Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 846 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.6
  • Facilities 7.4
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
79% 846
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Elphame009
  • Poland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.4

I've spent great time in this hostel. Fully recommend it.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Jul 2016
9.1

Really sweet place to stay. I only stayed for one night but I found everything to be close to perfect. As rated, the only problem was the location, which seemed to be a while (about 40 minutes walk) from Kyoto Station. this could have probably been easily solved by me actually figuring out the bus service a bit clearer. So no real complaints at all! Would recommend to anyone visiting Kyoto!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ecuador, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Jul 2016
8.9

The place is really nice, close to everything and the food at the restaurant downstairs has discounts for the guests. It's kinda loud at night but is ok. I would recommend the place for sure and I would definitely go back again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th Jul 2016
9.1

The washing machine was unfortunately broken, but they provided free shampoo for makeshift manual washing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
7th Jul 2016
6.6

Atmosphere: Because of the huge café downstairs, the common room was tiny. There was basically no room to socialize. Cleanliness: The staff seemed to try their best to keep the hostel clean. However, guests made a mess of the bathrooms and shower rooms. There is hair clogging the sinks, wet tissues on the ground, empty packages of conditioner laying about etc. The hostel smelled like old socks, probably because of the old carpet on the stairs and the huge amount of shoes at the entry.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
6th Jul 2016
9.7

Everything about the hostel is pretty good, Only the common area is small, so it's not so easy to talk with other people, but in general terms Staff it's really friendly and helpful. The hostel it's really good located near to the train station and many points of interest of Kyoto. It definitely gives you value for your money. Rooms are clean and comfortable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
3rd Jul 2016
10.0

Missed a kitchen so I could've made my own food, they only have a microwave, but besides that; a really nice hostel, they clean the whole thing everyday. I've stayed in a lot of hostels all over the world and this is one of the nicest I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Jun 2016
8.9

Nice place to stay, i suggest to stop talking after 11 PM. Some visitors forget good manner, talking after 11 pm. And when guest use toilet and bathroom more none cleans, pls takd care. Staff ard nice people.. great.. i like them..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2016
6.9

An okay hostel-only stayed one night & was a lot cheaper than previous hostels. Beds were fine but bathrooms weren't very clean. Also there is no kitchen- just a microwave & hot water dispenser but no sink to wash dishes in, so you have to wash cups in the bathroom. Lots of flies on the windowsill next to microwave etc. Wouldn't stay again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jun 2016
5.1

No kitchen.Security was not good anyone can easy to come inside.Stuff need to know learn how to hospitality to customers.shower room was dirty.if want to keep shoes off must keep clean for floor. location was great.near by temples and cheap.Bed was good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.