X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

San Juan International Hostel Reviews

1452 Calle America Parada 20, Urb. Hipodromo, San Juan, Puerto Rico

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
293 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 70%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

74%

The staff is very very nice and supportive!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

Francisco is very nice & knowledgeable of the area! Helpful maps/ info on the walls-- fun tradition of signing porch wall. Beds comfortable, screens on windows & ceiling fan good, company was nice or kept to themselves. Close to walmart! Bathrooms were a little small/ a little unclean, manageable with shower shoes or just an open mind. Little cockroaches in the kitchen & bedroom a definite drawback. Neighborhood had lots of window bars. Many attributes of an excellent average hostel.


91%

This is the most laid back hostel in San Juan and Francisco (the owner) is the most friendly and helpful staff I have met so far!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I felt isolated in there. Buses route/schedule aren't on google, and in the 95F (winter) weather, there's no way I was gonna be at the bus stop for undetermined amount of time. The door's room doesn't lock, and there's no staff there at night. Guests were very loud (playing guitar)at 3am and we were afraid to say anything.  The area isn't so nice. The route to Walmart is pretty shady. (Factories, empty lands, homeless). Guess if u aren't alone, it wouldn't be so bad. Def not for solo travelers.

  • 24th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

I found this hostel to be quite a welcoming place. The hostel facilities are good too, and it added to a relaxing atmosphere.


80%

Located at a residential neighborhood, 20-30 mins walk to the main beach, 10 mins walk to the bus station to old San Juan. Facilities could be better. Living room and balcony are good places to chill and meet other travelers. Had a good stay!


77%

Francisco is really friendly and shows you around and tells you how to get everywhere and introduces you to everyone! Excelent staff! Not a great place to go as a backpacker but that's because of the city.

  • 22nd Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


20%

Never ever go here. This is my worst hostel experience in years. The man who owns it actually kicked me out of the hostel simply for showing up before check in time which is 3 pm.....

  • 21st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

The hostel itself was a very safe and nice place. The owner was very helpful and this was the only hostel in San Juan that had proper hostel adornments - lots and lots of info all over the walls. The area is alright, certainly not as good as Posada SF, but not as sketchy as The Palace. So, it's a great alternative to Posada if it's booked or your budget is on the lower end. The only other things was they really need to get ACTUAL doors on the dorm rooms - screen doors are just not acceptable.

  • 15th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

the staff of the hostel is great. He is warmhearted and friendly. I met lots of new friends there. We can hang out for dinner together and change tour thinking. It is great.


97%

Great staff. Slight distance from Old San Juan but well within walking distance to the bus stop which cost less than $2 and within walking distance to the beaches.


69%

It is cheap, so do not expect too much. But it is fair safe and the host is friendly and easy-going. If you are looking for a cheap but safe place, you can try to stay there.

  • 6th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was really nice to stay there. The staffs were really nice and friendly. The first day I arrived there, I was totally lost and I was trying to find the way to get there. I finally called the hostel just to ask the direction to get to the hostel but the staff who picked up the phone said "You're not that far from the hostel. Don't worry! I'll go pick you up." I really appreciated what he did to me. That's a very kind and sweet of you. Thank you so much. :)


94%

Great hostel. Full kitchen (kind of small), lockers, common room with board games, tv, laptop, and telephone for local calls or calls to US for free. Francisco is very helpful - location is decent but there's a walmart, walgreens, 24 hour gas station and bus stops all in close walking distance.


91%

Everything worked out really well for us, beds were very comfortable and the showers/bathrooms were clean. Great place to spend a comfortable sleep in. Didn't try the WiFi as was only there for a bit, but the host was so flexible and nice!

  • 22nd Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Absolutely lovely staff. Second time staying at this hostel and it was even better than the first! It is on the quieter side, so better if you are less of a partier or are looking for a place to get a quiets nite sleep on your way somewhere else. Also - SO. CLEAN. like, incredibly clean.




View all San Juan Hostels

Please give us your feedback