X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Amsterdam City West Reviews

Orlyplein 1-67, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
1471 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Clean and modern hostel in a safe area, right next to the Sloterdijk railway stop and a short (5 minute) commute to city center. The staff were friendly and helpful and led me to a totally hip, beach-like bar in Amsterdam Noord my first night there. The people I met there were really chill and friendly. My room was all early 20s but I saw some families with children there as well. I wrote a full review on this hostel here: http://mvmtblog.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/hostel-review-meininger-amst


71%

Every dorm has an own toilet and shower... The staff is friendly.. buuuuut its a mix between hostel and hotel... there are lots of people who are not backpacking and not interested in meeting other people... lot of families... and its huuuuge... to big... at night there is nothing really going on at the bar... its def not a hostel feeling what you have there... you can hope that you have fun roommates and then you can still enjoy the stay with the nice shower... Amsterdam is a lil bit far away..

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice review! We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your room and shower (they are great right?) :) and hope to welcome you to Meininger again some other time! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

Great location close to railway station. Not much in the way of cooking facilities. Kitchen near bar area meant smoke and cooking smells going all over bar. Washing machine not working Staff member on check-in not particularly nice to my wife saying that children not allowed in mixed dorms and we were lucky they had a room available for us. Odd therefore that I was allowed to book the room online and had to provide my children's ages when doing so.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review and stay with us! We usually love the smell of freshly prepared food in our hotel but we guess you were unlucky with the type of food prepared:) Luckily our washing machine has been fixed in the mean time. As you might understand due to strict regulations, children under 18 are not allowed in mixed dorms. We will contact Hostelworld and see if they can change this on their booking website as well. Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

97%

All round an excellent experience, would stay with you again in a heartbeat. Thank You!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review, we really appreciate it and hope to welcome you again soon! Warm regards, MeiningerAmsterdam

71%

My stay in the hostel was really good It is not located in the city centre but the connections are very good It looks like a hotel The bedrooms also are good and clean. The breakfast is ok The staff very kind and helpful I would recommend this hostel to anyone who wants to stay in Amsterdam Maybe the best hostel i have ever been

  • 7th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you so much for such a beautiful review! We are happy that everything worked out so well for you and hope to welcome you here again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

89%

Everything was excellent but its not a hostel to party and ir is not ideal to meet people Its very far from the downtown so if you want to parte you have to leave early to the hostel ir leave very late justo to wait for the train

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your review, we are happy to see that you have enjoyed our hostel! Next time please use the night buses; they come back to the hotel all through the hotel and will save you time waiting for the first train:) Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

74%

More of a hotel then a hostel . You must take the train to get to downtown. They've took my towel but managed to give one back. No atmosphere. Pretty good spot to sleep. If you're into meeting new people, don't go there otherwise I recommend it.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for leaving your reply here, we hope that you have enjoyed your stay with us and would be happy to see you again some other time! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

100%

great room, helpful and beautiful reception staff

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your kind review!! We only hire beautiful people here to accomodate to our guests :) Hope to see you again soon! Warm regards, Meininger Amsterdam

94%

Fantastic hostel, exactly like a hotel but with a few more people in the room. The staff were very busy, as we stayed over Gay Pride, but they were accommodating. The communal kitchen was kept really clean by all the guests and was a pleasure to use. The bar area was lovely to chill out in and we ordered pizza to the hostel one evening and the staff showed the delivery person where we were. Toilet and shower facilities were spotless, beds made when we arrived and really secure lockers!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for writing down such a lovely review! We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you here again soon!! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

86%

This is a really nice hostel but it's a 20 min bus ride from the heart of the city. Luckily the bus station is right there So it's not so bad. But just heads up.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your nice comment!! Next time please try the train to the city; this only takes 5 minutes. :) Hope to see you again some time! Warm regards, Your Meininger Team

83%

Great hostel! We booked a 7 beds mixed dorm, and once there they upgraded us into a 4 beds private room with bathroom without charging anything. Room was very clean and equipped with all conforts (soap, showergel, hair dryer, tv, lockers) but windows were locked. The common area it's perfect to share a beer with friends. We didn't use it but the kitchen seemed fine. We rented bikes for 24h at 14.50€ (a reasonable price): a great service even if they can't be booked in advance. Recommended!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guests, Thank you for your nice review! We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you here again soon! Kind regards, Meininger Amsterdam

83%

It was nice time spent at hostel, location is far from center but very conveniently a minute away from train/bus/tram station which makes it easy to come to city's center. Staff is really really nice, friendly and helpful.

  • 31st Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you very much for your kind review! We appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you again soon at Meininger Amsterdam! Kind regards, Your Meininger Team

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next » last »
(112 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback