Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Lantana Lodge International Backpackers

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 569 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 569 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.3
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.3
Lantana Lodge International Backpackers Located at 60 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell, Auckland.
Lantana Lodge International Backpackers
New Zealand
Auckland 60 St Georges Bay Road, Parnell
75% 569
-36.8541965 174.7826528
Lantana Lodge International Backpackers
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Nov 2016
8.0

This hostel was fine. Fast and free unlimited wifi is a plus, beds were comfortable and they have private lockers (you need to bring your own lock). My room smelled a bit funky but I think that was more due to the long-term guests who were staying there than the hostel itself. Location is okay, it's about a half hour walk to the main CBD/harbour but Parnell is a nice area. Overall the hostel gave me what I needed, can't complain.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Nov 2016
9.4

It is a great place to stay. Nancy is the manager, she is nice and helpful, wonderful recommendations me to go to island called Waihekee.There beautiful wineries and beaches. I will definitely stay there again when I stay in Auckland. Nice and clean and comfy.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Nov 2016
6.0

So, have you ever seen the comedy Fawlty Towers, imagine that, but in a hostel in Auckland. Basil Fawlty is an Indian woman, who extually sleeps on the couch in the living room beween 13:00 and 16:00 because reception is closed than. If you by any chance are watching a movie there, she'll ask to put the volume down. Or she'll walk into your room in the morning while everybody is asleep, turn on the light, have a look and leave with light on and door open. Strange strange hostel (manager).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
1st Nov 2016
7.4

Nice staff and pretty house, but far away from the downtown

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Oct 2016
8.0

Really good atmosphere

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Oct 2016
8.3

I had a private room here but still got to speak to people in the lounge. Kitchen was spotless and lots of equipment and fridge space. Lounge was very homely and comfortable. Nice bathroom too but reception staff are sometimes hard to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • brittany_r_kramer4451
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Oct 2016
4.3

Needs a lot of updates. The private rooms were not worth the price. The duvet covers need to be washed more as they all smelled. The bathrooms need a good cleaning and changing/washing the shower curtains would help. The kitchen is very small and some of the appliances don't work properly. We were freezing in our room and noticed every other room had a heater. We asked for a heater or extra blankets and didn't get either.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Oct 2016
8.6

The room was clean and coasy. It's close enough to the centre and the price is ok-ish. The only complaint I have are the doors (of every room).. they're so awfully loud, either people should start closing them a bit more nicely and silently or fix them somehow, it woke me up quite a few times. Overall a great hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Sep 2016
5.4

Nice Indian guy, but not very helpful female staff. Kitchen too small, no hand baisins in or near the downstairs loos, downstairs bathrooms very grotty with peeling paint on ceiling. Parking difficult. Have to walk right past the smokers to get in and out of the front door. Overall could have been much nicer but feels run down and a bit grotty. Our lap top didn't connect to their wi-fi and they couldn't help but said it's a common problem. Generally a bit disappointing. Better value elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Sep 2016
7.4

Lantana lodge is clean, but a bit tatty. Located in Parnell it's close to the city center but it's a long walk or a steep climb up to the local shops. The kitchen could do with some new equipment. Pots, pans, cups, plates, cutlery, just about everything came straight out of the charity shop, mostly clean but battered, and not enough pieces. La Cigale weekend market is a 30 second stroll from the front door. I enjoyed my stay and would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.