Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 555 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 7.6
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • siobhanasia
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Apr 2017
8.0

I only stayed for one night, but the hostel was really nice. Even though the bathrooms were not very clean. The location was absolutely amazing!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Apr 2017
6.3

If you want a great location choose this, if you want sleep then do not. The creakiest bunkbeds with the worst windows, you can hear everything. The common room is cool but its so humid nobody really sits there. This hostel definitley looks better than what it really is.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
13th Apr 2017
8.0

Nice staff, nice breakfast. You have to get used to the all in 1 shower and toilet combination - recurring thing around Asia. Decent AC in rooms, but just pot luck with what your other 12 roommates are. Unfortunately for me, mine were very inconsiderate and left to another hostel, shame. Otherwise nice place!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • aziadawn5611
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Apr 2017
9.1

The staff here are not only kind but they are super helpful and you cannot beat the location ♥️

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
7th Apr 2017
8.3

Great hostel. Cannot confirm comment about no atmosphere, no party yes, but the hostel offers the possibility to meet people the roof top. Which is a great place to hang out as well. Facilities could be in better condition, all is old but working. The beds are "loud".

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Mar 2017
7.7

Location was superb a minute away from the famous Haji Lane and also 5-10 minutes walk from the Bugis MRT Station. The room is quite clean and the bed i think could be cleaner. They also have cool rooftop when you can have your breakfast or just chill out with your friend at night. I got problem on the first night when me and my friends got locked out because automatic door didnt work at 2AM. i thankful that hostel staff responded quickly by came just about 15 mins after i made the call.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
28th Mar 2017
6.9

We stood up for like 30 minutes because there was no staff on reception. The room was okay instead of bad bed and broken door which was not safety. The bathroom was clean. The cool thing about this place was the rooftop. They have Netflix and Playstation.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
27th Mar 2017
9.4

Has everything you need and at a low price for Singapore 🇸🇬 . Beds are comfy, hot water, free breakfast and security card to get in and out plus lockers for your stuff. Was hardly there as out and about.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th Mar 2017
7.4

Awesome roof

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Chile, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Mar 2017
8.9

Great hostel! rooms are big and they give you a locker to put your stuff in which is really great. Breakfast is served on the rooftop and is fantastic, bread, cereal, coffee and juice. Its quite complete. I hit they main attraccions walking from and to the hostel without any troubles. The shuttle service takes you to and from the airport for nine bucks a ride and the free wifi works super fast. Only downside its bathrooms, super old and tiny. We booked a bus to kuala lumpur from reception.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.