Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,927 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Old Penang GuestHouse Located at 53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang.
Old Penang GuestHouse
Malaysia
Penang Penang Penang 10200 53, Love Lane,, Georgetown
85% 1927
5.4190094 100.3367829
Old Penang GuestHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice, clean and well run hostel in the heart of Georgetown. The owners personally show each guest the facilities and to their room which is nice. Towels and shower gel are provided but there are a limited number of toilets and showers. There is a simple kitchen free to use and a big area with tables and chairs to eat at. There is also a tv area with sofas. Breakfast was simple but good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Most of things were good. But I think the air conditioner in room should be relocated. I slept the upper level of bunk bed . The air conditioner was over my head. The cold wind came direct to me. For two days, I woke with surprise because of cold. Except this things, almost at the hostel was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
5th Jul 2016
8.0

My partner and I stayed here over a long weekend. Perfect location for exploring Penang with great food and gorgeous street art starting right outside the door. Ticked all the boxes for a good stay but could have had something extra to take it to the next level. For those interested, breakfast was toast and fruit pieces.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jul 2016
7.7

Great location, comfy beds and air con room. The dorm rooms do lock but are rarely locked, there are lockers to use if you have your own padlock. Wifi can be a bit slow.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jun 2016
8.0

We really enjoyed our stay at the old penang guesthouse. We had a double private room and it was great. The staff were friendly and the laundry service was brilliant. Thanks. We'd come again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Jun 2016
7.7

Set in a beauttiful old building, this hostel is very well run, with the owner extremely helpful and on top of things. The location is good with most of Penang's sites and tourist trail a short walk away, as well as many shops and restaurants in the locale. My room was quite cramped but it was bearable. The wifi is unfortunately very poor, even in the common area, though this may be a wider Penang issue.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
6.6

Great location, clean and free breakfast but very poor atmosphere and at times felt unwelcome. Great food in little India!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jun 2016
9.7

We enjoyed our planned 4-day stay in Old Penang Guesthouse and returned for a further 3 days at the end of our holiday in Malaysia. We had the best room (#6) and found it comfortable and spacious. The staff were friendly and helpful regarding local travel and transfers. The range and maintenance of facilities (e.g. coffee/tea machine; hot & cold water machine; air con) were impressive. We enjoyed the friendly atmosphere and felt welcome even though most other guests were half our age. Thanks

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
10th Jun 2016
9.7

I stayed in a single bed room. Very nice old colonial (?) building that added to the experience of staying in Penang. Clean, secure. Quite hostel, I didn't mind, there is a party hostel nearby where you can go and meet other travellers if you wish.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
9th Jun 2016
7.1

Clean, lots of showers and bathrooms, rooms with lockers, coffee and tea free all day. Fruit and toasts for breakfast. Had a very bad experience with man at reception at night. My bus to thailand stood me up and he didnt let me go back in the hostel at 5am,m with a storm or offer to call agency(outside the hostel its full of rats at night...not hostels fault..its penang). Lady during day is nice but serious. I didnt like the atmosphere, no good to meet people because they insist on being quite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.