X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

MEININGER Berlin Mitte Humboldthaus Reviews

Oranienburgerstr. 67/68, Berlin, Germany

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
884 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 90%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 78%Atmosphere
  • 90%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Hostel was so clean and impeccably decorated, facilities included amazing wifi which allowed us to look up what we wanted to do that day, location was slightly out of central Berlin but it was opposite a train station which meant this wasn't a problem- guest kitchen would be ideal for someone staying longer and the staff were super helpful Only negative was that as a 7 group we would have preferred to be put together But would definitely stay again!!! Amazing hostel

  • 23rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to have you here as our guest :) We are looking forward to your next visit. All the best from Berlin. Cheers!

89%

Great hostel. Would stay here again. Not the traditional hostel experience with the social room having very little social activity. It was like a hotel with a couple extra guests in your room. Maid was rude an annoying when we were in the room. Location was excellent and it was very easy to sleep. If your gonna be hitting the clubs every night make sure you figure out the train.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We are really glad you had a good time in Berlin and enjoyed your stay with us. Just check our homepage for more informations and incredible offers. We wish you all the best and looking foward to your next visit. Cheers, the Meininger-Team

91%

Had a wonderful stay in Meininger Hostel; the staff was extremely helpful in a place where I did not speak the language. Although I'm very harsh on criticising hostels, this one I highly recommend!

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Meininger Berlin Mitte is a good place to stay, regardless of age and questions concerning who you are. It's a very international place with a lot of people from many places in the world. And the mood is relaxed. What ever clothes you'd like to wear is fine. My wife and I had a fine stay, and the place certainly deserves our warmesr recomandations. Jan von Schwanenflügel, Denmark

  • 20th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
What a great review :) Thank you a lot for taking the time! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish you all the best for the future from amazing Berlin to Denmark We are looking forward to welcoming you again. Kind regards, your Meininger-team

83%

Staff was accommodating, the place was clean and had pretty good amenities kitchen/laundry wise. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. We were putting in a 6 bedroom that really should have been a four, it was tight but other then that no real complaints. Much younger age group appeared to stay here 18-20.


89%

I really enjoyed my stay at ur hostel, cheerful faces with very good hospitality than any Hostels I hv been with. Just want to add if it possible to add a fan in the room to be more tolerable in summer time, as 6 persons in one room without AC is too much. Thank you and will definitely come again

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your feedback - it seems you had a great stay in Berlin! Unfortunately there is no airconditioning in our rooms, because the high temperatures in summer are not usual for Berlin. Most time of the year it would not be necessary. Next time you can ask at reception to open the window in your room properly or rent a fan to get some fresh air! :)

57%

Was made to feel like an absolute idiot by reception staff after asking to upgrade to a more expensive private room. They initially said no despite admitting they were free and then said it takes too much work on the computer! When I insisted they continued to say the I cannot book one room and then request another and I should have known a what a shared dorm was like. (I have never ever seen a shared dorm with 2 beds next to each other forming a large double bed with someone you don't know).

  • 17th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your honest feedback! This means a lot to us so we can improve our services for our guests and at the same time you are helping us to know where we need to work on. First of all we are really sorry that we could not satisfy your needs during your stay. We are always trying to fulfill the wishes of all our guests - unfortunately sometimes it is not possible. We honestly apologize for the inconviniences and we hope you still had a good time in Berlin.

100%

We had a great time in Berlin in general. Definitely take up the free walking tour and do the pub crawl. The people that also stay at this hostel are super fun and awesome. Only let down is no free breakfast. But nice room and bathroom!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. The breakfast costs 6,90 Euro and its an all-you-can-eat-buffet - so maybe worth to try next time ;-) Greetings from Berlin!

86%

This was a very good hostel. My only complaint (maybe I need to be more assertive) is that being a solo traveler I'm constantly made to switch rooms. I get comfortable in one room, then i have to check out put my bags in storage and go about my day until I can check in again. It's just very inconvenient and happened to me here. Other wise, everything was good! I would book with them again, just make sure that I am stationary for the time I am there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review! We are very sorry that you had to change rooms once. We are always trying our best to avoid room changes, but sometimes it is not possible due to the availability. We hope that you could enjoy your time in Berlin anyhow. Hope to see you again! Your MEININGER-Team.

71%

Friendly staff,good location and very clean. No social area or bar so not good for people travelling in small groups or alone.

  • 7th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate it! It is correct, we do not have a bar in the hotel, but you can get drinks 24/7 from the reception. Furthermore we do have a guest kitchen and a courtyard, were you can always meet other people. We hope to welcoming you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels. Best regards from Berlin. Your Meininger-Team :)

91%

Great place in a good location, walkable to say Brandenburg Gate and Alexander platz. On a lively street straight next to a S-Bahn station and tram. Room was a little tight for space but kinda worked in a l-shape room with a mezzanine level and good size ensuite bathrooms. Had Air Con too which was a bonus as it was 30+ whilst I was there.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us. We were all very pleased that you really enjoyed your stay. All the team look forward to welcoming you back! Cheers Meininger

77%

There was an elevator! Yay! And a back garden that was lovely. The staff were really helpful and even gave me ice for my injured ankle. The beds did not feel very clean and had no pillowcases. The bathroom and toilet were really modern! We didn't have air conditioning- not all rooms do. The street was really noisy every night! There's a bar right next door. The price of good location perhaps... You can easily travel anywhere you want. The museums is walking distance. Great Thai food next door!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks a lot for your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us! Indeed our back garden is really nice :) We hope se welcoming you again in the future. All the best from Berlin! Cheers your Meininger-Team

74%

Very clean and tidey. Close to train station and bus stops aswell. Staff were nice too. However, this hostel is very generic and doesnt have character. There is nothing 'berlin' about it. Great hostel if you dont mind abou that though

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

The rooms were very nice and it was very clean, the Wifi worked well as well. I felt the communal area wasn't great, it would have been difficult to meet people if you came alone. The staff were efficient but could have been friendlier


100%

Great stay, really clean. Nice shower. Perfect staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for your short and nice review. I appreciate it! We are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you again. All the best from Berlin. Cheers your Meininger-Team

86%

I stayed in a 6 bed room. The room was very big and confortable, in fact 2 of the beds were located in a middle floor. This gave a little more privacy. Each bed has their own light and plug. The bathroom is also good. With separate room for the toilet and for the shower. The cleaning where ok. It has a very good kithchen full equiped and also a washing machine and an iron. It is located in front of a S-Bahn station, where you can take a train to go anywhere you want in Berlin. It's a GREAT HOST

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you very much for your great review! We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Berlin. Hope to see you again in one of our MEININGER Hotels :) Your Meininger-Team

100%

I enjoyed my stay and it's at center of the city.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks! Hope to see you soon again in Berlin ;-) Your MEININGER Team

100%

very clean. everyone was very helpful

  • 12th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Met some awesome people at this hostel, it definitely is more like a hotel and we became friends with the people in our room. Everything was very clean and we all had a lot of space. The 8bed room dorms are so cool looking! Great location we walked everywhere, would definitely stay again!


89%

Really enjoyed our stay here, booked an 8 bed and got a 4 bed dorm, bathrooms great facilities good, good wifi lights by bed etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Many thanks for reviewing your stay on Hostelworld and for scoring our Hostel! It was a pleasure to read that you enjoyed our facilities, Wifi and the lights by the bed. We will share your great feedback with the entire team. We look forward to your next visit! All the best for you. Cheers, your Meininger-Team

(56 results)


View all Berlin Hostels

Please give us your feedback