X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Purple Nest Hostel Valencia Reviews

Plaza Tetuán n 5, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
2033 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Needto getrecycling bins but apart from that it wasall good, met lots ofpeople and was enjoyed stay

  • 3rd Feb 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

I was moved to red nest as well and I liked it there.

  • 28th Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your review! Well, we are doing some renovations during low season, and that's the only reason we close sometimes for few days. We are happy if you enjoyed our sister hostel...is 5 minutes from Purple, so we thought it was ok for you! Best regards, Juan

94%

Perfect position, clean and good!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your comment! We are happy if you enjoyed the hostel. It was very nice to meet you! Regards from all Purple Staff Aloma

69%

Conveniently located, the common area was good with a nice bar and good facilities. You weren't allowed to bring in alcohol which was a little annoying and some of the staff were unfriendly and not very helpful. Still a solid hostel and had a pleasant stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi! First of all, thanks for cooming to Purple Nest. We are happy if you enjoyed the hostel and facilities. In my opinion, we weren't unfriendly, we just needed to tell you (three different times) that it was forbidden to bring alcohol into the rooms. Is not allowed by the spanish law, and Is the only way to respect other people in the rooms. That's the reason we created bar and fun area. We hope next time you understand our point of view. Regards! Juan

80%

Good experience. They were closing at the end of my stay for some kind of renovations, so it was a little sleepy. Showers had good hot water, beds were comfortable. The room was very well heated (too much for me). My biggest complaint was that my ladder to get to my bunk was extremely squeaky, so I felt like i was waking others up.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi! Thanks a lot for your comment and for choosing Purple Nest. Well, is to difficult to heate the room when there are different people...Each person has a different feeling about temperature. However, we are always able at reception to change temperature. The ladder has to be slim, because if not people used to hit with the corners. Hope to see you again in Purple Nest! Pana

100%

Great location for a beautiful bostel!


63%

Good location, nice staff. BUT it was veeery stincky, smelling like sewage all the time!! When we arrived we though that it has to be something broken, that it would get fixed, bt it didn't. In addition our room had a super noisy extractor on top on our room. When we asked in reception they checked it out and told us that it was the floor extractor and it was supose to sound like this. The staff was very nice and tried to help us.But fix the smell and noise please!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank you for writing to us. Any comment make us advance and work harder,in order to improve our services.As far as the noise,it is imposible sometimes to control the noise of other clients steps.About the smell,the building is a historical one,and it gets difficult sometomes to maintain it always like new.Being in the city center at a beautiful historical building has sometimes its price. Hope next time we really fulfill your prespectives on 100%. Thank you very much, Regards, Pana

94%

I can't tell anything about Purple Hostel because, cause restoring works, my reservation was moved to Red Hostel of the same group. I can write about Red Hostel the best comments on everithing!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for choosing Purple Nest! Well, we decided to close after you booked, so thank you for understanding the situation. Red Nest is 5 minutes located from Purple Nest, so we thought you won't have any inconvenience. We are happy if you enjoyed the hostel and the city! Hope to see you again. Best regards, Juan

69%

Had to switch back and forth between their hostel and a sister hostel, staff felt unfriendly, dark hallways and rooms

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your comment! Well, we decide to close the hostels because of the low season. We are renovating the hostel to give our guest allways the best. Sorry, but I disagree about our staff. We are always able at reception, and most of the comments talk about it. Take care! Juan

80%

The location of this hostel is amazing however I visited during the Christmas holidays and, as a result, the walking tours and pub crawls were not running. I found it difficult to meet people as I normally meet fellow travelers during these types of activities. I wish the hostel had more information on other walking tours and pub crawls since theirs were cancelled. The hostel itself is pretty basic and the bar area is super cool.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment and for choosing Purple Nest! Well, Christmas holidays are not the best dates to meet people because in Valencia there are few backpackers, also in hostels there is less people than normally. The company that normally makes pub crawls and tours was closed due to the holidays, and is the only one in Valencia. About Walking Tours the other company we recommended you is one of the best, but it was expensive for you. Hope to see you again. Best regards, Juan

94%

I feel very positive about my time in Purple Nest Hostel. It's in a great location, very modern and nice :) Staff is comptent and helpful and the price is really low for Spain.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi! Thanks a lot for your comment and for choosing Purple! We are happy if you enjoyed our hostel...your words give us energy to keep going and working hard every days! :) Hope to see you again! Best regards, Marta

91%

This is a large hostel with lots of good things going for it: ample washrooms, great location, competent staff and a lively social room. My only complaint is that it has the creakiest bunk beds I've ever heard in my life; I woke up every time anyone in the room wiggled their toes.

