Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.3
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.3
Fabulous 451 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.9
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 7.4
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.9
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
83% 451
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • amrice
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
27th Aug 2016
8.0

Location is very good, with in Haji Lane and arab street. Also, a few minutes walk to bugis junction and bugis MRT.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 19 reviews
24th Aug 2016
8.0

Great location, near bugis mrt. Cool neighbourhood with lots of cool bars, coffee shops nearby. This was only a quick stop before flying home, but pleasant stay.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Aug 2016
7.7

Great laid back hostel with a great roof terrace to chill out during the day and evening. The rooms were good but it has some flaws, the bunk beds were very flimsy and could feel every movement of the person below, only a small thing but can and was quite annoying. The facilities are good but again with a couple of tweaks could be well improved, group activities would be good as i found big groups that didn't seem to want to mix. The bathroom cleanliness could be improved. Overall nice Hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
7th Aug 2016
8.6

I like the location, easy to go anywhere and get foods. The cleanliness can be improve but overall I really enjoy my stay here.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malta, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
1st Aug 2016
7.7

A nice place at a good price for Singapore. My bed fell twice in one night but the staff handled it very professionally. There were nice areas to hang out and a scrumptious burger place with 20% off downstairs!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
7.7

Hostel is on a great location in Arab street, easy to get around. We had the 8 sleeper mixed dorm, beds were OK, big locker. Room had no window and poor lighting. Showers and toilet were ok as well, not super clean and a bit smelly. Hostel has 2 great rooftop terraces, with possibility to play music and a great view, but nobody was ever there! So this 'social' hostel was not so social.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
18th Jul 2016
9.7

I have been to a lot of hostels in the last 3 years and seen all sorts of dorms, so I have some experience when I say this is probably the best hostel I have been to. Blame it on Singapore may be (the perfect country in the world) but yeah this hostel is too clean, too comfy, excellent aircon, safe lockers and a super good burger bar located downstairs. Stay here, and thank me later!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
7.4

Excellent location. Room was clean but very basic with poor lighting and no window. One of the cheaper hostels with a private room we found and staff were really friendly and helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 16 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.3

Great location, dorms were pretty shoddy, bunks falling apart, my bed actually caved in on itself. No atmosphere or social spaces that anyone used. If anything stay for the location.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
2nd Jul 2016
9.4

Best hostel I've been to in Singapore. Great cafe underneath too. Only problem is there is loud construction right outside that works all night, so if you're a light sleeper it may not be the place for you until the construction ends. The hostel provides free earplugs though which is nice!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.