Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 916 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.4
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.6
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
82% 916
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel is easy to reach from Kyoto Station, is close to many fantastic temples (and is walking distance from Gion), and is clean and has a nice environment. I really enjoyed my stay there because of the convenient location and the fantastic staff who were always welcoming and incredibly helpful with any questions I had about the hostel or Kyoto in general. I also appreciated the privacy curtains on the bunk beds and the discount to the cafe on the floor below!! Fantastic hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel in very good location! the staff was very helpful and friendly, good wifi and super clean overall. The only thing is that they dont have a real kitchen, basic fridge, hot water and microwave so keep that in mind! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Nov 2016
8.9

A doa 30-min walk from the (JR} Kyoto Station and a 20-min walk to a subway station. On a bus route, but being on a packed bus with your luggage sucks. Very close to some tourist sights though. Comfy beds. Secure spaces for your belongings. Helpful and friendly staff. One bathroom was out of order with no signs of getting fixed, which is an issue given the number of guests. The showers also had faucets that control/limit how long the water flows. Annoying when you have to keep turning it on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
5.7

The location is by a loud road which you can hear constantly. The bunk rooms are spacious though. The showers are only on one floor by the reception and are tiny. There are no sinks or soap near the toilets to wash your hands. There is no kitchen or cold water to drink (the taps only produce hot water!). Anybody could just walk into the bunk rooms, and the locker I used got stuck and I had to ask at reception to open it (which apparently happens a lot). I would not stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Nov 2016
4.0

The first staff member was not so friendly with me when I asked him about the jack in my bed (Some energy jacks in Japan you need to press with force to open), and when I asked for more information about the nearby he wasn't friendly because his level of English was not so good. The same occurred with the girl in the cafe that's located on the first floor of this hostel. The dry machine doesn't work well and the guestroom has a not so good smell, the bathroom's cleaning is also a negative point.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
3.4

This place was pretty wretched. Dude at the front was a complete ass. Rude and short. woman in front of me accidently booked the hostel twice. He refused to refund her and blamed her while being nasty. Someone asked to switch to a bottom bunk, refused. Not used for two days. carpet in a backpackers hostel? Questionable. Add on, the fact that they seem to clean very little. let your guests wear shoes if you're not going to clean at all. small common area, no cushions. Loud. Uncomfortable beds

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.6

This is a decent hostel with a great location, but I think they're lacking in both friendly staff and general atmosphere. The staff isn't necessarily unfriendly, but they don't really go out of their way to help unless you ask, sometimes multiple times. The rooms are secluded and the common area isn't large enough to accommodate a big group of people, so if you're a solo traveler it's hard to meet others. Overall, it's a clean hostel good for large groups or very independent travelers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.1

The Hostel was nicer than I expected. Simple and clean. Walking distance to Kiyomizu-dera! So beautiful in the fall!! Cafe downstairs, wifi is faster, same password as dorm rooms Meals are cheaper for guests 10 minute walk from Kiyomizu-Gojo Station Bus 100 is around the corner and takes you to a lot of temples, tourist friendly bus with English (230 yen) Free drinking water No kitchen (fridge & microwave available) Overall great value for the money, it's expensive in the fall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2016
8.6

Only stayed two nights here but the place was cheap but wasn't very nice. I slept near the window and it was rattling all night long so kept getting woke up. There was only a microwave but it was good enough for what we needed. If you just need a place to stay on the cheap and want to be semi central to all the landmarks, this is your place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dcordner
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Excellent location, ease of walking to most sites in Kyoto. Hostel lacks a proper kitchen which is why we reduced the rating a little, staff are friendly and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.