Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 1,978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 1,978 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 8.2
Old Penang GuestHouse Located at 53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang.
Old Penang GuestHouse
Malaysia
Penang Penang Penang 10200 53, Love Lane,, Georgetown
86% 1978
5.4190094 100.3367829
Old Penang GuestHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • munhongchen6331
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Nov 2016
10.0

I really like this place because of the good service and also the location. You could easily go anywhere around Georgetown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.7

I had a great stay. Great location too. The staffs were very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
7.7

This is a nice hostel that starts out with the right idea but then fails to execute in a few important ways. They try t o preserve the historic nature of the building itself, which is a noble goal, but in preserving it too much, they completely fail to give the hostel any character at all. The rooms, while clean and fairly large, are sterile and barely meet standards of functionality. Most rooms had no windows, making them mildly claustrophobic caves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2016
6.9

Perfectly fine hostel in a great location. Beds were comfy and clean. Lacked in atmosphere. Bad wifi. On a personal note, DON'T get a massage from the security guard who claims he is a masseuse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
9.1

I would definitely recommend this hostel. It's in the best location , near the rapid bus pit stop and near famous restaurant in penang. Staff were very helpful . its also provides towel and shower gel. Great value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Oct 2016
9.4

I would definitely recommend this hostel to anyone going to Penang. It's in the best location, on a road with lots of other hostels and bars. The room I stayed in was good, with the only thing being that there was a slight damp smell and feel when I first got there but as soon as the air con had been on for a while it was gone. The beds were comfortable and I had a gre Very helpful staff that will guide you on what to do and how to get to places. Definitely book here!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

Really cool to be in an old building like this. Felt like a bit of a time capsule which I enjoyed. Staff were super helpful. Maybe not the easiest place to meet people but you are surrounded by other hostels and bars so it's not really an issue. Great value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Nice Hostel, great location and best staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
5.7

I was in the double room. It was smelly and moldy to the point where my throat swelled up during the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.0

It was decent, free breakfast with free towel for guest, dormitory room is quite okay. However, the ensuite room was simple yet look old and borderline creepy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.