X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
915 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 95%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Was a friendly welcome, very helpful explaining the means of travelling around the city. Lovely dorm room and we were put with two lovely girls. AS we were out a lot we didn't make use of the facilities available but from what I saw it was all very good. Would definately come back.

  • 30th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Altough the location is very far away with metro, it was good stay for a reasonable price.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • wangel
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

the computers provided in the hostel are not well functioning and the wifi are really hard to get linked in.

  • 26th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and will work on the matter. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

Helpful staff, overall great stay. No complaints at all!

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

The hotel was nice, is not on Ciy center, but has a station nealy! The Staffs were helpfull. The Breakfast was delicious, worth it! The Bedroom, was quite good. The problems: Far way from city center In all hostels where I've been, this was the worse for the Internet... but the Best for the Breakfast! =D

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Although I stayed here only briefly, I had a pleasant stay. The Meininger is a massive place offering spotless and spacious rooms with ensuite bathroom and top-notch facilities. Although its location next to the Amsterdam-Sloterdijk railway station and amidst office buildings is very convenient, there is nothing of interest in its vicinity. I found its staff to be very attentive and helpful. Having been to other Meininger Hostels before, this one offers clearly a livelier common area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

The hostel is pretty good. Our room was really good and also the bar and the common area. However the kitchen was small and not equiped enough for the amount of guest . Internet service was not great either. In despite if that, the atmosphere was really good, young people and families can enjoy together.


100%

Paid for a room in an 8-bed dorm. Was given a single-bed room with private bathroom and shower for no additional cost, plus an unadvertised 10% discount. Score! Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. SECURITY: Keycard entry to room. Never felt unsafe in the building. LOCATION: Directly next to Sloterdijk Station (easy access to Centraal). STAFF: Extremely friendly! ATMOSPHERE: Bustling. Great vibe. CLEANLINESS: Spotless. VALUE: Couldn't be higher. FACILITIES: Plenty to do on-site.


89%

Very good option, but the hostel is too far from the city centre and the guests have to buy transport tickets.


80%

The Wifi is not stable. Most of the time I am not able to surf the internet, even though my phone and computer showed that it has already connected to the Wifi.


100%

We arrived very early in the morning on a bus from Germany and were soooo sleepy. We had booked a dorm, but the lady at the front desk gave us a private room because our room wasn't ready. She could see how sleepy we were. Thank you!! I don't know how the dorms were, but the private rooms are basically hotels. Very clean and new. WIFI worked great. The only downside to this place was the location. Its not in the city, it's on the edge of the city so you have to take the train into town.


83%

The rooms are very comfortable, clean and well furnished. The breakfast for only 5,90 is very good too. The only problem is that the hotel is not very near the center of Amsterdam, but it's right next to a train station that can get you there in less than 10 minutes. You can also take the tran to the center, that is near the train station.

  • 13th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Fantastic in everyway!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your enthusiastic words!! Hope to see you again in one of our 17 hotels across Europe! Greetings from Amsterdam.

97%

The staff were friendly and hard-working and they made sure it was an enjoyable stay. I will definitely consider staying at a MEININGER hostel in the future.

  • 11th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you so much for your friendly review! We would be glad to have you again in one of our hotels :) And don't forget to ask for your 5% discount in your next stay as well! Greetings from the Amsterdam team!

94%

This place was fantastic, it was closer to a nice hotel then a hostel. Bit far out but definately worth it.


91%

Although it's not located in the hub of Amsterdam it's right next to the station which offers trains,trams and busses to anywhere you would like to go. The rooms are clean and comfortable, staff friendly and over all good value for money

  • 9th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 18-24


97%

Brilliant hostel, would highly recommend. Very friendly and approachable staff who were willing to help with any request. Clean - new towels each day, bedding changed every other day. We stayed in a 5 bed private room which was excellent. The hostel is 5 minutes by train from Centraal and very accessible. Couldn't fault it.

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

very attentive, courteous, helpful staff. Room and kitchen facilities far exceeded expectations. have already recomended hostel to several friends. Bravo!

  • 8th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


80%

It was really nice stay at Meininger. It's not located in city center but tram, train and bus connections were really good. Breakfast was only 5,90 euros and there were lots of different foods.


91%

A very clean and well facilitated hostel, with an impressive breakfast buffet and very welcoming staff. Even though a bit further from the center, the location turned out quite convenient since it is so close to bus, tram and train!

  • 6th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(98 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback