X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6743 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

69%

Hard to find the location

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand
  • All Female Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


89%

I had a great stay at Shelter city. The staff was very pleasant and cheerful, along with being helpful. Its located quite conveniently and made for a good trip. Will visit again.

  • 18th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Lovely place with a great atmosphere. Staff were friendly and amazing. Was lucky enough to be around during hostel night (Friday night where free dinner is served and everyone gets to mingle) and also the free tour on Saturday which was lovely. Location was also the best.


97%

The free breakfast was so awesome because it changed everyday and was cooked to order. The hostel was a little on the pricey side, but it did have a great location right in the Red Light district. I would highly recommend it and would certainly stay here again.


83%

The hostel was in a convenient location in the center of Amsterdam. Staff were helpful. Not being a Christian, I was worried that staying here could be awkward, but the staff were welcoming of all backgrounds. The main drawback to this place is that there were 48 girls (i think) sharing one bathroom, which got crowded and messy rather quickly. Additionally, while breakfast was included, staff served it to you and you only got one serving, which didn't seem like enough food to me.


66%

Security was very good. Voucher was required to enter the building. Cannot give it excellent since padlocks were not provided (whilst this is standard, with the price I paid, you would expect extras). Location was excellent (in Red light district and 10 mins from the train station). Staff were friendly and approachable. However, the bunk bed did not have a ladder or a side barrier to stop people falling out. Unacceptable. One communal bathroom for all the rooms. Again unacceptable for the price.

  • 16th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is the second visit and I would definitely recommend your hostel to anyone and will definitely return. The staff both on the front desk and in the cafe are always so nice, friendly and very eager to help. Always a pleasant stay.

  • 15th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

It was better than we expected. The staff is very friendly and the great thing is that they have a locker room which is for free just beside the information desk. They take your bag and give you a number so that you can only take your bag with that number. It is clean because they do not let you smoke inside. The only negative thing is the number of plugs they have is really scarce however they offer you a charging service. Definitely will stay there again.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

No kitchen where to cook. Checkout at 10 a.m and they won´t even let sit for a minute or take a coffee. Absolutely not welcoming staff, exept the one working at the cafeteria. Verry small rooms. One sock to charge your electronic devices in a room of 6 persons... No T.V.


89%

Good: they have a big locker for keeping luggage bags, a hair dryer installed in the shower room, special hot-made breakfast, very good location. Bad: they have narrow staircase leading to 3/F, hard for someone carrying luggage


83%

Great location. Near from central station and placed at red light district. My room was placed 3rd floor and i have to go up very narrow stairs with heavy baggage, which was very hard. Breakfast was nice.


77%

This was a decent place to stay for a couple of nights, the breakfast was good. The bed was comfortable although in the dorm I was in the curtain only covered half the window and I found the street light/day light distracting.


89%

Very convinient location, nice clean hostel with very good security. Serves a good breakfast. I would recommend this hostel as very simple and comfortable stay at a very convinient location near central railway station !

  • 8th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

One of the best hostels I have been stayed. Staff are very friendly and helpful.What more with free breakfast every morning and have some choices to select. Definitely I will recommend to my fellow travelling buddies when they visit Amsterdam.


91%

Overall great experience! Staff was kind and helpful and I never had an issue with anything.


86%

That's really cozy Hostel near to Dam's square with friendly staff, especially Nina is very helpful and smiley girl ;) Loved to overnight there and would recommend to Amsterdam's visitors;

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

great location, very friendly staff, great free breakfast, great room (walls are a little thin)


80%

not much varieties of meal option to choose from at meal time. I don't like deep fried food which are no good for health. Yet they were the only food to offer on that date when I wanted to order my meal. Very disappointing.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Auberge de jeunesse sans prétention, très bien situé! Vous trouvez ce qu'on vous a promi! Ce qui bien souvent rare. Personnel gentil! Hostel without flamboyance, excellent location. It's exactly, what you reserve!! It's too rare now! And very kind staff!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


89%

The hostel is very near to the Centraal station, the staff in the hostel are really helpful and kind, the atmosphere in the communal areas and the bar is great. There is a area behind the bar that you can set during the day, eat something while you watch the sky. In the neighborhood of the hostel there are a lot of bars and restaurants to try during your stay. The rooms are big and the beds are ok. The showers are good, not so spacious, but it is ok.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(167 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback