Hostelworld.com

Old Penang GuestHouse

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Old Penang GuestHouse Located at 53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang.
Old Penang GuestHouse
Malaysia
Penang Penang Penang 10200 53, Love Lane,, Georgetown
85% 1880
5.4190094 100.3367829
Old Penang GuestHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Apr 2016
7.7

This hostel is clean and fairly quiet. Not a party hostel. They have free breakfast--free coffee all day. The wifi doesn't work in the dormitories. The A/C on the works great in the dormitory. The staff is nice enough, and they will point you in the right direction. There is a large common area, but very little atmosphere. This hostel is right down the street from the bars, little India, Kimberley Street (street food), and the famous street art.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Apr 2016
10.0

Nice hostel located in the heart of Penang, near Street Art. Reasonable price for a single room (shared bath room)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • carmilouw8950
  • New Zealand, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
15th Apr 2016
6.9

Place was lovely - however we were ravaged by bed bugs. It was so bad, both of us were covered in bites all over our bodies from 2 nights staying in room 14 (70 plus bites each). We emailed them to alert them as soon as the bites appeared and they replied to say they would clean the rooms thoroughly. By the extent of the infestation we assume it was not a recent problem in that room. Unless they do some extremely thorough fumigation I would not recommend staying there!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
9.4

Loved my stay here, would definitely go back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Apr 2016
8.9

A really nice hostel, better than average. I had a single private room upstairs, which had no windows but was still cozy - really clean, neat, a good vibe. The shared bathrooms were always kept clean. The music was at times loud, as it's a central location with some bars nearby. Overall, a really good stay. I recommend, especially for those going on a visa trip from Thailand. I'd go to the same place again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
8.9

Great location, clean dorm rooms and showers. The lady at the desk was the nicest women ever, always going out of her way to help.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
8.9

Everything you need!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd Apr 2016
9.4

Hostel located inside a 100-year building in the heart of Georgetown. Very convenient location if you're looking to walk around during the day sightseeing and catch some delicious street food and pubs in the evening/nighttime. Very easy to catch the buses if you're coming in thru the ferry. Helpful staff! Go head and give them a try, for the value they can't be beaten!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
31st Mar 2016
8.6

Really good hostel, nice and clean with good beds. The only thing I would say is there is not much of an atmosphere, it is very quiet and everybody kept them self to themselves, so it's not great for meeting people. But it's a good base and somewhere to sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
9.7

I enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Especially the staff was welcoming and friendly. I would recommend Old Penang Guesthouse to everyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.