Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Roots and Boots Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 906 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
9.1

Fantastic location just outside the centre (not too close, not too far, fairly quiet street), good vibe, friendly staff. I'll stay again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
7.7

The hostel is located very close to most of Santiago's historical sites! Didn't really feel a good atmosphere (felt like it was mostly older people) but maybe I was just there at the wrong time. No pluggings in the room was kind of a inconvenience but got over it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Jul 2017
9.7

Over a great hostel. I wish there were more electrical outlets in room 1 and 2. Having access to a power source is very important. The staff are kind and inviting. Yes, I would stay here. Also, best place to meet people.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
9.4

Very nice and helpful staff, even though I arrived late in the evening. 4-bed-dorm was nice and spacious. I'm not a big fan of the bed sheet and pillow cover, but that's peanuts. It ahs been my second stay and I'd always return - a very good choice

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jul 2017
6.0

Really good location and really nice staff that make you feel super welcome. I was travelling alone so that was nice. The backyard area is also really pretty, I sat outside a lot. But there's no PowerPoint next to the beds so you have to sit with you stuff while it charges. Bathrooms are mixed gender. The doors to the rooms don't really close either so if you're looking for a good nights sleep this isn't the place. You also can't cook. But wifi is strong everywhere which is a plus.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • ziadfish5303
  • England, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Jun 2017
8.9

great place to stay central location just 5 mins away from cathedral square

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • rachelh091
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Jun 2017
8.9

Great garden area and location! Bathroom not great, minimal privacy in showers. No soap in toilet. Parking right outside that you can use for free if you're lucky enough to get a space, which we were! Good atmosphere, great for Caminoers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2017
10.0

Roots and Boots has been like a home away from home for me. Cristina is wonderful, and Phillipe is kind and welcomed me at the door with a hug. When I think Santiago de Compostela, I think of this place. It attracts the best people, and not just those who have walked the Camino but other world travelers too. So it is a natural mix of ages, and types of travelers. They have everything you need there or close by. Wifi, Food, drinks , laundry and clothes lines too, a nice walk through Alameda! Ole!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
7.7

Good solid Hostel- very nice "backyard" space to sit outside. Provided 'paper' style disposable bottom sheet/pillow case. Did have a big 'group' (not my fav thing) there. Low ceiling bunks (bottom watch you head!). No lockers (a negative for me these days).

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Jun 2017
8.9

Very cozy hostel, great staff, wonderful backyard, comfy common room. No breakfast, but food is served for a charge. Rooms at the end of the hall (2nd and 3rd floor) has no wifi, and the big dorm in the middle has poor access to windows. I did return here after my Finisterre camino, a good place to stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.