X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Reggae Penang Love Lane Hostel Reviews

57, Love Lane, 10200 Georgetown Penang, Penang, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
313 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 85%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

51%

Poorly ventilated rooms, horrible breakfast, often times no toilet paper in bathroom, dripping water from ceiling everywhere.


97%

Great place to stay very sociable stayed in the 12 bed dorm air con clean etc some really nice restaurants near bye check out red garden. Ask for Charlie can help you organise anything tours visa etc


83%

Everything was just perfect and I had know a lot of friends here which are from different country. The only thing that have to improve is the stability of internet connection.

  • 29th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I loved staying at this hostel. The staff were really helpful and super friendly. I guess everyone who stays there knows Charlie, he's a great guy that really goes out of his way to keep everyone happy. He took us to the Monkey beach and spent the whole day there with us. Everything was really clean and overall it's a great place to meet people. The location is perfect, close to most of the street art, street food stalls and bars. It's really one of the best hostels I've ever stayed at.


89%

Cozy and nice to stay for a while. So closed with other public spots. Best recommend for all backpackers..

  • 19th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Location ideal. Seconds away from street food. Minutes away from street art. Great lockers. Bring your own lock. Staff very helpful. Great common areas. we stayed in 4 bed dorm. Larger dorms alot more social. I recommend eating in red garden up the road. Delish food.

  • 14th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really enjoyable stay! Thansk!

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Loved staying here! Uncle Charlie who manages he place is great and very helpful! Everyone was so friendly and the food there is great!


83%

Reggae Mansion is a beautiful old building and it's a really nice hostel - the beds are capsules but they are big and airy and don't feel claustrophobic. The big balcony is a lovely place to chill out. As usual, the wifi is really erratic and it would be great if the staff were a little more helpful (perhaps speaking english a bit better) but can't really complain about anything. The bathrooms are good.


89%

It is a nice and cheap hostel to stay. They provide a great privacy to every single passenger sleeping at night.

  • 20th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Great atmosphere and staff. Location is supremely central. Only point to pick on is that the noise isolation is pretty bad! Bring some ear plugs if you're gonna stay here!


89%

Would be very happy to stay here again, safe, secure, private curtained off bunks. Lovely staff and great location.


91%

Had a wonderful stay. All the staff here are very friendly and helpful and the rooms and bathrooms were always very clean. Loved the idea of having the self contained pods!

  • 8th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Cool hostel, good location, very secure needing a pin to get to rooms, good beds with curtains for each, good bathrooms, great staff, good breakfast, good facilities with pool table, TV, and computers, good location near Little India and Reggae Bars...all round great place to stay and meet people!


100%

very good,second time here

  • 21st Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Very friendly and helpful reception staff.

  • 6th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

It's the 2nd time I have stayed here and both times they were very friendly and helpful. A special thanks to the lady at reception that lent me a pair of shoes when mine broke :)


89%

Staff were very helpful and I met plenty of cool people here. All in all a very good time.




View all Penang Hostels

Please give us your feedback