X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Purple Nest Hostel Valencia Reviews

Plaza Tetuán n 5, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
1811 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

The location and staff of purple nest are absolutely fantastic, no complaints at all!! I know that staying in a large mixed dorm really depends on the roommates.

  • 11th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. My room (a 4-bed) wasn't very clean though, and had an unpleasant smell (fortunately this improved a bit while I was there). I think that was down to people/a person staying there long term though; I think the other rooms were better. Being able to use the washing machine was great. I also thought the location was fantastic- great for wandering to different areas of the city.


100%

I loved how much there was for us to get involved with. The staff was amazing and offered so much help on what to see in the city!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment! We loved every moment with you at reception. We hope to see you next time. Best regards, Juan

60%

The hostel was okay, thats the only thing i can think to say. The rooms werent the greatest, quite noisy and the bar/common area was too big so it made it even more aparent when there were only 3 people there. This is an okay hostel to go to if you're travelling as a group but nothing else in my opinion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! The roomtype you book was basic, and thats the reason why the price was low. There were rooms with more facilities for 1€ or 2€ more per night. We have big common areas: to organize activities, dinners and a lot of things...A hostel with more than 100 beds needs a big area if you like to have fun! Best regards, Juan

40%

There was always someone missing at the recepcion and I felt like in a summer camp.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment. On saturday arrived two groups from different schools, and they had dinner...that could be the reason you felt like in a camp site. If there's an incidence we use to solve it inmediately, also if we need to go to the rooms for a while. Best regards Juan

80%

I booked a six person dorm and paid €23 for 2 nights when I checked in. I went my room and was pleasently surprised to find myself in my own room with a giant balcony on the top floor!! They had graciously upgraded my room at no extra cost! Although it was amazing to be in a nice big room with a queen sized bed, there were some things I wouldn't have liked had I paid the full €41/nigh). The bed didn't have fitted sheets and the shower didn't drain until long after I was finished. Great location!

  • 16th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! We like to do this kind of surprises, so that's the reason we changed your booking to a private room. We are happy if you enjoyed your stay in our hostel! Best regards, Purple Nest Staff

80%

Excellent location and staff. The place can be very noisy, and the Internet is not always that good

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! Was very nice to meet you! We have a big hostel, more than 150 beds. When there are groups of people coming could be noisy, but we have 24 reception and security service. I apologise for the internet connection. We fixed that problem. Best regards, juan

91%

Good place. Had free salsa dance lessons

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for visiting us! For the spring and summer time we'll have a lot of different activities in the hostel including free salsa lessons. Glad you joined us! :) Warm greetings from Purple Nest! Saara

94%

This hostel was amazing. Me and my friends had the top floor, with access to the roof as well as our own private bathroom. With this hostel, we got to go on a walking tour to learn about the city of Valencia, and eat local Paella right in the living room. The wifi was great, the staff was hilarious, and it was so international and in such a prime location. I highly recommend this hostel for anyone traveling to Valencia, the people are overly accommodating.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your comment! It made our day! Best regards, Saara Reception

54%

Pros- The afternoon staff of two guys were really nice and welcoming. The hostel was easy to find. The common room is nice. Cons- filthy dirty floors in the rooms, no breakfast, no locks on the lockers. very unhelpful night staff. I couldn't get the wifi to work at all & the guy told me to try in the common room (where I previously was) and nothing. He said its probably because of Fallas. Night staff interacted poorly with others (i saw some heated discussions) & LOTS of excuses about Fallas.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! The breakfast was included in you rate (churros and chocolate) and it was written on the blackboards and we told you in the check in. In our hostelworld profile you can read that we sell the locks...Because of the storm, and because of the hostel was full the wifi couldn't work very good. The night staff apologizes. I talked with the guy and he told me he was in a hurry trying to control people when you came at the recepcion. Regards, Juan

100%

Very helpful staff, clean and comfortable. They have free walking tours and pub crawls starting at their bar. Thanks guys! I will be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! We hope to see you back in Purple Nest soon! :) Kind regards, Saara

83%

Made a last minute reservation here because staying with a friend fell through. Unfortunately it was the Falles festival, which quadrupled the nightly rate. Staff were helpful, though it took 20 minutes to find my reservation and I was overcharged, which took another receptionist to cancel... Blah blah blah.. Also a little too much nudging from the staff on the clubbing scene.. I came for different reasons. Facilities were clean and spacious, a couple locks were broken, but nice nonetheless!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi!!! Thanks for your comment! Las Fallas festival has a special price due because is the most important festival in Valencia. Think that our hostel is in the heart of Valencia, close to the most important fallas. Best regards, Juan

69%

The location was perfect and the staff very welcoming and helpful. The beds were clean but it was a bit smelly everywhere. The whole hostel needs some renovation. Especially the bathroom was a bit shabby. I wouldn't say don't go there but don't expect a cozy hostel with comforting things like your own little lamp and charging facility on your bed. It's ok, I can't compare to others in Valencia. And the location I'd say is unbeatable. But it could be much better if they'd renovate certain parts.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks a lot for your comment and thanks for choosing us! You booked a basic room type, and paid no more 14€ during Las Fallas Festival. We also had rooms with more facilities and bathroom inside the room for few euros more. Best regards Juan

74%

Ma and a friend stayed in the basic 4 bed dorm. We didn't like the room. There were 2 bunk beds with no space to move. The beds were extremely squeaky, the light in the room was very poor and the window was facing the wall so the room was very dark + the walls were red which didn't help.There are no power plugs next the bed or lights. The bathroom needs some renovations, especially the showers. The staff was friendly but was missing some basic knowledge of the city. Great location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! The room you booked is a basic type, that's why it has lower price. There is one locker per bed, and every locker has one power plug, and there are few on the walls... In a shared room, the light has to be poor, if not every people arriving could disturb other people. In our staff there are people from all around the world. Some of them are doing a internship... that could be the reason you feel they didn't know yet about basic things. Regards, Juan

86%

Staff were very helpful! They helped me organising my trip and made my stay wonderful! Recommend the walking tour, they brought us to the mazcleta for fallas , incredible experience! Good location easy walk from city centre.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! It was a pleasure to have you here! :) Best regards, Saara

86%

I only had one issue with this Hostel. They do not allow you to drink your own alcohol in the common area. I understand that most hostels do not let you drink alcohol near the bar, However this hostel doesn't allow drinking anywhere except outside. I did not feel like paying 5 euros for one beer or 2.5 euros for a shot of cheap tequila when there is a supermarket right down the street that I can buy good alcohol for much cheaper. Other than that, the staff and facilities were great for price.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment. It is true that we don't allow people to bring their own alcoholic drinks to the hostel in order to maintain the dorms calm so that everybody can get a good sleep in their rooms. We have very cheap prices in our bar, you can get one beer for 1€! Every day we also make discounts for cocktails and mixted drinks, so even if you are a low budget traveler, the prices won't hurt too much :) Anyway, we understand your opinion :) Kind regards, Saara

91%

Excellent location, you can get a really good brekfast for 3 eur wich is really cheap, staff are really nice and friendly also you can get clean towels.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We are very glad to hear that you were happy with your stay with us! Anytime you want to come back, we will be waiting in Purple Nest :) Happy spring time and greetings, Saara

63%

The hostel is well located and the bedrooms/bathrooms are clean. The main problem is the weird atmosphere. The bar tender was playing very loud and club music all day long, even when people were only eating or reading...and when we asked him to lower the music, he didn't do it. It was annoying. Another thing is that we took it mainly for the roof terrace as we see in the pictures, but when we arrived, the staff said that's there is no roof terrace !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for your comment! It is good to know your opinion about the music and the athmosphere, we will definitely pay more attention to that. We want all our guest's to feel comfortable in our hostel. Thank you for the tip! In the pictures you can see photo of our terrace which is located on the fist floor. There is no information told that we would have a roof terrace. We are sorry if the photo confused you. We wish you great spring time! Regards, Saara

97%

I think that everyone needs to stay here, it was a little quite but I think that's because I was out of season however the staff are so friendly that I was never on my own. So close to everything and the breakfast was worth paying for !!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Purple Nest Hostel. Yes that is right it is a low season so it is a bit quite but we are trying to make as may activities to get guests involved as possible! Thank you very much for your lovely review! Regards, Joanna

89%

Older age dynamic through all of hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your comment! We have private rooms, so there are sometimes old people booking than kind of rooms...Why not? Best regards from Valencia Juan

« first « Prev 1 2
(24 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback