Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 11,410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 11,410 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
85% 11410
52.3723713 4.8990424
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
8.3

Less than a mile from central station, so an easy walk! Near a square with cafés grocery stores, bars, coffee shops, etc. The complimentary breakfast was good, never too crowed, and had a different hot meal option daily. They put on events every evening as well. I would recommend to a friend. Amsterdam in general was absolutely wonderful!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • oodduckoink
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
9th Jan 2017
9.4

My stay at the hostel was excellent. The staff were very friendly. It was very easy to find. Very close to Centraal station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Jan 2017
7.1

It was a Christian hostel that had regular church visits and pray times. Everyone was very nice and welcoming. Hostel staff were helpful. The free breakfast was good. Lots of variety. The bathrooms were small. Very small toilet cubicles. They had the heating on overnight so it got very hot. They checked everyone's card before they buzzed you in but there was no locks on the doors. There were lockers in the room and not a lot of powerpoints.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jan 2017
8.6

Nice place to stay. Although it is a christian hostel, you do not need to bee a religiuos person to stay in. The breakfast service was not well organized (I guess because there was much people but and also the breakfast is served by volunteers so you have to wait until they call your name). Not enough plugs in bedrooms and also in my room (n° 5) you could not close the courtains to sleep witouht sunlight. In generally is Ok for a short visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
5th Jan 2017
6.0

Located in the old town, staff are lovely volunteers. However the facility is far under expectation. They do not have a lift and the stair to 3rd floor is relatively difficult if you have luggage. The sound proof is very bad. They have activities at 11:30pm everyday and finish around 1am. I woken up because of the noise of people walking up the wooden stair, talking in the corridor, opening and closing doors. I barely sleep well during my nights there.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
4th Jan 2017
9.1

Shelter city was my first time staying at a hostel! I felt comfortable and safe. Would return for sure... also in a fantastic location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
7.4

Bad sound isolation in the room; the night was very very noisy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
2nd Jan 2017
7.1

Real nice location, close to everywhere. wouldnt suggest 16 room, some of the beds set only next to wall, that gives you some area to put your stuff within your reach, because the locker doesnt have a lock and you need to buy one. My bed was only 30cm away with another bed, and there was no curtain for the bed, four beds share 1 light and plug. One most important thing is people walked in/out all night long, made noise all the time, I couldnt had a real rest. Only 4 toilets

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
1st Jan 2017
6.0

A place just to go to sleep, went 2 nights there and nobody talked with me, I tried but look like people didn't want make friends! A pity 🙁, fir me stay in a hostel is the opportunity to hang out. There wasn't keys in the room door, felt a little insecurity. The breakfast wasn't good, but they offered a small breakfast take away before the breakfast time when you were leaving what can be a extra point.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jan 2017
9.1

Great place to stay if you are looking for somewhere quiet to sleep and a good breakfast. Good location, walking distance to most attractions and to the central station. If you are here to party I would reccomwnd staying somewhere else.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.