X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Purple Nest Hostel Valencia Reviews

Plaza Tetuán n 5, Valencia, Spain

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
1683 Total Reviews
  • 86%Value For Money
  • 89%Security
  • 90%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 82%Cleanliness
  • 85%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

The location is perfect, it's a 5 minute walk to the old center and the metro station. The bus towards the beach stops in the street where the hostel is located. The staff is really nice and the rooms were cleaned every day.

  • 16th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

Great kitchen. Poor Internet everywhere in building. Dirty floor in room. Locker available in room for small bag. Air conditioning not working in our room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! Last weekend we had some problems with the WiFi, but now it works well again. We want to apologize for it. The aircon is working in every room, but since we control it from the reception, sometimes it's difficult to put the right temperature. We can always reduce or add the cool air / heat when our clients want us to :) We clean the floors every morning, but as you are many in the same room it can get dirty quickly. Best regards from Purple Nest

100%

I really enjoyed my stay here. I didn't want to worry at all but I wanted to party very much so I got the All Inclusive package. I ate good paella and drank a lot of sangria, went out on the pub crawls for a very reasonable price. Recommended!


63%

Thought it was pretty poor that the a/c units kept on getting switched off from in the Admin area! Facilities were good but the rooms were not comfortable to sleep in. Stuffy and sticky!

  • 8th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! We control the aircon from the reception. We are sorry that is it not possible to control it directly from the rooms. You stayed in our biggest dorm, in a 10 bed dorm, which was full during your stay. Since you were many and it was very hot in Valencia, we understand that it must have been a little sticky. We also have smaller dorms for people who want more space and calmer environment though. Best greetings from Valencia!

86%

A bit of a mix up with rooms and prices - they change their prices daily, which makes it difficult to plan especially when extending a stay. However, the staff are very friendly and were kind when I was ill, translating my symptoms for the pharmacy. The rooms are clean and generally comfortable, though the Wi-Fi is terrible!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us! The prices change, depending on the day and disponibility in the hostel, which is normal in every accommodation. However, the prices especially in the shared dorms normally only vary with a few Euros. We are sorry to hear that the wifi did not work so well. There are some spots in the hostel where the wifi doesn't connect as good as it should, but in the most of the zones it does work well! :) Warm greetings from Purple!

80%

Purple nest is well located, the kitchen is always very clean and the terrass is comfy. Half the staff is really nice, a small girl taking care of the common area is simply not able to answer gently or to smile. Floors in the rooms are never clean and bathrooms aren't clean either. Wifi isn't working everywhere, it's annoying.

  • 3rd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving a comment! For us giving a good customer service is very important, so we are really sorry to hear if you felt that someone of our staff was not behaving well. The small girl was a trainee and still learning so we think it might have been the problem. You stayed in a 8 bed dorm. We clean the floors of the rooms every day but of course the bigger the room, the quicker it gets dirty. The wifi is working in the most part of the building. Best regards!

74%

Good facilities. The atmosphere was a bit seedy though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting our hostel! If you mean that the hostel was not clean enough by saying "seedy", we'll promise to check on that. For us the cleanliness of the hostel is essential. Best regards from Purple Nest

83%

Big spacious private rooms - only thing is our private bathroom wasn't attached to our room and the shower had a lot of mould. Good kitchen facilities

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for leaving a comment! Some of our private rooms have the bathroom inside of the room and some doesn't. Unfortunately all rooms with the bathroom inside of the room we occupied when you stayed with us. However, we always tell our clientes in advance, if the room that they have booked does not have it inside. Thank you for the tip about the bathroom. We have made a deep cleaning there to avoid any mold problems in the future. Best regards from Purple Nest staff

89%

Really cool vibe to the place; really social due to the pub crawls and free walking tours so it was easier for solo travelers to meet people. Great kitchen with all that you'd need and nice rooms and bathrooms. Staff were really helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hey! Thank you for staying in our hostel! Happy August and welcome back anytime you want! :) Best regards from Purple Nest Staff

80%

We really liked being in the Hostel as it is a nice, well located and clean place. the staff is very friendly and security is given. the rooms and bathrooms are clean, hanging out on the terrace is nice and there is always and event you can participate in - so they make sure you dont get bored ;) the kitchen, common room with the bar are nice to meet people :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting us and thank you for your kind words! They made us feel really happy and keep us motivated to continue with our activities and services! All Purple Nest Staff wishes you a happy summer time and good traveling time!

86%

Central location with a great atmosphere. Staff were really helpful. Top bunk beds were really high.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! Have a great summer! Kind regards from Purple Nest staff

83%

Very nice hostel: good location, staff, facilities and price. It was common having sand on the floor of the bathrooms and dormitories, though it's quite comprehensible 'cause Valencia is a seaside city. The city is amazing as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visiting our hostel! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Valencia! Now, when it's a beach season, the sand gets easily everywhere inside towels and shoes, but we do our best to keep the rooms, bathrooms and common zones clean. Sunny regards from Purple Nest

80%

Air con was awful. Showers were impossible to get the right temp. Terrace had no lights. Couldn't drink your own alcohol in the hostel and the social areas closed early. However, the staff were very friendly and spoke perfect English.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We put the air conditioning on for the evening and night time. However, if our clients want the air to be on earlier or to be cooler we always can do it. So next time just let us know :) In the showers we have had old handels; one for hot water and one for cold but now we have changed the most of them for new ones so we won't have that problem anymore. In the terrace we do have lights and our bar closes at 1:30. Kind regards from Purple Nest

69%

Pretty frustrating that you can't bring in your own alcohol and instead have to get your drinks from the bar which is quite expensive.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your comment! We don't let people to bring their own alcoholic drinks in the hostel for two reasons: our bar's prices are really cheap and in order to maintain the calm and order in the shared rooms. We are really sorry to hear that you found it frustrating but after many years of experience we think that it is the best solution for everybody. :) Anyway, we hope you enjoyed your stay with us despite of that and we wish you a happy summertime! Kind regards

91%

Location of the hostel is great as everything you need to see is close by. Great athmosphere, staff are helpful and you get to meet a lot of people which would be good for lone travelers. Only downside are the lack of socket plugs in the rooms and the beds. Way to close together and really squeaky but other than that everything else was great.

  • 17th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for stopping by our hostel! We are aware that there are not enough power points in the rooms, but we are trying to find a solution to put more of them. Anyway, in the common zones we have extra plugs to offer also :) We wish you a happy traveling time and hope to see you again in Valencia! Best regards from Purple Nest staff

100%

Great hostel, great staff!


83%

the hostel was pretty good - had nearly everything you needed: a bar with cheap drinks, a (not completely equipped) kitchen, computers for free use, a locked luggage room, a nice terrace outside and the possibility to do your laundry. it offered several events like free walking tours, a graffity tour, pub crawls, bbqs... the stuff was friendly and helpful most of the time. and the hostel is really good adapted for disabled people. all in all it was a nice stay and good value for money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for your kind words! We will check the equipments of our kitchen. Thank you for the tip! We hope to see you in Purple Nest again some time! We wish you a happy summertime! Kind regards, Saara

94%

Kitchen facilities were awesome. The only downside to facilities was that it says there is air conditioning but while I stayed there it was not turned on.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you for visting us! We always put the airconditioning on in the evening for the all night and always when we are asked to! So next time you visit us, just let us know in the recepction whatever you need! :) We wish you a happy summetime! Kind regards from Purple Nest

100%

I've traveled around the world and this is one of the best hostels I have stayed in so far! Definitely stay here!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you so much for your comment! We were really happy to have you as our guest! Welcome back anytime you want! Sunny greetings form Purple Nest

100%

Great place! Be it party or rest, you can get both. Relaxed and helpful staff, excellent location, good kitchen, nice common area and terrace..no wonder some people stay for almost a month :)

  • 4th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello! Thank you very much for your comment! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest! We hope to see you soon in Valencia again! :) Best greetings from all the staff

« first « Prev 1 2 3
(45 results)


View all Valencia Hostels

Please give us your feedback