Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3,413 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
MEININGER Amsterdam City West Located at Orlyplein 1-67, , Amsterdam.
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1043 Orlyplein 1-67
87% 3413
52.3901110 4.8366665
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Nice Hotel! It is clean, comfortable, and safe. The hostel is 20 minutes by bus away from the city center, but the bus station is just outside the building. In my opinion that was the only inconvenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Jan 2017
10.0

My first ever hostel experience and I loved it! It's close to a major train, tram and bus hub. The staff was extremely helpful. I'd recommend this for solo female travelers and backpackers. Awesome crash pad!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are very pleased to read this great review It brings great pleasure to our team that we've made your experience at The Meininger Hotel enjoyable! Hope to see you in the near future Kind Regards, Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
9.4

I thought this was a great place to stay. My 3 friends and I booked beds for a 7 bed mixed room, but instead we got a 4 bed suite without any additional charge which I thought was great service. This hostel is located right beside the train station which was extremely convenient. They had a great luggage storing service, the staff were all super friendly! Overall had an amazing experience

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your pleasant review. We are always so glad to read that we have helped to enhance our guest's holiday. We look forward to seeing you again for more smiles and good service. -Meininger Hotel, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
12th Jan 2017
7.7

We booked a dorm but were upgraded to a private room which was a lovely surprise! It had a great kitchen area, with cheap laundry facilities. Also very close to supermarket and right next to the station. Only downside is how far it is from Amsterdam central, however trains are quick and come regularly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback regarding our hotel. We are happy that you were able to make use of our brand new facilities. Being located so close to the transport hub of Sloterdijk Station, we have easy access to all parts of the city while still being far enough away from the center to relax. We hope you're able to travel back to one of our many Meininger Hotels and experience another piece of Europe. Happy travels! -Meininger Hotel, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jan 2017
9.1

Really good hostel, the staff where very friendly. They facilitated a group of us who had not booked together as best they could. Kitchen facilities where of a high standard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are very happy that you had your expectations met here at our facility. Wherever possible we do strive to help our guests have the a good time; and we are glad that we were able to assist you in putting your reservations together. We hope to see you another time in the future to again be a comfortable base for you explore Europe's vibrant cities. All the best. -Meininger Hotel, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Jan 2017
7.4

perv place. Last night two new guys south american came to the room-shared dorm One of them chose the bed next to a girls feet And at night she was like: what are u doing?!?! And the small guy said. Oh, no nothing. Dont WORRY And it seems like he was sitting next to her feet she left and next day. Next morning at 7am: I felt my blanket move and it was so weird And then i felt someone touch my foot!!! i got scared. i got up to see the small guy sitting on the floor "playing on his phone''ETC.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your comment - as you reported to us the next morning we took immediate action and had both persons removed from our hotel for your security. Unfortunate that this happened to you but please kindly understand that it is out of our reach to actually look into ones mind at check in, so we think it is a bit unfair to call our hotel a perv place. But of course we do not take your comment as a review of the hotel as you left us an awesome rating on all hotel related aspects and last but not least we are very happy that we were able to help you with the mentioned situation! All the best from Amsterdam Your Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

i will definitely come back here !!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We are not sure why you love us, but thank you for your concise and sweet review! We look forward to an equally nice trip for you next time at Meininger. -Meininger Hotel, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jan 2017
7.7

Upon arriving, the staff was helpful in checking me in and showing me to my room. Upon getting to my room, the room look fairly updated up but when I looked on my bed, there was a wad of hair on my pillow and stray hairs on the sheets. I saw house keeping in the hall and they changed my whole bed set promptly. Other than that, it was a pretty good hotel! Convenient to the train station!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you found our staff helpful on botht the reception and housekeeping level. As always we apologize for any small imperfection that may occur. And over all we are happy that we could make a comfortable base in which to explore our amazing city of Amsterdam. We look forward to seeing you again at one of our many Meininger hotels strewn across Europe. -Meininger Hotel, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
6th Jan 2017
9.4

Light went off for an hour an a half, and staff was extremely patient and kind with us. I had payed for a bed in a 7 bed dorm, and because of the light problem they changed me to a private room because they didn't wanted me to waste more time preparing my bed in the dorm. Excellent service and remarkable attitude from the staff. For me location was excellent because I spent all day on the city and left next day to the airport.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for providing us a well detailed review of your experience and for highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable. Your compliments are really encouraging us to keep delivering genuine hospitality both in products and services to our guests. Rest assured that your kind compliments will be shared to the entire team. It is such a pleasure to know that we can contribute to make your stay a great experience. Hope to see you again! Meininger Team

3rd Jan 2017
7.1

The beds are comfortable the security for dorm style is poor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We appreciate the time you took to write your review and we'll definitely take your feedback in order to improve our services. Hope to see you soon! Meininger Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.