X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Shophouse The Social Hostel Reviews

48 Arab Street, Singapore, Singapore

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
280 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 81%Security
  • 89%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 75%Atmosphere
  • 71%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

89%

bathroom small but ok


77%

Thank you so much to the staff who were really friendly (shared their own travel stories), and provided great suggestions and directions of the area. The kitchen upstairs could be better stocked with basics such as tea/coffee.


37%

Very poor. Impossible to sleep in the dorms as people turn the lights on and off and have loud conversations all through the night . There's a very annoying beeping that comes from their front door also which can be heard anywhere. All the doors are key codes but they don't tell you as everyone always props them open, so if you go to the toilet at night prepare to be locked out and sleep on the balcony! Good location though.


86%

Good location close. Room had a/c which was a dream as it was so hot outside. Only stayed here as I had an overnight stop en route to bangkok so not much time but I would definitely stay here again.

  • 11th Nov 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Loved this place! Will definitely stay again next time I'm in Singapore... great staff, awesome atmosphere and just a great place to hang out. :) The suburb was a great place to explore and lots of options for food and drinks. Thanks guys!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the sweet review! We are so glad you had a good time with us :) We look forward to seeing you again in Shophouse! Cheers!

86%

Good social area on the roof. Breakfast simple but good. Friendly, helpful staff. The room I was in had no windows so was a bit dark, but it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Close to the MRT so easy to get around.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you so much for the kind review! We hope you had as much fun in Shophouse as we did hosting you :) We used yellow bulbs instead of the normal white bulbs for the rooms so that the room won't be too bright and won't really bother other guests. Hope you had a good sleep anyway! Looking forward to seeing you again in Shophouse in the near future! Cheers!

89%

Awesome rooftop to chillout, good airconditioning in rooms, very nice athmosphere, bathrooms could be cleaned a little bit more often, but all in all a great hostel! :-)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the short yet sweet review! We hope you managed to make new friends at the social roof and had a wonderful time at Shophouse! Noted on the cleanliness, the housekeepers have been told to step up their cleaning :) We'll see you back in Shophouse next year! Cheers!

83%

everything is great! I left before 8am when the reception is not opened yet so I had to leave the keys under the door, hope it's okay.

  • 27th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


37%

filthy shower-toilet. woke up at 2 a.m. by the noise-music (I heard it from 9 p.m. and thought it would stop in an hour and then fell asleep...) from the street right over the non-soundproofing window- and couldn't sleep till 4 a.m. because the music continued by then. and woke up in the morning to find BEDBUGS not only on my bed but on another bed across mine which was not occupied then. freaked out and checked out right away.


60%

There were bed bugs in the hostel - which is nowadays a widely spread problem so I wouldn't judge a hostel by that normally. However, the way the Shophouse dealt with the problem was inappropriate. They did some cleaning when they realised they had bed bugs, but let people continue sleep in the rooms. So we moved in in between the first and second cleaning and at first didnt know there were bed bugs. Once we found them on our clothes and backpacks as well the hostel cleaned all our stuff but....

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologise that the bedbug issue affected your stay. The reason why we do not shift people to other rooms is to avoid the spread of the bugs from one room to another. Hence, when guests complains, we will take action by steaming and spraying the affected beds/rooms and wash all their clothes. We would rather contain the bugs in one room than to have it spread across the different rooms. Hope you understand where we are coming from :) Cheers!

86%

We travel in a group of 6 female and stayed in the 12-beds-all-female dorm for 2 nights. Our stay was pleasant and worth it, considering the price. Will definitely recommend the place to others, and will consider staying there again when visiting Singapore. 😊

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for the short and sweet review. We look forward to hosting you and your friends again here at Shophouse! Cheers!

97%

Quick access to transportation, great food and many places to relax at night in the area. Staff are very friendly and accommodating. Secure, clean, and cool. Discounts available for many common Singapore attractions. Would recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your kind review! Glad you had a pleasant stay with Shophouse and we hope you managed to make new friends at the hostel during your stay. We look forward to hosting you again if you ever visit Singapore again :) Cheers!

74%

Rooftop lounge area was very cool.

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hope you were able to make new friends at the social terrace during your visit! Looking forward to hosting you again in the future :) Cheers!

66%

Very bad in cleanliness especially in room. There are a lot of bedbugs, whole body is bitten, the bedsheets doesn't seem like being changed, and dust everywhere too!

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We apologise that your stay had been an unpleasant one. Rest assured that all pillowcases, duvets and bedsheets are changed daily and the rooms are swept and mopped daily too. Also, we have looked into the issue and the pest control were brought in to do fumigations to the affected rooms. Bedbugs are easily brought in by guests and it is hard to pinpoint the rooms unless the guests alert us immediately. Cheers!

80%

i'd still would prefer to have the bottom bunk bed for booking next time


66%

Nice terrace: good place to socialize. Good area. Nice staff and caffetteria.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hope you managed to make new friends up at the social terrace! It was a pleasure hosting you and we hope to see you again in the future! :) Cheers!



View all Singapore Hostels

Please give us your feedback