Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sanlitun Youth Hostel

  • No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.0
Very Good 2930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.0
Very Good 2930 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
6.6

been coming here forvthe past 5 years andvi know the workers come and go but why dont they try to be a little more friendly with guests. i dont feel the family aspect in this place anymore. because this is why i come here and not go to another 3 or 4 star hotel for the same price. also the bar closes kind of early 😊

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Feb 2017
6.6

Hostel is ok. Cheap but bed in private rooms was very hard. Sore in morning after it. Was here in February and heating in rooms was on 24hrs a day, had to sleep with windows open because of heat. Staff were helpful but not particularly friendly. Poor atmosphere in hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Angola, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jan 2017
6.9

If you're looking for a place with a clean bathroom, so don't book this hostel :) The internet is good only in the 1st floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
4th Jan 2017
7.4

The beds are comfortable. They may not be enforcing the nonsmoking rules as much as it always smelled like smoke in the bathrooms. However, the bathrooms were nicely maintained. Some of the showers had mold creeping along the walls. However, in China I do understand the mold problem is pretty hard to maintain. This is my 3rd time staying there. I had a better experience this time, check in and out was easy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

The location is good, quite near to Sanlitun bar area and the metro station, the staff is very helpful with the routine you wanna travel in the city, the great wall they organized from the hostel is much more cost efficient, a good place making friends with people from all over the world.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Wales, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Dec 2016
10.0

A lot of people stayed there in the coming new year. We had a pleasant journey by the tour arranged from the hostel with the hostel friends. Would come again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • changelena2491
  • Venezuela, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Dec 2016
4.0

Third time staying at this hostel. I must say that my impression this time is terrible! Rooms are dirtier. We had to actually ask them to clean it properly. Most of the guests were not foreigners, they were 90% Chinese. Not that THAT is a problem, the problem comes with them getting dog-cat fight with their girlfriends/boyfriends from 2am until 5am. Super loud yelling all night long. Card was always "expired" when the room was already paid in full. Not sure if I will come back

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
16th Dec 2016
6.0

Difficult to find. The staff is unbelievably unhelpful. As my friends arrived, they weren't able to assign 2 people into the 2 remaining beds on my dorm. The bathroom was natsy. Imagine that I saw the one lady from the staff cleaning their underwear on the handwash, and it was always full of hair. Besides the above, the location is quite close to a subway (~15min) and the bar/restaurant is really good

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Nov 2016
6.3

Good luck finding the place. Lotta long term residents. Main room was freezing cold and smelled like a toilet. Price wasn't terrible and while the door required A LOT of force to open, the room it's was warm and clean.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
29th Nov 2016
7.7

Just okay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.