Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 2,649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 2,649 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 9.3
  • Facilities 9.0
MEININGER Amsterdam City West Located at Orlyplein 1-67, , Amsterdam.
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1043 Orlyplein 1-67
86% 2649
52.3901110 4.8366665
MEININGER Amsterdam City West
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2016
7.7

Clean and well run. Don't expect the normal hostel atmosphere, this is a hotel. The location is useful, right next to the train station, but the area is just a bunch of big hotels and offices.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st Jun 2016
9.4

Great place to stay. Safe, clean and good location to trains and buses. The atmosphere is ok but thats the only "negative" thing I could say about it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jun 2016
8.9

Really felt like I was staying at a hotel although it was priced as a hostel and had the facilities of a hostel. Booked a stay in a 7 room dorm and they randomly upgraded us to a 4 room and it was a very pleasant stay. They let us hang out there for hours before our check in time and also stored our bags after our check out. Very good experience.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
9.1

Great facilities and cleansliness. Only down part is the atmosphere was not what you would expect at a hostel. Mostly school children and old adults.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
8.9

Very nice, feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Location isn't that good because you have to either take a train or a bus to the central station (can get expensive and tiring and also you are limited by time) and other than SPAR and than the things they have at the train station (sloterdijk, less than five minutes walk so this is a big plus that makes it possible) there's nothing. Our shower was clogged and unfortunately they didn't fix it over 3 nights but other than that it was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.4

Best beds I have ever slept in at a hostel and it was very quiet at night!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th Jun 2016
8.9

A nice hostel but a little out of the way from the city central. That was a problem depending on the weather. If the weather was nice I could rent a bicycle from the hostel and ride around Amsterdam. If it was raining it was more difficult to get to all the attractions. True there is a train station literally right next door but I am impatient and hate waiting for the train. There is a park close by so I could go running everyday and not have to worry about traffic. Overall a good pace.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Jun 2016
8.9

Stayed here for a few night this month and its location is perfect. Literally right next door to Sloterdijk station which has excellent links to Amsterdam centraal! 5 minutes on the train and 15 by bus. The hotel itself was very welcoming and had really up to date, modern rooms. Each bed had a little shelf and plug with a light (though mine didn't work, it wasn't a massive issue). There were lockers just big enough for my hand luggage case but can only be locked securely with your own padlock.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Puerto Rico, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
17th Jun 2016
9.4

This is a great hostel or maybe Hote, facilities are great and its literally in the main bus station ( one stop from city center) .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jun 2016
8.6

A Hotel standard hostel, well managed, good facilities, nice beds, everything you can actually ask for. It is super large though, so it attracts large underpriviliged groups. Also there is no real place "to hang around", just like a regular hotel. Staff is sometimes pretty nice, others just do their jobs. Probalby not very suitable for solo travellers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.