Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 969 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.5
  • Facilities 7.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd May 2017
9.4

This is a great hostel to be at. I highly recommend this to be your base in kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st May 2017
8.9

OK. No complaints. Laundry service sheets.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th May 2017
9.4

We stayed in Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto for 3 nights during our one week stay in Japan. + Small lockers with locks. However, you can't fit you whole backpack there. + Location is great, easily accessible by bus, close to Gion. + Staff were friendy and they showed us some main attractions from the map. You can buy one day bus tickets from them. + Normal dormitory rooms in 2 floors, nothing special. They were clean. + High value + 4 showers, 5 toilets, coffee shop downstairs. I higly recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2017
9.1

Staff are friendly and eager to help. Everything is very clean and the location is great! Close to multiple sights and activities

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2017
10.0

The people who work at santiago are the friendliest people I've ever known. You aren't talking to someone in a staff shirt who's just "doing their job" everyone there is someone you can really get to know. I call them all my friends now, and they helped me a lot with my Japanese- as I helped them a bit with english. All really great people doing great things. This is where it is at in Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
8th May 2017
9.7

Great place! Staff are friendly & speak good english, have a combination locker where you can keep your valuables if you dont trust Japan's good nature! Clean place, good facilities, common room is a bit small, but you sit on tatami mats which is a nice touch. The interior design (at least of the common room) is minimal, which is why i gave it a 9 for atmosphere, but thats really all I can complain about. Its also very well connected by bus! I highly recommend this place if in Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2017
6.0

The positive and negative aspect of this hostel is its location. It is at a walking distance from many touristic attraction of the city, however it is also very close to a noisy street. This could be a problem if you cannot sleep with traffic noise.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
7.4

Overall, the place is great, clean, 3 out of the 4 showers are good. 1 shower does have to be turned back on about every 2 seconds - its like being at an onset shower, not that bad. But the no kitchen or real common room space can be difficult. but if you don't cook, then this place is perfect for you. Individual lockers for every guest :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • heywood1004641
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th Apr 2017
6.6

Santiago Guesthouse was a generally fine place to stay, particularly if you're more interested in getting up early to hit the sights rather than partying. There's not really much of an atmosphere, and the cafe/common room mentioned in the description only stays open until 8pm, after which there's not really any common area available apart from a small computer room. But it's quiet, clean, and in a good location (very near Kiyomizu-dera temples), so there's not really much to complain about.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Kinda surprised about the raving reviews of this place. Some things were great, but some things... Not So Much. Room size was great. Very large & spacious... but it smelled. Staff was great as well. Helped with all questions & were quite friendly. The bad stuff was No Kitchen, only 2 microwaves. The WiFi & Showers were some of the worst I've come across in Japan. Showers were clean, but super small & the water would turn off every 5-10 seconds. You have to constantly press the button. Annoying

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.