X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1259 Total Reviews
  • 79%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

The room was clean and with new furniture. There is parking lot just beside the Hostel, so if you planning go by car don't worry about it. Although the hostel is relatively far from Amsterdam center, there is also a train station that can bring you to Amsterdam central station in few minutes.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for writing your review here! We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger amsterdam

86%

From viewing it on hostel world it looked great, true to form. The staff from check in to check out were very friendly and helpful with sight seeing and transport tickets. The rooms were great very spacious and clean. I really like the set up, lockers, personal light & power point etc. I seen a few comments on how the hostel is too far out of the city centre, its was never a hassle, only 5 min by train and there a plenty of trains. All together I enjoyed my stay at the Meininger, would recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in any of our Meiningers again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

The faculty was mostly amazing the biggest beef was with the guests. If you don't like strict german standards I would consider somewhere else

  • 8th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again at Meininger some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

46%

Bed bugs! We have stayed at Meininger before in other cities and had absolutely no problem, but here in Amsterdam we had a different experience. Aside from the fact that it is located a 20 minute bus ride away from the city, the atmosphere was boring. The worst part occurred on our second night, when we discovered BED BUGS! We didn't discover them until the middle of the night, and although they moved us after complaining, I doubt they moved the other 5 people in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your comments here! We are very sorry to read about your experience with bed bugs. As bed bugs are not insects living in Holland, they can sometimes travel along with our guests and get cozy in our sheets. We of course have taken care of the problem straight away after you left the room. We hope you have enjoyed Amsterdam after all and hope to see you again at Meininger! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

63%

If ever again in Amsterdam, I'd go somewhere else. When checked-in, they offered me breackfast for €6 and I said no; next morning was €8 :-P. Bad location (too far away from city centre) although next to Sloterdij station. Could improve cleanliness for sure


83%

This hostel felt like someone had bought a hotel and decided to rebrand it as a hostel. The location wasn't great, but the trains came fairly frequently. The staff were really nice and accommodating. Just a warning, the three bed an dorms are a single bed and a double bed so if it's three strangers or a couple and a stranger then it could be quite awkward.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We are a combination of a hostel and hotel which is why it also might have felt like a hotel to you:) Next time please be aware that our double beds can be removed from each other which will make it two singles. We hope to welcome you here again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

First time staying in a hotel-style hostel. Very clean and modern. Only had trouble finding the entrance as it's blocked by construction and there was no warning. It is away from city center, so area is pretty dead. Still convenient as there is a huge transportation hub with tons of trams, buses, trains, and metro.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for taking out the time to write your review here! We appreciate your feedback and have made some more adjustments regarding entrance-guiding. We hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

66%

I stayed in the 8th floor, where the wi fi wouldn't connect. It was needed to get to the reception to have internet.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write your review here! We are aware of our wifi problems and are working on solving them quickly. We hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

very nice place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving such a nice comment! Hope to see you here again in the future. Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

57%

The maid stole a few of the items I left on my bed (I was the only one in that room), and the staff seemed quite unconcerned when I reported it. The kitchen is badly equipped. The location is far from the city, but you can easily get a train for about €3 and 20 minutes round trip. It's hard to find food without going at least 20 minutes away. Don't take the bus, the staff talked us into it but it takes 3 times longer and costs more.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • cooperka
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your review here! We of course are very upset to hear about our housekeeping staff stealing from our guests and encourage you to report this to the management so we can investigate what happened exactly. Next time please ask us more information about the trains. As a one way trip is only 5 minutes, it seems that you have taken a wrong one. Thanks again for commenting! Meininger

97%

Great hotel, location perfect right outside train station, only moan wud be didnt have a full length mirror, 7 girls in a dorm rm with one small bathroom mirror was difficult but everything else was awesome...wud use again for sure.

  • 30th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you at Meininger again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

really good hotel, very clean and new, lots of young people there, very nice atmosphere..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving such a nice comment here. Hope to welcome you here again in the future! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

Due to the price paid would've expected towels to be provided, and also perhaps lockable storage in the room. Otherwise great place to stay much more like a hotel than a hostel.


80%

Meininger Hostel does have great facilities. You wonder if you are staying in a hotel or a hostel at times. But the dorm rooms certainly make this place a hostel. The drawback is that the hostel is not close enough to Amsterdam to make walking easy, so you have to take the train going to and from town. Given its location, you'd expect the room rates to be more reasonable. Unlike most hostels that offer free breakfast, this hostel chain charges for the buffet breakfast. A bit pricy for me.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for leaving your comment here! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay here. We are a combination of a hotel and hostel which explains the wondering:). Our prices are very competetive but unfortunately Amsterdam is one of the most expensive cities in Europe to stay in. We hope to welcome you here some other time! (perhaps in low season with dorm beds for 14 euros). Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

77%

Very clean, modern building. Much more like a hotel than a hostel, however. Wouldn't recommend staying here if you're looking for that laid-back hostel vibe. However, if a hotel is more your scene, then this is a great value for the money!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

71%

The internet sucked and needs augmenting.

  • 27th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to leave your feedback here. We are aware of our internet problems and are working on a solution. Hopefully it will all be better around next month. Hope to welcome you at Meininger some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

It was a really great place to stay, and less expensive than being in the center of the city. It was easy to get around because it's right at the train station. It lacks the atmosphere of being in an actual hostel, since it's truly a hotel. However, there's a great kitchen that sort of doubles as the common room for the people staying in the hostel rooms. It was really clean, the staff were great and it had really good security.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We'd like to thank you for your kind comment, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you indeed again in Amsterdam! Your Meininger Team Amsterdam

89%

Cleanest, most well-appointed hostel I've stayed at. Rooms were equivalent to a luxury hotel. Kitchen was spacious, clean, and provided with free pasta. Bar was great. Only problem is it's not in downtown amsterdam, a 5 min train ride in. Not a huge deal because the hostel is right beside the train station but still a hassle when you just want to pop out or a quick bite or something.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for such a lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay here that much. Hope to welcome you again in any of our Meiningers around Europe! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

Washing machine should be regulated for 30 minute cycle. Visitors are putting it on 1 1/2 hours , thereby limiting others from using them. Please add more washers and dryers,, travelers are willing to pay. This hostel is new and kept up very well, food is great and next door to train station, a real plus.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your comment! We really appreciate the feedback and will start contemplating a second washing machine :) Hope to see you again in any of our Meiningers! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

Feels like a hotel but there are 6 beds in the room and i was sharing it with 5 other guests. The socket per bed is very handy. The lockers too in the room. Bring your own lock and you are good to go. There is a good connection by train to amsterdam central.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for taking out the time to write this nice review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to welcome you at Meininger again in the future! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

(152 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback