Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 270 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.5
  • Security 7.2
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.3
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.6
  • Facilities 7.7
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto Located at 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto.
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 603-8175 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku
78% 270
35.0435685 135.7513028
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.4

If you want to try real "old"/poor Japanese style living, do it! Perfect experience if you are little bit adventurous. If you try Japanese style room, it is really nice experience. Building is wooden and everything is "old style" in good way. Of course there is AC, new shower room and microwave oven. Due to wood and poor isolation (because of earthquake) it may be cold during winter, but in summer AC worked well. Little bit far from centre, but at least place is quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

Very quiet hostel in a cute lane house. I thought it was okay - depends what you like. I thought it was a bit dingy and hard to meet people. The owner is quite aloof too. Also - maybe don't stay here if mosquitoes like you because the dorms are a bit inside/outside and i got attacked by them in my sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Nice and oldsyle japanese hostel. I can defenitely recommend this place to anyone who does not want to spend too money much on accomodation but still enjoys a nice and uncomplicated retreat. The location is very easy to find and the original japanese neighbourhood has a speacial charm (for non-asians). Although the mattresses really are not very thick I slept amazingli well and have not really to complain about anything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
7.4

It's very hard to find the location. But the house is very old and cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.4

Overall nice. In a safe area but mostly out of the way from the major transit routes in Kyoto for visiting what one would come to see. No locker to store luggage. The owner is nice, but often seemed frustrated or gave off an unwelcoming vibe. Very cold (in early May), but the blankets provided are more than adequate. Minimal communal space due to the layout of the 4 person gendered rooms. Small kitchen facilities for anyone staying long-term. Good Wi-Fi, and open late for arrival which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
30th Apr 2016
8.0

Good experience, although the owner needs to step up his customer service game and smile more often :-)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, All Male Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2016
6.0

You basically get what you pay for. The 4 bed room for people who consider themselves male is narrow, has paper thin walls, the lower beds don't really get any light, it has two doors as it is kind of a pathway through the hostel, no keys. Being a tall person, I bumped my head a couple of time per day so I escaped onto the roof tops which are quite nice. I'd say its alright for two days but if you are planning on staying longer in Kyoto (like us), I would recommend looking for a different place.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
3rd Apr 2016
9.1

A cozy and cool place to stay. It's a bit far from a lot of the sights and the common room could be a bit more comfortable I guess.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
30th Mar 2016
7.4

Location far from tourist spot except kinkakuji. Live in a truly Japanese style room. Allowed to deliver luggage to or from Kyoto station or other hotel so that you don't need to carry a luggage along with u to tour around kyoto before check in or put in locker where u need to come back & collect.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
25th Mar 2016
7.4

The Guesthouse is lovely and very traditional. Perfect for those who want to experience living in Kyoto like the locals.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.