X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1554 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 91%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

Was pleased with the whole experience. Location a bit out of the way if trains don't work (as it happend on the day of my stay). Stayed in the 4 bed mixed dorm. Everything was greatLarge hotel - different age groups, lots of teenagers on school trips. Great facilities. Very clean. Breakfast was ok. Big lockers in room but you have to bring your own padlock. They even have a kinchenette wher you can cook your own food. On the whole I had a great stay. Only minus is the location.


100%

Everyone was very friendly.....important when one is is a strange land........thanks!!!!!!!

  • 22nd Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

Really lovely, modern and clean hostel. The only downside is that it isn't right in the centre of town, however it's only a 5 minute train ride (about 5 EUR return), and you can apparently bike it in 15 minutes, or take the tram or bus.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Me and my three friends had a pleasant 3 nights stay at Meininger. Amazing location, 5 min far from central station (which is in the city center) The room overall looked clean and nice however bed sheets were a bit nasty and never changed during our stay.


86%

This is more of a hotel than a hostel which it is up to you to decide whether is a good or bad thing. Very clean, large, comfortable rooms with the best shower I have ever seen in a hostel. Great breakfast in the morning for $7.50 or so. It is a train or bus ride from town which can add up or about 20 minutes on a bike. But the price was very reasonable. Very fast internet. If you're looking for a funky local hostel this is not for you though.


74%

I considered the price was too high for the type of room I received.

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Peru
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Front desk staff were very friendly and great. Staff in the bar were ok. Facilities were very nice and very clean. Location is a little outside city center so don't expect to walk out the door and have lots of options for food, activities, etc, but it is literally right next to the train station which is very convenient. I loved my single private ensuite room. Very clean and a great, efficient use of space in the room. No problems with noise either. Overall a good experience here.


83%

Really liked this place and would like to stay at another Meininger! Glad wifi was in rooms too, and only would've liked to see free breakfast... even if just cereal or fruit or toast or something small, but I am still ok without that option as the price was really low considering the quality overall!

  • 8th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Greetings from Amsterdam

100%

One of the best Meninger's I've been to and I have been to several of them! Located right outside the train station (not Amstredam Centraal!) Very good connectivity. Bus 48 takes one directly to Antwerp Centraal. There is also a good metro connectivity! Staff were brilliant as usual! Very good rooms and the restrooms were clean and modern!


94%

Came with friends on a weekend trip to Amsterdam. Didn't know how nice of a place I was in for! Everything looks completely brand new. Beds were clean. Bathroom was spotless. Hotel itself felt very safe. Staff was great with help for public transportation. About a 20 minute ride from the city center but easy to get there. Only 15-20 mins from airport. Train from airport drops off less than a block from hotel. Definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a nice place in Amsterdam!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Top notch hostel, more like a hotel tbh. Location isn't a problem train station 2 secs away from hostel, only 5-10 mins on the train to Central. Good atmosphere. Defo stay again.

  • 26th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

This place is definitely more of a hotel than a hostel, so extremely clean and with great facilities, but it is lacking in atmosphere at times - especially as there seem to be a lot of large school groups staying. I stayed in a single room which was very nice and clean but very narrow in a cabin like way. Breakfast was buffet style and pretty good. Location was a bit out of town which might be a bit inconvenient depending on what you want to do in Amsterdam -

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

69%

The hostel itself was good and overall looks clean, but when it comes to a problem in the hostel, they will not help you. The house keeper stole our stuff while cleaning our room and when we went down to the front desk, they just say there's nothing they can do about it and not even trying to help to deal with the problem, this is very unacceptable especially it's a hostel / hotel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

It's a chain hotel/hostel which provides good value for money. All the facilities are top class! The only con is location: though it's really convenient to get to/from the airport, there's absolutely nothing of any interest in this area. Not even a supermarket around. Since it's a chain hotel-like hostel, don't expect any special backpacker's atmosphere here. However, it's a good place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Brilliant rooms with power and lights to every bed, clean linen and pillows, very clean large shower, seperate toilet, keycard access to room. 24hr staff at front counter. stay was excellent only let down by staff who did not suggest tourism cards or ways to save money on nederlands very very expensive public transport.

  • 20th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

yeah good

  • 18th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for the great review that you have given our hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed the stay with us and hope to soon welcome you back! Yours sincerely, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

It's a great hostel! The best I've ever been. Beautiful, modern, clean, with a good location... The only problem is their late check-in. I arrived at 10:30AM after all night traveling and their check-in is at 3PM. Luckly the staff is very kind and helpful and they maneged to clen the room faster and allow me to sleep a little. Great place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

The train station is a short 2 min walk, takes about 7-10min to Amsterdam Central. Rooms were very clean and atmosphere was very nice. Staff was friendly and provided lots of source and materials to get around the city. Train was limited for late saturday/sunday arrivals so plan ahead if you are trying to get back to the hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind comments. If you would like to return to our hotel after midnight (when the trains stop running) the nightbus is a great alternative. So you can go to the city center and back at any time you want. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Location is 1 stop away from central station by train. But you can get to hostel from central station by bus. It takes 15 min. It would be bothering if someone wants to walk around central! Staff was friendly. They answer my questions kindly, in detail whenever I ask them

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

86%

Although this hostel's location was a little far from main street and sightseeing site, I would recommend Meininger Amsterdam, cause except location problem, all other things were nice and the room was so clean!

  • 9th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(91 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback