Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 488 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 488 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.7
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.7
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
81% 488
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.3

Good location close to Bugis MRT station. Roof terrace and free breakfast was great! I stayed in a female only dorm which you could only access through keycard. Parts of the hostel need updating but they were in the process of doing that when I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.1

Facilities sufficient: good wifi, water pressure, clean bedsheet, locker comes with key. Friendly receptionists, plus the cafe staff downstairs are accommodating. The only bother was the wall thickness/insulation, I can hear people brushing their teeth from my bed, and the person below me got riled up when someone from next door was knocking on her dorm door, it started a small row (OK that was funny), and you hear a distant singing from across/around the street area?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • djaloe
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.9

Got early check in, the staffs are very helpful. They got excellent location, pretty near from bugis mrt and very near from arab sreet center of attraction. But the hot water seems to be broken, but not a big issue for me. They have small coffee shop below the hostel. Definitely gonna recommend this place to my friends!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Oct 2016
5.7

Wouldnt say this is a social hostel. There is a roof terrace which no one seemed to make use of. The staff didnt as much as say 'enjoy your time in singapore' they werent friendly at all. Not far walk from an mrt station which is good and you get discount on food downstairs - but i wouldnt go there as a solo traveller.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • carlorcross
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Oct 2016
10.0

We booked an overnight stay for a two bunk bed on a 12-bed mixed dorm and staff took my friend's passport and forgot to give it back twice. We only realized that we didn't get to have our passport back 2 hours before my friend's flight. So, called the hostel and requested to bring the passport in the airport immediately. In 20 minutes time, we got the passport. Although a bit disappointed because this had to happen, the hostel went above and beyond with their customer service! Great job!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Oct 2016
8.3

No fuss, good place to crash. 10 away from bugis mrt. Clean and comfortable. Only qualm is the opening hours of reception which was not as advertised. Apart from that, it was a delight. Will come back.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
28th Sep 2016
8.9

Excellent staff. Very friendly , obliging n hard-working staff.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
17th Sep 2016
7.7

It was located right in the heart of Arab Street, which felt really nice because there are lots of hanging out places, coffee shops, and eating spots. Hostel-wise, overall is great (especially with the 20% discount on downstairs restaurant by showing the room card). It's just the bathroom slash toilet that looks kinda untidy, but all and all it doesn't matter to me. Especially because the heater works all the time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
15th Sep 2016
7.7

Couldn't get the hot water to work in the showers. We were on the top floor and people had parties on the roof until 2 am, making our stay pretty loud and noisy. Beds were decently comfy and the location close to haji lane was amazing. The streets are lively all the time!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
30th Aug 2016
9.4

Hostel has a good atmosphere, very clean and comfortable. Breakfast is simple with bread and cornflakes. Restroom&bathroom is clean. Rooftop, the relaxing space is good too, but always heard praying sound from the nearby mosque. Staff is very helpful. The food in the restaurant is excellent, and has discount for hostel's customers.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.