Hostelworld.com

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 825 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.3
  • Cleanliness 7.7
  • Facilities 7.4
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
80% 825
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
9.1

The hostel is located above a cafe, which serves meals at a discounted prices for guests at the hostel, which is a plus. The hostel is right next to a bus station that can take you to Kyoto Station. The subway is about 5 min. away by walking. The staff members spoke English very well and very much willing to you guests when they were in need of help. There was also a very nice common area which allowed travelers to meet one another and just talk about their travels.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jun 2016
9.4

Everything would be perfect if not for the lack of a towel even to rent, and the shower being so small i couldnt turn around in it, had to leave on my back, but then again its not their fault im over 2 meters and big. Everything else was perfect, thank you for all the memories!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jun 2016
8.6

The room is a little bit noisy and a little bit smelly because the window is pretty small. Yet it's clean and the atmosphere is good. BTW, the host boy is CUTE.o(^▽^)o

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
6.3

Not really much of a common area as the downstairs closes really early. Don't expect that much socialising.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, All Female Group, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th May 2016
10.0

Very friendly and accommodating staff. Clean toilets and spacious bed.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
21st May 2016
9.1

Great location, nice staff and nice café downstairs with discounted meals for hostel guest are a plus. Shower room is a bit on the tight size! (but clean) :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
18th May 2016
7.1

Anywhere else it would be a good hostel but it doesn't live up to Japanese standards. Rooms and beds are fine but there is hardly a common area and the kitchen facilities are only a kettle, a microwave, a fridge and some cups. Showers are rather small, they stink and aren't that clean. Though the location is quite good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
5.7

Good: Location was not too far from both the station and the main shopping street. There's also an excellent okonomiyaki restaurant nearby Lockers were available The cafe was nice Bad: A lot of the facilities were smelly and not cleaned very well, as well as broken The road had more than normal traffic noise some nights The cafe bar closed pretty early There was only one washing machine and dryer and no coin laundries nearby There didn't seem to be enough staff to enforce rules

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
7.1

Thank you. We just stayed at your hostel for just a short period. When we had a reservation, we hope that we would have a wonderful time with many other people, but actually, when we returned back there after enjoying dinner in Gion, the bar was closed and we left very early the next day, we didn't see anyone. However, it is very reasonable and we will stay there again when we visit Kyoto. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th May 2016
7.4

I probably had to high expectations here as I'd stayed at the Santiago in Hiroshima, which was 4 times the price. This hostel was fine and cheap but wifi rubbish, very tired and a bit grubby looking. Was glad to leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.