X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1589 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 91%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

This hostel is located one minute outside of the Sloterdijk station, which provides easy access to the airport and city. The room was clean, quiet and the staff were very friendly. I was very happy with my stay here!


86%

Good location right near the train station. not a party hostel, but the best nights sleep I've ever gotten at hostel. comfortable beds and really nice rooms

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

The staff was very friendly. Even though we arrived early in the morning, we could put our Luggage in the Luggage room. The location is great: close by a train and metro station, so you can get to the city centre in no time. We hired bikes. You can easily ride from the city centre to the hostel: it's only a 20 minute bike ride away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

97%

This is a great hostel. It's clean like a hotel but has the friendly vibes like a hostel. It's one 5 minute metro stop away from Amsterdam and probably walking distance if you're up for the challenge or navigating yourself there. Definitely recommend this place and would stay again.


94%

I had a great stay, it wasn't as close to the city as I would have wanted but it was okay. The dorms could have been a little bigger for the price. Overall I had a great stay and everything was clean.


86%

Overweight manager lady was pretty rude. Her colleagues would ask her a question in English for me and she would respond in Dutch so I wouldn't know what she was saying. Not cool. Negative undertone,always seemed unhappy. Poor her I guess, I'm in Amsterdam! :) :) PS: Hotel looks like a freaking 4 star hotel. seriously surprised. Don't let her stop you! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review! We are sorry to read that you didn't have a good experience with one of our managers, thanks for the feedback! We hope you have enjoyed your overall stay and our beautiful city and would like to welcome you again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

A nice gigantic place in the middle of nowhere, anywhere would have been better.


86%

Very friendly staff, clean, good facilities. Location is a little far from the city centre but it's very well connected by public transport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

89%

Meininger is more like hotel then hostel...excellent security, excellent facilities and very clean...if this three things is important for you....then meininger is your excellent choice for you.


94%

Great Hostel would highly recommend it! We got upgraded for free which made our trip even better. The hostel is one stop from Grand Central Station (about 5 mins via train). I would highly recommend this hostel! We didn't deal with the staff to often but they were helpful.


74%

Nice atmosphere but a little far away from the city center. Very noisy at night as well. We had problems to sleep tight

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

really nice! staffs are really kind and funny. they were always smilling to cumstomers. and the location is good, too.


89%

Was pleased with the whole experience. Location a bit out of the way if trains don't work (as it happend on the day of my stay). Stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm. Everything was greatLarge hotel - different age groups, lots of teenagers on school trips. Great facilities. Very clean. Breakfast was ok. Big lockers in room but you have to bring your own padlock. They even have a kinchenette wher you can cook your own food. On the whole I had a great stay. Only minus is the location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely review! We are so sorry to read that the trains were out of order during your stay, we promise you that this doesn't happen very often luckily:). We hope to welcome you back at Meininger again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

the only drawback of this hostel is that it is pretty far away from the city, but the train and bus station are pretty close by. the hostel is one of the best place i stayed during my trip. there Bar is one of there best USPs.,

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our bar:). We are happy to welcome you back again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Impressive about the standard of quality together with the price level. Helpful staff, simple and stylish design, spacious room, but reasonable price.


100%

Everyone was very friendly.....important when one is is a strange land........thanks!!!!!!!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Really lovely, modern and clean hostel. The only downside is that it isn't right in the centre of town, however it's only a 5 minute train ride (about 5 EUR return), and you can apparently bike it in 15 minutes, or take the tram or bus.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Me and my three friends had a pleasant 3 nights stay at Meininger. Amazing location, 5 min far from central station (which is in the city center) The room overall looked clean and nice however bed sheets were a bit nasty and never changed during our stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you very much for your kind review! We are sorry to hear about your sheets and encourage you to come to reception to report it next time so we can assist you right away. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you again at Meininger in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel which it is up to you to decide whether is a good or bad thing. Very clean, large, comfortable rooms with the best shower I have ever seen in a hostel. Great breakfast in the morning for $7.50 or so. It is a train or bus ride from town which can add up or about 20 minutes on a bike. But the price was very reasonable. Very fast internet. If you're looking for a funky local hostel this is not for you though.


74%

I considered the price was too high for the type of room I received.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate your comments and hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(88 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback