Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Ostello del Chianti

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 573 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 8.0
Ostello del Chianti Located at via Roma 137, Chianti Tavarnelle, Florence.
Ostello del Chianti
Italy
Florence Firenze 50028 via Roma 137, Chianti Tavarnelle
84% 573
43.5570700 11.1717999
Ostello del Chianti
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
7.1

We had the place basically to ourselves its pretty chill there

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Aug 2016
7.1

***this hostel is not in Florence. To get to Florence it is €6.60 round trip by bus and a 40-50 min ride each way*** not a bad hostel, but prepare for the mosquitos. Comfortable beds and clean facilities. Not much of a kitchen, just a fridge and microwave with basic plates/cutlery you can use, supermarket down the street. Beautiful region, gorgeous neighboring villages (visit barberino for wine tasting and don't miss San Gimignano!) very quiet during my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Aug 2016
7.7

Very friendly people. The village is far from Florence and best if you have car. As expected for the price, WIFI is only reaches the public space and there is one bath room for each floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • laurentheberger
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.6

Very cute, and the guy running it was very helpful (and put up with our annoying questions). Easy to get to - but far from Florence main (50 mins). Get the bus from SITA bus station - be warned: there aren't that many, and the latest is 7.50pm. Microwave and fridge (and plates + cutlery etc) useful. Great lockers and own key for door.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
6th Aug 2016
8.9

It is a quite a ride from Florence (1 hour by bus (from the Sita bus station)), but it was a pretty little town. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The kitchen was a bit empty as all it had was a microwave and kettle. Despite that I would come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Aug 2016
8.0

So just be aware, this place is no where near Florence, in fact it is just as close to sienna. If you miss the last bus you are also in for a world of trouble. I missed the last bus, but managed to make friends with a kind local who dropped me off at the highway exit... Which is still an 8km walk, mostly up hill. If you have luggage as I did it is no fun at all. The hostel is quite nice though, as is the town it is located in. Clean beds, clean bathrooms, good WiFi, what more do you need.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
3rd Aug 2016
7.1

Really nice location, big parking right next to the hostel. Rooms were big and clean. showers on the hall, but cleaned every day so were clean to use. Just felt there was a weird not so friendly atmosphere, people in the hostels didn't really seem to communicate. Only saw staff during check-in and check-out. Could be that we were unlucky with the people currently visiting. Enjoyed the stay, there and everything was alright, just didn't have a warm feeling to it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Jul 2016
6.6

Decent place to stay in a nice location if you want to explore the beautiful Tuscan countryside. As many people on here have said, mosquitos are a problem. As there are no mosquito nets on the Windows, you have to make a choice between being boiling hot and being bitten all night! I would recommend the hostel install mosquito netting on the Windows ASAP. The men's toilet also didn't lock and only one of our 2 Windows opened

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
27th Jul 2016
8.3

Good hostel. Everyone was very friendly. Only problem was the mosquitoes, wish there was some type of net or screening on the doors to keep them out. Other than that, wonderful place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
4.9

We we're so disappointed by this place. It was awful, how did it get so many good ratings? The pros ended with the friendly staff and semi good location. Had to wait 1.5 hours to check-in because we arrived during their break time. Dirty room, trash wasn't cleaned, room smelled terrible, spiders and mosquito were everywhere. Hot room with no fan provided, can't open window because Italy doesn't believe in window screens apparently. Ordered a double bed, got a room with 2 bunk beds. Terr

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

I am very sorry you had such a bad experience. We have had some issues with new staff we where not satisfied with and it seems you came right in the midle of it altough this is not an excuse as we are the ones that are ultimately responsible. We are putting every effort to deserve the mark of excellent cleanliness that our guests have granted us. In the rooms we supply devices to keep the mosquitos at bay and open the windows without problems but your comment made me realise that we should provvide more information on how to use them as guests from some countrys are not familiar with them. The room you reserved was a twin private and not a double room.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.