X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1773 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

We enjoyed our stay. Everything was really clean. Brekfast until 10:30 for just €7.90 all you can eat! Rooms were nice clean, beds and pillows were super comfortable. Shower was a nice good size. It is relatively close to everything only 10-15 minute tram to the main points you will want to visit. And basically right outside the train station.


89%

Slightly expensive but it is a great hostel.


91%

wonderful hostel with more of a hotel feel if anything! The communal areas (bar and kitchens) were well equipped and the staff were extremely helpful. The only minor downside would have to be the location as it is a train ride away from the centre although this didn't prove too problematic as trains ran throughout the night.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

This hostel is like a hotel in that it is super clean and you can get what you need here but the problem is that it was really far away from the center and if you want to stay out late at night you'll have to take a taxi back.

  • 23rd Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great hostel, very clean. A little bit out of the way of the city center but once you figure out the transport system (very confusing) it isn't too bad. Everything was very clean and well laid out. Would book again!

  • 21st Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

My friend and I decided to stay in a hostel in Amsterdam because we wanted to meet people our age. We were shocked when we got to Meininger, as it has 8 floors! It is more of a hotel than a hostel, which has it's pros and cons. Our room was very clean, and felt like a hotel room with strangers in it. Also, it feels like it is in the middle of nowhere. It is near a big transportation hub, but its 25 min by bus to the center, and 45 by bus to the airport. You can take faster trains for more money.

  • 20th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

the location was poor because nothing, and i mean nothing, was in walking distance. the only shop is a small one in the train station, and no restaurants. it would be very poor if the train journey to centraal was only 4 mins with regualr trains till late from the station next door. staff were brilliant and very helpful, rooms and kitchen facilities were immaculate, and having a bathroom and shower for each room was amazing. the facilities were 2nd to none.


91%

My only complaint is that it was outside the city. However it is right beside a train station so it was good. Very clean and a hotel atmosphere


77%

Solid hostel very clean. When I arrived late at night I found out I had to sleep on a couch bed with no sheets. Took 35 minutes to get bedding.


86%

good hostel!! far away from the city centre.. but the bus sttn and metro are nearrby ..


97%

The staff was extraordinarily welcoming and extremely helpful. Although the location could have been closer to the city centre, it was located right off the subway for a five minute ride to Amsterdam Central Station.

  • 17th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

The rooms were very clean, and the beds were very comfortable! You had a personal outlet to charge your items next to your bed. The bathroom facilities were in the room and very nice. The staff was accommodating and helpful when you needed them. The cafe downstairs was big and had plenty of outlets, but found it hard to meet people as a solo traveler. It is less than one minute from the train station and was super convenient to commute into city center.


66%

This is not a very good hostel at least not for solo travelers. There is no common room. There are hotel guests who utilize the lobby, bar and kitchen. Because gotel guests share the same facilities as hostel guests it really ruins the vibe. Kids are running around the lobby and kitchen. Not a good hostel to meet people at. Location isn't too great either but i guess it could be worse. Other than that everything was great! Very clean, nice facilities. A lot more suitable for large groups


69%

The staff here were not friendly at all. Apart from one cleaning lady, I would describe the attitude as barely contained hostility. Also one of our group lost keycard and was fined. This may be contained in the small print at booking but it should be reiterated check in as it's not the norm.

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


74%

It was a lovely hostel and more like a hotel which was really nice. The staff were helpful and nice. Location was okay as it is right next to Sloterdijk station which is a 10 minute train journey to Amsterdam Central. The only downfall was that the wifi was terrible. We were on the 8th floor and it would cut out every couple of minutes and even in the lobby it was doing the same. As it was more like a hotel there wasn't much of an atmosphere for young people but still a good hostel.


80%

Location was far from central Amsterdam but it was alright. Oh yes, one of the mornings the fire alarm rang about about 4.30am? Everyone had to evacuate the building. I think the best the staff could do was to explain to the guest about the whole situation that would be great.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall good stay. Next public transport and easy to get to town or airport. Confused about being placed in a 3 bed dorm room, a little too cosy but very clean and hotel like.


71%

I was a single traveller in a room of 5. The rooms are brilliant: very clean and didn't feel claustrophobic. En-suite bathroom and shower was excellent too. The location was good for me, a short train away to the centre of Amsterdam or an inexpensive taxi ride at night. The staff were helpful but there was too few for the amount of people at the hostel. My biggest complaint was a fire alarm going off at 5am. That can't be helped but the staff did a terrible job of communicating to us.

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It's a nice hostel (well, it's more like a hotel). You'll find people of all ages and backgounds (travelers, students, families, business people) . Not a party place, but there are chances to meet people if your social skills are good enough. Rooms are great, with private bathroom and even TV. It's location is not the best, it's far from downtown (20 - 30 min ride) but the bus (#48) and tram stations (#12) are just across the block.


86%

I had a great time at this hostel - great crowds, great staff, and pretty good location even though it isn't in the city center.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
(118 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback