Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,989 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.1
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.2
Old Penang GuestHouse Located at 53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang.
Old Penang GuestHouse
Malaysia
Penang Penang Penang 10200 53, Love Lane,, Georgetown
85% 1989
5.4190094 100.3367829
Old Penang GuestHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
8.9

The guesthouse is exactly what you get for the money spent. The room was fine for 3 days spent in Penang. There is air conditioning and we had a shower in room as well. The bed was very creaky. The staff, however, were very nice and made our stay comfortable!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Jan 2017
3.7

One of the worst hostels I have ever stayed in. I would not go back ever again. I feel the dirtiness the moment I walked in. It's also very loud at night from the bar next door. The room is like a prison cell.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • bob_mirzai2599
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Dec 2016
8.3

Cool former colonial building that has been converted into a guest house. A lot of the original features such as the tiles can still be seen and give a sense of character to the place. Can't really fault anything about the place although if you are a light sleeper you may wish to request a room that is further away from the rowdy Love lane bars.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Dec 2016
8.3

A great cheap hotel, not a hostel! And the receptionist behaves accordingly; doesn't engage or even not being polite at the times. A friend of yours can't get into your room, they would ask her/him to wait in the lobby. So if you wanna have a place with the vibe Old Penang Guest house is not for you.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
1st Dec 2016
6.6

Super disorganised! Our first night they sent us to another hostel to stay as they had closed the dorm but forgotten to post it online. When we came back the next day we couldn't check in til 4pm! No storage room for your bags-just sit out in the open common room. The staff weren't helpful, especially the older lady who seemed to panic whenever you asked her anything. Opposite the busiest part of the street so not the quietest. Breakfast was grand. Shower facilities and free towel were a bonus.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • munhongchen6331
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Nov 2016
10.0

I really like this place because of the good service and also the location. You could easily go anywhere around Georgetown.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
6.0

everything was really dirty and I had so many mosquitos in my room. Staff was helpfull and the location are good but I wouldn't go there again

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Nov 2016
9.7

I had a great stay. Great location too. The staffs were very helpful and friendly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Oct 2016
7.7

This is a nice hostel that starts out with the right idea but then fails to execute in a few important ways. They try t o preserve the historic nature of the building itself, which is a noble goal, but in preserving it too much, they completely fail to give the hostel any character at all. The rooms, while clean and fairly large, are sterile and barely meet standards of functionality. Most rooms had no windows, making them mildly claustrophobic caves.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
25th Oct 2016
6.9

Perfectly fine hostel in a great location. Beds were comfy and clean. Lacked in atmosphere. Bad wifi. On a personal note, DON'T get a massage from the security guard who claims he is a masseuse.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.