Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 466 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.6
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.8
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
82% 466
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.7

It was located right in the heart of Arab Street, which felt really nice because there are lots of hanging out places, coffee shops, and eating spots. Hostel-wise, overall is great (especially with the 20% discount on downstairs restaurant by showing the room card). It's just the bathroom slash toilet that looks kinda untidy, but all and all it doesn't matter to me. Especially because the heater works all the time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.7

Couldn't get the hot water to work in the showers. We were on the top floor and people had parties on the roof until 2 am, making our stay pretty loud and noisy. Beds were decently comfy and the location close to haji lane was amazing. The streets are lively all the time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.4

Hostel has a good atmosphere, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple with bread and cornflakes. Restroom&bathroom is clean. Rooftop, the relaxing space is good too, but always heard praying sound from the nearby mosque. Staff is very helpful. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and has discount for hostel's customers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Noona_amira
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Aug 2016
7.7

A bit noisy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • amrice
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.0

Location is very good, with in Haji Lane and arab street. Also, a few minutes walk to bugis junction and bugis MRT.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location, near bugis mrt. Cool neighbourhood with lots of cool bars, coffee shops nearby. This was only a quick stop before flying home, but pleasant stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
21st Aug 2016
5.7

We stayed in the private room next to the 16 person room. The thing with there being no staff at night besides the safety problems it can cause is the annoyance you can deal with. Quiet hours started at 10 PM, but people screamed and ran up and down the stairs to the roof until four in the morning. It was so loud and unbearable. I spoke to staff but it happened again the next night, though not /as late. Also at least 18 people sharing three toilets and only two showers is a bit rough.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Great laid back hostel with a great roof terrace to chill out during the day and evening. The rooms were good but it has some flaws, the bunk beds were very flimsy and could feel every movement of the person below, only a small thing but can and was quite annoying. The facilities are good but again with a couple of tweaks could be well improved, group activities would be good as i found big groups that didn't seem to want to mix. The bathroom cleanliness could be improved. Overall nice Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • aishahhamid
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

I like the location, easy to go anywhere and get foods. The cleanliness can be improve but overall I really enjoy my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Aug 2016
6.9

water pressure of washbasin in bathroom(top floor) very small.Others is average.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.