X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1259 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Every dorm has an own toilet and shower... The staff is friendly.. buuuuut its a mix between hostel and hotel... there are lots of people who are not backpacking and not interested in meeting other people... lot of families... and its huuuuge... to big... at night there is nothing really going on at the bar... its def not a hostel feeling what you have there... you can hope that you have fun roommates and then you can still enjoy the stay with the nice shower... Amsterdam is a lil bit far away..


74%

Great location close to railway station. Not much in the way of cooking facilities. Kitchen near bar area meant smoke and cooking smells going all over bar. Washing machine not working Staff member on check-in not particularly nice to my wife saying that children not allowed in mixed dorms and we were lucky they had a room available for us. Odd therefore that I was allowed to book the room online and had to provide my children's ages when doing so.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

All round an excellent experience, would stay with you again in a heartbeat. Thank You!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, MeiningerAmsterdam

71%

My stay in the hostel was really good It is not located in the city centre but the connections are very good It looks like a hotel The bedrooms also are good and clean. The breakfast is ok The staff very kind and helpful I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam Maybe the best hostel i have ever been

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

Everything was excellent but its not a hostel to party and ir is not ideal to meet people Its very far from the downtown so if you want to parte you have to leave early to the hostel ir leave very late justo to wait for the train


74%

More of a hotel then a hostel . You must take the train to get to downtown. They've took my towel but managed to give one back. No atmosphere. Pretty good spot to sleep. If you're into meeting new people, don't go there otherwise I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

great room, helpful and beautiful reception staff

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Fantastic hostel, exactly like a hotel but with a few more people in the room. The staff were very busy, as we stayed over Gay Pride, but they were accommodating. The communal kitchen was kept really clean by all the guests and was a pleasure to use. The bar area was lovely to chill out in and we ordered pizza to the hostel one evening and the staff showed the delivery person where we were. Toilet and shower facilities were spotless, beds made when we arrived and really secure lockers!


86%

This is a really nice hostel but it's a 20 min bus ride from the heart of the city. Luckily the bus station is right there So it's not so bad. But just heads up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comment!! Next time please try the train to the city; this only takes 5 minutes. :) Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Great hostel! We booked a 7 beds mixed dorm, and once there they upgraded us into a 4 beds private room with bathroom without charging anything. Room was very clean and equipped with all conforts (soap, showergel, hair dryer, tv, lockers) but windows were locked. The common area it's perfect to share a beer with friends. We didn't use it but the kitchen seemed fine. We rented bikes for 24h at 14.50€ (a reasonable price): a great service even if they can't be booked in advance. Recommended!


83%

It was nice time spent at hostel, location is far from center but very conveniently a minute away from train/bus/tram station which makes it easy to come to city's center. Staff is really really nice, friendly and helpful.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Nice hostel, as were all the other Meininger hostels I stayed at around Europe. I was initially booked into a room that was already fully occupied, but the lady on reception was fantastic in sorting the problem out and transferring me to another room. Staff generally were lovely, good atmosphere, comfortable bed. Would be better if the sink was in a bathroom rather than in the dorm area itself, as difficult to clean teeth etc in morning without disturbing others. Will happily stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

This hostel is hotel-esque and is probably the most upscale place you can find at a bargain. Its only downfall, for those who don't want to take the train to visit the center of Amsterdam, would be its location. It's in western Amsterdam. If you want to skateboard (which is what I did) or bike from Sloterdijk (that's where this hostel is located) to Amsterdam's centraal station, you'll love the view along the way. This hostel is literally beside the train station. Also: the staff is top notch.


91%

It is definitely a place to stay if you just want to go to sleep to your room and you are not the type of traveller that wants to stay at the hotel. The hotel is not bad it is very clean and has everthing you need to survive and to enjoy your vacations. The room I picked it was very little but as I said if you plan to stay in the hotel well then if you do not have any issue with the size of your room that is ok then. But everything else is just perfect and I definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

69%

Nothing special at Meininger. The size of it means its quite impersonal and there's not much of an atmosphere, but it's clean and efficient. they don't serve any decent food at the bar, and all the add-ons e.g. bike hire are really expensive. the location is not that good. there's nothing in the surrounding neighbourhood except a starbucks and some high rise buildings but the train station is a 5 minute walk away (including 2 flights of stairs not mentioned by the hostel, not ideal with luggage.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here! We regret to read that you didnt enjoy the atmosphere with us, moreover because it is highly appreciated by our guests normally. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam after all and hope you might consider coming back to Meininger in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

20%

As I didnt stay here I would find it hard to give a review on it. Your service has been shocking and the amount of money you take from people. I managed to get a booking directly with a hostel at 50% of the price you were charging. You need to rethink your business strategy

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Michael, Thank you for your comment! As we are a combination of a hotel and hostel, we offer a higher service and more facilities than a 'regular' hostel which explains a price difference. As I can see from your booking you had booked a private triple room for 27 EUR per person. In case you would like to book something cheaper next time, please consider a bed in a dormitory which will make a significant difference. We still hope to welcome you at Meininger next time! Meininger

77%

It's a good hostel, although a little bit pricey, close to the train/tram/bus station only complaint is that the laundry equipment was not working while I was there I was staying only 2 nights so I really needed to do my laundry and couldn't because it was out of order

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We hope you have enjoyed your stay here despite the dryer being out of order. Please next time ask reception for directions; there are many other laundry facilities in the nearby area! In case you would like to spend a little less money, next time consider booking a dorm in low season; this will safe you quite a lot! Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

1. The staff were fantastic, professional, personable, helpful, almost couldnt be better. 2. This is not a hostel. It is one of the new breed of mega-fauxstels that see opportunity for big profits from the growing numbers of people who are travelling in a mode that was once only catered to by hostels. Mega-fauxstels are usually located near transport connections but tend to be isolated from competing services such as grocery stores, bars, restaurants and out the door access to local culture.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed the staff at Meininger! We are a mixture of a hotel and hostel, which means that we can offer 3-star hotel standards with the facilities (guest kitchen, dormitories, communal area) of a hostel. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hopefully can welcome you here some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

It's cleaning an comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Awesome place to stay. The rooms were super nice, with clean beds and bathrooms, and outlets by every bed. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel, but there was plenty of opportunities to meet people down in the common area. Good strong wifi, a snack bar, and foosball table. Literally right next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, but a bit far from the city center and a grocery store. Overall, a great spot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(152 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback