Hostelworld.com

Roots and Boots Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 669 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 8.7
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.5
Roots and Boots Hostel Located at Rua Campo do Cruceiro do Gaio,7, , Santiago de Compostela.
Roots and Boots Hostel
Spain
Santiago de Compostela 15705 Rua Campo do Cruceiro do Gaio,7
82% 669
42.8798008 -8.5500669
Roots and Boots Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th May 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel, even for us oldies. Well located, lovely vibe. We are back again for another night after walking to Finisterre, so there's the proof. Highly recommend this hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cassigallegos
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
8th May 2016
8.0

Wifi doesn't work in your room, awesome besides that!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
2nd May 2016
9.7

The staff at Roots and Boots is so nice and helpful! It's located really well.. it only takes a few minutes walking to get downtown. The only downside is that it was super cold at night, and they only give you one blanket, which isn't quite enough,.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
9.1

We really enjoyed our time at this hostel. It's in a great location in Santiago de Compostela - like a 5 minute walk from the Cathedral! The staff was also really friendly and helpful. They recommended restaurants and things to do with great enthusiasm. Highly recommend this place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.1

I only stayed here for one night and there weren't many guests so it's hard to say what the atmosphere is usually like based on my short stay. But the staff are fantastic, very cheerful and helpful. And the facilities were great - there was a cosy sitting room and a big garden out the back. It's also literally a 5 minute walk from the centre and the views out all the windows are greatz

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Mar 2016
10.0

I feel very comfortable in boots and roots. The man who manages the hostel is a very funny person and friendly. He is Felipe and I'm sure he will not rest until you pass a good stay in Santiago.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
8.6

This is a good hostel, but you have to keep in mind that it is designed for people doing the Camino of Santiago, so it's rough around the edges. You should realize this before you arrive at the hostel, because if you're expecting a really nice, clean, spacious hostel, you're going to be in for a surprise. All that aside, the staff is nice and the location is unbeatable, so I would still recommend the hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 18 reviews
24th Mar 2016
8.3

One thing to improve is security at rooms, some kind of lock at each room's door would be nice. And for the amounts of beds some more toilets would be nice. Overall a really nice hostel, the kitchen and barbeque area is amazing. I would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
8.3

Overall a good place to stay in Santiago de Compostela. Beds were pretty bad, I could feel the springs straight through the mattress. No room keys, so anyone has access to your room, but there are lockers, so not too much of a problem. I really like the kitchen area, awesome place to hang out and enjoy a drink and a meal. Wish the kitchen was a bit bigger, can get crowded from time to time. The staff was great! Appeared to be owned by a family and they were really nice! I would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Mar 2016
8.6

This hostel is located in a nice area for exploring the city, but it is a slightly far walk if you are arriving by train or bus. If flying out of Santiago, there is a bus stop to the airport about a 10 minute walk away. The rooms could be upgraded by getting heavier bedding and installing reading lights and sockets by every bed . The backyard area would be great in the summertime! Staff was helpful, and they serve food for those who don't feel like cooking or leaving the hostel :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.