X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1877 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 85%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

I stayed for 5 nights. It was fine place. On the far west side of the citycity, so easy access from the airport by fairly far from downtown. Only one small kitchen so very hard to find space to cook. The keycard thing to power the room is a good idea but can make for awkward transitions


86%

The hostel is located one train station away from the city centre. I booked a 7 bed mixed dorm, but was placed in a 3 bed room, with 2 single beds pushed together due to the size of the room. It was more like a hotel room, ensuite worked really well between only 3 people and was very clean. Housekeeping came daily. Some school groups and familiea, so not a typical hostel atmosphere but still felt comfortable and safe.


69%

Nice, clean, clinical. Not really a fun place to be and wifi is very poor not even reaching the room. Location is ok easy train journey to centre but still requires the effort of a train journey. A nice hotel-ish place that Id recommend but wouldn't come back again myself.


97%

We had an unfortunate situation happen where another guest "vandalized" one of our suitcases. We rushed downstairs to notify the front desk agents and they were absolutely phenomenal. I wish I got their names b/c they should be rewarded with how they handled the situation, it was the morning of July 5th around 5:45am. They were incredibly helpful to us and very accommodating in an unfortunate situation. We traveled for 2 weeks and this was the nicest place we stayed in! Bathrooms are amazing!

  • 4th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


57%

There was nothing really special or interesting about this place, and there was no aspect of community or anything that you would find in other hostels. I wouldn't stay there again.


51%

Not much to this hostel. Room was very hot and a little dirty. The staff makes little impression and doesn't really care to offer any assistance but the kitchen and common areas are nice and the underground is a couple of blocks away so it was easy to navigate the city on your own. Easy place to sleep but not to meet anyone or get involved.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We take your complaint very seriously and are happy that you took the time to inform us about this matter, so that we are able to react and investigate immediately. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

Bit out of the city but the trains are regular and easy to catch

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Meininger Hotel. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay and have felt thoroughly “at home”. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Amsterdam. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Overall a wonderful experience! My friend and I are college students traveling throughout Europe, and the atmosphere was perfect for us. It was nice they had a kitchen for our use, and the breakfast was definitely worth the 8 euros. My only complaints would be the location and the broken air conditioning. Other than that, it was great!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! as for the location there is not much we can change, but for a next time we would love to give you good advices on how to travel, airconditioning is working great again. We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

Bit out of the way to the centre (costed a fortune in train tickets) but it was overall very clean and we enjoyed our stay.

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We'd like to thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

77%

Really nice hotel! Very clean and orderly! It was a bit annoying to take the train back and forth from Amsterdam West to the city center but definitely doable! Overall really good experience!

  • 2nd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. As for the travel, at the reception we would be more than happy to help you with traveling advices, there are more ways to get into the center, anyway we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

77%

Liked the hostel but it seemed more like a hotel. This resulted in it being a bit harder to meet fellow travellers. Everything was nice and clean though with en suite bathroom & shower which is a plus. As for the location, it's not bad but it's not great, just need to hop on any train going to Sloterdijk.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

The people working at the hostel are very friendly and helpful. They are always available for any questions. This is the place that we'll go when come back to Amsterdam. Thanks a lot.

  • 1st Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Very clean hostel with a modern feel. Located by the train station which you can take a 5 minute ride into the city center. Good atmosphere but if you want to party I would suggest staying near the red light district.


54%

Twice now I have stayed in this branch of hostel. Both times I booked a certain dorm and was given another, being told by reception it doesn't matter what you selected on the website. They just put you in whatever room is available at the time. No where else does this. Its very simple, if you don't have availability in certain rooms, state this on the website and I can book somewhere else and not be lured in by false advertising.

  • 30th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

The hostel has everything you need for a nights sleep which is all you really ask for sometimes. In terms of location it's sort of in the middle of nowhere, you have to take a 10 minute train to the centre of Amsterdam. The staff were not the most helpful but you can't expect much from Meininger as they are a bigger company with branches in most major cities, they are more of a hotel than a hostel.


60%

Very impersonal setting, it is more like a hotel. The hotel is out of the city centre (not walkable), however, it is only 1 train station away from central.


94%

The hostel was very comfortable. The breakfast t for 7 euros was also a good deal, toast hard boiled eggs, cheeses and cold cut meats. Very clean, my only complain is that my room was for eight people and we only had six lockers. Very close to the train station and also very close to Schipol only 4,5€. Excellent for meeting new people.


91%

Only stayed for one night here because of an early flight the next day, but was very impressed with the place. The room was pristine and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Would definitely come back!


77%

The WIFI didn't work which is mostly okay but a bit anmoying when you wanted to let your family know you were there safely! Also this is not a hostel so shouldmt really be on hostelworld, however the shower was amazing and the location was great! So easily accessible to centraal.


80%

Good hostel for groups. Clean and good facilities. May be a bit hard for a solo traveller. We stayed here for a festival and was perfect location. A great cafe BRET close by.


(152 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback