Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Roots and Boots Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 704 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.5
Roots and Boots Hostel Located at Rua Campo do Cruceiro do Gaio,7, , Santiago de Compostela.
Roots and Boots Hostel
Spain
Santiago de Compostela 15705 Rua Campo do Cruceiro do Gaio,7
82% 704
42.8798008 -8.5500669
Roots and Boots Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel. I was just in Santiago for one night and no I did not do the camino. However, this hostel is great for all travelers. Well organized, plenty of facilities, good cheap meals available to buy, etc. Also great recommendations of where to eat (O gato negro for pulpo was amazing).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.0

The staff is really nice, they are easy to talk to, the place is close to almost everything. The only thing is, it was hard to find it the first time, but the place is really nice ! And I've met lots of nice people !

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Jul 2016
9.7

My stay at roots n boots hostel was better than I had even imagined. As soon as I entered the door, I was greeted with the warmest greeting from phillipe (sorry if I have spelt it wrong) and christine. I stayed in a room with 3 bunks, and everyone was very friendly. The garden was beautiful, and the food service provided by phillipe and his team was phenomenal. I have never seen people so dedicated and happy in my life, it made my stay so much more memorable. 100% reccomended !!!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.9

Friendly staff and rooms were kept clean especially the showers and toilets.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
29th Jun 2016
7.7

Good location, friendly staff and clean bathrooms and bedrooms. I was just a little bit worried because the rooms have no keys, so whoever is in the hostel can enter easily in any bedroom. Although anything has be stolen I was a little bit afraid about it. Anyway, I recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Jun 2016
4.0

I booked for five nights, but had to stay a third - one too many! After two nights I checked into another Albergue/hostal, even though R & B would not refund my deposit! It's over rated and expensive. A group of tourists arrived late on the third night (22:30), went out and arrived back from 01:30 onwards, noisey and disrespectful of the pilgrims who wanted sleep and were tired from their Cameno. The customer kitchen and dinning area are not pleasant areas.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 29 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.9

This place is okay, nothing special. The location is good, walking distance from the cathedral. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were fine as well the showers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.6

Really great place to meet lots people. No lock on the doors which might bother some people but I never felt worried for my things. Staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. There was tonnes of outdoor seating and a separate kitchen which was great but maybe a lack of WCs and it could be better if the showers were gender separate but again that's personal preference and nothing on the hostel as a whole. Excellent hostel and would definitely recommend

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Jun 2016
6.0

Negatives: low security (only code to get in main door, no locks for rooms), only ONE toilet/shower shared between about 20 guests so always a queue for the bathroom, no linens just cheap paper covers for the mattress and pillow, staff were dismissive and unhelpful. Positives: very convenient location, good camino atmosphere and comraderie, good wifi even in bedroom, rather clean

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jun 2016
9.7

Only 10 min walk to cathedral.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.