Hostelworld.com

Shelter City

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 11547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 11547 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • winterzerome
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
16th Feb 2017
9.4

Amazing staff from all over the world and atmosphere: free activities most nights including dinners, movie nights etc. If you're looking for a place in Amsterdam but want to escape the more shady side of the city this is definitely the hostel for you! Also there was a cute cat 😄

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Feb 2017
8.3

Great place. Bad beds if you are a big guy like me :) 110kg

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Feb 2017
6.6

CHRISTIAN HOSTEL - For future reference, that's how you let people know it's a boring Christian hostel in the middle of the RDL

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Feb 2017
9.1

Awesome place to stay in the heart of Red lights district! Staff very kindly and organized. For sure, i will be there again!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Feb 2017
9.4

Despite being non-religious, I had an amazing stay at Shelter City! Staff (all volunteers) were super friendly, helpful and willing to make the stay as enjoyable, safe and convenient as possible. Despite large dorm rooms (16female), there was more than enough space within the dorm for privacy and I was still able to make friends with others in my dorm. Free breakfast was great, bathroom facilities are more than fine, discounts for activities around Amsterdam are just the cherries on top

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
12th Feb 2017
7.7

Good for normal travelers. Christians are main guests, lots of women stays too. Nice bang for buck but considering theres nothing to eat near hotel and red light district is right near, not sure if this is good choice. Lockers outside(normally), overall it was bit unclean and everybody asked me if I'm Christian making awkward atmosphere, since I don't have religion. White privileged guests and some Asian guests were most common atm. It was weird.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • kim_humphries
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Feb 2017
8.9

This is a neat hostel for anyone looking to stay in Amsterdam and not break the bank. The staff are enthusiastic about their positions and always want to help out the guests. I really enjoyed the included breakfast and the inexpensive lunch/dinner options available for purchase if you don't feel like spending too much money for meals. My trivial complaints are about the pillows (I prefer firmer and thicker pillows) and lack of outlets in rooms that hold 16 people - but otherwise, it's great!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
6.0

Christians hostel in the middle of red light district, touche, but I simple didn't enjoy the tiny rooms and no heater in the room, everything is outdated, but people overall were friendly

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Feb 2017
9.7

This Christian Hostel is a gem, I did not notice the absence of TV, however there were better ways to spend your time, chatting to lots of different people. What else can I say, discover for yourself.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Feb 2017
7.1

For anyone who hasn't read the "fine print" like I forgot to: this is a Christian hostel. There are religious decorations, booklets, and stricter rules, daily prayer meetings, etc. Beyond that, the facilities were majorly disappointing. For all the great ratings I thought it would be better value--the cost is great, the location is perfect, breakfast is provided and the wifi is good, but the bathrooms and dorms kind of suck. Crowded and very run-down, but you can tell they're trying their best.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.