X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Purple Nest Hostel Valencia Reviews

Plaza Tetuán n 5, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

87%

Rating
1652 Total Reviews
  • 88%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 84%Atmosphere
  • 84%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Central location with a great atmosphere. Staff were really helpful. Top bunk beds were really high.


80%

Air con was pure aids. Showers were impossible to get the right temp. Terrace had no lights. Couldn't drink your own alcohol in the hostel and the social areas closed early. However, the staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English.


91%

Location of the hostel is great as everything you need to see is close by. Great athmosphere, staff are helpful and you get to meet a lot of people which would be good for lone travelers. Only downside are the lack of socket plugs in the rooms and the beds. Way to close together and really squeaky but other than that everything else was great.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for stopping by our hostel! We are aware that there are not enough power points in the rooms, but we are trying to find a solution to put more of them. Anyway, in the common zones we have extra plugs to offer also :) We wish you a happy traveling time and hope to see you again in Valencia! Best regards from Purple Nest staff

83%

the hostel was pretty good - had nearly everything you needed: a bar with cheap drinks, a (not completely equipped) kitchen, computers for free use, a locked luggage room, a nice terrace outside and the possibility to do your laundry. it offered several events like free walking tours, a graffity tour, pub crawls, bbqs... the stuff was friendly and helpful most of the time. and the hostel is really good adapted for disabled people. all in all it was a nice stay and good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind words! We will check the equipments of our kitchen. Thank you for the tip! We hope to see you in Purple Nest again some time! We wish you a happy summertime! Kind regards, Saara

94%

Kitchen facilities were awesome. The only downside to facilities was that it says there is air conditioning but while I stayed there it was not turned on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visting us! We always put the airconditioning on in the evening for the all night and always when we are asked to! So next time you visit us, just let us know in the recepction whatever you need! :) We wish you a happy summetime! Kind regards from Purple Nest

100%

I've traveled around the world and this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far! Definitely stay here!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comment! We were really happy to have you as our guest! Welcome back anytime you want! Sunny greetings form Purple Nest

100%

Great place! Be it party or rest, you can get both. Relaxed and helpful staff, excellent location, good kitchen, nice common area and terrace..no wonder some people stay for almost a month :)

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you soon in Valencia again! :) Best greetings from all the staff

83%

A pretty decent hostel, Not enough outlets in the room but plenty downstairs, a good breakfast, decent bathrooms, and a pretty good location, only a 10 minute walk to lots of shopping and food and the Corte Ingles. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! We are trying to find a way to put more outlets to the rooms. Thank you for the tip! Anyway, we are happy you liked your stay! We wish you a great summer time and we hope to see you again in Purple Nest!

74%

Atmosphere lacked heavily even thou it says they offer alot of activities, they actually didn't. Overall nice hostel

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We want to tell you briefly our all activities that we have in the hostel: walking tours and pub crawls every day, game nights, dinner nights, free dinner nights, hawaiian night, spanish night etc. When you stayed with us, the football World Cup was going on, so most of the nights the majority of people voted for watching the game instead of doing other activity, but we definitely have had a good ambient in the hostel! :) Best regards!

86%

We had a great stay here. The hostel is large, clean and comftable. There is a good kitchen to use and the hostel is very close to everything you would want to see. My only complaints are the beds were squeaky and the music in the common room needed to be turned down through the day. Listening to club music while eating your breakfast isn't how you want to start your day!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! In the future we'll keep the music low and in the daytime we'll put more calm music. Thanks for the tip! We hope to see you again in Valencia! Best regards from Purple Nest!

91%

This hostel is good, good sized rooms and facilities etc

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for visiting us! Best regards from Purple Nest

77%

Very nice staff :) Wi-Fi shut down :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! When you stayed with us, there was a big storm in Valencia and because of that the wifi stopped working for a while. Now everything is working well again! :) We send you sunny greetings from Valencia!

74%

This hostel was ok. The wifi and internet was broken the whole time we were there which made things extremely difficult for us. Pub crawl was good though, and the staff were friendly even though they were a little stressed out by the internet situation.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! We are really sorry about having the WiFi down when you were here. A big storm broke the Internet cable so it took a while to get it replaced with a new one. Now the Wifi works well again. Thank you for understanding! :) We hope to see you again in Purple Nest! Kind regards

80%

Good hostel. It's a party place so good for meeting people. Always something to do and the staff help you out a lot. Good location to walk all through old town.

  • 19th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for visiting us and take care! Lots of greetings from Valencia!

69%

We stayed in a twin private with a shared bathroom. It was on the top floor and we also had a terrace to ourself. We nicknamed it out penthouse suite. So the room was great (had a tv and ac!!!) BUT the shared bathroom was down right disgusting. We stayed for 6 nights and it was cleaned once! It smelled horrible. And the TINY shower got clogged. Besides the nasty bathroom, the staff were not friendly. They simply looked at you as you entered the hostel. No greeting or anything.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We hope you'd write a review like this. We don't want to see you again in this hostel. Good luck

89%

Great atmosphere with equally great staff that are willing to help out wherever they can. Same for the location and the people that run both the walking tours and pub crawls. The only thing I disliked was that you were not able to bring in your own drinks. There is a bar that has drinks at a reasonable price but for someone traveling one a budget like me, it can make things a bit of a pain for a big night. Otherwise recommended without a doubt!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, Thank you for visiting us! We are trying to keep the prices in our bar as low as possible in order to offer a place to relax and have fun without spending too much money. We appreciate you opinion though and we are really happy to hear that you liked your stay! We send you sunny greetings from Purple Nest!

97%

Staff are friendly and helpful, some really out to party. Clean rooms with lockers, and a terrace outside, cheap laundry too.(self service) only thing is music in the bar/common room was too loud often to be able to have a conversation. They would turn it down when asked though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment and tips! We'll try to control the music better in the future so that everybody can have a conversation in our bar. We wish you a good summertime! Best regards from Purple Nest Staff

69%

The building itself isn't that noisy, but the rickety beds definitely are! Earplugs are a must. The showers seemed to operate on cold or hot - warm wasn't an option. They don't allow you to bring alcohol into the hostel which would be fine if the stuff served by the bar wasn't awful - beer tasted skunky, the wine was off. The lounge music in the bar was way too loud, especially when trying to meet and talk to other travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello Megan, thank you for your comment. We have checked the showers and it seems there was a particular incidence during your stay. Everydays our guest have many showers and there aren't any problems about this. We don't allow to bring alcochol into the hostel for security reasons, and because we should guarantee that everybody drinks just in the bar and maintain order. If people bring alcochol to their rooms it would become a mess, and our bar is a perfect place tu have fun. Kind regards

97%

This hostel was really great! They had many activities going on.. And it was easy to meet people. The staff was helpful and the rooms clean and cosy.

  • 5th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for you comment! We hope to see you soon again! Best regards from Purple Nest Staff

86%

Great kitchen to cook your own meals


« first « Prev 1 2
(32 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback