Hostelworld.com

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 778 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.6
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
80% 778
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Apr 2016
7.1

Location was good, close to a bus stop and other cultural properties. The hostel also sells the one day bus pass, to use on Kyoto city buses. However the staff (especially one member) who was snarky and sarcastic, and the other staff looked disinterested. There cafe downstairs is good and offers a discount for guests. Just don't expect anything special from this hostel - you get what you pay for.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
11th Apr 2016
5.1

The hostel is well located and the team is helpful. However, the common area is very small and not very clean et welcoming. The bathrooms are not clean and very small and re located next to the reception desk. The beds in the dormitory are ok. Cheers

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
11th Apr 2016
8.0

Was only here a couple of days, the hostel is exactly as described, between 11-4 staff are cleaning the front desk is entirely unmanned, you can leave you bags there, but I found that a little off. Common Area was rather small, and got a little crowded at night. Bed was comfortable, and the toilets are clean. The showers however have a push button timer for water flow, and it last about 10 -15 seconds, which was annoying.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
8th Apr 2016
6.9

This review is very biased as I like hostels with a social vibe and santiago is not one of them. If you're looking for a cheap private bet in Kyoto then look no further but if you're looking to have fun with people you meet then do not stay at santiago.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th Apr 2016
7.1

Great location. Not really clean, mattress is quite ugly. But the night is great, coz no one snore.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • stefor4873
  • Singapore, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Apr 2016
7.1

Everything was generally good except that we lugged our suitcases to the second floor where the reception was and they told us we were located at another building two blocks down. We could have left our suitcases on the lower floor if we knew we were not going to be staying in that building. one tip - if you have heavy suitcases, perhaps check in first to see where they would place you. It was value for money. they put us in a share house and the room was spacious and clean. No towels though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
7th Apr 2016
5.7

The hostel was in a good location but dirty. There were stains on the mattress and sheets. The shower room wasnt very pleasant and you couldn't walk around in your socks because there was so much hair on the floor. They provided computers which was good but didn't had a kitchen and only one washing machine. Lockers didn't seem very safe.The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all it was one of the worst places we stayed in Japan. Other hostels offer much better value.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Apr 2016
6.3

My friend and I stayed one night here. The location is a little bit far from the highly desired area for tourists but was a 25 min walk. The facilities were a deplorable in that the only showers and sinks were on the second floor, but there were toilets on every floor, which means to wash your hands after using the toilets, you'd have to go downstairs. If there's a toilet, there should be a sink.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
2nd Apr 2016
6.9

Well located but not very clean. The spare room is very small and no real kitchen.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
30th Mar 2016
7.4

Good location, close to several bus stops and temples. Cafe is nice. Beds are comfy, but if you have antsy neighbors who like to move around a lot, just know that the frames are a bit squeaky. It's also on a busy corner which makes it great for access, but can be loud with sirens if your a light sleeper.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.