X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1300 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

I really enjoyed staying here. It is HUGE, but not a bad thing in this case (usually I dislike huge hostels). They were friendly, the location is fine, it is clean, and everybody in my room was very friendly. We made friends in the one night I was there.


83%

facility was nice and clean. but washing machine was out of order and i cant use it for 3days. everything except that was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We apologize for the inconvenience of the washer, we are happy to say that it is all up and running again :) Hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Second time staying here, had a great time will almost definitely be using this hotel/hostel again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are looking forward to seeing you here again! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

The most comfortable I've ever stayed.

  • 5th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We would be happy to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Aside from the breakfast a by on the higher end pricing (although it is all-you-can-eat style), very nice hostel overall. Kind and professional staff, location allows access to most major attractions within 15-25 minutes walking distance and near the main square (public transports). Very good experience during my stay!


89%

It's a brilliant hostel! There was a slight mix up with the rooms, however the helpful an efficient staff sorted it straight away! All the staff are friendly and te location has good links into the centre. It was a great place to meet people and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • 2nd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review!! We are happy that everything turned out so well for you and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

94%

Great facilities. Good room layout (dorm). NOT in the heart of Amsterdam, which i found great because it gives you air and space to breathe, sit back and relax. Which is precisely what you need. Only down side is the single washing machine in building

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Can be good to have some breathing at times right? :) We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

Really lovely room, like staying in a hotel, slightly out of city centre

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a nice review! We are happy you have enjoyed your room and stay with us, hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

I was pleasantly surprised to find the hostel to be more of a hotel. Staff was very helpful with all our questions, and the coupons in the front for tours and museums came in handy. The rooms were very nice and clean, but confusing that we booked a 5 bed mixed room but were placed in a 3 bed mixed room. Either way it worked out and was a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Hope to see you again soon at Meininger! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Second time staying here, first was on a double room, this time a private single . Room was very clean, will definitely stay again next time I visit amsterdam

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review and stays with us! Hope to welcome you again soon for a third time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Very nice, but also very expensive. Great if you need to be near the airport, but not so good if you want to visit the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and stay at Meininger! Please dont hesitate to check us out during low season when our rates are quite a bit cheaper than during summer. Hope to welcome you again in one of our Meiningers! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Great hostel clean, friendly and positioned next to the metro station on stop away from Amsterdam Central.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

66%

I booked a 5 bed dorm but they put me in a 7 bed room instead without offering me a refund, they only changed it to a 4 bed room when I insisted. Room itself was nice, a bit small but the facilities were modern and clean. Location is not very good, outside the centre with pretty much nothing around apart from office buildings. Trains to the central station however run regularly. For that location I found it a bit too expensive (compared to hostels in the centre).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We apologize for the mixup in your reservation, apperantly this was overlooked while checking you in and we are happy that it could be fixed quickly for you. Don't hesitate to check us out during low season (winter time) when our prices are much lower than during summer. Hope to see you again! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

This is about a 15 min bus ride from the Amsterdam central but overall worth the stay. The space was great and clean. The only downfall is that this is actually a hotel that offers "shared" rooms. So it is not an average hostel atmosphere, more of a hotel as there are families EVERYWHERE

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review!! We are happy that your stay was good for you. We are a mixture of a hotel and hostel and therefore have a little bit of everybody here :) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

This time I share a room with 3 more guys and it was very comfortable and clean. Facilities are fantastic but the washing machine and drier were broken. Only one machine for the whole hotel, guess people never wash anything. I think the location is not bad afterall, the station is well served by buses, tram, subway and sprinter train. It is also closer to Rotterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We have fixed our washer and dryer in the mean time, the cycles are very fast and short so we can accomodate many washes:) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

Very nice clean room with comfortable bed and great shower. Wifi was poor and pool table was always being used for food!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review and helpful feedback! Both our wifi and pool table have been fixed in the mean time so we hope to welcome you here again soon to test it out! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

this hostel was a bit out from the centre of the city. it's one train stop away from amsterdam centraal station- either a 15 minute bus ride away or a 5 minute train ride away. but other than that it's a great place to stay- it was pretty much a hostel with hotel features. great bathroom/shower, comfy beds, clean towels and sheets. great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review!! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

More a hotel with shared rooms than a hostel! No complaints with the staff, room or cleanliness. Location maybe a downside as you have to get a train into Central Amsterdam. Only minor complaint, breakfast charged at extra €7.90 each, this seemed a bit steep given the price of the room. Overall great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and helpful feedback! We hope to see you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

I was a bit disappointed because the room wasn't as clean as I expected, there was a complete mess left by previous guests, but he ensuite and common areas were in perfect conditions. The location is not the best but the city center is easy to reach by bus or train and even by bike (it's a 20 mins ride). Besides the mess and the location I will definitely book here again or recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely comment! Guests can be pigs sometimes right? :) We are happy that everything else was good for you and are looking forward to see you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Enjoyed my 2 night stay here and really don't have any complaints. The only thing I can think of is that breakfast isn't included in your stay and is slightly pricey (8€ I think). That being said the breakfast selection was amazing. The hostel is also conveniently located within sight of the sloterdijk station, so its easily linked to the rest of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Hope to see you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

(147 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback