Hostelworld.com

Shelter City

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,445 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.2
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.8
  • Cleanliness 7.9
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10445
52.3723765 4.8988723
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
22nd Jun 2016
8.0

This is a Christian hostel. Although, it was just like a regular hostel. The staff was very nice and they had a very inexpensive Cafe to buy food and beverages. They also had free breakfast. I enjoyed my stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
8.6

Shelter City was amazing! I cannot express enough how kind the staff volunteers were. We made friends so quickly, it was hard to say goodbye. The hostel was so cozy. We loved hanging out in the plaza or playing games in the cafe area. And the location couldn't be beat! I would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a hostel in Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Jun 2016
5.7

Positive - incredibly good location. Negative - difficult to sleep with very poor pillow, old furniture, toilet and shower not particularly clean – the girls at reception unenthusiastic - Not atmospheric, a lot of older people around, not a hostel for youngsters – A CHRISTIAN HOSTEL with bibles on the tables and Christian icons and messages all over the hostel. Upon arrival, you get invited to their hostel activity “church and bible meditation”, if you are not religious it is super awkward.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
16th Jun 2016
6.9

Nice volunteers who run the place but quite unfriendly policies such as only keeping your bags in the luggage room till 6pm and making me checkout at 10 am and check in again at 1 pm when I extended my stay by a day. The rates are also really high for a not for profit run hostel especially in the weekend. For my second night I paid 44 euros. Just not worth it. Also there's no hangout area where you can chill after checking out and perhaps use the wifi and meet other backpackers.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
15th Jun 2016
8.6

No kitchen to use

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Romania, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
7.4

Those rooms definitely need a refurbishment. The lockers are on the lobby and you don't have where to keep your thing in the room. So you have to go outside the room for every little thing and you finish dressing on the lobby. You don't have your own light and you don't have where to charge your phone . And those computers need an update. They work with many volunteers that I think don't know the city to well. Also, as christians they should have more trust in people. The breakfast is very p

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jun 2016
7.7

Quality location and facilities. Only downside would have to be the narrow lockers Hardly could fit anything let alone my not even big travel pack. Within walking distance of everything safe location and area despite being offered some coke within 10 seconds of walking out of the hostel but hey welcome to Amsterdam.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jun 2016
10.0

Thanks for everything!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
12th Jun 2016
10.0

very friendly and helpful staff!!! facilities are clean. I did not realize it was a Christian hostel until I checked in but there was nothing imposing about it. Great location!!!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jun 2016
8.6

I stayed at this hostel twice and in the larger, 16 bed women's dorm. The place was reasonably clean, friendly, quiet especially for being in the middle of the red light district. The free breakfast is decent and there is an early morning take away breakfast if you need to catch a train or plane. The only thing to be aware of is that the 16 bed dorm does not have a lock on the door, so you need to keep your stuff locked up at all times but other then that, I would highly recommend staying here.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.