  • 26th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your comment! We are happy if you enjoyed our hostel, thanks for choosing Red Nest! The maintenance manager has checked the bunk, and it have been fixed, thanks for the information about it. Hope to see you again and happy new year! Juan

83%

It was nice. I used kitchen several times, it was great. At first when I arrived valencia, I was nervous cause purple nest hostel was closed, and I didnt get any notice. But they put their other hostel, which is near there so Actually I stayed in red nest hostel. It was fine but I felt a bit inconvenient on the shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for choosing Nest Hostels, and thanks for your comment! Sorry about the transference, we told you: we decided to close due to refruisements. We sent you an email the day you booked, and there was a big poster in Purple about the information to get Red Nest (is only 5 minutes walking from Purple). Due to this inconvenience, we upgraded your reservation and we tried to give you our best! It was very nice to meet you and hope to see you again in Valencia. Best regards, Juan

100%

Top notch hostel, loved every minute of my stay in the city. The guys in the hostel were very helpful with any requests, plus where a world of information as regards places to eat, sights to see, printing my boarding passes and organising taxis. Didn't get on the tours they organised but from what my roommates said it was well organised. I attended the pub crawl both nights, the first night i was only one to show so the guy leading it kindly let me join him and his mates. Defnitly will return

  • 3rd Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your recommendation and for comming! Thanks a lot for your words. We always try to give our best, and that's the only way we can help our guest to enjoy the city and the hostel. The guides from the Pub Crawl are always able to do things like that. Thanks for participate in the activities...It's easier to create an atmosphere. Hope to see you next year! Merry Christmas! Regards, Juan

91%

I was impressed with the hostel. It was very secure with key card entry to the rooms and big lockers. It was very quiet my first day, there wasn't much going on and the bar didn't have staff on it very often. The holiday weekend in Spain was very busy though and the hostel was full. The showers always had hot water and good pressure. A great location in central Valencia.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks a lot for your comment! We are happy if you enjoyed our hostel. Sorry about the bar, the bartender was sick 2 hours before he started to work, and we couldn't find a person to stay there. Nevertheless, at reception we say that we're always able to give some drinks and chat...we love talk about travelling with everybody. Because of we are locals, we have a lot of places to recommend and visit in Valencia. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Aloma

80%

Comfortable hostel, not much was happening with the hostel when I was there. Staff were friendly and location was nice, as it was located near bike shops, the old river and many other things. Pretty easy place to meet people.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment and for choosing Purple Nest! We are happy if you enjoyed the hostel, the location and the city. Well, we try to do a Halloween party: costums, a lot of "terrorific" things around the hostel and special drinks...but the people prefered to go outside with the pubcrawl. Next time I recommend you go with them. Hope to see you again! Best regards, Juan

74%

I stayed in room 21. My friend and I were given the two lockers that didn't have power points unlike the other lockers. Also the lighting was really poor. Could do with a lamp for each bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi! Thanks for your comment and for choosing Red Nest. Sorry about the power points. We are installing and improving the facilities, to put more power plugs in the lockers. The rooms normally have low light, because when people arrives to the rooms during the night is the best way to don't disturb the others. Thats the reason we give lamps at reception if you pay a deposit. Best regards!!! Matias

89%

Staff was really friendly and made an effort to make guests have a good time during their stay. Great pubcrawl and nice walking tours. Free dinners.

Owner Comment (Hide)
hi! Thanks a lot for your comment and for choosing Purple Nest! People like you give us meaning to keep it going...Thanks for participate in our activities and hope to see you again! Best regards! Aloma

100%

Nice relaxed hostel good rooms


100%

Purple nest is in a great location and utilizes multiple connections for tours and activities in Valencia. The well equipped kitchen helped myself and other guests to prepare our own meals in order to save money for future activities. The staff at the front desk even smoke Spanish at a slower rate to help me when I told him I was working on it.

  • 7th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thank you for your comment! Was a pleasure be helpful and we are happy you could appreciate our Purple Nest Hostel Nest Staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(50 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback