Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Shophouse The Social Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.0
Fabulous 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
8.0
Fabulous 498 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.3
  • Location 9.0
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 7.2
  • Cleanliness 7.4
  • Facilities 7.7
Shophouse The Social Hostel Located at 48 Arab Street, , Singapore.
Shophouse The Social Hostel
Singapore
Singapore 199745 48 Arab Street
80% 498
1.3007515 103.8596713
Shophouse The Social Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
13th Jan 2017
8.6

Great location and staff. But too noisy as the rooms face the street and the windows are very thin.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Uruguay, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Jan 2017
9.1

Pretty neat and cozy place, at walk distance to lots of main attractions. Good beds with individual lamps and plugs, free basic brakefast. Awesome roof to chill at night. Not very social, but still a good place to stay. Restaurant downstairs its really cool and you get %20 disscount as guest.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
7.1

16 bed mixed. beds are bad. like sleeping on 3 roadbumps. girl in another room FELL with mattress through bed, due to lack of supports. was hurt beds sucked to sleep on, but ac was on 24/7 in rooms . which was good. bathrooms are only 3.also are the showers. very small. never met ,new ,or heard from staff while here.they run a expensive cafe below. Patio is amazing! great view , newplaystation lots of games, netflix(although wifi rarely worked on roof) so many movies. wouldnt stay again.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Dec 2016
9.1

one big problem. beds... the mattress is really bad. only good if you can get a bed with two mattresses .

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
19th Dec 2016
7.4

Door was broken to our room so it had to be left open, which defeated the purpose of ac and brought alot of bugs in the room. Beds were uncomfortable. Cool rooftop common room and a really great location to great food.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • kremenjasjelena8641
  • Croatia, Female, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 21 reviews
5th Dec 2016
4.9

This is one of the worst hostels I've been to. It doesn't look like on pictures. The beds are disaster, you will not get any sleep. The staff is coming in and out all the time without any reason. The only positive thing is it's really in a nice neighborhood and close to all attractions. I would never stay here again.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
2nd Dec 2016
9.4

this is a well run hostel and the staff are very friendly, it is a short walk from Bugis station and fairly easy to find.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Nov 2016
8.3

Good location close to Bugis MRT station. Roof terrace and free breakfast was great! I stayed in a female only dorm which you could only access through keycard. Parts of the hostel need updating but they were in the process of doing that when I was there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
11th Nov 2016
7.1

Facilities sufficient: good wifi, water pressure, clean bedsheet, locker comes with key. Friendly receptionists, plus the cafe staff downstairs are accommodating. The only bother was the wall thickness/insulation, I can hear people brushing their teeth from my bed, and the person below me got riled up when someone from next door was knocking on her dorm door, it started a small row (OK that was funny), and you hear a distant singing from across/around the street area?

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • djaloe
  • Indonesia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Oct 2016
8.9

Got early check in, the staffs are very helpful. They got excellent location, pretty near from bugis mrt and very near from arab sreet center of attraction. But the hot water seems to be broken, but not a big issue for me. They have small coffee shop below the hostel. Definitely gonna recommend this place to my friends!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.