Hostelworld.com

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 423 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.3
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.8
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 8.1
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
82% 423
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Singapoure is expensive..yes,it is.but this place is really nice with a reasonable price in a very good location.there is a very nice rooftop for breakfast or just to enjoy,to watch tv.staff was so nice and helpfull.thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • azeem_k5482
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.3

There were only two points to note other than my ratings above: 1. Despite the emphasis being on 'social' in the name, there was very little socializing. People never even said Hi or spoke. 2. The rooms are next to a road through which a number of loud vehicles pass now and then during the night. When I was tired, I slept soundly otherwise I had difficulty falling asleep. The Singaporeans are very nice people in general and the staff was accommodating so it was a relatively pleasant stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 31 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Bunkbeds not squeaky :) friendly helpfull personel, nice location, with rooftop chillout... Would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • russelh94
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
1st Jun 2016
10.0

Stayed here for one night before flying to Thailand, the hostel was really good - especially for the price. The staff were absolutely lovely and the room was great. Would definitely recommend!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
30th May 2016
8.6

Good for a bed for the night but no vibe - wasn't very social as he name suggests but that wasn't the hostels fault. Staff were really helpful and good breakfast choices

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
6.3

Staff was very nice, facilities were not great. The sleeping quarters could have used a good cleaning, the bathrooms were kind of gross. And the wifi sucked. Breakfast was cereal and bread, could be improved upon. Location is pretty good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Overall is good. Just the bed base of the bunk besds are too old and easily broken.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th May 2016
9.7

Everything I can ask for in a hostel. Snagged a spot in a 16 Bed Mixed Dorm for SGD10, which was a steal because of the excellent facilities, location comfortable bed and the good wifi. I didn't minded this, but is that it is right next to the mosque, so it might be a tad difficult to sleep through the morning prayers which starts pretty early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, in the middle of great restaurants and lots of shops. A 5 minute walk to the subway. Friendly staff, one of them even took me and another girl on a morning tour to see the less touristy side of Singapore on his day off! Didn't meet a lot of people, the rooftop bar was pretty much empty every night but maybe I was just out of luck. You get 20% off in the cafe downstairs which serves great burgers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
4.0

the room was negligence of hygiene. Dust was covered under bed. My friend was bitten by bed bugs and cant have an immediate solution as we failed to contact the staff (no answering the phone) and nobody around. My friend has to suffer till the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.