X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1262 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

It's cleaning an comfortable!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Awesome place to stay. The rooms were super nice, with clean beds and bathrooms, and outlets by every bed. Felt more like a hotel than a hostel, but there was plenty of opportunities to meet people down in the common area. Good strong wifi, a snack bar, and foosball table. Literally right next to Amsterdam Sloterdijk station, but a bit far from the city center and a grocery store. Overall, a great spot!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Felt more like being in a hotel rather than hostel and it was a bit far from the centre but generally ok.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

This is a hotel and not a hostel; it's huge so the kitchen area is more like a cafeteria. There were tons of teenagers so I felt like i was in a SHS. I didn't find it cozy, no really a place to make friends for solitary travelers. They gave me a private room and it's was really good. It's a bit far but you can reach downtown with the bus or tram...or even rent a bike (joe's bike next to amsterdam station) and commute to this hostel through the west park. Not a problem! You can get exercise!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

57%

When I travel I want to stay in places that facilitate meeting new people, was disappointed to see the this place was more of a hotel than a hostel. Staff were not very forthcoming with information and the bed I slept in was basically in a double bed with another traveller.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing down your experiences here! We regret to see that you didnt enjoy your stay as much as you would have liked. Our staff is usually very much appreciated by our hostel guests and our bar hosts many evenings in which our guests find each other and enjoy each others company. Also all of our twin beds are seperate beds and easy to move apart. We hope you have enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam anyhow, thank you again for commenting! Meininger

89%

Everything was good...just that the place for a station or bus or tram away... Pls be aware it's not the centre of the city.... Everything u want to go to do things in centre you wil take 30 mins or more in commuting(including going to the bus, waiting , traveling)...so if u just want to lay down for sometime or want to keep something back to your hostel it's not feasible as u will waste time

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your nice review! Please note that next time you can also take the train from our hotel to the city centre, this only takes 5 minutes and will allow you to rest more:) Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Where to start... The location is a bit out of the center, but the place is easy to reach with a good bus and train connection. And there are day passes for buses. My single room was a bit small (but decent size bathroom) - but for a short visit with little luggage it is fine. The place is clean and sure - so if you spend most of your stay visiting the city as me, and mainly need a place to sleep, this place is definitely fine, and I can sure recomend it. For party goers, on the other hand...


94%

Strategic, comfort, and clean. I like everything!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

There was a discrepancy between what Hostel world booking page showed as due to the hostel and what they actually charged me. They charged me 10 Euros more, saying they were city taxes. Hey, but I traveled to so many hostels and this never happened anywhere else. I think Meininger should be clear on what they charge and show that on Hostel World. Luckily, I had booked 7-bed dorm and they gave me 4-bed dorm instead. Perhaps that was the reason for 10 Euros extra :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to comment on your experiences here! We do charge an extra 5.5% city tax upon arrival. This is stated on Hostelworld.com as well before making the booking and explains the 10 euros extra. We hope to welcome you at Meininger again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

A little different from most hostels, Meininger also offers full hotel facilities. The Amsterdam facility is away from Centraal Station but can be reached by tram, bus and night bus. The night bus is worse case and takes 30 minutes. The tram is quick. Excellent facility. Everything was new. Very hot showers. The dryer in the laundry was not working. Highly recommend. The room was quiet and did not hear anyone from another room.

  • 18th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

100%

This place was AWESOME!!! Yes, it is a little outside of the city center, but it is only a 2 minute train ride. There is Air Conditioning! TV's! Huge showers! the bar downstairs never closes. Super friendly staff. Excellent place to rest and relax after a busy day in Amsterdam. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your kind review, we are very happy to see that you are so excited about our hotel! We kindly recommend you one of our other Meiningers around Europe and would be glad to welcome you there! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Loved this place. Good bar. Good people. Great rooms. I'm 6'4 and the beds were a great fit. Nice and clean. Highly recommend. A little bit out from the city but only 1 stop on the train (€2) or a 20 min drive (€15 to €20 in a cab)


69%

Our shower was completely clogged and no one came to clean it or fix it while we were there. Other than that the breakfast buffet is pretty good (is not free). It was nice having our own bathroom and shower in our mixed dorm and not having to share like in other hostels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review! We are sorry to read about your shower. Did you report this to reception? We could have easily fixed this for you. We hope you have enjoyed your stay with us after all and would be happy to welcome you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

The best hostel where I've been in my trip around Europe. Perfect!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Very well-run hostel. I loved that you can rent bikes. It's a bit far from city centre but it's a short train ride or 15 minute bike ride away. I just wish their weekend rates weren't so expensive. They raise the prices quite high compared to the week.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice comments!! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and gladly invite you back again in winter time when we offer dorm beds for only 14 euros:) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Super clean hostel but the kitchen is ridiculously small for the size of the hostel. Made for some frustrating evenings.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We will expand our Amsterdam location soon and will definitely consider a bigger kitchen then:) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Very confortable and clean, incredibly close to the train station, but it is closer to a hotel than to a hostel (which is not necessarily bad, of course)..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

80%

Good hostel, location is a bit out of the way but it's very easy to get into town from there. Atmosphere was more of a hotel than a hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

100%

Definitely worth it!

  • 7th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay at Meininger and hope to welcome you again soon in any of our hostels around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

I just wish they put a space in between the beds esp. if it's not a private room. My roommate's knees kept going over my side of the bed. That was very uncomfortable, even though we're both female. That was the only negative in my experience but definitely unforgettable. Putting two twin beds right next to each other.... Wth!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. All of our twin beds are easily removed from each other. So if you felt uncomfortable with your room mate, you could have easily solved this by moving the bed towards the wall! :) Hope to see you at Meininger next time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(154 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback