Hostelworld.com

Shelter City

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,283 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10283
52.3723765 4.8988723
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
4.9

I came to my room and it was unlocked with no one about. The toilets were dirty and smelt. Some of the staff were rude. Not a lot of joy in this place.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th May 2016
5.4

The mattress was really not comfortable at all, I could hardly sleep on it ! That night was horrible. Please renew your mattresses ! (ask the shelter jordaan, their mattress are much more comfortable)

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2016
10.0

This hostel is great for meeting people who you'll end up becoming and staying friends with. There's a real sense of community. (Whether you're Christian has nothing to do with it - everyone is made to feel welcome.) The staff are friendly and helpful, and extremely vigilant about keeping strangers out. The hostel is near lots of major attractions, and it's easy to get to them without passing through the seedy areas of the Red Light District. Definitely recommended!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
19th May 2016
9.7

Very nice place with a welcoming and happy staff. I really enjoyed my saty there and they were very helpful even when i needed some help with leaving my luggage after the check out time. A great hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
18th May 2016
9.7

I really enjoyed this hostel! The staff were all very helpful, the breakfast was awesome, and the common area was great to meet other travelers! Everything was clean and it was nice to have lockers in the room. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
18th May 2016
8.0

The only damper here was the charging facilities. They recommend bringing your phone to them to charge for security reasons. I did this and on two different occasions and I got my phone back not charged. Pretty annoying when your phone is your only source of communication. I don't think it is that hard to plug in a phone...

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th May 2016
8.0

Located just outside of the red light district, this Christian hostel provided a great value option for anyone looking to explore Amsterdam. The staff were all volunteers and they were extremely friendly. Free breakfast in the morning was made one by one so it was slow, but fresh!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th May 2016
6.9

Wasn't clearly stated that it was a Christian hostel. Also felt that the atmosphere was very boring.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
15th May 2016
9.4

Felt really safe and the staff were very friendly and always ready to help or talk to you! The café has a nice laid back atmosphere in the evenings where it was easy to make friends and chat over a cup of coffee after a chilly day in the winds of the Netherlands. Would stay again! Thanks for the great weekend. :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
14th May 2016
8.0

Nice common area and clean beds/bath. Just make sure about your padlocks size, because some of them does not lock the locker properly. It was possible to choose just one option in the breakfast. Good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.