X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Old Penang GuestHouse Reviews

53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1448 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I like that place soo much


86%

It was nice and cozy stay overall. However,it's quite hard to find it for the first time. Little bit of tricky to be found. Plus,outsiders can be fined up to RM30 for not showing parking coupon on the car's dashboard. And first time outsiders won't know it. Please inform if the customer are using their own vehicle. Breakfast are fairly good. Can be improved for sure.

  • 29th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great Location, lovely old building but modernized inside. Beautiful staircase. We stayed in the double en-suite, quiet room with a really nice shower.


86%

Away from the main road. Easy to chill out at the front porch and watch life pass by. Locals will confirm the building has real old wooden floors, stairs ,tiles and design. Cool.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

Great guesthouse in lovely Penang. Very cheap and very clean and beautiful old fashioned house. Loved it!

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Staff was helpful, friendly, & welcoming. I will definitely come back & recommend the place.

  • 24th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Please change the out of shape pillows. Don't let children keep running outside the room (wooden floor, can you imagine how noisy is that?!) before 12pm, It was really really annoying. I was staying in room 5, I'm pretty sure there were bed bug. My legs are bitten all over. Extremely itchy, until now (20/8/2014) the spots are still deep red and swollen. At the same price range, I can have a good and quality in Bangkok, why small place liked Penang can't make it?


97%

very good


74%

very friendly staff, perfect location, common bathroom was very clean and therefore ok, breakfast was poor but better than nothong,

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


66%

Too expensive for what is delivered. Attention, thet charge PER PERSON not per room, so the price is higher than advertised.

  • 1st Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall I had no issues with the facilities, service and location of the hostel. The guesthouse was located at a very good position at Love Lane, which is in the heart of the tourist district and well within walking distance of many attractions at GeorgeTown. My only main issue was bedbugs. I stayed in the 12 men dorm for 2 nights and was bitten by bedbugs which caused discomfort. Otherwise, the room was pretty decent and has air-conditioning.

  • 28th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

bed bugs :(

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We had take immediate action to clean the room thoroughly and continue monitor from time to time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

91%

Very good atmosphere, try to stay like this !

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Terimah kasih!

  • 27th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


60%

BED BUGSSS!!!!!

  • 26th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We had take immediate action to clean the room thoroughly and continue monitor from time to time. Sorry for the inconvenience.

89%

I was comfortable at old penang guesthouse during my whole stay!


91%

very good place, this is my 3rd time here, very good and helpful staff, very good dormitory, anythings OK, I'm very love this place


100%

Had a very good time at Old Penang Guest House. The hostel is nice and clean, the staff friendly and helpful and we liked the fact that there was free drinking water available as well as tea and coffee.


89%

We were concerned about reports of bedbugs but we had no problems. Stayed in private double room.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

The staffs are very nice.

  • 14th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4
(73 results)


View all Penang Hostels

Please give us your feedback