Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.6
Fabulous 11861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.6
Fabulous 11861 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.4
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 9.1
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.2
  • Facilities 7.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Apr 2017
9.4

I was only there for 1 night. I felt very safe. The breakfast the next morning was a nice touch. Wonderful way to start my journey going back home! I would stay here again if I was in the area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • kathleenhope2274243
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
26th Apr 2017
6.6

It was alright, I have just had better experiences at hostels. The staff didn't seem too friendly and the showers were not so good. My room was under construction when I checked in and was left a mess til around 4 pm and other girls arrived back to the room around 4 am being very loud

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Apr 2017
6.9

I'm a believer so no issue there. This hostel was not a great value. Rooms are CRAMPED. Staff are great though. Breakfast situation is interesting. One small but very good item then you have to pay an overpriced rate for other items that would make a meal (fruit, yoghurt, coffee refill) Carb only hostel buffet would actually be better. What can I say, I'm hungry.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Apr 2017
10.0

Great hostel. Staff are super friendly and happy to help you out. Yummy FREE breakfast and comfortable beds. Clean and good atmosphere. Great place!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Apr 2017
8.0

I stayed for only one night, but the hostel is ok. It's clean and secure, they offer a basic breakfast, hangout areas and the hostel is centrally located. If you're in Amsterdam for a couple of days, It's a decent option.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
7.7

Shelter city was an okay hostel. I really enjoyed the free breakfast which provided the opportunity to meet people. However, the hostel itself was old and outdated. Each bed did not have outlets, however there were a few outlets throughout the room, and the front desk offered to charge your phone. The shower and toilets were dirty, with stains. Overall the hostel was manageable, however no nearly as nice as I initially expected.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd Apr 2017
10.0

Wonderful people work here. Great and safe

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Apr 2017
10.0

The staff at the Shelter City was awesome and very knowledgeable about everything. The Shelter City was kept very clean and the duvet on the bed was amazing and comfortable. The only draw back, was the bedfast served was not enough to fill you up, but very good.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Apr 2017
10.0

We have a good stay in the hostel. Everything is perfect. Recommend if you visit Amsterdam.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
20th Apr 2017
8.0

It's a Christian hostel - not much of a social party scene, nice enough place with a good location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.