Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto

  • 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 900 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.4
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.3
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto Located at 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku, , Kyoto.
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 6-503 Gojohashi Higashi, Higashiyama-ku
80% 900
34.9944607 135.7758262
Santiago Guesthouse Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
28th Nov 2016
8.9

A doa 30-min walk from the (JR} Kyoto Station and a 20-min walk to a subway station. On a bus route, but being on a packed bus with your luggage sucks. Very close to some tourist sights though. Comfy beds. Secure spaces for your belongings. Helpful and friendly staff. One bathroom was out of order with no signs of getting fixed, which is an issue given the number of guests. The showers also had faucets that control/limit how long the water flows. Annoying when you have to keep turning it on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
24th Nov 2016
5.7

The location is by a loud road which you can hear constantly. The bunk rooms are spacious though. The showers are only on one floor by the reception and are tiny. There are no sinks or soap near the toilets to wash your hands. There is no kitchen or cold water to drink (the taps only produce hot water!). Anybody could just walk into the bunk rooms, and the locker I used got stuck and I had to ask at reception to open it (which apparently happens a lot). I would not stay there again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Nov 2016
3.4

This place was pretty wretched. Dude at the front was a complete ass. Rude and short. woman in front of me accidently booked the hostel twice. He refused to refund her and blamed her while being nasty. Someone asked to switch to a bottom bunk, refused. Not used for two days. carpet in a backpackers hostel? Questionable. Add on, the fact that they seem to clean very little. let your guests wear shoes if you're not going to clean at all. small common area, no cushions. Loud. Uncomfortable beds

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th Nov 2016
9.1

The Hostel was nicer than I expected. Simple and clean. Walking distance to Kiyomizu-dera! So beautiful in the fall!! Cafe downstairs, wifi is faster, same password as dorm rooms Meals are cheaper for guests 10 minute walk from Kiyomizu-Gojo Station Bus 100 is around the corner and takes you to a lot of temples, tourist friendly bus with English (230 yen) Free drinking water No kitchen (fridge & microwave available) Overall great value for the money, it's expensive in the fall.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
9th Nov 2016
8.6

Only stayed two nights here but the place was cheap but wasn't very nice. I slept near the window and it was rattling all night long so kept getting woke up. There was only a microwave but it was good enough for what we needed. If you just need a place to stay on the cheap and want to be semi central to all the landmarks, this is your place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • dcordner
  • Scotland, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
8th Nov 2016
8.3

Excellent location, ease of walking to most sites in Kyoto. Hostel lacks a proper kitchen which is why we reduced the rating a little, staff are friendly and really helpful.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
12th Oct 2016
5.7

Lots of small things added together to make this a bad stay. - There is zero atmosphere, sofas/chairs needed in common area and they have a whole cafe area they could use for pizza nights etc - I got barely any sleep as every 20 mins large window in our room would rattle really loudly and glass was thin so could here ambulances etc all night. - WiFi is intermittent at best. - Dorm was too hot The beds are comfy, showers and toilets clean but the aforementioned made for a bad stay.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
10th Oct 2016
8.6

The hostel is pretty comfortable. Nice beds and pretty clean. Was a little inconvenient that there were only sinks on the lower floor.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Oct 2016
10.0

Great place to stay, bus station is very close. The curtain on each bed add privacy to each member in the dorm, really comfortable bed as well. Staff also willing to help anytime. Highly recommended and totally worth the money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
4th Oct 2016
8.6

Staff was amazing! Common area doesn't really exist besides a table but everyone was drinking anyway. Beds were uncomfortable. Very cheap though!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.