X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1383 Total Reviews
  • 80%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 88%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

I was pleasantly surprised to find the hostel to be more of a hotel. Staff was very helpful with all our questions, and the coupons in the front for tours and museums came in handy. The rooms were very nice and clean, but confusing that we booked a 5 bed mixed room but were placed in a 3 bed mixed room. Either way it worked out and was a great stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Hope to see you again soon at Meininger! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Second time staying here, first was on a double room, this time a private single . Room was very clean, will definitely stay again next time I visit amsterdam

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review and stays with us! Hope to welcome you again soon for a third time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Very nice, but also very expensive. Great if you need to be near the airport, but not so good if you want to visit the city center.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and stay at Meininger! Please dont hesitate to check us out during low season when our rates are quite a bit cheaper than during summer. Hope to welcome you again in one of our Meiningers! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Great hostel clean, friendly and positioned next to the metro station on stop away from Amsterdam Central.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

66%

I booked a 5 bed dorm but they put me in a 7 bed room instead without offering me a refund, they only changed it to a 4 bed room when I insisted. Room itself was nice, a bit small but the facilities were modern and clean. Location is not very good, outside the centre with pretty much nothing around apart from office buildings. Trains to the central station however run regularly. For that location I found it a bit too expensive (compared to hostels in the centre).

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review! We apologize for the mixup in your reservation, apperantly this was overlooked while checking you in and we are happy that it could be fixed quickly for you. Don't hesitate to check us out during low season (winter time) when our prices are much lower than during summer. Hope to see you again! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

This is about a 15 min bus ride from the Amsterdam central but overall worth the stay. The space was great and clean. The only downfall is that this is actually a hotel that offers "shared" rooms. So it is not an average hostel atmosphere, more of a hotel as there are families EVERYWHERE

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review!! We are happy that your stay was good for you. We are a mixture of a hotel and hostel and therefore have a little bit of everybody here :) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

This time I share a room with 3 more guys and it was very comfortable and clean. Facilities are fantastic but the washing machine and drier were broken. Only one machine for the whole hotel, guess people never wash anything. I think the location is not bad afterall, the station is well served by buses, tram, subway and sprinter train. It is also closer to Rotterdam.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comments! We have fixed our washer and dryer in the mean time, the cycles are very fast and short so we can accomodate many washes:) Hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

Very nice clean room with comfortable bed and great shower. Wifi was poor and pool table was always being used for food!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review and helpful feedback! Both our wifi and pool table have been fixed in the mean time so we hope to welcome you here again soon to test it out! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

this hostel was a bit out from the centre of the city. it's one train stop away from amsterdam centraal station- either a 15 minute bus ride away or a 5 minute train ride away. but other than that it's a great place to stay- it was pretty much a hostel with hotel features. great bathroom/shower, comfy beds, clean towels and sheets. great value for money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely review!! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

More a hotel with shared rooms than a hostel! No complaints with the staff, room or cleanliness. Location maybe a downside as you have to get a train into Central Amsterdam. Only minor complaint, breakfast charged at extra €7.90 each, this seemed a bit steep given the price of the room. Overall great place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your nice review and helpful feedback! We hope to see you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

91%

I was a bit disappointed because the room wasn't as clean as I expected, there was a complete mess left by previous guests, but he ensuite and common areas were in perfect conditions. The location is not the best but the city center is easy to reach by bus or train and even by bike (it's a 20 mins ride). Besides the mess and the location I will definitely book here again or recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your lovely comment! Guests can be pigs sometimes right? :) We are happy that everything else was good for you and are looking forward to see you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Enjoyed my 2 night stay here and really don't have any complaints. The only thing I can think of is that breakfast isn't included in your stay and is slightly pricey (8€ I think). That being said the breakfast selection was amazing. The hostel is also conveniently located within sight of the sloterdijk station, so its easily linked to the rest of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! Hope to see you at Meininger again soon! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

91%

Great location for those coming by bus or using airport. Breakfast is awesome as well! Staff is nice. A little bit pricey so personally I will pick another hostel to stay in case I don't arrive late and am not obliged to leave early.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment! Next time check us out during low season (winter time) when are prices are much lower than during summer. Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

A bit off centered, though two seconds away from the station that leads you to centraal within 9 minutes by train/15 minutes by bus. This is an Hotel, so it doesn't have the hostel atmosphere and breakfast is not included (7 Euros), but you'll have all the hotel comfort. The staff is very cool and helpful, there are lifts that leads to floors (very rare isn't it? so GLORYYYYY:)))), rooms are clean, clear and comfy and the kitchen + the common room are well equiped with a baby foot table and so.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your lovely comment! We really appreciate our lifts and are happy to read that you did as well:) Hope to welcome you here again some time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Clean and modern hostel in a safe area, right next to the Sloterdijk railway stop and a short (5 minute) commute to city center. The staff were friendly and helpful and led me to a totally hip, beach-like bar in Amsterdam Noord my first night there. The people I met there were really chill and friendly. My room was all early 20s but I saw some families with children there as well. I wrote a full review on this hostel here: http://mvmtblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/hostel-review-meininger-amst


71%

Every dorm has an own toilet and shower... The staff is friendly.. buuuuut its a mix between hostel and hotel... there are lots of people who are not backpacking and not interested in meeting other people... lot of families... and its huuuuge... to big... at night there is nothing really going on at the bar... its def not a hostel feeling what you have there... you can hope that you have fun roommates and then you can still enjoy the stay with the nice shower... Amsterdam is a lil bit far away..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your room and shower (they are great right?) :) and hope to welcome you to Meininger again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

Great location close to railway station. Not much in the way of cooking facilities. Kitchen near bar area meant smoke and cooking smells going all over bar. Washing machine not working Staff member on check-in not particularly nice to my wife saying that children not allowed in mixed dorms and we were lucky they had a room available for us. Odd therefore that I was allowed to book the room online and had to provide my children's ages when doing so.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and stay with us! We usually love the smell of freshly prepared food in our hotel but we guess you were unlucky with the type of food prepared:) Luckily our washing machine has been fixed in the mean time. As you might understand due to strict regulations, children under 18 are not allowed in mixed dorms. We will contact Hostelworld and see if they can change this on their booking website as well. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

All round an excellent experience, would stay with you again in a heartbeat. Thank You!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, MeiningerAmsterdam

71%

My stay in the hostel was really good It is not located in the city centre but the connections are very good It looks like a hotel The bedrooms also are good and clean. The breakfast is ok The staff very kind and helpful I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam Maybe the best hostel i have ever been

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for such a beautiful review! We are happy that everything worked out so well for you and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Everything was excellent but its not a hostel to party and ir is not ideal to meet people Its very far from the downtown so if you want to parte you have to leave early to the hostel ir leave very late justo to wait for the train

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our hostel! Next time please use the night buses; they come back to the hotel all through the hotel and will save you time waiting for the first train:) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(124 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback