Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 306 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 7.3
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.8
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge Located at Panagsama Beach, Basdiot, , Moalboal.
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
Philippines
Moalboal 6032 Panagsama Beach, Basdiot
77% 306
9.9512668 123.3723449
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Dec 2016
8.0

No issues

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
19th Nov 2016
8.6

Perfect location! Right on the Main Street and 2 mins to the beach. The toilets and showers are in good condition and clean and the owner and staff are so nice and helpful!! Be aware if you book the 14 bed dorm it's one big room that takes up the whole second floor. Which means it joins to a bamboo balcony which can get quite fustrating if you want to go to sleep but a few people want to stay up until 2am talking and playing loud music. But nothing to do with the hostel! Overall very good place

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Nov 2016
8.0

Nice Hostel close to all restaurants and beach. About 20min by Trycicle to theWhote Sand Beach. We liked the Hostel but they could work a bit on cleanliness of bathrooms... We stayed in the 14 bed dorm and it's an open space room so really loud because you sleep above the small street and gets loud again around 7am. Lots of hammocks and cozy hangouts around but make sure to bring a locker for personal items!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review. But you booked a bungalow for two person and one dorm bed. I agree that the common showers and toilets getting dirty even right after cleaning. About the cleaning of all private rooms: we only enter any private rooms upon request from the guest only. Regards our location: sorry but we're in down town of Panagsama. Regards security: no one have to bring a locker. A padlock only please. Thanks

24th Oct 2016
7.1

In a good location. Very basic and good for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Sep 2016
8.6

Our room smells like there was a dead rat. After some time, we checked where the stinky smell came from and we saw big dead lizard. After removing it, our room smells better. The common room of my friends was great but they experienced water problem. There were no water for a day but also thankful that there were common CR and shower room. The place was clean,not great but it was ok. The hammocks were my favorite. It was very relaxing. Ms. Analou is very helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Sep 2016
9.1

This hostel is such a quirky place to stay! Great location and friendly staff. They have nooks and corners that are perfect for just chilling in the early afternoon before heading to the beach!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
24th Aug 2016
4.6

The common area is *, two hammocks and a tinyrooftop which you can only enter via one dorm room, so you dont meet people. we stayed in the 4dorm bed room which was wayyy too warm, i slept in the bunkbed on top with no fan (altough they said it did come with one), what made it even worse was the noise. The dorm downstairs is next to the entrance, dont book that one if you want to be able to sleep. The matresses were the * and the hostel is dirty. this place is overpriced for what it is

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thanks for your comment. Let us correct something: we have two common areas, one with 3 hammocks and one with bamboo benches. Every late afternoon and evening some guest sitting on the bamboo deck. We were almost fully booked at your time and you didn't meet other people? The guesthouse is dirty? Well, isn't easy to clean a dorm room if many belongings from the guest lying on the floor. Why you stay 3 nights? You forget to tell that in your 4 bed dorm is a stand fan for the lower beds and a celling fan for the two upper beds. The mattress is with nearly 4 inch pretty good for EUR 6,70 per night, isn't. We had pretty good conversation each other during your 3 days stay. Thanks! One more thing, you didn't inquired for another room.

22nd Aug 2016
8.0

When I arrived the lady didn't seem interested which was a bit off putting, didn't explain much just walked me up the stairs. However, the following morning she was lovely enough and we had a decent convo. They provide lockers, and a main door key at night. The wifi never worked for me, and the rooms got warm unless you had a fan directly at you. Little communal area was cute. Location was perfect. Shower was powerful considering the ones I've used previously. They also give free coffee

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Israel, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Aug 2016
8.3

Only 2 problems, the first is that the dorm is pretty opened and has a lot of Windows which makes it hard to sleep until late due to light and noise from the street. The second one is the wifi which is super slow. Beside that a very nice place with a great location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kerbymaca3941
  • Philippines, Male, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
29th Jul 2016
9.4

Limited staff, sometimes, there's noone in the front desk to assist. Over all, had a good stay. I loved the bamboo area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.