Hostelworld.com

MEININGER Amsterdam City West

Prices
map
reviews
8.7
Fabulous 3501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0
BOOK NOW
8.7
Fabulous 3501 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 7.9
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 9.2
  • Facilities 9.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.7

Fantastic hostel! I would really recommend staying here at MEININGER. Upon arrival the staff were very friendly and helpful, and it was clear that I'd made the right choice in booking here. The rooms are nice and warm, modern and have spacious bathrooms with showers. If there are any problems at all, the staff on reception are very quick to get anything resolved for you. Location-wise it's perfect, with only a 2 minute walk to the train station, and 10 minute train to central station!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing hostel! Basically like staying at a hotel, except with strangers. About a one minute walk from a train station that has multiple trains that get you to Centraal in ten minutes. Also near a convenience shop and a few restaurants in case you're too lazy. Only negative is our bathroom shower was overflowing, but they actually asked me if anything was wrong with my stay, so I'm sure they'll fix it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Feb 2017
10.0

Very clean, wonderful bar and restaurant, phenomenal location, helpful staff. By far the best hostel I have stayed at so far, especially for the cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, What a wonderful review, thank you so much! We are delighted to hear that you were so happy with your stay. Your compliment will be forwarded to our staff. It would be more than a pleasure to see you again someday! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

15th Feb 2017
7.1

Is a good place, but the price is expensive considering the quality of the service in overall.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
8.3

The hostel is very clean and its actually pretty big for a hostel. It looks more like a hotel. Its little bit far away for the city centre but its still easy to travel as it is very near to Sloterdijk station. Far too costly for one night over the weekend. I have heard that its cheap on weekdays. BUt its almost three times the price over the weekend which is not great. Otherwise had a perfect stay there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you for taking te time to write us a review. We are glad to see that you had an enjoyable stay. The prices for the rooms are indeed a bit higher in the weekends, as we are working with a flexible price system based on supply and demand. We hope you enjoyed the city of Amsterdam and we hope to welcome you back in the future! With kind regards, your MEININGER team Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
9.4

Couldn't be closer to the train station! Staff were really kind and I got an upgrade to a single room (:

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Der guest, Thank you for your short but definitely positive review! We do appreaciate the time you took for that and hope to see you again in your next trip to Europe! Meininger Team

9th Feb 2017
8.9

everything was pretty good, i enjoy the stay , bed wasn´t the most comfy one location though, even though is right next to train station, train +metro + bus +tram pass is much more expensive than just the pass without train, depending on your luck you may spend 30 minutes to get to your location in the city center, or if you have other places to go overall is a good value but on weekend it´s ridiculous pricey!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you so much for the time you took to write this review, with which you provided a lot of info for our next guests. And, indeed, Amsterdam can be terrible with transport or overall prices; may I add we do sell transport deal tickets, which is always the best option if yo stay at least a day here. We hope to see you again in our Meininger hotel. Meininger Team

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
8.3

Great place to stay. Clean and friendly place. If your looking to just hang out on your own it's a fine place. If your looking to meet people to hang out with not really. The bar is lame and it's just there. It's in a great location for traveling around the Netherlands. Good overall stay but more activity in the bar would be nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam and hopefully next time you'll have a better time by our bar, as you can imagine we provide a hostel/hotel concept, so naturally the young people like to enjoy the outdoors and depending on the days, you have more or less people hanging by the bar. Anyhow, I am sure you had a great time in the city. Hope to see you soon! Meininger Team

2nd Feb 2017
8.9

I loved my stay here! The place looks more like a hotel than a hostel. I stayed in a mixed dorm with an ensuite and THE BATHROOM LOOKED LIKE THAT OF A FIVE STAR HOTEL. It isn't right in the heart of the city, but having the train/bus station around the corner made it no issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thanks so much for your positive review, the team are always happy to hear that guests like our concept. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! -Team Meininger Amsterdam

  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.9

Far out from the city centre, so we had to catch a train but this was reasonably easy as they go frequently. Not ideal if you like to have a break exploring during the day, or before dinner. Rooms were clean however, and staff were friendly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. And we are also happy to now that in the end ur location suited you. Hope to see you agin soon! Meininger Team

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.