Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Very clean, wonderful bar and restaurant, phenomenal location, helpful staff. By far the best hostel I have stayed at so far, especially for the cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel is very clean and its actually pretty big for a hostel. It looks more like a hotel. Its little bit far away for the city centre but its still easy to travel as it is very near to Sloterdijk station. Far too costly for one night over the weekend. I have heard that its cheap on weekdays. BUt its almost three times the price over the weekend which is not great. Otherwise had a perfect stay there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking te time to write us a review. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. The prices for the rooms are indeed a bit higher in the weekends, as we are working with a flexible price system based on supply and demand. We hope you enjoyed the city of Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future! With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Couldn't be closer to the train station! Staff were really kind and I got an upgrade to a single room (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Der guest, Thank you for your short but definitely positive review! We do appreaciate the time you took for that and hope to see you again in your next trip to Europe! Meininger Team

9th Feb 2017
8.9

everything was pretty good, i enjoy the stay , bed wasn´t the most comfy one location though, even though is right next to train station, train +metro + bus +tram pass is much more expensive than just the pass without train, depending on your luck you may spend 30 minutes to get to your location in the city center, or if you have other places to go overall is a good value but on weekend it´s ridiculous pricey!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much for the time you took to write this review, with which you provided a lot of info for our next guests. And, indeed, Amsterdam can be terrible with transport or overall prices; may I add we do sell transport deal tickets, which is always the best option if yo stay at least a day here. We hope to see you again in our Meininger hotel. Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Great place to stay. Clean and friendly place. If your looking to just hang out on your own it's a fine place. If your looking to meet people to hang out with not really. The bar is lame and it's just there. It's in a great location for traveling around the Netherlands. Good overall stay but more activity in the bar would be nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam and hopefully next time you'll have a better time by our bar, as you can imagine we provide a hostel/hotel concept, so naturally the young people like to enjoy the outdoors and depending on the days, you have more or less people hanging by the bar. Anyhow, I am sure you had a great time in the city. Hope to see you soon! Meininger Team

2nd Feb 2017
8.9

I loved my stay here! The place looks more like a hotel than a hostel. I stayed in a mixed dorm with an ensuite and THE BATHROOM LOOKED LIKE THAT OF A FIVE STAR HOTEL. It isn't right in the heart of the city, but having the train/bus station around the corner made it no issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.9

Far out from the city centre, so we had to catch a train but this was reasonably easy as they go frequently. Not ideal if you like to have a break exploring during the day, or before dinner. Rooms were clean however, and staff were friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. And we are also happy to now that in the end ur location suited you. Hope to see you agin soon! Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Feb 2017
8.0

Stayed a short night here after my flight arrived around midnight. The train from Schiphol only takes 10 minutes and arriving late was no problem. Room was big with ensuite, was nice that the shower and toilet were seperated. Breakfast was pricey but there was a large selection of food, only the coffee was not so good. Very convenient location for taking the Flixbus which stops right outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Meininger Team

  • andremendoza
  • Philippines, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
31st Jan 2017
6.3

I appreciate the big room and bathroom. Elevator was weird, wouldnt go down the ground floor from my floor. Staff were friendly and very helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing Meininger Hotel Amsterdam City West and for taking the time writing us your review. we apologize for the elevator that obviously had some trouble working properly, it does not help you right now but with this feedback we can work and make sure our future guests will have no problem with the elevator. hopefully we can make up for it a next time you choose to stay and be able to exceed your expectations. Kind Regards, Your Meininger Team.

  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jan 2017
8.9

Very clean hostel, nice big rooms, clean bathrooms. The staff even makes your bed for you and offers free towels. And the best part: the guest kitchen:) Overall a great hostel. Definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking a moment to leave us your feedback and for your perfect review. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your stay with us. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future! Meininger Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.