Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

San Juan International Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 400 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.6
San Juan International Hostel Located at 1452 Calle America Parada 20, Urb. Hipodromo, San Juan.
San Juan International Hostel
Puerto Rico
San Juan 00909 1452 Calle America Parada 20, Urb. Hipodromo
80% 400
18.4443741 -66.0717367
San Juan International Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jan 2017
2.0

Despite other hostels, you must pay here by 8pm to get a bed, else you will be thrown away in a very rude/harsh manner. I didn't expect a bed, but a polite way of conveying that would be better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Jan 2017
9.7

The manager and owner, Francisco, was super accommodating and made sure I had the best experience I could at the hostel. The hostel vibe was very laid back, and many resources were available for me to use while I stayed there. The free pancakes and morning beverages (tea/coffee) was an added bonus. I would highly recommend this hostel to anyone looking for a cheap place to stay. The bus to Old San Juan is a short 5 minute walk and only costs 75 cents.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
6th Jan 2017
8.6

This hostel is located more in a residential neighborhood, so you have to walk about 15 minutes to get to more lively areas, such as Lote 23 and La Placita. It's even further from the beach, about 25 minutes walk. Francisco is welcoming and experienced, and has helpful tips posted all over the hostel. I appreciated that everything is screened off so mosquitoes can't get in to the bedrooms, kitchen, and living room. The kitchen wasn't as clean as we hoped, we saw a small cockroach in the pantry.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
6.0

It was tolerable but very smelly.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We’re sorry that this guest encountered a situation that he/she were not comfortable with. At SJ International Hostel we dedicate the hours from  1:30pm – 3:30pm to cleaning the hostel every day. Guests are usually very cooperative and help maintain a clean and sanitary environment. However - if any guest finds that another guest is creating smells, noise, or even if the bed is uncomfortable - management is available 24/7 and the phone number is posted prominently in the hostel.  It is very easy for us to either resolve the situation or move you to another dorm that is more comfortable. This guest never contacted us with any issues - but for any future guests - please make sure to make us aware of any problems so that we can fix them right away.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jan 2017
4.0

You get what you pay for. The facility was really filthy and smelled like feet also it looked like the floors haven't been swept or mopped in months. Also the bathroom had a urine stench. The beds where not so comfortable and sheets where not changed daily. It Was really noisy at night time and during the day. Didn't get much sleep here. If your looking for a place like that then this is it :)

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Despite this; they extended their stay. Sometimes hard to understand some behaviors

1st Jan 2017
7.1

Francisco, the manager, is welcoming and helpful. Security is good, as you need keys to move about the property. Common areas have that cosmopolitan feel, full of graffiti from previous travelers and a well-worn book exchange. Rooms are tiny - barely big enough for the bed. Main bathroom is nice enough, but the one for the private rooms is a bit dismal. Beach is a 30 min walk and Old SJ is a 30 min uber. Be sure to check out the amazing street art around Calle Serra!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Dec 2016
4.6

I should have done better research. The hostel has such a high rating and I'm not sure why. It is very poorly maintained. The paint is falling off the walls. Everything seems very old. We had the shared room off of the kitchen and we could hardly move around because it was such a small space. At face value it seems "clean", however, we arrived one night to see a couple of cockroaches in the kitchen. Its about a 25 min walk to the beach. Otherwise, we had to take an uber to Old San Juan.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Dec 2016
8.9

I've greatly enjoyed our stay at the San Juan International Hostel. The neighborhood is definitely local and not the safest feeling. But the hostel itself was perfect for our needs.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Dec 2016
8.6

Great location, clean enough. nice atmosphere, places to eat nearby. Room on the small side but it was comfortable and sheets were clean. Shared bathroom was well stocked and clean. would stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
11th Dec 2016
2.0

The hostel is located in the ghetto! The taxi driver that dropped us off told us that it was a really unsafe area and that we shouldn't be walking around or staying here. The room was a jail cell - literally had to padlock the door from the inside because there was no door handle/lock. My friend and I felt so unsafe we just paid for the one night but left for another hostel in the old town which was much safer and cleaner.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

With Uber in town taxi drivers (cut in their income) are desperate trying to convince potential customers to stay in locations in where they receive money for clients they bring so be careful about taxi drivers advice. During 6 years of business; never ever one negative incident with any of our guests in this location. Size for our rooms is provided at our Hostelworld description (we are the only one providing that info). For sure this guest was intimidated by the taxi driver and we are sure nothing happened to them during their short stay.

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.