X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1663 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Clean, big dorms, hair-dryer provided, free WiFi, Hostel is not in the city center, but it is located right next to a big station where trains and buses run regularly, free breakfast (though we found 7,90€ too expensive), nice staff, snack bar

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

77%

Nice, clean hostel. Pleasant helpful staff. Close to public transport. The breakfast is a little over priced, but you can have as much as you like and it's pretty good quality.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

80%

Really nice place, near to the airport, friendly receptionist, clean room more like staying in a hotel in a budget, only nice things to say.. I'll definitely book again here or to their other branches in different countries..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Amsterdam or one of our other hotels in Europe! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

94%

The staff were super friendly and helpful upon arrival and the room was far better than expected and our expectations were hardly low! Everywhere was spotless and it is a two minute walk from the station. Loved staying here, don't think our Amsterdam adventure would've been the same if it wasn't for this hostel!

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

Just a stop from the Main Central Station so it is convenient. But the design is really like a hotel not a hostel.


83%

Meininger is a nice hostel. A few stops away from the airport and one stop over to Centraal Station. It feels more like a hotel as opposed to a hostel so the rooms are really nice but nobody is really there to get to know each other. The breakfast is a little steep (7.90 euros) but they do offer you as much as you can eat with great options. The first day I was there my locker door was broken off the hinges. However, staff was quick to fix it when I informed them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

This hostel was very clean and felt like a nice hotel. It was one of the most expensive places I stayed at and for the price I felt the WiFi connection was very poor. I felt for you to be able to surf the net you had to wake up early in the morning . Lastly, the hostel is located outside center city making it difficult to stay out late however it is close to the station and if you have a euro rail pass you can take the intercity train which is faster and free over the metro.


69%

Comfy bed and great wifi. Next to the train station but pretty far from the city. Manager in the morning is terrible. Very rude. Maids come into the rooms at 8 am to clean and are very noisy. A bottle of wine at the bar was €20, and it was the cheapest they had. I wouldn't stay here again but it's okay if you are in a pinch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Meininger Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the services offered to you. We still hope that you have enjoyed your stay. Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. Kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Yes, this is more of a hotel with shared rooms than an hostel. There is sadly no other common area than the bar/dining room or the (small!!) kitchen. The rooms are big though, and well equipped/clean/comfortable. The front desk is always busy but the staff is happy to help. The wifi doesn't work so well. You can get to Amsterdam in less than 15 minutes by train (central station) or by tram (museums/parks). The 7€ breakfast is busy and NOT WORTH IT, go buy something at the train station instead.


94%

Very good for the urban travel...

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

The hostel is really good, clean and modern! The breakfest is good but it couled be a Little cheaper... The Location is really good, near from Center but not in the real middle of it. To go to City Center you can go by bus )- longer but cheaper - or tain (sprinter) - real fast but a Little more expensive. Great experience!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review!! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. We do hope to see you again in the Meininger hotel in Amsterdam or in one of our other properties in Europe. All the best and kind regards, Your Meininger team

74%

Location is not ideal. 45 minutes by metro to centraal station and metro doesn't run real late at night. Also, not a lot yet in the area for places to eat. Facilities are nice but three person room was much smaller than the three person room I had in Brussels with Meininger.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, First of all, thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your stay at our Meininger hotel in Amsterdam. We are sorry to hear that you were not happy with the location of the hotel. I would like to note, there are quicker possibilities to reach the centre. For example, you can catch a train to the centre. The train staton is located next to the hotel and trains leave every 5 to 10 minutes until 1:30 AM. We hope you did enjoy Amsterdam. Greeting!

94%

Hotel Service and quality, but hostel price ....high quality!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your enthusiastic feedback! That is exactly what the Meininger philosofy is about - to have the best quality for the sharpest price possible. We're glad you enjoyed the experience. Best regards from Amsterdam.

100%

Extremely close to the centre of Amsterdam (1 stop on train). Excellent servioce; the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Went in not expecting great things, left completely overwhelmed; was better than some 4 star hotel I've stayed at. Will be using them again.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It is great to notice that you are considering to stay with us again or with one of our other Meininger hotels in Europe! It would be our pleasure! All the best and kind regards, Your Meininger team

77%

Overall the hotel is very close to the train station where there is direct train to airport or AMS main station. Only that the walkway to the hotel is a bit quiet & sometimes i dont feel safe walking alone to the train station especially early in the morning or late evening.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The walkway to the hotel is a bit quiet in the weekends but it is safe to walk to the train station and back, especially as it is a bright lightened pathway and as we are 24h on site it is well secured as well. We hope to see you again maybe in the future. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

This is a huge hostel. The atmosphere in the main room downstairs is pretty nice, I met a couple people despite it being a place for larger groups of friends. The location is quite far from the city centre, like a 30 min bus ride, or a 10 min train ride. It's a great place for a weekend stay though as you can spend all day and night in Amsterdam then come back to a very quiet nights sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for the time taken to write about your experience. Hope to see you again in one of our 16 hotels across Europe. Best regards from Meininiger Amsterdam

91%

It's right next to a big metro/tram/train station and bus stops so you can easily get around Amsterdam. It was a clean room and the beds were comfy. The kitchen was clean and equipped with utensils, pots, and pans and sometimes free pasta and rice. Wifi worked great especially down in the common area near the kitchen. Would definitely stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and have felt thoroughly “at home”. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Hostel was great and very clean, the wifi was absolutely horrible though. I wouldn't even advertise that you have it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. We have indeed installed now more routers and switches in order to improve the WIFI experience for our guests! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

A bit far from the center of the city but next to a train station that can take you there! The hostel was super clean and the staff were amazingly efficient as well as friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

This hostel is located one minute outside of the Sloterdijk station, which provides easy access to the airport and city. The room was clean, quiet and the staff were very friendly. I was very happy with my stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(90 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback