X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Seaside Hawaiian Hostel Waikiki Reviews

419 Seaside Avenue, Waikiki, Honolulu, Oahu, Honolulu, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
1515 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 80%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 85%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

Loved the place! The common area was nice with a hammock, relaxing atmosphere and great for meeting other travellers. They were good about enforcing the 11PM quiet time so it was easy to get to sleep. The place is clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. Shower had good pressure. Wifi was a bit slow and kept turning off and on, but other than that everything was perfect!


89%

The staffs are very friendly and helpful. It's value for money if you book through hotelworld.com and the location is perfect!

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Overall, it is a great place to hang out and meet new friends. The bedroom is ok, but the location is perfect! Definitely will come back.

  • 1st Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best hostel ever! The staff are ALWAYS helpful and friendly and nothing is ever a problem. They loan beach towels for free and have loads of fun things to hire at really reasonable prices. It has the best atmosphere, and you are guaranteed to meet amazing people and life-long friends. You will feel right at home, straight away. The owner often drops by and cooks a surprise for everyone! Would highly recommend, I have already booked back in for when I return from other islands!

  • 24th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel in the world, and I've been to a few! Have been regularly coming back to the Seaside Hostel for the last 15 years. Some hostels are too small, some are too large. The Seaside is perfect. You'll meet everyone staying there in the open air courtyard, and the staff treat you like family. 100% I would recommend this place to everyone.

  • 21st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

The location is very central to the main amenities of Honolulu and Waikiki Beach a 5 minute walk. Bus stop very close to get around the island and all major shops close by. Staff very helpful and friendly. Good clean kitchen, but the rest of the place looked a bit "grubby". Could perhaps do with a paint job in more lively colours. Rooms are large with security lockers. Courtyard could do with a "wash down" of bird/plant fallings. 2 large fridges for food. Overall a pleasant stay.


97%

This is one of my fav hostels I have stayed in through the world. I had a 6 bed female dorm. Beds are ok. But plenty of space in the room. Good shower. Clean. No wifi in the rooms. But that's ok. Breakfast is amazing. U can by eggs and porridge for cheap. Bread is whole grain yes!!! Tea and coffee even milk! :D Highly recommend this hostel!! Location is amazing. Can walk everywhere. Shops beach clubs. Bus rote is only a block over. And the staff will help up with what ever you need!


97%

I had a great time here! Robin was wonderful- I had to stay here last minute and I felt safe, welcome and calm. I will definitely be returning!

  • 12th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


86%

Great location


83%

Nice location & security was good. Very noisy on Saturday night I hardly slept since I was at the back of the hostel towards the main Waikiki area (and in a semi private room), otherwise fine. They had a nice breakfast on Saturday which was a surprise.

  • 7th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


97%

For sure one of the best hostels I've spend time.

  • 1st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Great location, breakfast and decent wifi, near to Waikiki beach and on bus and shuttle routes. It wasn't that sociable a place when I was there, and the beds were only averagely comfortable, but all perfectly good for a beach and bar stay.


71%

It would be better if there's air con as hawaii is really warm, staff is good, friendly, hostel is "relatively clean", close to waikiki beach , beds are creaking though, but then , the service is good, atmosphere relaxing , I enjoyed my stay, thank you :)


89%

I really liked stay at this Hostel! Staff were really nice and place was comfortable and really welcoming. Only thing was that bed was really noisy and other visitors at the room forget lock the door most of the time, but other ways it was really pleasant stay there!

  • 16th Feb 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Only a short walk from the beach with free wifi and breakfast. Nice social area, that can get slightly noisy at times. Lockers are included also, though you need to buy a very big padlock. Stay here.


80%

Stayed here first and moved to another hostel (Waikiki Backpackers). I wish I had stuck around, the smaller size is more inclusive, much better area to hang out, and although not as close to the beach as the other, its closer to everything else, and still only a couple blocks from the water. Good experience overall.


71%

There was a big gap between the floor and the door into our room but you get used to the cockroaches crawling around.


100%

This place is magical. I met a lot of great people in the smoking table, even without smoking any cigaret. The staff was cordial, the location is perfect and the atmosphere is so friendly. It was the best hostel in my life, because there I met outstanding people there.


91%

Great atmosphere created by the desk staff, including Gypsy. Rooms were very clean, bathrooms and showers clean and the water pressure very good. Hot water for every shower! One day the owner made free waffles for breakfast, a very nice gesture. The guests were relaxed and friendly. Hostel within walking distance of shops, beach and nightlife yet it was reasonably quiet. Would highly recommend it.


86%

It was a nice, normal hostel. Nothing wrong, but didn't stand out to me either. It's clean, it's secure with a sturdy locked gate and the location in the heart of Waikiki is just perfect. Free tea & toast breakfast can be supplemented by buying extras, eg eggs (35 cents each), oatmeal (35 cents) or muffins ($1). The street noise is very audible and the rooms on the upper floor don't have curtains, so this may not be the right place if you are a light sleeper. But I would stay here again.


« first « Prev 1 2 3
(59 results)


View all Honolulu Hostels

Please give us your feedback