X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1385 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Great place, very clean and excellent breakfast! The location was perfect for me!


77%

Was a nice hostel/hotel to stay at. My only issue is that it was a little too far out from the main area.. Aka centraal.


97%

Location was great train to central station was 5 minutes and you're there. Place is very clean. Distance from city centre not an issue at all as the hotel is a 2 minute walk from the station.

  • 5th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place to stay, good location, good staff !


89%

I had a life changing epiphany in this hotel. Would recommend 10/10


66%

This is a hotel! Really hard to meet people here, and you have to pay for literally everything! It also has nothing around it to go and eat! It's next to the metro which is good, but it's not like staying in Amsterdam at a hostel! Also there were families and a lot of old people!


89%

Location is not ideal for this establisment but that's not something you can really change. Breakfast was the most extensive I've seen at a hostel and the room was definitely the largest room I've ever stayed in in a hostel! Overall, a good experience!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It is a little bit out of the city center of Amsterdam but it is a quick train ride away. Great breakfast and customer service. Cleanliness was wonderful and I felt very secure leaving my belongings there for the day. I would definitely recommend it!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Some beds without socket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear about your socket-situation and will get to it as soon as we can! Hope to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Great, clean place to stay right next to the major bus/train station. If you're like us and not into party hostels (in other words, need sleep), Meininger is a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that our hostel could offer you a good night sleep and hope to welcome you at any of our Meiningers again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

This is great accommodation and well located for exploring Amsterdam although a fair distance from the centre so needs public transport to get anywhere good. The place is spotless and well appointed, if your after the hostel xp this isn't the place. If your looking for a good, safe welcomeing place to base a holiday from this is as about as good as gets by the Euro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed our place and hope to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

We were told on arrival that after two days we would have to move rooms because someone else was booked into ours- no compensation for that. Then both rooms were infested with bed bugs. Our second rooms was so covered in bed bugs that my friend's bites are now infected and she has scars. They only refunded part of our stay and since contacting them about it they won't respond.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Totally worth it!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! See you again next time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

This is the second time that I stay at Meineger hotel, my first experience was perfect so I tried again. Everything was good but the bathroom wasnt cleaned in theses days it was smelling urine very bad and in the last day there were many people in there and a group of people were separated and 3 of them were in Our room but for long period they gathered together in my room, and lot of noise but to get worst they went party and one person more slept there. I paid for people and got 8. Very disapp

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and choosing Meininger for the second time! We are sorry to hear about your bathroom and roommate situation. We hope you have reported your issues at reception so we could fix them for you? Next time you might consider booking a private room at Meininger as this will ensure no annoying or dirty roommates:) Hope to see you at Meininger a 3rd time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

This was a really nice clean Hotel/Hostel however it was hugely let down for me by the poor location and the price that is charged over the weekends to stay here. I had to pay 50euro/night over Halloween to stay here...Hostels in the middle of Amsterdam City were significantly cheaper than this. There is nothing in the area except a train station with a few spots for food. Definitely not good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do agree that prices in Amsterdam can get crazy sometimes during special holidays. As we are always very competetive with our pricing, perhaps the hostels you spotted in Amsterdam were a little less nice and clean:). We hope to welcome you again some other time! (perhaps in low season?) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Had a great stay here. Not in city center, but right next to the train/bus/tram station. Not in noisy neighborhood- which was a plus for me! Staff was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again in our Meiningers soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

Extremely far away from anything relevant


97%

This is definetly one of the most comfortable places I've been to. The place is modern, the staff were cool and always willing to help us finding the best places to visit. Although they are not located in the touristique zone, they are literally next to one of the most important trains stations, which enables an easy displacement to the city. Also the breakfast was an extra charge but it totally worth it!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Great hotel! Great service!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

The staffs are very helpful. They can tell you explicitly how to go the place when you ask. Their English are very fluent so you can communicate with them relaxing. It's quiet far from city center but you can go by train. It is cheaper than the hostel of city center even though it includes the train fare from city center to hostel. The hostel is in a quiet place so you can sleep very well per night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We are happy to read you have experienced the friendliness of our staff and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback