Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 438 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.1
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.9
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
82% 438
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
18th Jul 2016
9.7

I have been to a lot of hostels in the last 3 years and seen all sorts of dorms, so I have some experience when I say this is probably the best hostel I have been to. Blame it on Singapore may be (the perfect country in the world) but yeah this hostel is too clean, too comfy, excellent aircon, safe lockers and a super good burger bar located downstairs. Stay here, and thank me later!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.4

Excellent location. Room was clean but very basic with poor lighting and no window. One of the cheaper hostels with a private room we found and staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.3

Great location, dorms were pretty shoddy, bunks falling apart, my bed actually caved in on itself. No atmosphere or social spaces that anyone used. If anything stay for the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Best hostel I've been to in Singapore. Great cafe underneath too. Only problem is there is loud construction right outside that works all night, so if you're a light sleeper it may not be the place for you until the construction ends. The hostel provides free earplugs though which is nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jun 2016
8.0

Solid, no complaints. I stayed 5 nights, the upper deck is cool for socialising, albeit dull on week nights. Rooms were okay, each bed has its own bright light, depending on which way you look at that it could be a good or a bad thing. AC was fine but not icy. Wifi had its moments, bathrooms were 2 in 1's. There's a super cool hipster cafe downstairs that does quality coffee and burgs, and we get 20% discount as residents. Area is VERY cool, lots of good coffee and eating places. would recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
29th Jun 2016
10.0

If you're staying in Singapore I wouldn't stay anywhere else! Shopshouse is perfect and super cheap for Singapore! Nice and clean with excellent facilities. Staff are super friendly and helpful. Restaurant downstairs serves delicious food at a discounted rate for people staying in the hostel! The rooftop terrace is awesome.Not only is the location perfect for getting everywhere( easy 5 min walk to 2 of the interchange MRT stations) but Arab street is also a really cool area.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Jun 2016
9.7

Singapoure is expensive..yes,it is.but this place is really nice with a reasonable price in a very good location.there is a very nice rooftop for breakfast or just to enjoy,to watch tv.staff was so nice and helpfull.thank you :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • azeem_k5482
  • India, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
8.3

There were only two points to note other than my ratings above: 1. Despite the emphasis being on 'social' in the name, there was very little socializing. People never even said Hi or spoke. 2. The rooms are next to a road through which a number of loud vehicles pass now and then during the night. When I was tired, I slept soundly otherwise I had difficulty falling asleep. The Singaporeans are very nice people in general and the staff was accommodating so it was a relatively pleasant stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • hal_shinta
  • Vietnam, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
14th Jun 2016
8.3

The nearby Working Burger is nice. The internet connection was not good at all, especially when you get into the dorm. The mirror in the bathroom is way too small, there is another one but located in a dark area.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Male, 31-40
  • Globetrotter
  • 32 reviews
13th Jun 2016
9.4

Bunkbeds not squeaky :) friendly helpfull personel, nice location, with rooftop chillout... Would recommend it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.