Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Sanlitun Youth Hostel

  • No.1 Chunxiu Lu(Gong Ti Bei Lu), Chaoyang District, Beijing, China

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 3007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 3007 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.0
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 6.9
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 6.0
  • Facilities 6.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Aug 2017
4.6

unfortunately there was mold on the walls, especially in the bathroom. also there were some animals you do not want to have in your bedroom. Some people at the reception are very friendly, some are not friendly. Restaurant in 1st. floor is quite nice.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 15 reviews
6th Aug 2017
7.4

We stayed here for one night, seems like a popular, well run hostel in a good area. Beds were good with charging points and lights for each bunk. Toilets and showers were a bit grimy but not too bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jul 2017
7.4

Sanlitun Youth Hostel is a good place for backpacker to spend their night and explore the city. One thing I don't really like is that the smoking area is located right outside the front door. The first night I arrived at the hostel entrance my feeling was tensed as I saw many people smoking. Maybe my standard for a hostel is a bit high, still I think the smoking area can move a bit further from the entrance. Other than that, the staffs are nice and helpful. I enjoy most of my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Jul 2017
7.1

Beautiful environment, very friendly and family atmosphere. This type of accomodation usually book young people from whole world during their travelling. It's really nice to meet them and enjoy their company. Also this hostel do socialize party (for example: dumpling Friday etc,), where you can meet and talk with each other as well. Also they have many type of beers, nice breakfasts or western food like hamburgers or pizzas. Coffee and cakes are good too. Not problém even with fresh sandwitches.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • stevenraffle9046
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

Stayed here for one night as a stop over in Beijing. Good location as can walk to either the train or bus from here. Dorms very decent sizes and lockers for bags. Cleanliness of the shared bathroom was the only point which let it down for us. Overall would stay again and good value for money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • thekryptonian_md
  • Namibia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2017
8.0

the overall stay was enjoyable, though they couldn't find my booking for my designated stay time, which arose some complications as you can only stay if you book beforehand since this location is usually full. but it was sorted out, but I was forced to pay an extra deposit fee as the one included in my online booking was not received. the hang out area and restaurant closes between 13H00 and 18H00 which is a bummer since the open Wi-Fi is only usable in this location or the patio. 5/7 would go.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Jul 2017
2.6

Overpriced with unhelpful staff, barely clean. Only thing going for it is the location.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jul 2017
5.7

Ok dorm room. Clean and good location. Very unhelpful staff, no communication between different staff members, very difficult to book tours /taxis.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jul 2017
5.1

I wouldn't stay here again. I stayed the first night in a shared bedroom and in the top bunks it was unbereably hot and the A.C. didn't work well. The room was alright. The second night I stayed in a private ensuite room and it was disgusting. The bathroom smelled really bad, the mattress was hard, and there was no Wi-Fi in the room. There's only Wi-Fi in the lobby and it's slow. The staff was alright but the hotel wasn't clean. I ended up leaving this hotel and booking the one next to it.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
8.3

you do not have wifi in the rooms. The rooms are cleaned but not to much. good experience and great location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.