Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Old Penang GuestHouse

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2066 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.7
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.8
  • Facilities 8.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th Jul 2017
6.3

Only stayed here for a night due to a dorm robbery during my stay. The security is not that great here at all.. people don't lock the dorm rooms/leave the door wide open. Front reception person isn't there all the time so anyone can easily walk in acting like they stay there and take anything. Other than this, this hostel is okay. If you stay here, make sure you lock up everything and don't leave anything valuable out. Great location on love lane, which has lots of bars for night life.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
22nd Jul 2017
9.7

Really lovely hostel - perfect for a few days in Penang. Really nice atmosphere, great communal space, beautiful building etc. Staff were so friendly - really went out of their way to help with directions and helping me catch a bus to the airport. Brilliant location - easy walking distance to everything with plenty of bars, cafes and shops on your doorstep. The free breakfast was also a massive perk. Overall I really enjoyed my stay here and would highly recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
8.6

Great location and pretty good breakfast with toast and fruit. Old building will character so room and bathroom felt a bit dirty compared to newer hostels but was fine for a couple nights.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
8th Jul 2017
8.3

I enjoyed my stay here. Great location, free breakfast was a nice touch and rooms are clean. Good for meeting people becaude of the big dorms but it's definitely not a party hostel. I'd stay here again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • cloelapointe886080
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
4th Jul 2017
10.0

Great people, place, price and would definitely stay again! Loved the vibe. Staff was kind and helpful. Plenty to see and do around the area too.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • scottwmillar
  • New Zealand, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 35 reviews
26th Jun 2017
10.0

This is an excellent place to stay and I recommend it completely. It's great value for money, in a superb location within walking distance of everything you could want, the bed was comfortable and the staff were always kind and helpful. By the way, if you are really interested in multicultural history, you could spend a long time digging around the various treasures (not to mention all the wonderful food) in Penang. I'm looking forward to returning here some day soon.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
9.1

Lovely old building with real character in the common area. The dorms were basic, small and windowless but clean and functional. Staff were on the front desk 24 hours per day so felt very safe. A basic breakfast is included (tea/coffee, toast and jam).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 12 reviews
23rd Jun 2017
7.4

A nice heritage hostel in perfect location. Security poor as dorm is never locked and lockers not big enough for whole backpack. Staff are helpful when directly asked but not particularly friendly. Was told off for breaking a toilet roll holder which was already broken and precariously balanced which seemed ridiculous Good location for all sights and reasonable price

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Jun 2017
10.0

Love lovelane

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2017
7.7

Great central location in the middle of Chinatown and Little India. Many places to eat and get coffee in the area. Room was clean and simple with AC that worked passably well. The WiFi is not great and probably won't work in your room, only in the lobby. The shower and other shared facilities are decent and clean.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.