Hostelworld.com

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan
Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 800 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 8.6
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.8
  • Facilities 7.5
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
80% 800
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th May 2016
6.3

Not really much of a common area as the downstairs closes really early. Don't expect that much socialising.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
18th May 2016
7.1

Anywhere else it would be a good hostel but it doesn't live up to Japanese standards. Rooms and beds are fine but there is hardly a common area and the kitchen facilities are only a kettle, a microwave, a fridge and some cups. Showers are rather small, they stink and aren't that clean. Though the location is quite good.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th May 2016
5.7

Good: Location was not too far from both the station and the main shopping street. There's also an excellent okonomiyaki restaurant nearby Lockers were available The cafe was nice Bad: A lot of the facilities were smelly and not cleaned very well, as well as broken The road had more than normal traffic noise some nights The cafe bar closed pretty early There was only one washing machine and dryer and no coin laundries nearby There didn't seem to be enough staff to enforce rules

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Japan, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th May 2016
7.1

Thank you. We just stayed at your hostel for just a short period. When we had a reservation, we hope that we would have a wonderful time with many other people, but actually, when we returned back there after enjoying dinner in Gion, the bar was closed and we left very early the next day, we didn't see anyone. However, it is very reasonable and we will stay there again when we visit Kyoto. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
12th May 2016
7.4

I probably had to high expectations here as I'd stayed at the Santiago in Hiroshima, which was 4 times the price. This hostel was fine and cheap but wifi rubbish, very tired and a bit grubby looking. Was glad to leave.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
7th May 2016
8.0

Overall, very solid choice and relatively good value for the money. Location is great. Near the Kiyomizu Temple where you can kick off a good day in Kyoto. Not too far from the subway or the main train station. Good food close by in my experience. Staff was friendly, but it seemed just a job for them. Atmosphere was alright, but I've seen better. Folks were friendly and there was a place to gather. Very clean. Facilities were nice and the beds pretty comfy. Lockers were a good size too. Secure.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
6th May 2016
6.9

Great value for money. Apart from that there are a few positives. Get a charge point at your bed, and location is pretty good for walking to temples although a descent walk from downtown. Negatives: VERY small common area, only a kettle and microwave, probably not enough showers and toilets so by end of day could feel quite dirty, small lockers but can't store big bag.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
5th May 2016
7.1

Was good, but the sleeping rooms are next to a highway and it's loud the whole night

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd May 2016
5.4

Overall Santiago is a decent hostel, it's fairly clean and has average facilities. It's in a excellent location and within waking distance of so much stuff. Poor points: lack of decent conmon area means the atmosphere suffers and there is nowhere you can really eat, play and meet people if your a solo traveller or with others and don't want to keep you whole dorm awake! The bunk beds were a little noisy and had very thin mattresses. Cafe downstairs is good value and has great coffee!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
30th Apr 2016
7.1

This hostel is very close to key shrines and temples to the East of Kyoto and handy for visiting this area. I stayed in a 12 bed dorm and found it difficult to sleep as the window in the room was very thin and didn't block any noise from the busy road outside, many motorbikes gathered at the crossroads outside to rev their engines. The beds were comfortable. There are no cooking facilities just a fridge + kettle and I wouldn't recommend the restaurant on the ground floor.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.