Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shelter City

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 10,942 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 10,942 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 7.9
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.8
Shelter City Located at Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV, Amsterdam.
Shelter City
Netherlands
Amsterdam 1012 BV Barndesteeg 21, 1012 BV
84% 10942
52.3723713 4.8990424
Shelter City
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
8.0

Location was good because it was close to everything -My only complaint was the food (breakfast)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

It was an extremely well situated hostel. Staff were friendly. The included breakfast was appreciated. Alcohol would have been nice but being in the red light district made it readily accessible.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Sep 2016
9.4

Shelter City is a great hostel for people looking for a calm stay in Amsterdam. Nice staff, clean facilities, the cafe has GREAT food for good price compared to what you find in the rest of the city. Very good value for all they offer (free breakfast, fast internet, clean facilities, well located). Beds were a little too close to each other in the 16 dorm female room. The hostel vibe is more suited for small, calm groups than solo travelers, as it is not a party-social hostel.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Sep 2016
8.6

Overall, it was a good stay. One thing bothered me a lot was the bed. I stayed at the bottom bed of a bunk and I couldn't even sit on the bed because the upper bed was placed too close to the bottom bed. I also met senseless neighbors who talked and giggled in the middle of the night and woke me up... well, that was my luck.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.0

Good hostel, centrally located

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
9.4

This hostel was a very refreshing place to stay. The staff would do whatever they can to help you; I was sick during part of my stay and the manger helped me find a Red Cross as well as gave me a free cup of tea. They truly care. The location is not so great because it's right in the Red Light district but once you walk in the atmosphere is welcoming and friendly. The patio is very quaint and the food is delicious. Loved my stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Sep 2016
8.0

The hostel is very nice with all staff Christian. It locates in the centre of Amsterdam, which means very close to the red light district, and that is a bit problematic, i.e. quite noisy in the evening. The price is quite fair for a location like this and it is quite clean the whole time. If you would like to travel to other cities by train, it's around 1 km away from the Amsterdam Centraal station.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • India, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Sep 2016
6.9

The location of this hostel is very good.Though it is located right past the Red Light District the security of this place is good. All the staffs here are volunteers so most of them are students and they are very helpful. Breakfast was very simple not many options.They have lockers but u should have your own lock & keys.The cleanliness of the place was bad. The bathrooms were not much comfortable and they were dirty . Overall its okay for the value of money .

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Sep 2016
7.1

I stayed in a 20 bed female only dorm which was clean but a little cramped - there are lockers provided but they weren't big enough for my large backpack There really aren't enough facilities for the number of people staying there; 3 toilets is not enough for probably 20+ females on one floor. Staff were really lovely and it's a secure location in the heart of the RDL - it is a Christian hostel so they have a no drinking and no drugs policy, if you want to party go elsewhere!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
19th Sep 2016
8.6

The hostel was in a good location, just behind the red district. There were restaurants, coffee shops, bars all around. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were clean and there was hot water which was great. If you're leaving early in the morning you can ask for a take away breakfast which is great. I would recommend this hotel if you're looking for a place to get a good night sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.