Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Aug 2017
9.4

Very friendly staff, laid back place, just in front of beach. Excellent value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
5.7

I stayed in the private bedroom/house. It wasn't bad, but quite dirty and the bed was just smelling strange. What made this place bad was unpleasant staff and no WiFi. Staff wouldn't even say sorry when I asked them if WiFi works. They just said no. Poor breakfast, cold shower and roosters going crazy just next door from 4 am making it impossible to sleep. Wouldn't stay there again. Sorry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
8.6

Decent stay for the price paid. Toilets were small but clean. Water dispenser available. Free coffe and tea for breakfast. Location is strategically near Bar, local restaurants, seaside massage.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
8.0

I stayed 3 nights in the private room for 400 PHP. The location is great and also the atmosphere...good shared areas with hammocks and terrace. If you are backpacker is a fair deal...isn't the most comfortable place but it is enough, mostly clean (I had an incident with a cockroach tho) and the staff try to be cooperative.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hibosabdi287
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
10th Jul 2017
8.6

Lovely Hostel met some cool people there everyone has great vibes so go check it out offers Cayonering trips to Kawsan Falls beautiful but slightly crowded.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
8.6

The location is perfect, right in the middle of the Main Street and few meters from the street. Receptionist and owner where very helpful giving out information to continue my travel. Arrived late at night and even the hostel was closed they still open for me and let me settle in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
7.1

You get what you pay for - double room is basically a cupboard on the side of the main dorm. You have to walk through the dorm to get to the room, there's no door onto the dorm either. At least there is a locker in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi folks thanks for your comment. Yes, you get what you pay for. The room good for two persons is a budget double room. With an open cabinet with hangers, fan, two single beds, safety box (bring a padlock please), but you didn't mentioned a balcony with hammock and free coffee facility at the hippy bus in our lobby every morning is included. And all for less USD 14! Cheers mate!

  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Jun 2017
6.6

Staff weren't the friendliest, we booked the private room and was very hot and also noisy in the morning.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
6.3

Everything at this hostel was just okay.. but the staff was awful. I've been backpacking in Asia for three months and the staff here are by far the worst. They are incredibly unfriendly and rude. Don't even try to ask for suggestions or advice. It is reasonably cheap, but if you can find something better, I would.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, thanks for your comment. You booked a night and perhaps you expect "waving and super smiling puppets'behind the reception. I tell you something, 99%of the guest up your age drinking a lot of cheap booze together with other mates on our bamboo deck to get the feeling 'to be very socialized'. By none communication with us, how you can say we're rude. And it was very interesting to read your complain about other hostels. Cheers mate!

  • andrewsjemily5472
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 28 reviews
5th Jun 2017
8.6

My friends and I enjoyed our stay here, then we got weird, aggressive emails from a staff member for accidentally missing a booking the previous night (due to a missed bus). It was strange.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Dear, you booked one night and you didn't show up. You got an info email but zero response. We was waiting for your arrival till midnight and you receive an email and we said "Thank you for keep us waiting!" So you mean thats aggressive? You send us an email that we have to think twice and that you had paid allegedly that night. No, you didn't paid and you didn't gave us any explanation upon check in. Thanks again. Staff of Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.