Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,548 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 8.9
MEININGER Amsterdam City West Located at Orlyplein 1-67, , Amsterdam.
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1043 Orlyplein 1-67
86% 2548
52.3901110 4.8366665
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st May 2016
8.6

Very clean, established hostel with lots of facilities (kitchen, breakfast (not free), free wifi, laundry, walking tour etc). Very close to the train station, so getting to the city centre or the airport is very easy (although do keep in mind that it will cost you 6 euros per person to get into the city, each way). While you need an electronic key to access your room, I felt security was lacking as anyone can enter the hostel and go up the lift, and there were no lockers in our room.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st May 2016
9.1

I guess everyone know that Meininger is a new concept of hostel . Actually they are a hotel with shared rooms ! The atmosphere looks more like a hotel . The staffs are good ! We arrived at 6am and they were gently enough to to give us a room since we could no more stand up after 7h bus from Paris ! The beds are sooo confortable and the rim smell good ! I love it !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are happy that you're satisfied with your stay. With Kind Regards Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2016
9.4

Really great place to stay, perfect location with easy access to the centre! Would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th May 2016
8.9

Very nice facilities and super clean. Close to the airport and really comfy beds. However far from city center and more like a hotel. would definitely stay again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest , Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you some other time! Kind Regards Meininger Team

20th May 2016
9.7

Overall nice experience. I have stayed in 6 bed dorm. Other girls stayed in that room were playing TV till 2.a.m with lights switched ON. They have to frame rules in dorm for people to stay together.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Palani, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. Our main objective is to provide guests with a comfortable stay and deliver a high level of service in all our MEININGER hotels. Please be assured that your comments will be duly followed up by Customer Services and the Management Team. Please be assured that your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. We hope to welcome you back to MEININGER Amsterdam in the future as we would love to get another chance to impress you with our services. Kind Regards MEININGER team Amsterdam

19th May 2016
7.1

Location was 25minutes on the bus away from city center but it was very close to a main train station. This is definitely more of a hotel then hostel. The atmosphere at the hostel was slow at night but it was wry nice and clean. The staff were for the most part nice but a few stuck up chicks that were rude and just made it feel like you burdened them when asking a question.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
18th May 2016
5.4

staffs poor attitude, no welcome sign to customer. kitchen & dining table squeeze in one area is an bad ideas. not convenient for both chef & eater.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
6.0

Very far from the city center, the ride un train is 6 minutes but it cost €3.20 one way. A lot of families and old people. The staff is extremely unhelpfull, doing all their work like they really dont like it at all, the answer you like machines and with bad faces, except one guy in the reception and the blond girl from the bar. When you ask for a supermarket they dont even know where is it (and it is less than 100 meters). Stay in another place, thats my advice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
15th May 2016
10.0

The Meininger was absolutely fabulous. We came in late at night and were worried about locating it in the dark, but it is RIGHT outside Sloterdijk. Wifi was excellent. You were charged for breakfast 8 Euro for a selection of cereal, bread, juice and some coffee yogurt veggies fruit, and it was good, but I recommend experiencing Amsterdam culture and going out for pancakes in the morning! The beds- WERE HEAVEN. Omg bring me back that douvet cover! And the hairdryer made my life. Thanks !!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi Kaitlyn, Thanks a lot for leaving such a nice review. Great to read that you had a nice time in Amsterdam and that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger. Hopefully we see you back again in the future! All the best, Meininger team Amsterdam

14th May 2016
8.0

All in all, it was a nice place to stay at. Would like to come again :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.