X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
2329 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 74%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 89%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Really good place for anyone who wants to stay and enjoy Amsterdam in a safe and CLEAN environment, would recommend 100%

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

My group got in really late, but luckily the hostel was right next to both the train and bus station so getting to the center of Amsterdam and the airport was super easy. My room was extremely nice and felt like a hotel room, each room had a toliet and shower in the room as well as your own personal charging station. Breakfast was a buffet and delicious. The only downfall was the dorms don't come with towels, but they were only one euro to rent so it wasn't too bad. Overall I loved this hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Brooke, What a kind feedback. Thanks a lot for taking the time to share your experiences with us. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in Amsterdam. We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you back again another time. The Meininger team

77%

Such a lovely place, definitely coming back

  • 3rd Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Emma, Thanks a lot for your kind words. Great to note that you enjoyed your stay and we wish to see you back in the future! Take care, The Meininger team

100%

service was excelent

  • 1st Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Ana, Thank you for taking the time to share the experiences you had during your recent stay at Meininger Amsterdam. Kind Regards, Meininger team

20%

On picture you can see separated bed but when you come you must share bed with another person

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Mario, First of all I like to thank you for leaving your feedback on Hostelworld. We are sorry to note that you did not fully enjoy your stay and that you were not happy with the dormitory assigned to you. I do need to mark that all our beds are singles. In your case, it seems to be that another traveler put the beds next to each other. For a next visit, I would like to encourage you to share your feelings with our staff members, because they are there to help you out. Kind Regards

83%

The room is abit small as there is not alot of space to put large luggage for shared rooms of 4 pax. But overall the quality of the room and the cleanliness of the toilet and shower area is great! Beds were comfortable and location is very near Amsterdam Sloterdijk station where there is the rail, metro, tram and buses. Abit of a travel to Amsterdam centraal. Faster by bus then the metro but no complains as the journey takes just 20 mins and the transport system in Amsterdam is AWESOME!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a kind review, your feedback is much appreciated and we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam or one of our other properties in Europe. Kind Regards, MEININGER Hotel Amsterdam

89%

Excellent room, location is not in city centre but the train station is just next to the hotel. The only improvement would have been for a more speedy checkout.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Alicia, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again. Take care!

94%

A little out of the city, but so close to the bus/train station, you won't mind. By far the best hostel I've stayed in. It was like a hotel! Also, the train station has wonderful food options which was super helpful. Would definitely recommend this hostel!


83%

Most things were very good at the hostel. My only recommendation would be to provide more food at the bar during the day.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi William, Thanks for your time to share your feedback with us. Your suggestions for improvements are more than welcome! We hope to see you again in the future. Kind regards, The Meininger team

80%

It's more like a hotel. Facilities was great, staff was friendly, clean room. Location wise is far from city center if thats what u looking for but there is a station mear by for the Metro, Bus & Train, very convienience but you have to oay for it. I would recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Mohamed, What a great review! Thank you so much for all your kind words and for taking your time to share the experience of your recent stay at the MEININGER Hotel in Amsterdam. It is nice to read that you were happy with the location of our hotel, the room facilities and that you liked the atmosphere. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the future!

80%

A good clean hostel. It is not in the main center so required either a 5 min train ride or a 20 minute tram ride. Good for a short stay. Not much of a backpacker scene.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Quentin, Dear Quentin, We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in Amsterdam. Hopefully we see you back again in the future! We wish you all the best!

100%

Nice hostel


60%

Everything was Okay but the dorm did look like that they just put a lot of beds in a small hotel room. Also, guys is my room smoked marihuana so that I asked staffs to check them but the staffs just said that marihuana in netherlands is Okay even though they tole me the hostel is smoking-free ares. Stupid..


66%

The location was good, right beside the metro/bus station and the staff was nice and helpful but that's probably the only positive things that I experienced. The rooms weren't the cleanest and the shower was so clogged that I was ankle high in dirty water. Dirty because the shower definitely wasn't cleaned properly. And the room was really cramped. The kitchen is in need of some TLC. I've stayed at MEININGER's before and had good experiences, but this one was nothing to brag about.


69%

It's a hotel that is also a hostel, so you don't really get that hostel vibe. The kitchen was great, and the rooms were too, basically hotel rooms that they made dorms. Comfort wise it was great, but location wise not so much. Most of the staff were nice. Just not in the city center so you will need to train it to get to the city, so there is really nothing to do in that area.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Melissa, We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to be able to welcome you once again in Amsterdam! The MEININGER Team Amsterdam

74%

you had to pay for towels. .

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

The hostel was nice and clean and the staff was accommodating. We were able to put our luggage in the storage room before and after check-in/check-out so we didn't have to carry it around. Only one stop by train from the city center. We stayed in the 7 bed mixed dorm and had no problems or disturbances trying to sleep or coming in and out. There is nowhere to lock up your belongings in the rooms which was a little concerning but we trusted our roommates and it was fine! Overall good experience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi Danielle, Thanks a lot for leaving such a nice review. Great to read that you and your fellow travelers had a nice time in Amsterdam and that you enjoyed your stay at Meininger. Hopefully we see you back again in the future! All the best, Meininger team Amsterdam

91%

Stayed here for ADE. Most Hotel like Hostel, I've ever been too. Place was clean and well presented, large social area with a bar and breakfast option. I didn't use the area myself but could see it has lots of potential. The 4 Person Room, I was in was great, clean and had a large washroom facility with fresh towels. Slight downside, it's a bit out of the way of Central touristy Amsterdam, but transport links are practically next door.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Demitri, , Thank you for your feedback, we appreciate it and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. The MEININGER Team Amsterdam

71%

Very slow and also made a couple mistakes with our booking. Booked for two and only reserved a spot for one.

  • 15th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear Wynne, Thank you very much for your review, we highly appreciate your feedback in order to improve our services. All the best, Meininger team Amsterdam

86%

Very uncomplicated and easily accessible hostel, I could recommend it to anyone.


(157 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback