Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Samay Wasi Youth Hostels-Cusco

  • Calle Atoqsaycuchi No.416 San Blas, Cusco, Peru

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 671 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 9.7
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 9.2
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.0
  • Facilities 8.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • beckysibson1203
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
21st Jul 2017
8.3

Nice hostel up the hill. Quiet area. Rooms really nice but a little cold as central heating doesn't work. They gave small electrical heating fans instead which are OK. Great hot showers and friendly staff, cool breakfast view!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jul 2017
8.3

I was the only one in the dorm room and it seems to be quite a quiet place, not so good if you want to meet other backpackers. Staff were really helpful, holding my luggage and arranging taxis etc. Normal breakfast for Peru but sweet hostel with nice terrace looking over Cusco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jul 2017
10.0

Phenomenal hostel-- I really dig that they negotiate the transport from the airport. The view is fabulous, and the staff were very friendly. Great atmosphere and a good value for money (the beds are ridiculously warm and comfortable).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
27th Jun 2017
7.1

Room was decently sized - hot showers, but no heat in room minus small portable heater. Breakfast was very basic and staff was okay to deal with - language barrier mostly. They did try and charge me extra for the room, but that was resolved. The location wasn't the greatest as it sits quite high on the hill and requires climbing many steps to get to - difficult to get taxi service at the location. The rooms have very thin walls and my room had a lot of foot traffic outside.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jun 2017
9.4

We wished we would've booked our entire stay here while in Cusco. The hostel was very clean and neat. Though some of the staff had little English,they did their best to help, which was appreciated. The showers were nice and hot and the beds were comfy and warm. The heater was broken in our room but there was a small portable heater in lieu. It wasn't powerful enough to heat up the whole room but it was enough for two people. I've already booked additional nights for when I return to Cusco.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • lboyer47777
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Jun 2017
10.0

Very cozy little hostel with hot showers and an amazing view of the city! The view is well worth the climb to the hostel and is an added workout before visiting Machu Picchu!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jun 2017
9.4

Great to call samay wasi home for a few days while in Cusco. About an 8 min (uphill) walk from plaza de armas. View of Cusco city from the deck is unbelievable. Coca tea available all day and breakfast was simple (bread, butter, jam, sometimes a banana) but lovely. Definitely recommend!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
5th Jun 2017
10.0

Fantastic hostel, made you feel right at home and helped with all manner of concerns. James helped us set up our Salkanty trek, as well as picking us up for free from the airport. Best showers in South America as well, so hot and powerful! Would definitely recommend and stay again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
5th May 2017
9.7

Nice rooms, not a party hostel, which is perfect if you are doing a trek! Wonderful view of all of cusco from the terrace! Very good breakfast! Felt so safe that I did not use any lockers even if present! I'll be back!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
23rd Apr 2017
5.1

We were looking forward to staying here after reading the positive reviews, however on arrival they told us we would have to move room half way through our stay. Which is slightly annoying but we said it was ok. The first room we slept in was uncomfortable, small and very loud from the boiler. We were glad to be moving, the next room was pretty uncomfortable too, the mattress was sprung very strangely and if one of us moved it woke the other one. I would not stay again. We cut our stay short.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.