Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 539 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.5
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 7.6

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.4

Awesome roof

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel! rooms are big and they give you a locker to put your stuff in which is really great. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and is fantastic, bread, cereal, coffee and juice. Its quite complete. I hit they main attraccions walking from and to the hostel without any troubles. The shuttle service takes you to and from the airport for nine bucks a ride and the free wifi works super fast. Only downside its bathrooms, super old and tiny. We booked a bus to kuala lumpur from reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
7th Mar 2017
5.4

Not a sociable as the name would have you think it is. The door to my room was broken and you couldn't shut it at all, so not very secure. The air conditioning was broken the majority of nights I was there. Staff are nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
6th Mar 2017
3.1

Where do i start we had property stolen, I asked 3 days in a row for the toilets to be cleaned as there was a lump of p** on the toilet seat but this was never dealt with, there was people staying in the dorms that management did not know about until i informed them and instead of thanking me n my partner they asked us to pay more money upon leaving cus the guy on reception had made a mistake checking us in! I cant advise people enough.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
1st Mar 2017
8.9

Pros: Amazing location Amazing staff Large rooms Amazing AC Great Wifi Free breakfast Con: Bathrooms could be cleaner

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Feb 2017
6.3

+ Breakfast very good + Rooftop + 20% discount at the café downstairs + Location - Dirty rooms - Facilities in bad shape. Everything seems to get old without being replaced. - weird guests.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Great location, decent roof spot for chilling but overall not as social as one would think from the name. Not ideal for solo traveller (unless you're just crashing), more than adequate if you've got mates with you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Nice location, Its just at the Arab Street, many bars over there. some feedbacks for the hostel. 1)No window curtain, I stay at the bed next to window, sunlight makes me cant sleep after 730am. 2)Bunk bed making squeaky noise. 3)Bar's music played until after midnight, sometime it stopped at 1am or later.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

I was staying at a higher end hostel and was not loving the environment there so I booked with shophouse. There a lot of great things about this hostel, but the actual facility needs some work. Some of the windows don't fully shut, the showers are so close to the toilets, so everything gets wet, and it just looks a bit run down. The beds, pillows and linen were comfy and the bathrooms were more private than some hostels. The hostel was in a great location to so many shops and cafes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HelenMct
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.6

We stayed here for one night, we arrived late at night and had to get our key from a locker due to reception closing at 10pm. Hostel was okay good for location and ok for a short stay. Bathrooms weren't very clean and the rooms were really small

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.