Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 11,192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 11,192 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.9
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
85% 11192
52.3723713 4.8990424
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
29th Nov 2016
8.3

I didn't like that they only have one outlet to be shared for every 4 beds but I'm glad that I went when it wasn't too busy so I only had to share it with 2 others. Overall, the breakfast was an actual hot breakfast, which I wasn't expecting but a nice surprise. Also, I didn't realize that this was a Christian Hostel, that was also a surprise. Thus, I recommend staying at this hostel! I had a great time and the staff and people are very friendly and is in a great location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
10.0

Lovely hostel, everyone was very friendly and it was in a great location :) A good all rounder!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Nov 2016
10.0

Eğer Amsterdam'a bir daha gidicek olsam kesin burda kalırdım. Çok merkezi, konumu Harika ve çalışanlar çok tatlı insanlar.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Nov 2016
7.1

Staying at 4 bed female dorm ensuite. Was lucky nobody stay there that night so i got the room all by myself. The locker that has the same number like my bed number is a bit broken, but thats not big deal since i can use other locker. Lighting in the room can be change to brighter light. Ensuite toilet slightly small and smelly but its clean. Only stay there a night. Breakfast was basic option but enough for me. very nice staffs who served the breakfast. Location is very central

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Nov 2016
9.1

Great Staff, great safety on entrance, great food, an over all great experience, I would come back without thinking it twice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
9.4

The staff was incredible. They graciously took the time to explain the facilities and neighboring areas. On one occasion a staff member even took 15 minutes of his time to look up a train route for me. My roommate (stayed in a double female dorm) 2-/ very nice and respectful. My only suggestion is that the hallway be made quieter with soft close door hinges/handles and rugs because when people walked down the hall/went to the bathroom during the night it was quite loud and echoie.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
19th Nov 2016
6.9

The Shelter Hostel is definitely located right in the middle of all the action that Amsterdam has to offer. The free breakfast is really good. On the other side the staff at the hostel are really strange and make you feel like your at a military base. I know that they have volunteers from all around the world. They just need some friendly staff who makes the experience of staying there alot better.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
18th Nov 2016
3.1

We are very disappointed with this hostel.The staff was very rude, the cleaners opened my friend'a suitcase and took it away without telling us because we swapped beds as it was very tricky to get to the one at the top.the room was VERY tiny,we couldn't even move around!the floors were dirty and the blankets and sheets disgusting.We paid £80 for 2 nights which is what you pay for a hotel.Not enough space for breakfast,we had to wait 40 min to be served. Never again!!!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Nov 2016
10.0

The tranquility in the hostel in contrast of all the chaos of the main center of Amsterdam is something I didn't expect. But that's really possible. Nice, clean and warm. I would recommend this to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Nov 2016
8.0

Great location!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.