Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.9
Very Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
7.9
Very Good 321 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.2
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.1
  • Facilities 7.1

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
11th Apr 2017
7.4

It was so cold! It was a really cool place to stay, but might be better over summer, it prevented us from leaving our room to go socialize and meet others. Basically there is an open courtyard, so if you go to the shower or the bathroom you are going outside.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
7th Apr 2017
3.1

I didn't enjoy my stay here, and if you have other options I would book that instead. For an extra 500yen you can stay at a nice hostel, the price I would pay for this place would be max 1000yen. I think I would have slept better at a manga cafe. I was also locked out at night even though I wasn't told of a cerfew. There are no lockers to keep your things safe. In the extreme temperatures of summer or winter I think sleeping would be difficult.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
4th Apr 2017
8.0

Traditional interesting old house, is purely an Japanese experience. Good valued stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 14 reviews
1st Apr 2017
9.1

Very well designed traditional Japanese house, decorated with quite a lot of vintage stuffs. We stayed in 3 people family room, the heater and electronic blanket worked really well, however, the heater in the shared shower room does not warm the room very well in cold weather. As it's a traditional Japanese house, the wooden doors /walls does not effectively keep the noises out. You have to bring your own ear buds if you're sensitive to those noises.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Mar 2017
8.0

This hostel had everything I needed: decent bed, clean shower, toilet and sink facilities, helpful owner, and best of all, bikes for rent. The hotel is a little far from the centre of town, but super easy with a bike. It's still right on the subway line, so only 15 minutes from Kyoto station. The hostel is somewhat basic overall, but it was pleasant to stay in a traditional Japanese house, in a non-tourist area of town.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
16th Feb 2017
9.7

This place is probably the hippest hostel I've ever stayed at. Heated blankets for those cold Kyoto nights. And the common room is stocked with the best jazz/funk records. Would strongly recommend if you're going to Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.7

Good house, very nice traditional feel to it. Cold in winter, however heated blankets are provided :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

If you are looking for a real and explicit traditional Japanese guesthouse, I would love to recommend you to stay at Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto, which is located among traditional Japanese houses in the center of Kyoto and nearby tourist spots. The manager is really nice and guesthousemates are really friendly. I was so appreciate staying there and if I go to Kyoto, I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.6

A really unique little place, great for meeting people from all over. Situated within walking distance of the station, and lovely sightseeing spots such as Daitoku-ji. Only downside is that is winter, the building is coooold. Not unusual for Japanese buildings, but still, dress warm if you are staying in winter!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.3

Nice and small. Traditional feeling. However, it's like staying in a Japanese house of the 1950ies. My stay was in winter and it was pretty cold. They are well equipped with air conditioners and heating though. Was a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.