X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Polynesian Hostel Beach Club Waikiki Reviews

2584 Lemon Rd., Waikiki Beach, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
920 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 77%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 63%Cleanliness
  • 69%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

cleaninignes could be improved as well as the wifi.


97%

Super helpful & friendly staff, pancakes are great! Very relaxed vibe and so close to the beach.


91%

location was absolutely perfect. no major complaints. would stay here again

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Located at the Eastern end of Waikiki this hostel is absolutely close to everything you probably wanna check out in that area. Plus they offer everyday tours to the northshore, snorkeling etc. So if you don't wanna rent a car that definitely is a good option! Well, staff is nice and helpful, rooms are clean and also facilities are standard. Absolutely nothing to complain about!


83%

This place is absolutely amazing! 😀

  • 14th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

Me and my daughter had a awesome time the free pancakes and lovelt meals that were cooked for all that stayed at the hostel I miss hawaii the weather,beach,shopping I would definately recommend polynesian hostel to anyone on a budget many thanks dalea moonia from new zealand mahalo!!!

  • 29th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


60%

Our room was a private one and it was falling apart. The bed was the most uncomfortable and noisy thing I have ever slept in, the place was pretty shabby and not very clean. Staff were friendly, but I wouldn't go back!

  • 25th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Well-run, super nice staff and just the best pancakes for breakfast! My favorite hostel in Hawaii! Surf board rental prices are also very fair! (10$ for a half day)


77%

My time at Polynesien was really good, the staff was so helpful.


94%

We really enjoyed the friendly and helpful staff. The atmosphere was very relaxed and enjoyable. Visitors were treated with courtesy and staff went out of their way to go the extra mile to make the stay memorable. Special thanks to Margaret and Kevin for their hospitality.

  • 17th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


83%

Absolutly belting hostel this is! Loads of fun people , especally if ur traveling solo! I would deffo rekomend and i would deffo come back! Take it easy! SMASHIN TIME I HAD

  • 16th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


49%

(security) in the last night, a drunken boy crashed into our ladiesroom, just by knocking hard at the door and assaulted one of us, (staff) the two office employees let us wait to check in because the needed to go to have breakfast together, (price) breakfast fo free should be from 7:30 but was not available before 9:30


66%

Only stayed at Polynesian Brach Hosel for one night as a stop over on the way home. Bathroom - shower was decent and clean. Would have been good to have hand soap or something as there was none, Sleeping Area - I was on the top bunk right next to the door, no curtains or coverings on the windows made for a bright and loud night with not much sleep. Other room occupants were quite messy (this might not be the same in other rooms though) so finding space for my stuff was difficult,

  • 13th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

Upon trying to check in, the hostel had just finished up a keg party and the receptionist seemed drunk and couldn't stay focused enough to check us in. Took 20 minutes just to get our key. Parking is horrible and they require you to leave your key with the front desk so that they can move your car in and out.We booked a private room, had to walk thru a dorm room of people to get to the private room..not very private.Bathroom filthy w/roaches.missing tile and mold. Gross!!!!

  • 11th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location close to Kuhio Beach. Good wi-fi connection. Small rooms with ensuite bathroom (6 bed dorm). Kitchen was useless. One stove for the entire hostel and the area was not clean. Not enough cutlery and crockery


54%

This place was pretty gross and I'm pretty sure we slept on a box spring (no mattress?!! Super uncomfortable) in our private room. Good location, but that's all it's got going for it.


80%

We stayed in a private which was connected to one of the dorm rooms. Bed was pretty comfy. Had a good stay overall, although the bathroom in our room was pretty moldy. Other rooms had nicer bathrooms though. Overall it wasn't bad, and the location is perfect, only a block from the beach and nearby a few other hostels.


40%

The wifi wasn't working and when we told the stuff that it isn't working, they just said that it should work, again and again. Our room and the bathroom were really dirty. The stove in the kitchen was old and not clean. The location is ok and they offer free pancakes in the morning.


66%

Good location, but not the cleanest rooms or friendliest staff.


77%

pots and pans in the kitchen for the studio unit could do with replacement, several of the bottoms were not flat so it makes it harder to heat and cook.


(54 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback