X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1780 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Very clean hostel. More like a hotel! Towels and a turn down service. Stayed in a mixed dorm of 7. Great people (except the guy who was a horrendous snorer). Lockers in the room (remember your own padlock) Great location as well. Only downside: around 10pm every night there seemed to be no hot water.

  • 27th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Steffers88
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

Stayed as a solo traveller in a four bed dorm-very small and felt cramped with the windows not being able to be opened. Weird situation with the beds-there are 2 single beds together so if you are travelling solo be prepared to get cosy with someone else. I feel this is unacceptable. Even if you push the beds apart, barely makes a difference. Expensive breakfast in the morning for what it was-cereal didn't taste nice at all. Location good by the train station but expensive to travel everyday


86%

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay in Meininger Amsterdam. The hostel is spotless and the staff were great as well. The location was a bit problematic but it took only 10 minutes to get to the city centre so its not too bad. The bar is pretty good and I met quite a few people there. The rooms are incredibly clean and very comfortable. It was close to the airport too so that suited me perfectly.


69%

More like a hotel. People were generally friendly including the staff. Atmosphere was meh. It's just a place to crash. Wouldn't stay here again though.


94%

We loved Meininger - it was gorgeous and super clean. However, I didn't know it would be so far from central Amsterdam, and we had some trouble finding the entrance based on Google Maps' instructions - it might help if they sent a walking map from the Sloterdijk train station when the reservations were made.


83%

Very nice establishment and very clean. Only bad thing is the location is far from the city center but metro is fairly close.


77%

Clean, big dorms, hair-dryer provided, free WiFi, Hostel is not in the city center, but it is located right next to a big station where trains and buses run regularly, free breakfast (though we found 7,90€ too expensive), nice staff, snack bar

  • 22nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

86%

Good to stay here if you're not looking to stay near the nightlife of the city. It's only one train stop away though, which takes maybe 10 minutes. Staff was really nice, we got a free upgrade to a three bed private room instead of five. Very clean/nice rooms and bathroom. More of a hotel than a hostel. I'd stay here again, but I think next time i'll want to be closer to the city center.


77%

Nice, clean hostel. Pleasant helpful staff. Close to public transport. The breakfast is a little over priced, but you can have as much as you like and it's pretty good quality.

  • 20th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

80%

Really nice place, near to the airport, friendly receptionist, clean room more like staying in a hotel in a budget, only nice things to say.. I'll definitely book again here or to their other branches in different countries..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again in Amsterdam or one of our other hotels in Europe! Your Meininger Hotel Amsterdam

71%

Nice room, seemed clean. Didn't use the kitchen so can't comment on that. Very close to train station


94%

The staff were super friendly and helpful upon arrival and the room was far better than expected and our expectations were hardly low! Everywhere was spotless and it is a two minute walk from the station. Loved staying here, don't think our Amsterdam adventure would've been the same if it wasn't for this hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

Just a stop from the Main Central Station so it is convenient. But the design is really like a hotel not a hostel.


83%

Meininger is a nice hostel. A few stops away from the airport and one stop over to Centraal Station. It feels more like a hotel as opposed to a hostel so the rooms are really nice but nobody is really there to get to know each other. The breakfast is a little steep (7.90 euros) but they do offer you as much as you can eat with great options. The first day I was there my locker door was broken off the hinges. However, staff was quick to fix it when I informed them.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

This hostel was very clean and felt like a nice hotel. It was one of the most expensive places I stayed at and for the price I felt the WiFi connection was very poor. I felt for you to be able to surf the net you had to wake up early in the morning . Lastly, the hostel is located outside center city making it difficult to stay out late however it is close to the station and if you have a euro rail pass you can take the intercity train which is faster and free over the metro.


69%

Comfy bed and great wifi. Next to the train station but pretty far from the city. Manager in the morning is terrible. Very rude. Maids come into the rooms at 8 am to clean and are very noisy. A bottle of wine at the bar was €20, and it was the cheapest they had. I wouldn't stay here again but it's okay if you are in a pinch.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for choosing the Meininger Hotel. We are sorry to hear that you were not fully satisfied with the services offered to you. We still hope that you have enjoyed your stay. Your remarks and suggestions are more than welcome and allow us to introduce changes, wherever necessary. Kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Yes, this is more of a hotel with shared rooms than an hostel. There is sadly no other common area than the bar/dining room or the (small!!) kitchen. The rooms are big though, and well equipped/clean/comfortable. The front desk is always busy but the staff is happy to help. The wifi doesn't work so well. You can get to Amsterdam in less than 15 minutes by train (central station) or by tram (museums/parks). The 7€ breakfast is busy and NOT WORTH IT, go buy something at the train station instead.


94%

Lockers in rooms didn't lock properly, other than that, everything was excellent.

  • 2nd May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Very good for the urban travel...

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

The hostel is really good, clean and modern! The breakfest is good but it couled be a Little cheaper... The Location is really good, near from Center but not in the real middle of it. To go to City Center you can go by bus )- longer but cheaper - or tain (sprinter) - real fast but a Little more expensive. Great experience!

  • 30th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your great review!! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. We do hope to see you again in the Meininger hotel in Amsterdam or in one of our other properties in Europe. All the best and kind regards, Your Meininger team

(121 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback