Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Roots and Boots Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 945 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Aug 2017
4.3

The place was old and not well kept. The room our group stayed in was not very clean and not worth the 20 euro per person. Also, the bathrooms and showers were shared. We did not feel we got our money's worth.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • samanthajroth8073
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Aug 2017
7.7

We stayed after walking the Camino and met a lot of other pilgrims there. No curfew, just a code to get in after hours. Only 2 bathrooms on the first floor, but I never had to wait very long. Great garden area, and a decent kitchen space for cooking.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Aug 2017
7.1

Hostel is recommended for pilgrims as most people there are doing that, and therefore it gets very loud in the morning 6 to 9. No problem with bathrooms and showers (pretty clean btw)if you are a bit smart about it. The bed sheets is an issue, a net type sheet is provided to put above the "permanent" sheet... (what!?!?!?!) sleeping bag is a must... Staff speaks no english.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
6.0

The location is great however I was a little bit disappointed with the facilities. There were only two bathrooms/showers for the whole place so often there was a queue to get in. The bedrooms were very basic, and no blankets provided apart from a duvet which I doubt gets washed after every guest. My room also had a strange smell. I think this place is more suited for hikers as a stop over.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Jul 2017
7.7

Staff were friendly enough, but it was made to feel like a business transaction before anything else. Not shown to my room but rather told where to find it. Showers were average and in need of modernising. In fact, the whole place needs an update. Very dated facilities. Too many people in the dormitories for the space available. On the plus side, physical internet equipment.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovenia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Jul 2017
10.0

Good location, with garden.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
26th Jul 2017
8.3

Good place to stay. Beds are comfy. Watch out for the check out qhich is at 11 and not noon. They literally kick your stuff out and put them in the gardens if you leave them past 11.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Fantastic location just outside the centre (not too close, not too far, fairly quiet street), good vibe, friendly staff. I'll stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel is located very close to most of Santiago's historical sites! Didn't really feel a good atmosphere (felt like it was mostly older people) but maybe I was just there at the wrong time. No pluggings in the room was kind of a inconvenience but got over it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.7

Over a great hostel. I wish there were more electrical outlets in room 1 and 2. Having access to a power source is very important. The staff are kind and inviting. Yes, I would stay here. Also, best place to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.

×