Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 617 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.7
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 6.8
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Aug 2017
10.0

Our travel plans changed and we showed up to the hostel after midnight (6 hours later than we told them!), assuming that there would be no way for us to check in. However, they left a note taped to the door telling me to check my email. They sent us the code to a lockbox outside the door which had our key in it to get in to the building. The staff was amazing and it was definitely social! My only complaint was that the beds were incredibly squeaky. I would definitely stay again

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Lithuania, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Aug 2017
8.0

MRT station close, allowing transport around Singapore and to/from airport easily. They lent me a towel for a small amount for the 3 days. Breakfast was pretty basic and they didn't have sugar for 3 days. Cafe under is costly. A downside is the electronic locks on the doors, they often have to be opened at an exact time when buzzed this means you only open the door on the 10th attempt or until someone already inside gets annoyed of all the noise that is being made (especially during the night).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Aug 2017
6.3

the hostel in itself was ok, a little dirty and old, but decent HOWEVER!! while staying there another guest FILMED ME IN THE SHOWER!!!!make sure that you only use the 1st shower since the other two are separated by a wall that doesn't reach up to the ceiling making it very easy for other people to put their phone over there etc. (didn't think about that before) with no security cameras in the hall the guy couldn't be identified. i left but was scared for the girls who stayed WORST EXPERIENCE!!!!

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
3rd Aug 2017
6.3

Pros: The staff very friendly, and allowed late check-in. Mailed me instructions very sweet. Very Good location, quiet, air-coned. Food nearby. The Cons: 1. Toilet not clean, lifted toilet seat I touched very old * stain.mold on door 2. Though I asked a lower bed and was confirmed, I got an upper bed. 3.My locker was broken 4. The hostel is not social 5. Reading light per bed is a very very bright lightbulb without lampshade. much brighter than room main light, affecting other ppl sleeping

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
29th Jul 2017
8.0

Location is walking distance to the metro line. Also a within 30 minute walk to any part of town (VERY CENTRAL). The staff was really friendly and had a good knowledge of the area. The common area was never busy and people didnt seem to socialize much. Overall I enjoyed my stay here and would stay again on my next visit.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • nsmethurst2799
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
28th Jul 2017
8.9

Really central and nice staff, breakfast is good too

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Jul 2017
7.1

Fine stop over. Arrived at 9am limited staff around and had to wait a while to get a bed after a super long flight. But cool neighbourhood and overall fine experience 😀

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Jul 2017
4.9

Had a very bad experience since the door of my room did not work so people kept coming in and leaving the door open so the a/c would just go out and it was freaking hot! Couldn't sleep at all. The showers and toilets were not clean at all, allot of older dudes sleeping there, weird vibes

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
20th Jul 2017
7.7

Very good location - right next to loads of restaurants/bars and very close to Bugis MRT station. The staff were very accommodating and helpful. The security could be improved. The main door didn't lock. Doors to rooms were often propped/left open by other guests. The shower was just attached to the wall of the toilet cubicles, could be an issue for some. Not as social as suggested If it wasn't for the superb location I wouldn't rate it as highly but for the price it's worth it.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
19th Jul 2017
8.0

Pretty good hostel for a couple nights of stay. Bathrooms weren't that clean but tolerable. The cafe downstairs is really nice. Rooftop was nice as well. Breakfast was just bread and cereal. The atmosphere for meeting other people wasn't that great for me, but maybe wrong timing. Overall a decent stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.