Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3513 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3513 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 8.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
20th Feb 2017
9.7

It was a very cool hostel, nice lobby and very helpful staff. Rooms are quite look alike a hotel room and bathrooms included. The only negative point is to be located non walking distance from city center. Overall recommendation is great !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are happy that you enjoyed your accomodation here at the hotel. The location is a mere 10 minutes by train from the center, but also far enough away to relax. We hope to see you again for your next European travel. -Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam -

  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel! I would really recommend staying here at MEININGER. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, and it was clear that I'd made the right choice in booking here. The rooms are nice and warm, modern and have spacious bathrooms with showers. If there are any problems at all, the staff on reception are very quick to get anything resolved for you. Location-wise it's perfect, with only a 2 minute walk to the train station, and 10 minute train to central station!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are always happy to assist our guests in any way possible to enhance their experience had here in Amsterdam. We look forward to being able to see you again someday for another Adventure around Europe. Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel! Basically like staying at a hotel, except with strangers. About a one minute walk from a train station that has multiple trains that get you to Centraal in ten minutes. Also near a convenience shop and a few restaurants in case you're too lazy. Only negative is our bathroom shower was overflowing, but they actually asked me if anything was wrong with my stay, so I'm sure they'll fix it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, We appreciate your taking the time to review us. We are happy that you took full use of our location and local conveniences; and yes, we always like to check to see if everything is ok as the occasional maintainence issue does come up, but we always try our best to fix it in a timely manner. We hope to see you again for your next trip to Europe. -Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Very clean, wonderful bar and restaurant, phenomenal location, helpful staff. By far the best hostel I have stayed at so far, especially for the cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We are delighted to hear that you were so happy with your stay. Your compliment will be forwarded to our staff. It would be more than a pleasure to see you again someday! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

15th Feb 2017
7.1

Is a good place, but the price is expensive considering the quality of the service in overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear Guest, Thank you for your review. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our accomodation. We offer a variety of rooms tailored to the needs of different budgets and needs. Prices do fluxuate depending on availability and season. We hope to see you at another Meininger sometime to be able to serve you again. -Hotel Meininger, Amsterdam

11th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel is very clean and its actually pretty big for a hostel. It looks more like a hotel. Its little bit far away for the city centre but its still easy to travel as it is very near to Sloterdijk station. Far too costly for one night over the weekend. I have heard that its cheap on weekdays. BUt its almost three times the price over the weekend which is not great. Otherwise had a perfect stay there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking te time to write us a review. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. The prices for the rooms are indeed a bit higher in the weekends, as we are working with a flexible price system based on supply and demand. We hope you enjoyed the city of Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future! With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Couldn't be closer to the train station! Staff were really kind and I got an upgrade to a single room (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Der guest, Thank you for your short but definitely positive review! We do appreaciate the time you took for that and hope to see you again in your next trip to Europe! Meininger Team

9th Feb 2017
8.9

everything was pretty good, i enjoy the stay , bed wasn´t the most comfy one location though, even though is right next to train station, train +metro + bus +tram pass is much more expensive than just the pass without train, depending on your luck you may spend 30 minutes to get to your location in the city center, or if you have other places to go overall is a good value but on weekend it´s ridiculous pricey!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much for the time you took to write this review, with which you provided a lot of info for our next guests. And, indeed, Amsterdam can be terrible with transport or overall prices; may I add we do sell transport deal tickets, which is always the best option if yo stay at least a day here. We hope to see you again in our Meininger hotel. Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Great place to stay. Clean and friendly place. If your looking to just hang out on your own it's a fine place. If your looking to meet people to hang out with not really. The bar is lame and it's just there. It's in a great location for traveling around the Netherlands. Good overall stay but more activity in the bar would be nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam and hopefully next time you'll have a better time by our bar, as you can imagine we provide a hostel/hotel concept, so naturally the young people like to enjoy the outdoors and depending on the days, you have more or less people hanging by the bar. Anyhow, I am sure you had a great time in the city. Hope to see you soon! Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Feb 2017
9.1

Stayed for one night before my 7am flight at Schiphol airport. The hostel is at a great location right next to a train stop so it only took less than a minute to walk to the station then a 5-10 minute train ride to the airport. It's also easy to get to/from the city center with the train as well.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.