X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Polynesian Hostel Beach Club Waikiki Reviews

2584 Lemon Rd., Waikiki Beach, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

74%

Rating
1097 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 71%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 72%Atmosphere
  • 60%Cleanliness
  • 67%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

The Polynesian Hostel was not a good one. The rooms do not have air conditioning and so they are constantly far too hot. The bed are uncomfortable as well.

  • 16th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


51%

There were roaches in the bathroom and the room wasn't very clean.


80%

For thouse they wanna stay outside the room while in Hawaii perfect. Cheap option and great value for money you spend.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Hostel itself is a little run down, but who cares really when the staff and guests are so cool, nice and friendly? We had a great time in Waikiki! And would totally recommend this hostel, the location is perfect!

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Faster breackfast cooking/serving

  • 28th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Brilliant hostel, all the staff were very helpful and friendly. Had a awesome time at Polynesian Hostel Beach Club Waikiki


89%

This hostel is in a perfect location. Staff are very friendly and helpful. I would definitely recommend staying here if on a budget.


86%

Good hostel. Bathroom could have used an extra clean and it would have been nice not to have had to make my bed when I arrived late at night but great people and location.


69%

convenient and inexpensive. Could benefit from an upgrade.

  • 1st Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

The staff is tip top. Nice group of people, it was a lot of fun. The pancakes are great and after 10 nobody will bother you with noise if you need to sleep. The atmosphere is great for a backpacker. If you are traveling alone and want to meet down to earth people getting to know O'ahu with a group of strangers you might get to call friends, this is the hostel for you. If you just couldn't find a cheap hotel room and don't want to interact with people, you probably will not enjoy it much.


91%

Great all round hostel - internet, kitchen, reception, bathroom and beds were great.

  • 29th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


66%

a good location 5 minutes to the beach and near by restaurants shops tour offices, the sink in the shower room was not running water and the light in the room was not working also i booked a dorm for 4 females but there was another door next to the bathroom with had another dorm so they was sharing the bathroom aswell.


74%

Needs more fans too hot specially for the bunk bed


100%

good location very friendly staff, good place to meet other travellers. very patchy with Internet connection


69%

Not terrible but definitely not good setup for a "private room" as it's actually a private door inside an 8 sleeper dorm which makes it really inconvenient having to negotiate the shower & toilet with everyone in the dorm space. A separate toilet & shower block would have made a world of difference. We absolutely loved our North Shore tour with Jessie (awesome dude, awesome tour) and all staff, bedding, towels and location fantastic! It's ok when going cheap, but if it's hot- no A/C sucks :P


91%

Good, priceable place👌


71%

A convenient place to stay for those on a budget. This was my second time to stay and I'd come back again.


57%

Bathtubs in the rooms are gross...needs a serious and immediate update. Also, seems like capacity could be slightly reduced in the large dorms and the quality + cleanliness would be vastly improved. Invest in staff training...some were great, some less so. There was one old, rickety fan per room. I didn't expect air conditioning, but the room was so stiflingly hot that we left the door open all night, which was great for security.

  • 13th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

It is quite hot. But it is cheap.

  • 10th Aug 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

Location and stuff were great but cleanliness not up to any standard. Also no air conditioning


(61 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback