X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2325 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The hostel was conveniently located next to the train station.The stAff were friendly and the rooms were clean

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Guest, Thanks for your lovely review. Hopefully we see you back again in the future! All the best, MEININGER TEAM Amsterdam

100%

Nicest hostel I stayed in yet!I booked a couple months in advance and got the weekend for two people for around 80 euro. The rooms are incredibly nice, bc its a hotel. The location is perfect, its right next door to the train station, like literally, a 30 second walk. The staff are great as well,very helpful. Definitely book this place, one of my fav parts of amsterdam oddly enough was this place haha

  • 5th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Daniel, Thanks a lot for your kind feedback! We hope to see you back again in the future. All the best!

97%

The staff was very welcoming and accommodated our needs perfectly. Even though the location was a little off the beaten path from the center of the city, having the bus stop there was ideal which made up for any inconvenience. The facilities were amazing and overall the stay was well worth the money.

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Very Pleasant Stay! only flaw was we asked for our room to be cleaned on day, they made our beds and didn't check the bathroom, where towels and toilet roll was needed. but other than that fabulous, excellent location if you don't mind getting the train!

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Jaime, Thank you very much for leaving such a nice review. We would be happy to welcome you again in the future! Take care, Meininger team Amsterdam

60%

There was blood on my sheets... twice!

  • 1st Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

It was a great but it's far away from the central station and much expensive and there is no break fast, but anything else was Awsome

  • 30th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Yahia, Thank you for sharing your experiences. I would like to take this opportunity to let you know that we are located next to the train/tram/bus and metro station. The train takes just 5 minutes (1 stop) to the main centre of Amsterdam. Regarding the breakfast. We do offer a continental buffet for 7,90 euro per day. For children under 12 years it is half price. We hope to see you back again another time! All the best, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

Great hostel!! Loved everything about it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mariangela, We are happy to read that you loved your stay with us. We hope to see you back again! Take care, The Meininger team

57%

ONLY STAY HERE IF YOU ARE DESPERATE OR DISORGANIZED! ! THIS IS NOT A HOSTEL more like a budget hotel moonlighting as one. The location is terrible if you want a late-night Amsterdam experience. 25 mins by night bus (once an hour) or 5 mins during the day by an expensive train. Booked a 7 bed dorm - found myself in a tiny budget hotel room in bunk-beds sharing with a random couple (who also booked a 7 bed dorm). uncomfortable & awkward for all parties involved Staff were very UNHELPFUL

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Sophie, We are sorry to read that you were unhappy during your stay at our hotel. Did you share your feelings with our staff members? If not, I would like to encourage you to tell our reception staff how you feel like, as they are there to help you and solve problems that occur during your visit. If you have any further question, please contact us directly. Kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam

89%

One qualm, both times we received luggage from their storage we didn't need to present the ticket we were given, we were just let into the room. Otherwise, clean, hospitable and well equipped.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Katherine, Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences and for leaving some comments for improvement. We much appreciate it! Kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam

100%

Would stay again next time I come back to Amsterdam

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Daniel, Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. MEININGER Team Amsterdam

94%

Actually a hotel with shareable dorm like rooms. Has everything you'd expect from a hotel chain, clean, good facilities. Kitchen is good. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was comfortable and the bed was really comfortable. The only downside is the location, you have to use the trains to get to central Amsterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Megan, We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam another time. All the best, Team Meininger Amsterdam

94%

really easy to get into the city center from this location. staff was friendly & accommodating. facilities were in proper working order & essily accessible.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Samantha, Thank you so much for your kind review. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable time and that you felt comfortable. Kind Regards!

89%

This hostel was great value for money, right nxt to train station and only 1 train stop from central. Staff were friendly and very helpful. The accomodation was lovely and very clean 7 of us stayed in one room and all beds were comfy.will definately stay here again when i return nxt year.

  • 20th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Kellie, What a great review! Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff members and for taking your time to share the experience of your recent stay at the MEININGER Hotel in Amsterdam. I will forward your compliments to my colleagues. It is very nice to read you were happy with the location and that you liked the cleanliness and facilities. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future! All the best, The MEININGER team

80%

Everything is good except it is far from anything if you want to walk. Bus/tram/metro and train station are all a stone's throw away. I'd recommend purchasing a 4-day bus/team/metro pass to get around. Train tickets are relatively cheap too. If you stay out late you can find a ride on a night bus but I found those sparse and a bit confusing. Aside from being on the outskirts of town, it's a very clean and friendly facility. Quiet unless you have someone in your room with sleep apnea...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Garret, Thank you for your review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam! Kind Regards, MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam

66%

This place is more like hotel with more beds rather than hostel. This might be good for family trips or if you hate backpacking and want cheaper stay. Toilet and shower looks great, room was nice too. Problems: - is that atmosphere was just hotel bad, nothing special, easily forgettable place. - it is far form center so you might end up paying extra for travelling - breakfast was only in form all you can eat which is at least for me expensive overkill(breakfast not included in price)


91%

Great hostel! I moved here after being really unhappy in another hostel in the city center. Meninger is super close, but still far enough so that you feel like you get a break from the craziness of Amsterdam. Super clean, great environment, lovely facilities, my favorite hostel out of the 50+ I have stayed in over the years!


80%

Best of the chain i've stayed in, seriously quite good particularly compared to the other ones in the chain. Location is only alright though, have to pay about 5 euro every day to get into town and back so keep that in mind. That said its a good place overall


89%

Really spacious rooms and clean, good sized showers too. The bar is large and the kitchen and laundry are in the same room so I could cook while my clothes washed. Good location if you get the bus to/from Amsterdam but you will spend €5 a day getting to and from the city centre. Rooms are more expensive over the weekend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Portia, It makes us smile to read that you had such a nice experience during your stay in Amsterdam. We are glad that you found your room spacious and clean. It would be our pleasure to see you back in the future, in Amsterdam or in one of our other hotels in Europe. Take care, The Meininger team

94%

Really good place for anyone who wants to stay and enjoy Amsterdam in a safe and CLEAN environment, would recommend 100%

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

My group got in really late, but luckily the hostel was right next to both the train and bus station so getting to the center of Amsterdam and the airport was super easy. My room was extremely nice and felt like a hotel room, each room had a toliet and shower in the room as well as your own personal charging station. Breakfast was a buffet and delicious. The only downfall was the dorms don't come with towels, but they were only one euro to rent so it wasn't too bad. Overall I loved this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brooke, What a kind feedback. Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back again another time. The Meininger team

(157 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback