X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
7650 Total Reviews
  • 81%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 77%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

perfect for religious people


63%

noicy room due to a ventilator

  • 18th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


94%

I loved my stay in Shelter City!! First of all, the staff really made you feel at home. They were all so nice. Plus, they speak good English. The dinner and the breakfast were also good. There are a lot of activities in the hostel like the ping pong table and the guitar and piano that you can just use to jam with your friends and/or other people in the hostel. Lastly, security and location are exceptional! All in all, it's a really great hostel!! I wish I could have stayed longer.


91%

The hostel is great! Don't forget to bring your locker, cause the room didn't have keys! The breakfast is great and the service as well!

  • 17th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

This hostel is in a great location, about 10 minutes from the train station and around the corner from the Red light district. Most other attractions are less than an 30 minute walk. The staff is so friendly and the free breakfast was good. I stayed in a 16 all female dorm, and it was actually a good experience! The hostel is dry, which was nice to come back to a room that didn't smell, wasn't dirty. It was actually very quiet and chill. Bathrooms were a little dirty though


60%

Very tiny rooms. No elevator. A Very Boeing hostel. It's a nice hostel to stay if you are looking a peaceful place to rest. Good thing wifi in rooms


100%

What more could you possibly want in a hostel? Staff that become close friends, free hot breakfast an occasionally dinner, comfortable and new beds, movie nights, even ping pong! What more could you want? It's cheap, it's central, it's by far the best hostel I've stayed in.

  • 16th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Enjoyed my time at Shelter a lot again!


71%

Nice place and friendly staff. the only issue is that at nights it can get very noise other than that very nice place.


69%

Overall its good but i dont like the thing everytime you enter you have to show a paper slip there can be a something better or an card reader at gate


71%

I was surprised by the dirty toilets as i heard that the shelter was well know for his clean toilets and showers.... And the room in which i slept had 3 other guests who came in late. The last two at 4.00. A lot of noise at the corridors during the night, so i slept very bad. The staff was great tough!

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

Everything was Top!! Thanks for the nice stay!

  • 11th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Wonderful people, food, and location. There is a cat, just so people with allergies know.


86%

Everything was perfect, I would say that maybe the exposed pipes in our dorm could have been covered, and perhaps adding some art to the walls in the dorms would add some flare. I loved the homey decorative feel through out the hostel, but found the rooms lacking that feel due to them being so blank. But other then that my group had a great time, and loved how great the staff were.


80%

Most staff were pleasant and helpful. One guy made me feel v.uncomfortable. Breakfast was great! I ate there once in the eve. Had the meatballs and they were hideous.


83%

The hostel doesn't have a common kitchen but you can ask for warming your own food. The breakfast is included but it's a bit poor.


97%

Me and a friend stayed at Shelter City for 4 nights and it was great! The staff are awesome and it really felt like they want their guest's best! Breakfast was rich and the dining room is full of games and musical instruments. We had a free city tour and an open mic night wich was also very nice! We rent a room without private bathroom so the public one was a bit not clean. But besides this, it was a pleasure staying there!!! I highly recomend shelter city!

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Israel
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

Great place with awesome staff! :)

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

Best stay ever! Great facilities, comfortable living arrangements and relaxing atmosphere. Very clean and genuinely nice and helpful staff. Prayer and night devotion was a plus! Thank you for making my stay awesome in Christ Jesus!

  • 6th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

staffs are all friendly! and nice service there! but only few plug in room


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(357 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback