X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1388 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Most of the system and the service was satisfying. But their was bugs in minimum 2 beds. It was kind of horrible thing, because it wasn't once I saw it. Maybe 3-4 times for 4 nights. I think this should be solved.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are very sorry to hear about your bad experience and hope you have come to reception to report it? We do at times experience bedbugs as they are taken into the hotel by travellers and we are currently involved in a very extensive treatment program to get completely rid of them. We therefore really appreciate it when we receive feedback so we can act upon it. Please dont hesitate to contact us for any further questions or feedback!

89%

It was a bit far from the main city center, but it was a very nice facility.

  • 25th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments, we hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team!

83%

The Staff not very kind, a long way of, from the basic stuff in amsterdam, but very clean, excellent facilities.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We are sorry to read that you did not experience the friendly staff we are normally praised for! We hope that you have enjoyed your stay here after all and would like to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Very close to the tram station "slaughterdijk" but no one mentioned the last train on a Saturday night to slaughterdijk leaves amsterdam at 2am and doesn't start again until 530 am. €24 euro cab if you make the same mistake we did. Also the entire tram system in amsterdam is a joke but that's not the hostels fault. Be warned.

  • 24th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We agree that a 24-hour train system would benefit us all a lot but next time please try the nightbus: it works all night! :) We hope you have enjoyed your time here and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

While the location was not ideal (about 20-25 minutes to Centraal Station by bus), the facilities and security were more than worth it, especially with such reasonable prices. I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking to take in the beautiful city of Amsterdam.

  • 23rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for such a nice review! We are happy that you have enjoyed our hotel and our beautiful city and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Meininger was great! the location is close to the station, thus easy to connect anywhere I go. the place is clean and the facilities are well maintained...well except the washing machine which didn't work when I was there for 3 days. but generally I was satisfied with overall in this hostel. the staffs are also helpful and friendly, despite there was large group was there when I was staying, they still had time to answer my endless and sometimes ridiculous questions ;)

  • 22nd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and no worries about the questions: that's what we are here for! :) We hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

It's out of the centrum, and is right next to Sloterdijk station. The room I stayed in (an 8 bed mixed suite) was really nice for the money - it basically felt like an enlarged hotel room, with outlets next to beds and a little table with chairs in the middle. The bathroom was split into three - one room for a toilet, one room for a shower, and the sink was outside, in the living area. The atmosphere is very hotel-like, although there is a bar downstairs to meet people. Free food at 9 sometimes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

This is a new and shiny hotel, it's not a hostel. The dorm wasn't clean, the toilets at the lobby was not clean, but it all brand new. Because it's not a hostel the toilets and shower was in the room... not good. Because it's not a hostel the common area was too small and we didn’t know our roommates. Because it's not a hostel it has been crowded with groups at night. The hotel is located 10 min train or bus drive from city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your review here! We are sorry to read that we are not enough hostel for you, as we are a mixture of a hotel and hostel we offer a little bit of both. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam after all and would be happy to welcome you in any of our Meiningers again! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

More hotel than hostel. Have to take train to get into city so a little inconvenient, you can't just walk everywhere but it's not too bad. It is clean and secure.


77%

Although not that close to the city centreit was conveniant for transport links, felt it was quite a high tarrif but I don't know if this was because it was marathon weekend or whether this was always the case. Quite busy at reception and had to wait quite a long time on several occasions.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! During your stay we had two big events in Amsterdam: the Marathon and the Amsterdam Dance Event. I would recommend you to book another weekend next time if you dont want to participate in neither events as this will save you lots of money on accomodation:) We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

69%

The hostel was good, clean, and just one train stop from the city center. I felt it was overpriced for what it offered. I book pretty far in advance and still ended up paying around 115 euro, and breakfast was not even included. The hostel is nice, but I would think you would be able to do better elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! I see that you have staid with us during the ADE weekend (Amsterdam Dance Event) which is the worlds biggest leading Dance Event. We recommend you to book for any other weekend next time as it will save you lots of money :) Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Great value for money. Location is okay, any late night adventures in the City Centre will require you take a cab. Otherwise, you can jump on the train which is located 5 minutes from the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience here! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

The room and bathroom were super fine, more than I was expecting. A blondie girl at the reception was very kind and helpful. Breakfast is good but a little too expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We will tell our blond receptionists that you said hi :) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

The staff where great but the organisation is poor and I witnessed people turned away that had booked , I was woken at 12:30 in the morning so a bed could be made for someone who had not booked a bed, no rational was given or apology for being woken. The WiFi did not work on the floor I was on. The best thing about the hostel was it is new.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to read that you didnt feel welcomed in a well organized hotel during your stay! To avoid missunderstandings next time: when you sleep in a dorm, it is of course possible that you are waked during the day for the cleaning of the room. All beds in a dorm have to be made as new reservations can always arrive. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you at Meininger again some other time!

86%

I stayed in a female dorm. It was good. The room was clean. I feel like stay at hotel not a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you soon again in any of our Meiningers around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

My cousin and I stayed in a 5 person dorm for 3 nights. Very large, new and clean room. Far away from the city centre, but its beside the train station (1 stop from city centre). The unlimited transit pass does NOT include the intercity train, but its about a 30 min bus ride to the city centre. Good wifi connection in the rooms. Very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was too expensive, so we didn't try it out. Not many restaurants in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for this kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your time and stay with us and hope to welcome you at any of our Meiningers again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

The location is not so near to go to Amsterdam central by walking and there's no many options to go around. However, is near from train, tram and bus. The staff and structure of Meininger hotel is fantastic as I was in Meininger Brussels. The atmosphere could be annoying, but this is not caused by the hostel itself; it used to appear lots of guys who sometimes don't respect the room mates. Instead, I would recommend this hostel, because I had a great time here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in Brussels and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Fantastic out of the madness of the City centre but only a 10 min bus or 5 min train for around 3€ or 7€ for 24 pass. Great breakfast aswell.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind feedback! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

It was a pleasant stay but I would rather live in the city center of Amsterdam next time, taking train up and down from the hostel was costly and not practical if you plan to have a late night at the city with friends because most services end at around 12ish or 1am

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to see that you considered your stay as pleasant and hope to welcome you at Meininger again another time! ps. next time try the nightbus, it runs all night back to our hotel :) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

It felt a lot like a regular hotel. The rooms with only 3 people are strange. It's better to have more people in a room. I would recommend this to people that have never been to a hostel and are nervous about trying it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We have a variety of room sizes starting with 3 up to 7 beds per dorm. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback