Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3599 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.6
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
23rd Mar 2017
6.0

So I got to the Hostel at 9 in the morning which was before check in so the staff informed me that i could keep my bag in their luggage check. I made the mistake of thinking it was secure so I left my bag there. Lo and behold, when I got back to the hostel my bag had been nicked. I informed the staff, and they begrudgingly went over the footage not finding anything. Anyways I guess I may be biased but I believed the staff to be rude and inconsiderate. Think twice before using the bag check.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Mar 2017
8.6

The place itself is amazing! It's clean, the staff is helpful, and the optional breakfast purchase in the morning is nice. The only thing is that you have to take the tram into the city because it's really far outside of downtown and most of the tourist sites. It's a 12 minute tram ride, or a 20 minute Uber, but it costs money to get there no matter what.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Mar 2017
10.0

We only stayed for one night and didn't actually get to explore the facility as well we we would have liked but the rooms were very comortable and the atmosphere was really great. Would completely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to read you found our rooms comfortable and liked our atmosphere. We are pleased that you would recommend our hotel to others. We are looking forward to seeing you again! With kind regards, Team Meininger Amsterdam

  • wanghaojayjay
  • China, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Mar 2017
10.0

Feel good

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your review and rating. We hope to see again soon in Amsterdam, or in any of our other hostels in Europe! With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsteredam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
8.9

My roommates were a bit difficult and had used my towel and the front desk almost made me pay for a new one but other than that things were fine. Breakfast was a bit expensive for what was offered.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We're sorry if you didn't have well behaved roommates, and we apologize if at reception didn't react properly at your issue. However, your input will help us to be more attentive in the future. Hoping you visit us once again, kind regards, the MEININGER Amsterdam team.

17th Mar 2017
9.4

I had a great experience at this hostel. I paid the cheaper price of a dorm room, but they ended up putting me in a private room with a private bathroom, maybe because I was traveling alone and it was what they had available? I'm not sure but it was a wonderful surprise! Other than that, staff were great, my room was very clean and had everything I needed, and being able to take the train one stop to the city center was very convenient. I would only complain that this hostel is expensive.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We sometimes do give free upgrades based on availability. We are happy that you appreciated our service and facilities. Hopefully we will see you again at another Meininger for an equally exceptional experience. All the best, Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Mar 2017
7.1

Overall the hostel was nice. The staff was great and the lobby area was a fun place to hangout. The hostel is pretty far away from the center of Amsterdam, so you need to take the train. I was also surprised when I got to my room that I was sharing a king size bed with someone. It's not something they advertised so I was a bit confused.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for writing us a review and for highlighting the areas that made your stay enjoyable, and the things that could be improved. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere in the hotel and that you found our staff friendly. As for the beds, we use our rooms for dorms and for private use, please note that the you can seperate the beds, as we understand that it is indeed a bit strange to share your bed with a stranger :) We hope you had an amazing time in Amsterdam and we hope to see you again! All the best, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • lowmeiki
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Nice place, easy location. Only 1 stop to central and to airport, very convenient.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, What an amazing review and rating, thank you so much! We are glad to see that you enjoyed our convenient location, we are indeed only one stop away from the city center and the airport. We wish you all the best and we hope to welcome you back soon! With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Mar 2017
8.6

Paying for hostel rate but staying in hotel facilities 😃. The bar is a cool place to hangout and have drinks, the director and CEO were catching up here too 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻. My stay with Meininger would had been perfect, if there's no room mate issue :(

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thanks for staying with us at Meininger, we appreciate you taking the time to leave such nice comments. Room mates are permitted in the same room, however the price for this would be more expensive and this might have been the problem. We hope to see you again soon! -Team Meininger Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Pakistan, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Mar 2017
9.7

Really cool place to stay! The room was extremely clean with the toilet and shower in excellent conditions. They have a very nice lively environment in the bar but also offer quiet and peaceful areas if you are looking for some independent time. Although the location is not close to the centre, you can take a train to the centre in 7 minutes from Station Sloterdijk or metro which takes about half an hour (much cheaper if you are coming back and forth with a daily ticket). I loved the hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, What a lovely review, thank you so much! We are delighted to read how much your enjoyed your stay with us. It will be our pleasure to share your feedback with our team and we hope to welcome you back soon. With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.