Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 995 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Jul 2017
6.9

10 minute bus ride to the hostel from the kyoto station, a little pain to get to. I'm 6ft tall and the showers were pretty bad, if your tall then your going to have a bad time in the shower, they are quiet small. The staff are nice and accommodate to your needs. Not really a party hostel, common room is pretty small, beds are pretty stiff.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Jul 2017
7.1

Stayed in a big dorm, but still felt we had privacy. Good air con (big deal as it was 33 degrees C). Security wise it felt like anyone could have wondered in at anytime, but each bed had a lockable box included in the price. It was one bus to every main attraction and the place was cleaned a lot, but a little worn out.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2017
8.9

Good location with a cafe downstairs (you get a discount for being a hostel resident with your keyfob). SUPER close to Kiyomizu-dera. Dorm beds are a bit creaky, so top bunk residents make a ton of noise coming in and out. Showers are private but busy. Only the dorm rooms are A/C. Common space is small, so check it out before you bring dinner back with you as it may be fully occupied. Hostel staff was very nice and very helpful. You can buy a bus pass from them easily (a Kyoto must).

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2017
7.7

It is clean and very well located. But the showers were a big problem as you'd have to press the button every 5 seconds for water to come. Lot of the hair dryers were not working. Apart from that, for the money we paid, it is good value but the hostel should think about improving a bit about the things I mentioned.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Jul 2017
9.1

Best location! Comfy. Overall, a good stay :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
8.6

Very cheap, not exactly as social as I hoped for but I came for the price and wasn't disappointed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alejandromistero5206
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2017
6.6

Its an ok place to sleep, but thats it. Nothing good, nothing bad.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th Jun 2017
10.0

This hostel was great, we had everything we needed, it was very clean and beds amazingly comfortable with private curtains and enough space. Location is close to the centre and there is a nice cafe downstairs. The price was also very reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Jun 2017
8.0

I only stayed here for two nights the hostel was clean and staff very nice and helpful. Good location close to shops, restaurants, transport, temples etc. I did find it hard to meet people though as the living area was very small and not many people there.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jun 2017
8.0

Most things were perfectly fine and it was a very good price, just the common areas were a little tight compared to other places I've been to. The cafe is convenient, but they have no (easy?) power outlets to charge up devices while eating. The only real complaint I have is the stairs for the bunk beds. They're completely vertical and the bunks are taller than most. I haven't done too many top bunks, and none so vertical, so I bruised my legs trying not hurt myself by slipping or missing a step.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.