Hostelworld.com

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 412 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.8
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.0
  • Facilities 7.7
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
80% 412
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
14th May 2016
6.3

Staff was very nice, facilities were not great. The sleeping quarters could have used a good cleaning, the bathrooms were kind of gross. And the wifi sucked. Breakfast was cereal and bread, could be improved upon. Location is pretty good.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th May 2016
10.0

Overall is good. Just the bed base of the bunk besds are too old and easily broken.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
11th May 2016
9.7

Everything I can ask for in a hostel. Snagged a spot in a 16 Bed Mixed Dorm for SGD10, which was a steal because of the excellent facilities, location comfortable bed and the good wifi. I didn't minded this, but is that it is right next to the mosque, so it might be a tad difficult to sleep through the morning prayers which starts pretty early.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 36 reviews
24th Apr 2016
8.6

Great location, in the middle of great restaurants and lots of shops. A 5 minute walk to the subway. Friendly staff, one of them even took me and another girl on a morning tour to see the less touristy side of Singapore on his day off! Didn't meet a lot of people, the rooftop bar was pretty much empty every night but maybe I was just out of luck. You get 20% off in the cafe downstairs which serves great burgers!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Apr 2016
4.0

the room was negligence of hygiene. Dust was covered under bed. My friend was bitten by bed bugs and cant have an immediate solution as we failed to contact the staff (no answering the phone) and nobody around. My friend has to suffer till the morning.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Apr 2016
6.9

You get what you pay for The common room/ breakfast area is on the rooftop, quite see to be there to look at the Arab st skyline and Sultan Mosque. Room is filthy, I think the floor have not been sweep for ages,tissues and dust underneath the bunk bed... I stay in a bed near the window, but the window cannot be closed so the ac as escape easily + can be quite noisy... bathroom is mediocre, please wear flops when you enter it. I would suggest adding blinds at beds for more privacy.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
11th Apr 2016
6.6

Nice hostel with good facilities and very friendly staff Unfortunately they have bedbugs... But i got my money back and they didnt make a Problem out of it so i really appreciated that.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Nice staff, nice social room, nice people to talk/hang out with. The only improvement I recommend is to serve breakfast earlier - 8/8:30 is too late. Overall my stay was good. Thank you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • connor_b91
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
5th Apr 2016
9.7

Only the one night but cheapest in ton, superb staff ready to helpful and full of info, breakfast is great for a free bonus, excellent wifi and location, good atmosphere, clean beds and bathroom. One of the best hostels I've stayed at. Keep up the great work guys!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
22nd Mar 2016
9.7

The staff was super accommodating about my late check in (past 1am due to flights) and sent really easy to follow instructions about how to let myself in. Hostel was pretty clean and the location is good. Really close to Bugis station (only a few minutes walk) so you can get anywhere in Singapore really easily. I would definitely stay here again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.