Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 4248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 4248 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Aug 2017
8.3

Typical big name Hostel. Clean, comfortable and secure. Just a lack of atmosphere that smaller independent hostels have.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Aug 2017
8.6

Overall a great hostel, provides a decent location with good transport links. Staff are a joy to talk to and the beds are great, I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We would like to thank you for taking the time to write us a review and for your kind words. We hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you again in any of our hostels around Europe! Happy travels, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • Leeraeside
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
5th Aug 2017
8.9

It's a nice place but it's really more of a hotel than a hostel. There's a bar area where you can meet other people but if you're in a partying mood you're better going into town. It's a ten minute train journey from the city centre which costs €3, but if you get the day return for €5 it's cheaper and easier. Not a while lot around in the area so the town really is the only option. The WiFi is good. I'd stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Let me just add that besides those tickets we sell other travel deal tickets, which makes your trip much more affordable, and since we have all types of transport next to us you can easily get to town in a preferred way. So we hope to welcome you indeed again in our hotel! Meininger Team

4th Aug 2017
8.9

The room was very clean and nice and the staff awesome, but I found it extremely strange that the two twin beds are pushed together in a shared room...I was a single female traveler so sleeping 2 feet from some stranger with no warning was pretty awkward/unsettling and I feel like the room could be arranged better to give people more space.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thanks for your honest review and that you enjoyed your visit in Amsterdam city. We apologise if you felt uncomfortable with the room setup. All our rooms are set up by housekeeping with the beds next to each other, however it is always possible to seperate the beds so you have more space. You are always welcome here and we hope you will choose MEININGER in your future stay Kind regards, Your MEININGER Team

  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
8.0

Not as central as it's made out to be.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking time to write your review. We are not inside the city but we are most definitely a central point regarding transportation, but of course this may not be what you were expecting; so we do understand your opinion. Anyway, we hope this didn't stop you from enjoying our city! Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
7.7

This is a hotel not a hostel so for those travelling alone I would not recommend it at all. BUT it is a lovely hotel very clean, very nice rooms, it is literally next to the train station so if you are fine with getting a train into central Amsterdam then it can suite you, communal kitchen is handy although not kept to the best standard, more of a holiday refuge than a travelling refuge so make what you will of this, staff are very helpful also

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review and for choosing Meininger for your stay. We are a mixed concept between hotel and hostel, offering mostly hostel services; thus the guest kitchen amongst others. We are sad to hear that your experience was not the most pleasant for you but we understand that we may not fit everyone's criterias; although the general view is excelent we will take your words into consideration. We hope our city treated you well and hope to see you again! Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Aug 2017
10.0

Could not fault, my stay was excellent. the room was brilliant , much better than expected. the breakfast was great , nice choice, everywhere was clean and smart, the guest kitchen was great too. the bar was good and stayed open late. staff were excellent and friendly . would stay here without a doubt in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, you seem to have had exactly the MEININGER experience that we try to offer! We can barely add anything to your very kind words, so let's hope you come back to Amsterdam soon and we can provide you an even better stay!

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Aug 2017
9.1

The place was definitely more central than i expected. You only need 5 min with the train to the mainstation. Definitely not the cosiest place but very clean and efficient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, thank you for your review and your generous score. It is a pity that you didn't find your hotel cosy enough. Do you have any suggestions for a warmer atmosphere? Let us know if you visit us again in MEININGER Amsterdam!

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Aug 2017
10.0

excellent place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank you very much for leaving us these kind words! Your Meininger staff

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Aug 2017
9.4

Amazing!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.