X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Nagomi-Ryokan Yuu Reviews

94 Kamiwakamiya-cho, Wakamiya-dori Rokujo Nishi-ir, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
264 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 84%Location
  • 86%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 88%Cleanliness
  • 72%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

What a perfect little Ryokan! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there and I will stay there again the next time I'm in Kyoto. Thank you Nagomi-Ryokan Yuu!

  • 21st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


40%

This hostel overcharged and provoking ! We are 3 pax and they put us in a room for 2, when 1 shower the other has to leave the room, nothing can be hang inside the shower box, you have to come out naked to dry n dress yourself, unacceptable! It's a hostel so they don't have different standard room, but when I complained, they said I booked in a 'Economy room ' when we had paid 30% more than there high season rate ! Bad, Bad Experience! Bad !

  • 4th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment. Please kindly be generous enough for us to explain it from our side, too. The room was normally used for 2 people, and this is because the booking had been made with the economy triple room. We would like guests to see the room description written on websites, too, when booking it. The rate you have seen on our own website is all about the different room, and that is why the room rate was different. We offered you to see the room corresponding to the website to persuade you well, but you refused the proposal. We had never offended you, and you got freaked out. It was actually a lot of interference for the other guests as you had been complaining us aloud at reception several days during your stay. On top, we gave you back 12,000 JPY as a refund since you clung onto the money issue and you paid 15,405 JPY/night as a result, which is lower than the rate shown on the website. (Even the others paid 16,000 JPY/night for 2 people for the room advertised on the website.) That was our special deal never done ever since we had opened, and even it was on the weekend. We are sorry, but we could not understand why you do not feel anything about this or unfairness for the other guests. If any other rooms were vacant, we were willing to change it for you, too. It was not because we are hostels, but it was the busy season. It is sorrowful that there is sometime a one-side unfair description from the guest like this even after we did our best for them. We hope everyone can understand the situation and see other comments for their reference, also.

94%

best accommodation experience in Japan and even in my life

Owner Comment (Hide)
We very much thank you for your review. This is the best feedback in our accommodation, too. There is nothing we can say more. We will simply wait for your next stay with the big expectations.

80%

Great place very close to the station. A bit pricy but confortable, clean. Staff is very friendly but there was a girl who was a bit snobby.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your evaluation. We are happy that you liked our locational aspects. Concerning the staff spoken in your statement, we need to face this issue with serious, and keep our conscious up for brushing up our hospitality. We appreciate again for your stay and review. We hope to accommodate you again in our property.

74%

Nagomi is pretty nice, even if it's not a real Ryokan. Rooms are lovely but very small. Rooms are definitely too noisy. Even if the receptionists (that are SUPER kind) always ask people to be quiet and respectful (especially at night and early morning) sometimes people just suck .... and use the hairdryer and laugh out loud at night like my neighbors did. It's a traditional kind of accommodation and walls are very thin.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We appreciate your comment. It left us a regret that we could not cope with the noise issue during your stay. It is true that we always ask every ones' respect for other guests in regards with the issue.(Written in our regulation and tell all guests to be cooperate with that.) We all wish to accommodate you with a higher standard and please feel free to ask us for any helps at next time. We are more than happy to sort those out for our guests. We hope the day comes in real soon.



View all Kyoto Hostels

Please give us your feedback