X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
914 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 75%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was very clean and well laid-out. The staff were very knowledgeable and friendly. Location is great, just a quick walk to a train station and a short metro ride away from Amsterdam city centre. I highly recommend the hostel.


89%

Great breakfast,great value for money.great location next to the train station. Far too small kitchen for the size of the hostel. Our food got lost from a fridge:-( not hostel fault but they resolved it by giving us free breakfast:-) thumb up. Will stay again:-)


71%

Originally booked a 7-mixed room but got arranged to a 4-mixed room so that was good. However there was problems with the wifi connection on 2nd and 3rd day of my stay. But the staff was not willing to help except giving me a new username and password which did not solve the problem at all.

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

It would have been perfect, except for the awful wi-fi

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Staff were really friendly and helpful and the beds were clean and comfortable


97%

Very clean rooms!It's not a standart hostel! It's a very good hotel with room for 6/8 persons! U can cook your meal in the shared kitchen,there u can find everything whatever u need for cooking!

  • 3rd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Russia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

The WiFi doesn't always work properly.

  • 2nd Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services - we are checking the WIFI connection at the moment. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

77%

Hotel room was clean upon arrival but housekeeping service was poor. Internet connection was bad but adequate. Breakfast was good and staff was nice and helpful. Unfortunately, it is not possible to open the window in the rooms which was necessary sometimes. All in all a solid hotel with a good location, directly next to the railway station and good connection to public transport.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

Excellent location, and cleanness - I was very impressed! Definitely recommend this hostel if anyone consider staying in Amsterdam :)

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

I had wonderful time there, very nice staff, quiet, resonable price, clean room but I couldn't cook any food after I saw a mice at the kitchen so do not eat the food they provide in the kitchen (Pasta, Bread etc...).

  • 17th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to be able to take care of requests from guests. We take your note very seriously and are happy that you took the time to inform us about this matter, so that we are able to react and investigate immediately. We will have the kitchen inspected by an specialist immediately! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

91%

A little bit off located, but it is one of the most professionally well-managed big-scale hostel I have been to. The cleanliness and the rooms comforts are on par with a well run 3 or 4 star hotel. But internet service breaks down time and again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! We are currently also fixing and upgrading our WIFI services - so we hope to see you soon again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

The hostel was very clean and a very positive environment. There was a plug and personal light at each bed. Its a 8 min train ride to the Central station and everything is within walking distance from there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

77%

It was my second Meininger experiment, first was in Wien. Both were pretty good. Meininger generally has a good company policy and service. However, we had small problems. For instance, though the location of the hotel seems to be close to city center, it is not quite easy to reach center. Actually it is, but it costs more than normal. Because if u use train it is just one station to the center, but u can't use daily transportation tickets in trains. Otherwise it was great

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

Hotel level. Everying is good, locate is colsed to Train, tram and bus station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

91%

A little bit far from city center but the value for money is quite high. I stayed there for 6 nights and the staff updated the room for me because of the availability reason. Not the typical hostel but should be a 3-star hotel, so all of the rooms equipped well and very clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

63%

Waiting time for the room is plenty bad..

  • 2nd Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

excellent better than any hotel and staff very helpful

  • 22nd Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

Everything was wonderful, the only problem i had was there were no available adapters so i can charge my phone. So i think the staff/ management should look into providing more adapters, because customers would need their phone charge to take pics in such a amazing country like Amsterdam.

  • 21st Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

More of a hotel than hostel however the stay was fantastic and staff very helpful. Very clean, modern and urban. You will see that some of the reviews rate the location as poor to good. If you want to be in the main central district of Amsterdam then this is not the place for you. For us the location was great. Very close to the airport by train and a quick and easy trip in the city by bus or tram. Overall the transportation daily passes were very affordable. One con: Wifi sucked in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

Nice location, very quiet. Far from the city centre but its just a 5 minute train away. Train travel very frequently to sloterdijk so its not a problem

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(99 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback