Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 2006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 2006 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 8.0

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Mar 2017
8.6

Really nice hostel, the building is beautiful staff are nice only thing is the walls for the rooms are paper thin and there's no natural light in them. But for the price a very nice place to stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
8.9

I really liked this place; as told on the website is an old building witch I really like, a big open space is the common area ( and breakfast area too). The room was really clean and the toilets too; nice breakfast until 12 ( if you like to sleep until late). On a busy street but still quiet at night time.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
18th Feb 2017
10.0

This was my 2nd stay at this guesthouse and I could say everything from this guesthouse is perfect. Location is very convenient, within walking distance to bars and street food stalls. 7/11 can be reached within a minute walk.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Feb 2017
9.4

Great chill hostel, perfect to relax on a visa run. Really comfy beds and solid breakfast. There's not a huge amount of backpackers but there's plenty of bars near by to meet peiple. Great location too. WiFi was a bit hit and miss at times. Good value.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
5th Feb 2017
8.3

Great all round. Areas for improvement are plumbing and a coat of paint.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
4th Feb 2017
8.9

Great location on Love Lane - easy to walk anywhere from here. Reception manned all night big lockers are handy!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th Jan 2017
9.7

Lovely rooms in a great location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.9

The guesthouse is exactly what you get for the money spent. The room was fine for 3 days spent in Penang. There is air conditioning and we had a shower in room as well. The bed was very creaky. The staff, however, were very nice and made our stay comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
3.7

One of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. I would not go back ever again. I feel the dirtiness the moment I walked in. It's also very loud at night from the bar next door. The room is like a prison cell.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bob_mirzai2599
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.3

Cool former colonial building that has been converted into a guest house. A lot of the original features such as the tiles can still be seen and give a sense of character to the place. Can't really fault anything about the place although if you are a light sleeper you may wish to request a room that is further away from the rowdy Love lane bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.