Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Overnativa Green Hostel

  • Rua Getulio Vargas 517 Ilha Grande, Vila do Abrao Rio de Janeiro, Ilha Grande, Brazil

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 1,000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 1,000 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.2
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.1
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.6
  • Facilities 6.6
Overnativa Green Hostel Located at Rua Getulio Vargas 517 Ilha Grande, Vila do Abrao Rio de Janeiro, Ilha Grande.
Overnativa Green Hostel
Brazil
Ilha Grande Rio de Janeiro 23960000 Rua Getulio Vargas 517 Ilha Grande, Vila do Abra�o Rio de Janeiro
72% 1000
-23.1426290 -44.1661012
Overnativa Green Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
27th May 2016
5.7

At breakfast everyone gets 1 bread. I took _HALF_ of my sandwich to the room. We (me and my gf) were surprised that hostel guy ran to us and literally wanted to take the half-finished sandwich and throw it away as it was against rules. I told him I wasn't going to throw it to the bin but he was very persistent (had to eat it in front of him).We paid double of the normal rate due to holiday in Brazil so they could have let the half-finished sandwich go with us without this scene and food wasting.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
21st Mar 2016
4.0

This place ranks at number one by far of the WORST places I've stayed. In short: horrible staff, no air conditioning, a mosquito breeding ground, useless kitchen, and a leaky roof. Now, in detail. We were a 5 person mixed group. We arrived to our 6 person room, and first had to grab paper and tape to patch a broken window. Then, we tried to get the air conditioning working. The machine was probably from the 60s, considering how old it looked, and didn't even turn on. We asked the staff for

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
4.0

Slightly off the beaten track, Overnativa is a breeding ground for mosquitoes and hostility. Owner is unfriendly and totally disinterested. Can't speak anything but Portuguese and clearly never bothered heightening communication skills. The place lacks atmosphere, comfortable beds, kitchen utensils and aircon. The lights flicker, the taps splutter & the Sisyphean ceiling-fan groans. The breakfast is wonderful though...

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
6th Mar 2016
8.3

As The name says it, is a green house so you have to think that your in a chalet. The rooms are small but cozy and you have private bathrooms in each room which is fun. Wifi is not so good everywhere in the island so it works well at the reception once you get the connection. The lady is not the most enthusiastic and customer service pro but she will definitely accommodate you. Breakfast is quiet good! Good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Feb 2016
7.1

Nice rooms! In private room you had your own fridge, toilet and shower. Wi-fi didn't work anywhere else than in the lobby. Staff seemed quite strict but still ok, nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • nathan_kendal4805
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 27 reviews
18th Feb 2016
5.4

Has all the features of a hostel that used to be good. Nonchalant staff, no atmosphere, dodgy electrics, lacks a cleaning regimen, expensive, poor kitchen facilities (particularly the fridge), no laundry facilities and small lockers. Great breakfast and fairly secure on the plus side. Better options by far available elsewhere.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Feb 2016
8.0

Occasional electricity black out and no wifi. That's all part of the adventure being on the island! Breakfast served 8.30-10.30 daily, excellent selection with fresh fruit and cake. Staff very laid back. Minimal English spoken but helpful. Little further down the dirt track away from the main strip. Great hostel. Would definitely stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
12th Feb 2016
7.1

Great friendly staff (they put on a free BBQ for us) and best breakfast weve had so far but room was TINY with no air con so made for a very sweaty few nights sleep

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Feb 2016
8.9

this si veruy nice place the people are very nice everithing cool the kitchen the owner use for their breakfast but the one i had to use the worst i ever seen in my life 100000000 mosquitos around veryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy dirty

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.