Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Roots and Boots Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 837 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Very comfy, good location and nice food.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
10.0

Although we only stayed for one night at this hostel, my friend and I really enjoyed it. Our bus to Santiago was running late and the staff graciously allowed us to enter after the official check-in time. The rooms and clean and the location is great.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2017
9.1

We enjoyed our stay at this hostel! Everything was kept clean and we loved the courtyard space. We were concerned that there was no place to securely store luggage as there were only small lockers for valuables available, however had no issue with theft or snooping as far as we were aware. Additionally, since reception hours are 9-9 it can be inconvenient for ppl with early travel (nobody to return lock deposit) however is still reasonable. Overall we had a very nice stay and would recommend it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Mar 2017
8.9

The hostel is situated aside the old town in a beautiful old building with an amazing garden. Safety is limited to the main door and lockers for valuables. Rooms have no toilets and there were just 2 common ones on the first floor and they can get pretty busy. On the other hand there were 4 showers on the same floor with regular hot water. Linings are synthetic ones and that's fine, I wished one more cover for the blanket for hygienic reasons. Anyway the price was definitely value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.1

The hostel definitely fit the character of Galicia, Spain, and overall I really liked it. The kitchen was really convenient, and we had really good times hanging out with people there. My only complaint would be that I was absolutely freezing every night- I ended up sleeping in my clothing and socks every night, because the room was that cold. It did have a great view of the cathedral, and the staff was very nice. There was entrance security, but no security to get into the rooms, or lockers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
8.3

We stayed in a private twin room for one night. Pros: the room was spacious and confortable, nice beds, despite the disposable bed linen (I think you can bring your own, if you want), and close to the bathroom. We asked for assistance to get to the airport early in the next morning e and the owner was very kind and helpful, calling a local taxi company and booking the raxi ride for us. Near the cathedral and many other points of interest. Cons: no keys for the rooms, no staff during the night.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • katyensch9060
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Globetrotter
  • 24 reviews
20th Nov 2016
8.3

Really enjoyed this hostel, met lots of people doing the camino here. The staff were really friendly and helpful, and the food was great - cheap good value coffee and sandwiches ect... available all day long and really fast, the sandwiches are huge as well so it's worth the few euros you pay. Generally it was clean and comfy and couldn't complain, yeah there are weird sheets on the beds as the other reviews say but i found the beds really comfy. Wifi doesn't really work in the rooms, annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Nov 2016
10.0

Loved this place. The staff was super helpful and its a great place to meet camino people, world travelers and explorers. Was a little sad to leave at the end because it definitely begins to feel like a home. Would definitely recommend this hostel!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.