we already expected. I would totally recommend it!


(179 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback