X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

MEININGER Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus Reviews

Oranienburgerstr. 67/68, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
542 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 90%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Location was perfect, everything was okay. However, it turned uncool when 2 persons were sleeping above me, first he wasn't a guest and secondly that I worried the most was that Bed are not designed for 2 persons, especially if you had people sleeping below you. Thank you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! You are right - our location is perfect. We are located directly in the city center with lots of sights and museums within walking distance. Please be ensured that only guests have access to the room they booked. Maybe you want to check out one of our other locations in Brussels, Vienna or London too? All the best, Your MEININGER Team

100%

Not a complaint! Good location, nice rooms, let me go to me room early too! I'd recommend highly!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for rating us and for your feedback! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! Usually check-in is from 3pm onwards, but if it is possible, we are always happy to check you in earlier. It would be nice to welcome you again in the near future! Take care, your MEININGER Team

63%

Way too big, like a hotel, to be a hostel. Canr recommend if you travel alone. Also supermarket is like 2kn away.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback! With our concept we want to welcome many different types of guests - backpackers, families, business travelers, school groups and many more! Maybe check out our guest kitchen next time, where our backpackers meet up to cook together during the evening! All the best, Your MEININGER Team

94%

No real complaints. Central location, clean, staff always around. I didn't opt for breakfast, but I seldom do at hostels as it's often cheaper to scrounge for your self. It was June and hot outside, and the room at night was luckily fairly cool (on the back shaded side anyway), but I can imagine a fan being sometimes necessary. You can't open the window more than a crack, so you're not going to get much fresh air -- fine if you don't plan on spending too much time in the room. ;)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! Until now it`s been a fairly hot summer, that`s true. But luckily, as you say, it cools down at night. Why not check out our other hotels, like Vienna and London, when travelling next time? Have a great day! Your MEININGER Team

71%

Centrally located although if you don't want a touristy area this is not your place. It was big and clean, much like a hotel. Be careful, prices go from €10/day on weekdays to €40/day on weekends. It was still packed, so I can see why they did that, but for Berlin I think that is totally ****ed. Not worth it. A minor inconvenience: I had to go all the way back down to the lobby twice a day after getting to my room and finding my key didn't work.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! We do have daily rates which are adjusted to the number of rooms booked and if there`s any event or convention going on. But that way you can also get a real bargain at some days ;) All the best, your MEININGER Team

100%

Great place, guys! Bravo!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! Sounds like you really enjoyed your stay :) Why not check out MEININGER in Amsterdam or Vienna next time you`re travelling? Take care, your MEININGER Team

86%

Very clean, very friendly staff and nice guest kitchen! But definitely feels more like a hotel then a hostel, no atmosphere at all. That said, I have a very nice stay here.

  • 25th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! Our guest kitchen is indeed a very nice one, spacious, a good place to chill out after a busy day discovering the city. We are sorry to hear the athmosphere didn`t fully convince you. Maybe you`ve stayed during a months with less backpackers? Hope to see you again. Have a good one, your MEININGER Team

94%

The only room for improvement I could find is that the house keeping staff never clean the up stairs areas of the rooms. The rooms have stairs that lead to two beds, and when I checked in the two beds looked occupied with trash and water bottles but the people in the room said they were the only beds free in the room so I took one. Additionally, breakfast is not included in the room, not sure how clear that is, or if I just missed it, but its 6 euros for breakfast which doesn't have eggs.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for reviewing us! We are happy to hear you had a good stay at MEININGER. Of course the whole room is supposed to be cleaned every day, without the upper area being missed out. Sorry for that! Would love to see you again one day. Have a great day, your MEININGER Team

97%

A very good hostel in a great location. The staff were very helpful at all times, even in the early hours of the morning. We were only staying two nights and a cleaner came round to clean our room.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating us! Sounds like you enjoyed staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte. We try to be as helpful as we can at all times, even before our first coffee in the morning ;) Did you know we have MEININGER Hotels all around Europe? Why not check out Amsterdam or Munich! Take care, Your MEININGER Team

94%

The cleanliness of this hostel was outstanding. Everything looked new and well-kept. This is particularly important for the bathroom facilities and those were great. The staff were very organized and knowledgeable. The value of the hostel overall was quite great for the money paid. But, it would be nice to have free coffee like at the hostel next door! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for rating us! It seems like you had a great stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte. You`re absolutely right - hygine and cleanliness are two of our top priotities! We like to make everyone feel home, which we believe is only possible if the facilities look welcoming. Would be a pleasure to see you again! Take care, your MEININGER Team

94%

Great hostel hood facilities and really clean. Its quite hard to meet other traveller's there though


83%

A large yet utterly cramped hostel with a very modern and spotlessly clean interior, excellent amenities and a very central location. Unfortunately, the small size of the common area in combination with the many school groups and families give this place a rather bland atmosphere that is typical for a youth hostel. Nevertheless, this place offers a good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your feedback! For us it`s very important to hear what our guests have to say - it helps us to make your next stay even better! It sounds like you were here at a time when there were school holidays in Germany. We would love to welcome you again to fully convince you! All the best, your MEININGER Team

91%

The only negative point is the weak internet system in which you receive numbers (login and password) and use them to connect. It doesn't work at all - either for me and the other seven people in my room. Overall, the hostel is one of the best I have ever been.

  • 20th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! We are happy to hear that you consider MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte one of the best you have ever seen! Why not check out our hotels in Amsterdam, Brussels or Munich? All the best, your MEININGER Team

71%

Some staff were pretty rude to us when we requested to be roomed together (despite previously being assured that they would be able to make some rearrangements) and throughout the entire 4 days of stay, we were separated. I am not too sure if the hostel is really clean because i hardly see anyone cleaning up the rooms.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, please be sure that the rooms get cleaned every day and it`s priority to us to maintain highest hygine standarts. We would like to welcome you back one day to fully convince you! Take care, your MEININGER Team

100%

Everything was really wonderful. We were 3 people but our reservation was for 1 (that was an accident which we realised there) and they helped us so much. The rooms are as clean and luxurous as in a hotel. I reccomend this place to everyone who will visit Berlin. It is really cheap and worth every penny!

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! We always try to help as good as we can and the reception is open 24/7. We are glad to hear that you had such a wonderful stay and would love to welcome you again one day. Next time maybe in Vienna or Hamburg? All the best, your MEININGER Team

86%

The staff was friendly and the overall conditions were very good. Thank you.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Moldova
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for rating us! Sounds like you had a great stay at MEININGER. We would love to see you again one day. Take care, your MEININGER Team

100%

More than excellent. You choose your bed and put a card on it with your name. Its all clean, new and beautiful, it feels good to be at all hostel areas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review! It sounds like you really enjoyed your stay at MEININGER. Why not check out our other hotels around Europe, like Salzburg, Hamburg or London? Your MEININGER Team

94%

Really friendly and helpful and staff, couldn't ask for anything more from this hostel, it's great.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback! We are glad you had such a fabulous stay at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte and would love to see you again soon! Take care, your MEININGER Team

86%

Had a pleasant stay here. Nice and clean , super chill, great wifi,shower,toilet,tv, table in room. Staff great to ask questions!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for rating us! Sounds like you had a great time staying at MEININGER Hotel Berlin Mitte. Did you know we have hotels all around Europe, in vibrant cities like Amsterdam, London and Vienna? Would be a pleasure to welcome you again one day! All the best, your MEININGER Team

46%

The wifi connection was very very weak. The common space weren't conducive to making friends. After my wallet was taken, I asked to use the phone to call a pub to see if the wallet had been returned. The staff tried to charge $2 just to use the phone behind the desk. The hostel down the street (generator) seemed much better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to hear that your phone had been stolen. We offer a service of guest telephones, which everyone is very welcome to use covering his/her expenses. Computers are also available, as well as free wifi throughout the hotel, which we just renewed to have a better and faster connection. If we didn`t convince you last time, it would be a pleasure to welcome you at MEININGER another time to show you how great the athmosphere can be! All the best, your MEININGER Team

(45 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback