X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1237 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 72%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

It was nice time spent at hostel, location is far from center but very conveniently a minute away from train/bus/tram station which makes it easy to come to city's center. Staff is really really nice, friendly and helpful.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Nice hostel, as were all the other Meininger hostels I stayed at around Europe. I was initially booked into a room that was already fully occupied, but the lady on reception was fantastic in sorting the problem out and transferring me to another room. Staff generally were lovely, good atmosphere, comfortable bed. Would be better if the sink was in a bathroom rather than in the dorm area itself, as difficult to clean teeth etc in morning without disturbing others. Will happily stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

This hostel is hotel-esque and is probably the most upscale place you can find at a bargain. Its only downfall, for those who don't want to take the train to visit the center of Amsterdam, would be its location. It's in western Amsterdam. If you want to skateboard (which is what I did) or bike from Sloterdijk (that's where this hostel is located) to Amsterdam's centraal station, you'll love the view along the way. This hostel is literally beside the train station. Also: the staff is top notch.


91%

It is definitely a place to stay if you just want to go to sleep to your room and you are not the type of traveller that wants to stay at the hotel. The hotel is not bad it is very clean and has everthing you need to survive and to enjoy your vacations. The room I picked it was very little but as I said if you plan to stay in the hotel well then if you do not have any issue with the size of your room that is ok then. But everything else is just perfect and I definitely recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

69%

Nothing special at Meininger. The size of it means its quite impersonal and there's not much of an atmosphere, but it's clean and efficient. they don't serve any decent food at the bar, and all the add-ons e.g. bike hire are really expensive. the location is not that good. there's nothing in the surrounding neighbourhood except a starbucks and some high rise buildings but the train station is a 5 minute walk away (including 2 flights of stairs not mentioned by the hostel, not ideal with luggage.)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here! We regret to read that you didnt enjoy the atmosphere with us, moreover because it is highly appreciated by our guests normally. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam after all and hope you might consider coming back to Meininger in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

20%

As I didnt stay here I would find it hard to give a review on it. Your service has been shocking and the amount of money you take from people. I managed to get a booking directly with a hostel at 50% of the price you were charging. You need to rethink your business strategy

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Michael, Thank you for your comment! As we are a combination of a hotel and hostel, we offer a higher service and more facilities than a 'regular' hostel which explains a price difference. As I can see from your booking you had booked a private triple room for 27 EUR per person. In case you would like to book something cheaper next time, please consider a bed in a dormitory which will make a significant difference. We still hope to welcome you at Meininger next time! Meininger

77%

It's a good hostel, although a little bit pricey, close to the train/tram/bus station only complaint is that the laundry equipment was not working while I was there I was staying only 2 nights so I really needed to do my laundry and couldn't because it was out of order

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We hope you have enjoyed your stay here despite the dryer being out of order. Please next time ask reception for directions; there are many other laundry facilities in the nearby area! In case you would like to spend a little less money, next time consider booking a dorm in low season; this will safe you quite a lot! Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

1. The staff were fantastic, professional, personable, helpful, almost couldnt be better. 2. This is not a hostel. It is one of the new breed of mega-fauxstels that see opportunity for big profits from the growing numbers of people who are travelling in a mode that was once only catered to by hostels. Mega-fauxstels are usually located near transport connections but tend to be isolated from competing services such as grocery stores, bars, restaurants and out the door access to local culture.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thank you for your nice review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed the staff at Meininger! We are a mixture of a hotel and hostel, which means that we can offer 3-star hotel standards with the facilities (guest kitchen, dormitories, communal area) of a hostel. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hopefully can welcome you here some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

It's cleaning an comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Awesome place to stay. The rooms were super nice, with clean beds and bathrooms, and outlets by every bed. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel, but there was plenty of opportunities to meet people down in the common area. Good strong wifi, a snack bar, and foosball table. Literally right next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, but a bit far from the city center and a grocery store. Overall, a great spot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Felt more like being in a hotel rather than hostel and it was a bit far from the centre but generally ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

This is a hotel and not a hostel; it's huge so the kitchen area is more like a cafeteria. There were tons of teenagers so I felt like i was in a SHS. I didn't find it cozy, no really a place to make friends for solitary travelers. They gave me a private room and it's was really good. It's a bit far but you can reach downtown with the bus or tram...or even rent a bike (joe's bike next to amsterdam station) and commute to this hostel through the west park. Not a problem! You can get exercise!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

57%

When I travel I want to stay in places that facilitate meeting new people, was disappointed to see the this place was more of a hotel than a hostel. Staff were not very forthcoming with information and the bed I slept in was basically in a double bed with another traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing down your experiences here! We regret to see that you didnt enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked. Our staff is usually very much appreciated by our hostel guests and our bar hosts many evenings in which our guests find each other and enjoy each others company. Also all of our twin beds are seperate beds and easy to move apart. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam anyhow, thank you again for commenting! Meininger

89%

Everything was good...just that the place for a station or bus or tram away... Pls be aware it's not the centre of the city.... Everything u want to go to do things in centre you wil take 30 mins or more in commuting(including going to the bus, waiting , traveling)...so if u just want to lay down for sometime or want to keep something back to your hostel it's not feasible as u will waste time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice review! Please note that next time you can also take the train from our hotel to the city centre, this only takes 5 minutes and will allow you to rest more:) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Where to start... The location is a bit out of the center, but the place is easy to reach with a good bus and train connection. And there are day passes for buses. My single room was a bit small (but decent size bathroom) - but for a short visit with little luggage it is fine. The place is clean and sure - so if you spend most of your stay visiting the city as me, and mainly need a place to sleep, this place is definitely fine, and I can sure recomend it. For party goers, on the other hand...


94%

Strategic, comfort, and clean. I like everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

There was a discrepancy between what Hostel world booking page showed as due to the hostel and what they actually charged me. They charged me 10 Euros more, saying they were city taxes. Hey, but I traveled to so many hostels and this never happened anywhere else. I think Meininger should be clear on what they charge and show that on Hostel World. Luckily, I had booked 7-bed dorm and they gave me 4-bed dorm instead. Perhaps that was the reason for 10 Euros extra :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to comment on your experiences here! We do charge an extra 5.5% city tax upon arrival. This is stated on Hostelworld.com as well before making the booking and explains the 10 euros extra. We hope to welcome you at Meininger again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

A little different from most hostels, Meininger also offers full hotel facilities. The Amsterdam facility is away from Centraal Station but can be reached by tram, bus and night bus. The night bus is worse case and takes 30 minutes. The tram is quick. Excellent facility. Everything was new. Very hot showers. The dryer in the laundry was not working. Highly recommend. The room was quiet and did not hear anyone from another room.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

100%

This place was AWESOME!!! Yes, it is a little outside of the city center, but it is only a 2 minute train ride. There is Air Conditioning! TV's! Huge showers! the bar downstairs never closes. Super friendly staff. Excellent place to rest and relax after a busy day in Amsterdam. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy to see that you are so excited about our hotel! We kindly recommend you one of our other Meiningers around Europe and would be glad to welcome you there! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Loved this place. Good bar. Good people. Great rooms. I'm 6'4 and the beds were a great fit. Nice and clean. Highly recommend. A little bit out from the city but only 1 stop on the train (€2) or a 20 min drive (€15 to €20 in a cab)


(148 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback