X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nagomi-Ryokan Yuu Reviews

94 Kamiwakamiya-cho, Wakamiya-dori Rokujo Nishi-ir, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
256 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 76%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 87%Atmosphere
  • 91%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

Nagomi is pretty nice, even if it's not a real Ryokan. Rooms are lovely but very small. Rooms are definitely too noisy. Even if the receptionists (that are SUPER kind) always ask people to be quiet and respectful (especially at night and early morning) sometimes people just suck .... and use the hairdryer and laugh out loud at night like my neighbors did. It's a traditional kind of accommodation and walls are very thin.


97%

A wonderful experience. The house was beautiful and the beds comfortable. There was even a wooden bathtub in the bathroom. I'm very glad I stayed here and would highly recommend others to do the same.


77%

Nice to sleep in a traditional Ryokan Inn and sleep on a tatami floor with Futon. I did however find it to be very noisy especially from fellow guests staying above. The room walls are very thin and you can practically hear everything, I guess that's the only draw back to staying in a traditional Ryokan.

  • 3rd Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are quite happy that you enjoyed experiences in a traditional town house.As you mentioned as a downside, the walls are structured thin in those days, so it is easier to get a noise from others.We ask respects of our guests to the others, to keep quiet especially at night and in the morning during their stay.You are also welcome to ask us for help without any obstacles if the things happen.We wish you choose us again for your next opportunity to visit Kyoto and and giving you better service.

97%

👍very good!

  • 27th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We very thank you for your simple and great feedback. This comment and rating explained us enough how nice your stay with us was. We know there is no need to add any words for explanation of us, and simply appreciate your high rating. We expectedly wait for your next stay with us.

83%

Very good located hostel (15 min. from station) with typical japanese rooms. Room are a little bit small once the futon are open but it is OK. Fridge, small kitchen and laundry are available as well as a common room all in japanese style.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your well-rating. The room size is originally not spacious in those days, and we sincerely actuated the atmosphere. We are delightful that you could understand the structural aspects, too. Like you mentioned, we have free use common space for all of our guests, so we would like all of you to utilize it freely. Thank you very much again for your great review. We all look forward to seeing you at your next opportunity, too.

74%

The room was too small and the futons too thins. Very uncomfortable.

  • 18th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for a review.It is a quite pity you could not enjoy traditional aspects.Concerning the room size, you booked a small twin room,so it will be naturally smaller than a standard twin.We understand foreigners do not get used to Japanese futon mattresses, so we are ready to help you make it more comfortable by adding extra mattresses.In any situations, we would like guests to contact us for details or help in advance,so that we can offer you better and suitable plans for you.Thank you again

100%

I had originally booked one night to stay here; however, after spending less than an hour in this place I ended up booking another two nights. This inn is a very very quiet and peaceful place. It's great to come back here after spending the whole day sight-seeing in and around Kyoto. The rooms are made of wood and paper that give it a traditional Japanese feeling to it, and the female employees dress in kimonos as well. It's a little on the expensive side but very worth it!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We thank you for your favored comment. We can even feel how much you enjoyed your stay from your sentences. It is a very motivated factor to go on growing ourselves in service. There is no need for us to add any explanations of our facility from our side. Only the advice from us, the rate should be cheaper and flexible if you could contact us directly for your stay. Please put it into your account for your next visit. We very look forward to seeing you here again.

91%

This ryokan is very charming, and very clean. The only thing is that we hear everything from other rooms, but we appreciated that the staff is doing ots best to avoid that. The street and the neighborhood are quiet and cute

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We also deeply appreciate that you found not only our features critically right, but our effort to avoid any noise issues. We will try to be even better at service, and look forward to welcoming you again here. Thank you very much.

66%

i had difficulties carrying my heavy luggage from upstairs when i checked out at 6 am due to the operational hours of the reception and staffs which was 8 am to 10 pm. it would be wonderful if there was an elevator or staff that could help guests who checked out before/after the reception hours.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment, We are sorry that we weren't able to carry luggage for you. If it was during reception hour we were happy to help you with that though. (We usually don't have elevator in house with 2 stories in Japan.) Thank you for your understanding.



View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback