Hostelworld.com

Shelter City

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,078 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.9
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10078
52.3723765 4.8988723
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Hungary, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2016
9.4

i enjoyed the time in Shelter hostels. Hello Zoltan

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.9

The location is excellent, everything is near and you can easily go by foot everywhere. Everybody at the staff was nice. The room, lavatories and showers were clean and tidy. There were only two electrical outputs in a dormitory for four people. The matress was not too comfortable, and the blanket was not enough, during the night the room got a bit chilly. Also, the tables at the kitchen area were not sufficient, and you have to wait for a place to eat, which can takes too long.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
8.0

really nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Apr 2016
9.4

Great place, friendly people. I stayed in the 20 bed male room, and the only inconvenience is that your locker is actually out in the hallway, so you can't access it so easily from nearby your bed. A small complaint, perhaps! The lockers were also a little narrow. I was able to squeeze my carry-on size Tortuga backpack in there, but it was a little difficult. The atmosphere is nice -- there is an interior outdoor courtyard you can relax in, with a very nice ping pong table that I enjoyed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2016
4.9

Location is quite ok. Cleanliness i doubt it. As soon as we reached our dorm room it was dusty. Staff-- it could have been more better if they have been so sincerely helpful to their guests especially for the first timers. We have encountered a rather not so warm staff. But we have never experienced being neglected in such a way when you asked for help they'd tell you they are not allowed to do so. Whatever it is it would have been so comforting if you see the effort to help.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2016
10.0

This hostel is quite great! Even though it's a drug and alcohol free spot,.. you're in Amsterdam !

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
20th Apr 2016
7.4

1. needs a hot water dispenser for people to make their dinner from desiccated crumbles to food - there's already not a stove. microwaving water is dangerous. a microwave isn't enough and not every1 is rich to buy ready meals. 2. definitely worth the money to book the ensuite for security. however, the bathroom itself is more like a cabin, good shower but not worth the money as very uncomfortable to stay in for too long. my bed (upper deck) is also the only 1 without extra storage space/hanger.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
19th Apr 2016
9.7

Very nice hostel, clean and bright! Nice kitchen and a lovely cat~ Staffs are helpful!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Apr 2016
3.1

Dirty bathrooms with mold on the walls and ceilings, overcrowded rooms that didn't feel safe, and a cleaning and maintenance crew comprised of unprofessional workers. The hostel was way overpriced for what you get; a crappie room, unclean and outdated facilities, and a sense of unsafe feelings the whole time. If you are staying in Amsterdam spend a little bit more money on something better.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
19th Apr 2016
9.1

Free hot breakfast in the morning, centrally located, calm atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.