X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Khaosan Kyoto Guest House Reviews

568 Nakanocho, Bukkoji-agaru, Teramachi-dori, Shimogyo Ward, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

91%

Rating
2258 Total Reviews
  • 91%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Excellent place. Would stay here again and again!!


100%

Well located, clean hostel with helpful staff and a spacious common room


94%

I was staying in a 10 person mixed dormitory. Overall it is value for money despite a bit noisy due to the late night return of others.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

The location is just superb, really close to all the local attractions and bus stops. The bus passes were great and I'm glad you sell them. The information on the kitchen wall is sometimes wrong, for example it says that this bus goes from this stop, but then you get to the bus stop and there is no bus like that, so check that kind of info yourselves. The cleaning of the bathroom takes a long time and sometimes all the bathrooms on all the floors are not available.

  • 23rd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

We booked a Basic Twin Private shared bathroom and got a big surprise when we opened the door to the room. It was small. There was a bunk bed in the a room with barely enough space for our two small bags. There was a small window with very limited opening. Luckily we aren't claustrophobic. The kitchen / common room was good as was the bathroom facilities. Reception staff were friendly and helpful.

  • 22nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

This is a great hostel right in the hub of a busy shopping area and within easy walking distance from Gion. The rooms are great and the mattresses are really comfortable. I'd definitely stay here again.


100%

no comment at all. im very satisfied with the place. its so clean and so comfortable.


86%

Booked a private bedroom with a double bed for a night. The room itself is very nice for a hostel (not very big because hey it's still a hostel, but the interior and bed were great), the bathroom facilities are clean and the shower spaces are surprisingly large. There is a separate storage area for temporarily keeping luggage, so you are free to explore the area on the day of checking out before moving on traveling.

  • 20th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Wonderful and helpful reception. Nice kitchen facilities. Easy after hours access. Room had character. Not noisy at all even though hostel was full. Take a nice 530 am walk and attend morning prayers at Honnoji temple close by.


97%

The location is really excellent at this hostel, you can't really stay more central than this. The staff is very friendly and helpful and even though the rooms are very small, it's enough. We stayed two nights at a private room, and one night at the women's dorm. A plus at the dorm is that you have curtains for your beds that you can shut when your sleeping. Would definitely stay here again!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is great! Very good location, clean and staff are very helpful as well. If I ever get a chance to go back to Kyoto I will definitely try to stay at this hostel again!

  • 19th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The location is very good, just 10 minutes walk to Nishiki Market, around 20 minutes to Gion. Rooms - even though some could find them small (i.e. 10bed dorm) - are very cosy so you're still have a privacy. Like every place in Japan I've stayed - it's very clean and had a lot of facilities.


71%

the place is wonderful, my favrioute part was the common area on level 4 however I only discovered it late. had the best feeling to it. bed room was good. not enough showers though and THE STAFF ARE OUTRAGOUS!!! In particular one woman with extremely short hair that looks tired all the time - watch out! don't greet you when you this woman sighed every time I asked her a simple quesion and pretty well always said look it up yourself that's after blankly staring for a few min.


77%

the location is ok, close to the central bus station. bed is ok, but if hooks can be set, it will be easier for me to tidy up the stuff! staff are nice that they will answer very questions in detail that people ask. they provide map and access way to different landmarks in kyoto. like!


100%

Totally good But i felt the room is small

  • 18th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Japan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Khaosan Kyoto has a perfect location in Kyoto and the staff is very nice. It's just a pity some guests are not respectul of others and shout loud at night and do not take care of everybody's bathroom...


71%

Really bad atmosphère and staff is not welcoming but really good location.


100%

This is a great hostel with a very kind staff and incredible atmosphere. I made great friends in here. Highly recommended.


100%

I really liked this Khaosan probably number one of all the ones I stayed at. The beds were comfortable, so even though I was in a 10 bed dorm, I could still sleep. The location was also really easy, and pretty easy to find as well. Lots of good places around, like convenience stores, etc, plus it's easy to get to the station from there.


89%

The private double room we stayed in was a bit depressing/dark and may need some refurbishing, but the bed was comfortable enough and the staff and facilities were great! Good value for money.

  • 10th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


(185 results)


View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback