X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1353 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Although not that close to the city centreit was conveniant for transport links, felt it was quite a high tarrif but I don't know if this was because it was marathon weekend or whether this was always the case. Quite busy at reception and had to wait quite a long time on several occasions.

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! During your stay we had two big events in Amsterdam: the Marathon and the Amsterdam Dance Event. I would recommend you to book another weekend next time if you dont want to participate in neither events as this will save you lots of money on accomodation:) We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

69%

The hostel was good, clean, and just one train stop from the city center. I felt it was overpriced for what it offered. I book pretty far in advance and still ended up paying around 115 euro, and breakfast was not even included. The hostel is nice, but I would think you would be able to do better elsewhere.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! I see that you have staid with us during the ADE weekend (Amsterdam Dance Event) which is the worlds biggest leading Dance Event. We recommend you to book for any other weekend next time as it will save you lots of money :) Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Great value for money. Location is okay, any late night adventures in the City Centre will require you take a cab. Otherwise, you can jump on the train which is located 5 minutes from the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for sharing your experience here! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

The room and bathroom were super fine, more than I was expecting. A blondie girl at the reception was very kind and helpful. Breakfast is good but a little too expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We will tell our blond receptionists that you said hi :) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

The staff where great but the organisation is poor and I witnessed people turned away that had booked , I was woken at 12:30 in the morning so a bed could be made for someone who had not booked a bed, no rational was given or apology for being woken. The WiFi did not work on the floor I was on. The best thing about the hostel was it is new.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to read that you didnt feel welcomed in a well organized hotel during your stay! To avoid missunderstandings next time: when you sleep in a dorm, it is of course possible that you are waked during the day for the cleaning of the room. All beds in a dorm have to be made as new reservations can always arrive. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you at Meininger again some other time!

86%

I stayed in a female dorm. It was good. The room was clean. I feel like stay at hotel not a hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you soon again in any of our Meiningers around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

My cousin and I stayed in a 5 person dorm for 3 nights. Very large, new and clean room. Far away from the city centre, but its beside the train station (1 stop from city centre). The unlimited transit pass does NOT include the intercity train, but its about a 30 min bus ride to the city centre. Good wifi connection in the rooms. Very nice and helpful staff. Breakfast was too expensive, so we didn't try it out. Not many restaurants in the area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for this kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your time and stay with us and hope to welcome you at any of our Meiningers again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

The location is not so near to go to Amsterdam central by walking and there's no many options to go around. However, is near from train, tram and bus. The staff and structure of Meininger hotel is fantastic as I was in Meininger Brussels. The atmosphere could be annoying, but this is not caused by the hostel itself; it used to appear lots of guys who sometimes don't respect the room mates. Instead, I would recommend this hostel, because I had a great time here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and in Brussels and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Fantastic out of the madness of the City centre but only a 10 min bus or 5 min train for around 3€ or 7€ for 24 pass. Great breakfast aswell.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind feedback! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

It was a pleasant stay but I would rather live in the city center of Amsterdam next time, taking train up and down from the hostel was costly and not practical if you plan to have a late night at the city with friends because most services end at around 12ish or 1am

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are happy to see that you considered your stay as pleasant and hope to welcome you at Meininger again another time! ps. next time try the nightbus, it runs all night back to our hotel :) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

It felt a lot like a regular hotel. The rooms with only 3 people are strange. It's better to have more people in a room. I would recommend this to people that have never been to a hostel and are nervous about trying it.

  • 28th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We have a variety of room sizes starting with 3 up to 7 beds per dorm. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Well, I think the price I paid was too high in relation for such a hostel-atmosphere with lots of teenager-groups in the lobby-area ... and the small shared room with strangers. But the bed and cleanliness in the room was very good ... as well as the hotel in general ('good').

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback and stay in our hotel! During weekend and high season, rates are always a bit higher so if it was too much for you, we recommend you to have a look at our rates during low season next time. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and would like to welcome you again soon! (maybe in Winter?) :) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

Location is bad, kinda far to the city centre. Also i had something of sentimental value stolen from me from the cleaning staff. So lock up all your valuables, even little things you don't really care about.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your feedback! We are really sorry and shocked to hear that something got missing from your room! We always recommend to lock everything, as you were sleeping in a dorm and therefore all of your roommates have acces to your belongings otherwise. This is the main reasons we offer lockers in the rooms :) We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam and hope to welcome you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

46%

Room door didn't close properly so it was often left slightly open during the day. Bed was not made and sheets had a red stain that looked like blood. It is far from city centre, but accessible by a 5 minute train. Common area was decent but the bar and breakfast were overpriced.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your feedback here! We are sorry to hear that the cleaning wasnt done appropriately and that you door didnt close either. We hope that you have reported this to reception right away so they could deal with the issue and make everything alright for you as that is why we are there for:) we hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam in the end and always hope to welcome you again in any of our Meiningers! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

As usual the Meininger hostel was really good. Everything was clean and the staff was helpful. My only problem I was using a lock too thin for the lockers so you could still open the locker even if my lock was in it. As far as location goes it was easy to get to the city by train and was in a safe area but it would've been nice to be in walking distance. Minor issues I know :) everything else was great and I would defiantly book at the Meininger hostels... in any city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review! We are happy that apart from the minor details everything was good for you:) Looking forward to seeing you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

51%

your hostel is more like a hotel than a hostel. the inhabitants are much highschool group and not traveller. breakfast price is outrageous expensive, and for the number of rooms, only 1 washing machine and 1 drying machine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for writing down your experiences and feedback here! We are a mixture of a hotel and hostel and therefore have a big variety of different guests. We think 7,90 EUR for an all you can eat buffet is not that outrageuous but this of course is a personal believe. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam anyway and would be happy to welcome you again in any of our ho(s)tels in Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

It was a fantastic experience, just note that the lockers are small. The direction to the entrance was a bit tricky for the first time. But overall recommendation is very positive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for such a nice review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

great place but far from the center of the city so unless you want to pay for a taxi you need to be on a bus by midnight every night. its more of a hotel than a hostel so the facilities are extremely high quality.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! Next time please try out the night bus, it runs all through the night so it allows you to stay in the centre for as long as you want :) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Loved it, really added to Amsterdam experience. Thanks for everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank YOU for staying with us and writing such a lovely review. We are very happy that everything turned out so well for you. See you soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

I've travelled the world over, and this is the first time I've stayed at a MEININGER hostel. I have to say, it's the cleanest, most efficient, and overall, nicest hostel I've ever stayed at anywhere. Most of the staff were very helpful and polite. The breakfast was basic, but for the price, I can't complain. It was good. I've had much worse in 3 star hotels. At the time of staying, finding the entrance was difficult, but it's an easy train ride into Amsterdam Central, and about 20 mins by bus.

  • 15th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, that is a huge compliment for us!! We are happy that everything was good for you and hope to welcome you at any of our Meiningers again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(151 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback