Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,741 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10741
52.3723713 4.8990424
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Aug 2016
10.0

Beautiful place, especially the inner yard and the cafe. Nice staff, great location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
14th Aug 2016
6.6

It's very well-located (for those who don't care to be in the middle of Red Lights District). It's just one light socket for each bunk bed, so usually you have to leave your belongs to charge in the reception. The breakfast is basic and they charge you if you want to try a different option (you have to choose one).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2016
10.0

I felt very welcome at Shelter city on the two occasions I stayed there. It was very hospitable, the meals served were fine, the beds and bedding clean and comfortable, the access to internet great, and I enjoyed to participation with the staff and guests in the prayer times. I hope to stay there again some time in the future.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
14th Aug 2016
8.6

I only stayed at Shelter City one night, but I wish I could have stayed longer! Fantastic location, clean comfy beds, nice hot showers - the whole shish kebab.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
13th Aug 2016
5.4

Rickety beds, bad showers, patchy wifi. Located literally in the middle of the red light district, which is great if you're into that kind of thing. It's quite loud, though. The place had a weird vibe - I didn't love it. Wouldn't recommend, wouldn't stay there again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • edenjadejacob
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Aug 2016
9.1

The staff is very friendly. There's a secure area to keep your luggage while they're getting your room ready as well as after you check out for a certain amount of time. Very close to the red light district / city center. They have events such as movie night, open mic night and evening prayer. There is also an upright piano and some other instruments. Overall great value, okay location, friendly staff, everything you need at a reasonable cost.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Aug 2016
8.0

This hostel is located right in the middle of the red light district so it is super central but very touristy. It's difficult to find good food in the area. The rooms are small and the ensuite washroom was really dirty. The communal showers are much better. Breakfast is gross except for the fruit and hot drink. Do not get breakfast to go! It is so gross. Security is amazing here and the staff are really nice. We're not even Christian but we enjoyed our stay here and felt very safe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
4.3

Was probably the dirtiest hostel I've ever been to. Run by a group of volunteers which might explain why. I was in a room of 16 people which felt like a sardine can and wasn't much space to move. Washrooms was very inaccessible and far from the rooms and only 1 toilet was functioning in the men's washroom during my entire stay. There are no locks in any of the bedrooms and only a buzzer to get in the main entrance when you show your hostel ID, which basically allowed anyone to access your room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • AgapritaS
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
10th Aug 2016
8.6

This is a wonderful hostel with a great location. It is a perfect place to meet new friends. The staff are so helpful, also they sell some tickets for museum entrance and also canal tour! I bought the ticket for canal tour and it was cheaper than if you bought from the "real" locket. For security, you have to bring your own padlock and use the big one.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Aug 2016
5.7

Great location in the Red Light District (this is the the best thing about it). The hostel itself is very basic and doesn't seem to have had a makeover in a decade or longer. Most of the staff were not welcoming and were actually really rude at times. They seemed intent on making your life more difficult and this made for a number of unnecessarily annoying interactions. For this reason I'd not recommend staying here as the atmosphere they create is neither fun or relaxing.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.