Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 1,959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 1,959 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.7
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.0
Old Penang GuestHouse Located at 53, Love Lane, Georgetown, Penang.
Old Penang GuestHouse
Malaysia
Penang Penang Penang 10200 53, Love Lane,, Georgetown
85% 1959
5.4190094 100.3367829
Old Penang GuestHouse
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

Really cool to be in an old building like this. Felt like a bit of a time capsule which I enjoyed. Staff were super helpful. Maybe not the easiest place to meet people but you are surrounded by other hostels and bars so it's not really an issue. Great value for the price.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Aug 2016
10.0

Nice Hostel, great location and best staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Aug 2016
5.7

I was in the double room. It was smelly and moldy to the point where my throat swelled up during the night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Aug 2016
8.0

It was decent, free breakfast with free towel for guest, dormitory room is quite okay. However, the ensuite room was simple yet look old and borderline creepy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • yinhsuanlin
  • Taiwan, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jul 2016
10.0

A really beautiful and nice hostel! The staffs are nice and the room and bathroom are clean and big!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2016
7.1

Stayed in the 12 bed dorm, it doesn't have windows so you never know the time of day or night in there. Nice big rooms, staff are really helpful. Not the most social but I met a few solo travellers there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
20th Jul 2016
8.3

Nice, clean and well run hostel in the heart of Georgetown. The owners personally show each guest the facilities and to their room which is nice. Towels and shower gel are provided but there are a limited number of toilets and showers. There is a simple kitchen free to use and a big area with tables and chairs to eat at. There is also a tv area with sofas. Breakfast was simple but good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jul 2016
10.0

Great hostel, lovely staff and great spot in Penang

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
14th Jul 2016
8.3

Really nice hostel, the building is so authentic and location is great! Staff was not so welcoming and friendly though (especially one woman). Rooms were okay, don't choose the bed directly beneath the aircon since that will be too cold. Breakfast was okay, I really liked that they served fresh fruit salad one day! Overall, good value for money, would definitely recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
7.7

Most of things were good. But I think the air conditioner in room should be relocated. I slept the upper level of bunk bed . The air conditioner was over my head. The cold wind came direct to me. For two days, I woke with surprise because of cold. Except this things, almost at the hostel was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.