Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 937 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.5
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 7.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Feb 2017
5.1

We stayed at the Santiago hostel in Hiroshima which has a great communal space as well as being friendly with great facilities. In comparison, the communal space in this hostel was small with no real kitchen and expensive and limited facilities. Staff were unhelpful and didn't do much to help a girl who said her case had been opened when left in their secure area.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
8.6

IT's a nice and cheap place to stay a few days visiting kyoto. Nearest subway is to 6 strets, a few buses stops in the corner.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Feb 2017
6.9

Location was perfect, very convenient and close to local sights. However, the 'memory foam beds' are nothing more than like an inch of mattress - you may as well sleep on the floor, and the pillow was basically a sack of wheat. Dorms are super noisy too. Stay here for the location, but not if you value good sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Jan 2017
9.7

I liked this hostel. It isn't far from the Kyoto station. The staff was very helpful. The only thing I didn't like was the shower: it turns off after five seconds and you need to keep turning it back on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Jan 2017
7.4

It is a very clean hostel but if you are traveling with a budget I don't recommend this place . They do not have a kitchen, tea nor coffee . Staff was a little bit pusher and I did not feel relaxed here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
17th Jan 2017
8.0

Nice beds with shelves and curtain which gives privacy. Clean and good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
9.1

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here! The hostel is connected with a cafe (1st floor). Staff were friendly and suggested some things to do and see in Kyoto. There are bathrooms on each floor and showers on the 2nd floor. It was very easy to interact with other guests in the common area and noise was never a problem.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Jan 2017
10.0

This hostel is easy to reach from Kyoto Station, is close to many fantastic temples (and is walking distance from Gion), and is clean and has a nice environment. I really enjoyed my stay there because of the convenient location and the fantastic staff who were always welcoming and incredibly helpful with any questions I had about the hostel or Kyoto in general. I also appreciated the privacy curtains on the bunk beds and the discount to the cafe on the floor below!! Fantastic hostel!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
8.9

Solid hostel! A bit far from the center, but it is easy to take public transport.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Dec 2016
8.9

Great hostel in very good location! the staff was very helpful and friendly, good wifi and super clean overall. The only thing is that they dont have a real kitchen, basic fridge, hot water and microwave so keep that in mind! 😊

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.