Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 11667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 11667 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Mar 2017
8.6

This was my 2nd stay at Shelter City. It's a great place for traveling on a budget. The staff are very friendly and helpful. My room and bed were clean . I got a decent sleep. I will likely be back as I pass through A'dam again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Mar 2017
9.4

Very clean and all the staff were very friendly and helped us out in whatever way we needed!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
17th Mar 2017
8.0

Friday night dinner may be free, but don't be fooled, the staff is using that time to try to preach Christianity so if it's not your thing, leave before dessert. That being said, the staff is exceptionally friendly, it's a great, clean facility and a good place to stay if you avoid group activities.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Mar 2017
7.1

Good location and cheap but this place is pretty gross. I dreaded having to go pee just because it'd mean having to to the bathroom. Consistent pee smell, stuff on shower floors, wet walls and counters all the time. Just uncomfortable. Wifi is really bad. Small lockers. Nice staff. Nice outdoor area. BTW if you plan on smoking book another hostel. Also super loud and no privacy since the rooms havr 16 beds.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
15th Mar 2017
10.0

Stayed here before and have no problems at all.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Mar 2017
10.0

Shelter City was the perfect hostel for our weekend stay in Amsterdam. It is close to many attractions/museums and the staff is so friendly! They offer discounted tours and even offer their own free tour to get a better understanding of history about the area. Great stay

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Mar 2017
9.7

Shelter city hostel is a great place to stay. It was my first time staying there and the staff were very friendly and personable. The whole atmosphere of the hostel was great, food was good and accommodations as well. Would definitely recommend this hostel if your staying in Amsterdam!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Spain, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Mar 2017
6.9

Very convenient central location, at the expense of being VERY noise at night.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Mar 2017
6.9

it was special in a city shelter kind of way.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Serbia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Feb 2017
10.0

I loved it, it's cheap, clean, everyone is nice, breakfast is good. But it is still a hostel, so you can't expect too much luxury.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.