Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,588 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.0
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10588
52.3723765 4.8988723
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
9.4

Nice helpful young staff. Didn't know it was Christian but it was a pleasant surprise. Compfy beds. Wifi good close to ground floor, bad upstairs. Great breakfast. Very nice little courtyard cafe area. Lots of activities going on.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.1

Really nice and friendly hostel that provided us with an excellent place to spend the night in Amsterdam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
8.9

This hostel has everything you need, whilst a little cramped in places (we were in a 16 bed dorm and it felt cramped in there) the location was just perfect and to be honest the location made the price worth it. The actual hostel was nice, most of the staff were very friendly, the courtyard area was really pretty and the bathrooms were- whilst a little dated- working and clean, but they are what you expect of a hostel really. Overall I had a pleasant stay and would return!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Free wifi!! The staff were so friendly and gave us a wave everytime we went by. The breakfast was good but confusing system at first. Would highly recommend it as it is prime location, on the edge on the red light district.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.0

Just FYI this is a Christan hostel. We didn't know that when we made our booking. This means is that they have bible verses all over the hostel, have Christian-centered programming, and if you show up visibly drunk or high you will be in trouble. That said it is a pretty nice hostel. The free breakfast is amazing and the cafeteria/garden area is really beautiful and serene. It is right in the center of the red light district (right next door is a brothel) but I never felt unsafe.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Slovakia, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
8.0

IT was nice place to stay. Near the train station and right in the city centre. The staff was very kind and also good breakfast. Also other people were quite.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Jul 2016
8.0

The cafe was very cute, but they are very specific about the breakfast, it isn't a buffet, different than what I am used to. The room we stayed in on the 1st floor got a bit awkward with the common patio area was right there and the Windows were often open, which got a bit annoying because there wasn't much privacy. Security was very thorough which was great considering the area of town we are in. However one night we had trouble getting buzzed back in, I don't thing the attendant was paying att

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th Jul 2016
8.6

It was very nice staying at the shelter City in Amsterdam. Would definetly come back! Nice people and nice atmosphere

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Jul 2016
8.0

Could have been cleaner. Very safe. Great location. Worth the money.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
15th Jul 2016
7.7

Nice hostel and a great location in an amazing city. Was a little thrown off by the whole Christian hostel thing, just caught very off guard. It was not a problem for me, but if you don't like Bible quotes and Jesus looking down at you everywhere this may not be the place for you.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.