X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shelter City Reviews

Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

85%

Rating
6710 Total Reviews
  • 83%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 91%Staff
  • 82%Atmosphere
  • 80%Cleanliness
  • 79%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

It was better than we expected. The staff is very friendly and the great thing is that they have a locker room which is for free just beside the information desk. They take your bag and give you a number so that you can only take your bag with that number. It is clean because they do not let you smoke inside. The only negative thing is the number of plugs they have is really scarce however they offer you a charging service. Definitely will stay there again.

  • 13th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


26%

No kitchen where to cook. Checkout at 10 a.m and they won´t even let sit for a minute or take a coffee. Absolutely not welcoming staff, exept the one working at the cafeteria. Verry small rooms. One sock to charge your electronic devices in a room of 6 persons... No T.V.


97%

One of the best hostels I have been stayed. Staff are very friendly and helpful.What more with free breakfast every morning and have some choices to select. Definitely I will recommend to my fellow travelling buddies when they visit Amsterdam.


86%

That's really cozy Hostel near to Dam's square with friendly staff, especially Nina is very helpful and smiley girl ;) Loved to overnight there and would recommend to Amsterdam's visitors;

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Georgia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

great location, very friendly staff, great free breakfast, great room (walls are a little thin)


80%

not much varieties of meal option to choose from at meal time. I don't like deep fried food which are no good for health. Yet they were the only food to offer on that date when I wanted to order my meal. Very disappointing.

  • 5th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


86%

Auberge de jeunesse sans prétention, très bien situé! Vous trouvez ce qu'on vous a promi! Ce qui bien souvent rare. Personnel gentil! Hostel without flamboyance, excellent location. It's exactly, what you reserve!! It's too rare now! And very kind staff!

  • 4th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

the very frrienly staff,helped to make my stay a very pleasant one,also the location is very good being close to the station I would recomended


60%

To be fair, staff atmosphere and safety is good. But cleanliness NEEDS to be stepped up. Stale smell in the room, dusty and suffered bed bug bites!!

  • 31st Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Once we found it, it was great and really easy to get around. Such a nice location, we were able to walk everywhere. The stuff were very nice and friendly, we loved that breakfast was included too. The bathrooms were worn but not very dirty. I would visit again.

  • 30th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

Great location, clean rooms, comfy beds and hot showers! Although its in the Red Light District there was no issue with security. Breakfast included in the price which was really nice. Really central location and good price for room as well.


89%

The hostel is situated right in the middle of the Red Light District, but it's very clean, safe and drug-free. Valuables can be stored at the reception, at no charge. Luggage can also be stored in the luggage room for the day at no charge. Lack of power points in the room, but the staff will help you to charge your devices in the reception. During the last night of my stay, there was a nice music session, where people performed and jammed.


91%

It's located right next to the red light district which is a little shady after 5 am. But very clean secure and nice staff. Keep in mind that it's a Christian hostel so no drugs, alcohol, or mixing of the opposite gender in the dorms.

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Male Group, 25-30


94%

fantastic warm, welcoming staff. helpful and genuine service. an absolute pleasure to reside here.


91%

Thanks to all the staff of shelter city for your hospitality and warmness, We had a nice stay with you.

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

This is the best hostel I have ever stayed in. I feel the staff treated me as a friend. The food was excellent. The bible discussions were a real inspiration and being able to go to church with members of staff was lovely. As a Christian I would not want to stay anywhere else in Amsterdam and I am looking forward to staying there again in the near future.


77%

The staff was extremely friendly, the atmosphere was very nice as well. If you are looking for a budget hostel to stay a night or two, this place will suit you. It's very secure, and cheap. However, note that bathrooms and bedrooms are quite small and relatively clean, which means that staying for more than two days might not be ideal if you mind your hygiene as much as me. Overall, I definitely recommend it for staying for a short period of time!

  • 26th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Greece
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Great location, the atmosphere was good (not overbearing with religion, but quite welcoming), and breakfast was included and quite delicious.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Very best Hostel, esp. the richful breakfast, and the wonderful Staff! They are really devoted to their jobs and atmosphere of the Shelter.

  • 25th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

An excellent stay here for 3 nights. The cleanest hostel I've stayed in. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. There's only one plug in the room but the staff will charge your phone at reception. Breakfast was really good. Very high quality.


« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
(161 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback