Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 526 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.0
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 7.9

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Feb 2017
7.7

Great location, decent roof spot for chilling but overall not as social as one would think from the name. Not ideal for solo traveller (unless you're just crashing), more than adequate if you've got mates with you.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
10th Feb 2017
7.4

Nice location, Its just at the Arab Street, many bars over there. some feedbacks for the hostel. 1)No window curtain, I stay at the bed next to window, sunlight makes me cant sleep after 730am. 2)Bunk bed making squeaky noise. 3)Bar's music played until after midnight, sometime it stopped at 1am or later.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
6th Feb 2017
8.9

I was staying at a higher end hostel and was not loving the environment there so I booked with shophouse. There a lot of great things about this hostel, but the actual facility needs some work. Some of the windows don't fully shut, the showers are so close to the toilets, so everything gets wet, and it just looks a bit run down. The beds, pillows and linen were comfy and the bathrooms were more private than some hostels. The hostel was in a great location to so many shops and cafes!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • HelenMct
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Feb 2017
6.6

We stayed here for one night, we arrived late at night and had to get our key from a locker due to reception closing at 10pm. Hostel was okay good for location and ok for a short stay. Bathrooms weren't very clean and the rooms were really small

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
28th Jan 2017
8.0

This was a good hostel, the people who worked there were very nice. The hostel was a bit of a party hostel so keep that in mind. It was also very close to bugis station and was very accessible to the rest of the city.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • cat_s
  • Switzerland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
27th Jan 2017
8.0

Overall this is just a good, simple hostel, in a very well connected area - surrounded by bars and restaurants ! You can even walk town to the marina sands hotel! The facilities are simple but ok. They clean every day, but the facilities are a bit runned down. Amazing rooftop area with a beautiful view! 8 bed female dorm is without widow. Hot showers work, AC and plugs next to ever bed

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
21st Jan 2017
8.0

Nothing too special but happy we came here for the value of money. The cafe downstairs do amazing burgers as well. Staff were very friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Jan 2017
9.7

Great place to stay, a bit of a walk from MRT station but a lot of busses nearby. Fun at night and plenty to look around Recommended place to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
7.1

Was a decent room to sleep and a great location. Bathrooms were quite moldy. Pictures were looked a lot nicer then the hostel. Power went out one night only in the hostel and there was no communication to when it would be back or even that it went out. No windows,fans or Ac.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Jan 2017
10.0

Staying in this hostel is a pleasure. Nothing but fun. This is exactly the example for any other hostel that got a rate below 15 SGD. Completly worth the money we pay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.