X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1351 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

It is a little bit out of the city center of Amsterdam but it is a quick train ride away. Great breakfast and customer service. Cleanliness was wonderful and I felt very secure leaving my belongings there for the day. I would definitely recommend it!

  • 13th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

Some beds without socket.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are sorry to hear about your socket-situation and will get to it as soon as we can! Hope to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Great, clean place to stay right next to the major bus/train station. If you're like us and not into party hostels (in other words, need sleep), Meininger is a great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that our hostel could offer you a good night sleep and hope to welcome you at any of our Meiningers again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

This is great accommodation and well located for exploring Amsterdam although a fair distance from the centre so needs public transport to get anywhere good. The place is spotless and well appointed, if your after the hostel xp this isn't the place. If your looking for a good, safe welcomeing place to base a holiday from this is as about as good as gets by the Euro.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed our place and hope to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

We were told on arrival that after two days we would have to move rooms because someone else was booked into ours- no compensation for that. Then both rooms were infested with bed bugs. Our second rooms was so covered in bed bugs that my friend's bites are now infected and she has scars. They only refunded part of our stay and since contacting them about it they won't respond.

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Totally worth it!

  • 2nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! See you again next time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

This is the second time that I stay at Meineger hotel, my first experience was perfect so I tried again. Everything was good but the bathroom wasnt cleaned in theses days it was smelling urine very bad and in the last day there were many people in there and a group of people were separated and 3 of them were in Our room but for long period they gathered together in my room, and lot of noise but to get worst they went party and one person more slept there. I paid for people and got 8. Very disapp

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and choosing Meininger for the second time! We are sorry to hear about your bathroom and roommate situation. We hope you have reported your issues at reception so we could fix them for you? Next time you might consider booking a private room at Meininger as this will ensure no annoying or dirty roommates:) Hope to see you at Meininger a 3rd time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

This was a really nice clean Hotel/Hostel however it was hugely let down for me by the poor location and the price that is charged over the weekends to stay here. I had to pay 50euro/night over Halloween to stay here...Hostels in the middle of Amsterdam City were significantly cheaper than this. There is nothing in the area except a train station with a few spots for food. Definitely not good value for money

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and do agree that prices in Amsterdam can get crazy sometimes during special holidays. As we are always very competetive with our pricing, perhaps the hostels you spotted in Amsterdam were a little less nice and clean:). We hope to welcome you again some other time! (perhaps in low season?) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Had a great stay here. Not in city center, but right next to the train/bus/tram station. Not in noisy neighborhood- which was a plus for me! Staff was great. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again in our Meiningers soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

This is definetly one of the most comfortable places I've been to. The place is modern, the staff were cool and always willing to help us finding the best places to visit. Although they are not located in the touristique zone, they are literally next to one of the most important trains stations, which enables an easy displacement to the city. Also the breakfast was an extra charge but it totally worth it!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Great hotel! Great service!!

  • 27th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot! We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

The staffs are very helpful. They can tell you explicitly how to go the place when you ask. Their English are very fluent so you can communicate with them relaxing. It's quiet far from city center but you can go by train. It is cheaper than the hostel of city center even though it includes the train fare from city center to hostel. The hostel is in a quiet place so you can sleep very well per night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We are happy to read you have experienced the friendliness of our staff and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

Most of the system and the service was satisfying. But their was bugs in minimum 2 beds. It was kind of horrible thing, because it wasn't once I saw it. Maybe 3-4 times for 4 nights. I think this should be solved.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience and hope you have come to reception to report it? We do at times experience bedbugs as they are taken into the hotel by travellers and we are currently involved in a very extensive treatment program to get completely rid of them. We therefore really appreciate it when we receive feedback so we can act upon it. Please dont hesitate to contact us for any further questions or feedback!

89%

It was a bit far from the main city center, but it was a very nice facility.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments, we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team!

83%

The Staff not very kind, a long way of, from the basic stuff in amsterdam, but very clean, excellent facilities.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are sorry to read that you did not experience the friendly staff we are normally praised for! We hope that you have enjoyed your stay here after all and would like to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Very close to the tram station "slaughterdijk" but no one mentioned the last train on a Saturday night to slaughterdijk leaves amsterdam at 2am and doesn't start again until 530 am. €24 euro cab if you make the same mistake we did. Also the entire tram system in amsterdam is a joke but that's not the hostels fault. Be warned.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We agree that a 24-hour train system would benefit us all a lot but next time please try the nightbus: it works all night! :) We hope you have enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

While the location was not ideal (about 20-25 minutes to Centraal Station by bus), the facilities and security were more than worth it, especially with such reasonable prices. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to take in the beautiful city of Amsterdam.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for such a nice review! We are happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful city and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Meininger was great! the location is close to the station, thus easy to connect anywhere I go. the place is clean and the facilities are well maintained...well except the washing machine which didn't work when I was there for 3 days. but generally I was satisfied with overall in this hostel. the staffs are also helpful and friendly, despite there was large group was there when I was staying, they still had time to answer my endless and sometimes ridiculous questions ;)

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and no worries about the questions: that's what we are here for! :) We hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

It's out of the centrum, and is right next to Sloterdijk station. The room I stayed in (an 8 bed mixed suite) was really nice for the money - it basically felt like an enlarged hotel room, with outlets next to beds and a little table with chairs in the middle. The bathroom was split into three - one room for a toilet, one room for a shower, and the sink was outside, in the living area. The atmosphere is very hotel-like, although there is a bar downstairs to meet people. Free food at 9 sometimes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

This is a new and shiny hotel, it's not a hostel. The dorm wasn't clean, the toilets at the lobby was not clean, but it all brand new. Because it's not a hostel the toilets and shower was in the room... not good. Because it's not a hostel the common area was too small and we didn’t know our roommates. Because it's not a hostel it has been crowded with groups at night. The hotel is located 10 min train or bus drive from city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your review here! We are sorry to read that we are not enough hostel for you, as we are a mixture of a hotel and hostel we offer a little bit of both. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam after all and would be happy to welcome you in any of our Meiningers again! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(152 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback