X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1773 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 69%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Extremely close to the centre of Amsterdam (1 stop on train). Excellent servioce; the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Went in not expecting great things, left completely overwhelmed; was better than some 4 star hotel I've stayed at. Will be using them again.

  • 26th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for your awesome review! We are very happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel and that you were satisfied with the facilities and services that we offer. I will let our staff members know that you appreciated their help. It is great to notice that you are considering to stay with us again or with one of our other Meininger hotels in Europe! It would be our pleasure! All the best and kind regards, Your Meininger team

77%

Overall the hotel is very close to the train station where there is direct train to airport or AMS main station. Only that the walkway to the hotel is a bit quiet & sometimes i dont feel safe walking alone to the train station especially early in the morning or late evening.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The walkway to the hotel is a bit quiet in the weekends but it is safe to walk to the train station and back, especially as it is a bright lightened pathway and as we are 24h on site it is well secured as well. We hope to see you again maybe in the future. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

80%

This is a huge hostel. The atmosphere in the main room downstairs is pretty nice, I met a couple people despite it being a place for larger groups of friends. The location is quite far from the city centre, like a 30 min bus ride, or a 10 min train ride. It's a great place for a weekend stay though as you can spend all day and night in Amsterdam then come back to a very quiet nights sleep.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for the time taken to write about your experience. Hope to see you again in one of our 16 hotels across Europe. Best regards from Meininiger Amsterdam

91%

It's right next to a big metro/tram/train station and bus stops so you can easily get around Amsterdam. It was a clean room and the beds were comfy. The kitchen was clean and equipped with utensils, pots, and pans and sometimes free pasta and rice. Wifi worked great especially down in the common area near the kitchen. Would definitely stay here again

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and have felt thoroughly “at home”. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

83%

Hostel was great and very clean, the wifi was absolutely horrible though. I wouldn't even advertise that you have it

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. We have indeed installed now more routers and switches in order to improve the WIFI experience for our guests! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

A bit far from the center of the city but next to a train station that can take you there! The hostel was super clean and the staff were amazingly efficient as well as friendly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you once more at your next stay in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

100%

This hostel is located one minute outside of the Sloterdijk station, which provides easy access to the airport and city. The room was clean, quiet and the staff were very friendly. I was very happy with my stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

77%

To get into downtown Amsterdam took about a half hour and involved a bus. The staff were friendly and helpful however during check in and check out the desk often had an extensive lineup so getting any additional information or help was out of the question. The hostel is very close to the train station which was great when taking the trains and heading to the airport. Also meant that until 8 PM, there is access to a small grocery store in the train station.

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay with our Meininger hotel in Amsterdam. We are happy to hear that you appreciated the services of our staff members and that you liked the location of the property. At rush hours it can be busy, but we always try to give every guest the best possible customer service. We do appologize if you experienced any inconvenieces. It would be our pleasure to welcome you again! Kind regards, Meininger Team

86%

Good location right near the train station. not a party hostel, but the best nights sleep I've ever gotten at hostel. comfortable beds and really nice rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and had a good nights rest :-) Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

89%

For a few days in amsterda, it´s perfect. Good Atmosphere.

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you soon again in Amsterdam. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

97%

The staff was very friendly. Even though we arrived early in the morning, we could put our Luggage in the Luggage room. The location is great: close by a train and metro station, so you can get to the city centre in no time. We hired bikes. You can easily ride from the city centre to the hostel: it's only a 20 minute bike ride away!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

97%

This is a great hostel. It's clean like a hotel but has the friendly vibes like a hostel. It's one 5 minute metro stop away from Amsterdam and probably walking distance if you're up for the challenge or navigating yourself there. Definitely recommend this place and would stay again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

I had a great stay, it wasn't as close to the city as I would have wanted but it was okay. The dorms could have been a little bigger for the price. Overall I had a great stay and everything was clean.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

86%

Overweight manager lady was pretty rude. Her colleagues would ask her a question in English for me and she would respond in Dutch so I wouldn't know what she was saying. Not cool. Negative undertone,always seemed unhappy. Poor her I guess, I'm in Amsterdam! :) :) PS: Hotel looks like a freaking 4 star hotel. seriously surprised. Don't let her stop you! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your review! We are sorry to read that you didn't have a good experience with one of our managers, thanks for the feedback! We hope you have enjoyed your overall stay and our beautiful city and would like to welcome you again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

A nice gigantic place in the middle of nowhere, anywhere would have been better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, We are sorry to hear that you were not completely satisfied during your stay at our hotel in Amsterdam and that you were not happy with the location. You are right about the fact that our property is located in a quiet area. By train it is one stop (5 minutes) away from the main centre. We do hope that you had a great time in Amsterdam and we hope you visit the city again in the future! All the best and kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam

86%

Very friendly staff, clean, good facilities. Location is a little far from the city centre but it's very well connected by public transport.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again at the Meininger Hotel in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

89%

Meininger is more like hotel then hostel...excellent security, excellent facilities and very clean...if this three things is important for you....then meininger is your excellent choice for you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your compliments and for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at our Meininger Hotel. We would be delighted to welcome you again in the near future. Mebay during your next visit to Amsterdam! All the best and kind regards, Meininger team Amsterdam

94%

Great Hostel would highly recommend it! We got upgraded for free which made our trip even better. The hostel is one stop from Grand Central Station (about 5 mins via train). I would highly recommend this hostel! We didn't deal with the staff to often but they were helpful.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

74%

Nice atmosphere but a little far away from the city center. Very noisy at night as well. We had problems to sleep tight

  • 30th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

94%

really nice! staffs are really kind and funny. they were always smilling to cumstomers. and the location is good, too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

(119 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback