Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 403 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
7.1

You get what you pay for - double room is basically a cupboard on the side of the main dorm. You have to walk through the dorm to get to the room, there's no door onto the dorm either. At least there is a locker in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi folks thanks for your comment. Yes, you get what you pay for. The room good for two persons is a budget double room. With an open cabinet with hangers, fan, two single beds, safety box (bring a padlock please), but you didn't mentioned a balcony with hammock and free coffee facility at the hippy bus in our lobby every morning is included. And all for less USD 14! Cheers mate!

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Jun 2017
6.3

Everything at this hostel was just okay.. but the staff was awful. I've been backpacking in Asia for three months and the staff here are by far the worst. They are incredibly unfriendly and rude. Don't even try to ask for suggestions or advice. It is reasonably cheap, but if you can find something better, I would.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thanks for your comment. You booked a night and perhaps you expect "waving and super smiling puppets'behind the reception. I tell you something, 99%of the guest up your age drinking a lot of cheap booze together with other mates on our bamboo deck to get the feeling 'to be very socialized'. By none communication with us, how you can say we're rude. And it was very interesting to read your complain about other hostels. Cheers mate!

  • andrewsjemily5472
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.6

My friends and I enjoyed our stay here, then we got weird, aggressive emails from a staff member for accidentally missing a booking the previous night (due to a missed bus). It was strange.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, you booked one night and you didn't show up. You got an info email but zero response. We was waiting for your arrival till midnight and you receive an email and we said "Thank you for keep us waiting!" So you mean thats aggressive? You send us an email that we have to think twice and that you had paid allegedly that night. No, you didn't paid and you didn't gave us any explanation upon check in. Thanks again. Staff of Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Jun 2017
7.7

The place is really cool with the "roof top" and the hamacs, the ambiance given by the backpacker was great. Everything is really near. The only thing, the staff was really unfriendly. It felt weird everytime we were going in and out of the place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2017
8.0

Ideal location in Moalboal, lots of restaurants and small shops nearby and just a stone throw away from the sea. Only downside is the amount of mosquitos there are once you enter the room, even the mosquito net doesn't keep them all out. And not enough fans that reach the lower bunk so it can get hot in the day but all in all decent for a hostel stay in the area.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th May 2017
6.0

I booked a single bed for two and when we arrived they said we could not stay bc we could not fit two in one bed instead of letting us decide if we could fit comfortably. They did not offer us another options so we left.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th May 2017
8.3

We had a double room as cheaper than two bunks. Small bed but had mosquito net, a fan and a balcony with a hammock Was your usual beach town hostel. Had a nice roof bit to relax and there was loads of breakfast/snacks you could order. We rented snorkels to go swim with sardines (just walk to Chillis and swim out 15m) Shared bathroom didn't have a flush and showers are all downstairs, no shoes allowed anywhere. 2 nights was the right amount, but people we met stayed a week or more!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The atmosphere is SO nice, and also the staff is very very lovely! Loved it :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Apr 2017
8.0

Friendly staff, great location. Easy to meet other backpackers.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • mayamargolin19968720
  • Israel, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2017
5.7

the atmosphere is very nice though the shower and the toilets were very dirty

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.