X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1143 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Due to the price paid would've expected towels to be provided, and also perhaps lockable storage in the room. Otherwise great place to stay much more like a hotel than a hostel.


80%

Meininger Hostel does have great facilities. You wonder if you are staying in a hotel or a hostel at times. But the dorm rooms certainly make this place a hostel. The drawback is that the hostel is not close enough to Amsterdam to make walking easy, so you have to take the train going to and from town. Given its location, you'd expect the room rates to be more reasonable. Unlike most hostels that offer free breakfast, this hostel chain charges for the buffet breakfast. A bit pricy for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving your comment here! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here. We are a combination of a hotel and hostel which explains the wondering:). Our prices are very competetive but unfortunately Amsterdam is one of the most expensive cities in Europe to stay in. We hope to welcome you here some other time! (perhaps in low season with dorm beds for 14 euros). Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

Very clean, modern building. Much more like a hotel than a hostel, however. Wouldn't recommend staying here if you're looking for that laid-back hostel vibe. However, if a hotel is more your scene, then this is a great value for the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

71%

The internet sucked and needs augmenting.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to leave your feedback here. We are aware of our internet problems and are working on a solution. Hopefully it will all be better around next month. Hope to welcome you at Meininger some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

It was a really great place to stay, and less expensive than being in the center of the city. It was easy to get around because it's right at the train station. It lacks the atmosphere of being in an actual hostel, since it's truly a hotel. However, there's a great kitchen that sort of doubles as the common room for the people staying in the hostel rooms. It was really clean, the staff were great and it had really good security.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

89%

Cleanest, most well-appointed hostel I've stayed at. Rooms were equivalent to a luxury hotel. Kitchen was spacious, clean, and provided with free pasta. Bar was great. Only problem is it's not in downtown amsterdam, a 5 min train ride in. Not a huge deal because the hostel is right beside the train station but still a hassle when you just want to pop out or a quick bite or something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for such a lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here that much. Hope to welcome you again in any of our Meiningers around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Washing machine should be regulated for 30 minute cycle. Visitors are putting it on 1 1/2 hours , thereby limiting others from using them. Please add more washers and dryers,, travelers are willing to pay. This hostel is new and kept up very well, food is great and next door to train station, a real plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment! We really appreciate the feedback and will start contemplating a second washing machine :) Hope to see you again in any of our Meiningers! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Feels like a hotel but there are 6 beds in the room and i was sharing it with 5 other guests. The socket per bed is very handy. The lockers too in the room. Bring your own lock and you are good to go. There is a good connection by train to amsterdam central.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write this nice review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you at Meininger again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Summed up easily: Clean, comfortable, repurposed hotel, superb and accommodating staff. The only downside is the lcoation, which is a clipper train to the outer limits of Amsterdam requiring a small fee on a very dirty train.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay here. It seems like you were out of luck because the cleaning companies on the trains were on strike during the month of May:( Hope to see you again next time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Great hostel!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! Hope to see you again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

it was a wonderful family room,very clean and we were generally impressed

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you very much for leaving your comment here. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay, see you again next time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

71%

Not seen a room as nice since I was at a Marriot - clean and modern decor, comfortable beds and bedding, large bathroom, and all cleaned and maintained very well. But the location sucks. Yeah it's spitting distance to Sloterdijk station and the extensive train/bus/tram network but why get on a train to Centraal when you can just stay IN Centraal?

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

The staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ok , only 5 minutes by train to Amsterdam Center. The rooms very clean and I enjoyed my stay, would recommend it !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your nice comment! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you here again some other time! Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam

100%

very good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

This hostel is amazing: super clean, very cheerful and helpful staff and free laundry facilities! The location is a little far off the city center but transit makes it a breeze.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

Overall, good hostel experience, although more like a hotel than a hostel (I believe there is a hotel attached, so makes sense). Rooms are beautiful, clean, and spacious. Location appears to be quite out of the way from downtown but truthfully very easy to get downtown - quick 10 minute tram ride (although trams don't run all night). Overall, great place if you're just looking for a comfy place to sleep, but somewhat expensive considering the location and lack of a communal hostel "vibe".

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your experiences here. We are a hostel in combination with a hotel so that does makes sense:). We are happy to announce that trains from now on also run all through the night back to our hotel! We hope to see you again either here or in any other Meiningers around Europe. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

very clean

  • 15th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for taking out the time to write down your experience. We appreciate the feedback and hope to welcome you here another time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

57%

More of a hotel with dorms than a hostel. Not a great vibe for meeting people. It's a trek to get to the city center. They seem way too concerned with money - they wanted to charge my friends 180 euro EACH to stay an extra night. They charged me a 10 euro late checkout fee for being 50 minutes late turning in my room card. I was staying in a shared room with 6 other people, so I wasn't stopping the them from cleaning the room. I've never been charged a fee like this before.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to share your experiences! Next time please come to reception and ask for all options to get into the city center. If you were concerned with the length of the travel we could have advised you to take the train - only 5 minutes! As we are a big hotel with 750 guests, we have to apply certain rules. This makes it comfortable for our guests who are able to check in on time as well as for our housekeeping staff. Meininger Amsterdam

77%

It was a nice hostel and stay, thank you. As there is not very much food available in the surrounding areas, it would be great if the hostel could offer meals in the evening. We arrived during the evening and ended up going to bed hungry as a result of not being able to find food.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

It was really nice to stay in the hotel, but the wifi does not work well, and it is a bit far from the city center, but the cleanliness is really good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to comment. We appreciate your feedback and are working on improving our wifi at this moment. Warm regards from sunny Amsterdam!

(118 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback