Hostelworld.com

Moalboal Backpacker Lodge

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 264 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 7.4
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.9
  • Facilities 6.8
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge Located at Panagsama Beach, Basdiot, , Moalboal.
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
Philippines
Moalboal 6032 Panagsama Beach, Basdiot
77% 264
9.9512668 123.3723449
Moalboal Backpacker Lodge
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2016
8.6

Loved the hammocks, make sure to go canyoning while you're there

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th May 2016
6.3

Place was great, only that there was a water interruption on our 1st day. We thought we were staying in an air conditioned room as per their website, but we were given fan room. Room was big, though. Lots of great restaurants and bars around the place. Staffs were helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, but we don't have neither any aircon rooms nor publishing any aircon rooms on any page and website.

  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Apr 2016
8.3

Nice, Open dorm (14 People). Appreciated getting a towel and being able to refill water bottles for 10p/ liter. I hate buying a million plastic bottles. Location is 2 min from the best snorkeling experience I've done :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Apr 2016
9.7

Great location right on the beach and next to all the bars. Really good open style dorm room up stairs with a area to drink cheap rum and meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Apr 2016
8.3

A very comfortable place to stay, within walking distance of restaurants and bars, and the diving area is just across the street. I stayed in the large, open dorm room upstairs with about 16 beds. Light sleepers may wish to consider the private rooms downstairs. There is a nice little hang out area upstairs adjacent to the dorm, and it looks like they are building another area just next to it. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
6.9

We stayed in the double bed private ensuite. Room cleanliness could be improved, shaky bed, pillow and bedsheet quality not too good as well. We could have relax on the hammocks in the room! However, we did not manage to sleep well due to woke up to the pounding sound outside the window in the early morning 9 ish during our 2-day stays.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2016
5.7

I give this place 2 stars out of 10. One star for the other super nice backpackers and one star for a mosquito net that actually works. Accommodation and amenities are basic but what really threw me off was how unfriendly the staff was, even borderline rude. Several other backpackers had similar experiences. Even the informational signage in the reception area is loaded with a negative tone. Unfortunately it's the only hostel in Moalboal for budget travelers. Major attitude improvement needed

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Hi,thanks for your comment. You booked a night and you stayed two nights and you had such a uncomfortable stay in our guesthouse finally. May we and perhaps everyone like to know what was the facility problem? Was the original hammocks from Brasil to small? Anything with the free coffee facility at the lobby, sorry we serving local products only. Was the mattress on our bamboo deck to thin? Well, we remember that you insist to checkout a quarter to 8am and of cours you're right its borderless rude from my staff to start a 12 hour duty at 8am. Thanks.

  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Apr 2016
6.9

all beds at 350 per peson so don't expect any aircon rooms and personal cr. however, I like the laidback feels staying there.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Apr 2016
8.3

Staff reasonably helpful, very friendly guests, clean comfortable room (mine was private). Bathroom not bad. Community area quite nice. Perfectly positioned to dive the amazing coral reef. My only criticism is their no shoes policy as it leaves guests vulnerable to catching something from others eg tinea or HPV papilloma wart virus. If I'd known I'd have taken some slippers. Even thongs (flip flops) had to be left at the door. Good idea in theory to try to keep it clean, but it's not hygienic.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Apr 2016
7.4

Everything went well except for the recurring water shortage in my room during peak hours.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.