Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 954 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 954 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.2

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • the8thplague2037
  • USA, Male, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
14th Apr 2017
7.7

Kinda surprised about the raving reviews of this place. Some things were great, but some things... Not So Much. Room size was great. Very large & spacious... but it smelled. Staff was great as well. Helped with all questions & were quite friendly. The bad stuff was No Kitchen, only 2 microwaves. The WiFi & Showers were some of the worst I've come across in Japan. Showers were clean, but super small & the water would turn off every 5-10 seconds. You have to constantly press the button. Annoying

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.6

It's my 3rd time in this hostel. It's very nice and right next to Gion, I wish they had a better socialising area and a kitchen.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
2nd Apr 2017
7.7

I don't like leaving a low rating, this place was fantastic but the water saving showers really impacted my stay. The type of shower you would see in swim pool where you have to push button every five seconds for it to be continuous. So impossible to take a proper shower. Very clean hostel, staff helpful very very friendly but were not always knowledgable about everything in the area. Beds comfortable. Wifi not always good. Brilliant location close to bus route. Easy to find.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
1st Apr 2017
8.9

Awesome place to stay. Welcoming staff and clean.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
28th Mar 2017
8.0

Extremely friendly staff. Sheets felt clean and showers seemed clean, too. Really good location, about 20 minutes' walk from Heian Shrine, 5 minutes from Kiyomizudera, and maybe 15 minutes from Gion.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • chanchan7793065
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Mar 2017
8.0

Great location near to most of the popular attractions. Has everything you need for a few nights stay. Would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2017
8.6

The bathroom and toilet facilities were good and the women's dorm I was in was nice an quiet and had heating. However, the bed was very uncomfortable, compared to several other hostels I've stayed at, in Japan. There isn't a kitchen space, but the cafe downstairs is a good happy spot, with affordable food. They also let me eat outside food in the cafe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • niniepous6293
  • France, Female, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 53 reviews
22nd Mar 2017
8.6

Very quiet, The common space is tiny. But close to Kiyomizu Dera and walking distance to downtown and Gion

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.1

We stayed at the Santiago hostel in Hiroshima which has a great communal space as well as being friendly with great facilities. In comparison, the communal space in this hostel was small with no real kitchen and expensive and limited facilities. Staff were unhelpful and didn't do much to help a girl who said her case had been opened when left in their secure area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

IT's a nice and cheap place to stay a few days visiting kyoto. Nearest subway is to 6 strets, a few buses stops in the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.