Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 279 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 6.8
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.7
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto Located at 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto.
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
Japan
Kyoto 603-8175 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku
78% 279
35.0435685 135.7513028
Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
2nd Sep 2016
8.0

A really nice, traditional guest house. It felt very Japanese and old school. Really good to see places like this around.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
27th Aug 2016
7.1

The house has so much character! It's cozy and traditional, a higgeldy-piggelledy rabbits maze. Owner has lots of cool retro paraphernalia scattered around. We loved staying here owing to the charm of the place. The facilities were acceptable for our requirements, but they're modest and a little bit run down. It's in a quiet residential area, only 30min from central but the metro is quite expensive in Kyoto (260¥ each way). It's clean. Owner is very reserved and quiet. Overall we really liked it

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Aug 2016
8.9

Beautiful house... I stayed there one week and wanted to stay more.... Is just a little bit far but buses can take you there straight from dowtown or is easy with a bycicle.. i would love to stay longer... the guy is serious but when he talked to me he used to smile and is not like people say the other comments (at least on my case)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Denmark, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2016
7.1

It's a nice cheap hostel. I really liked the old Japanese style. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Ernesto9009
  • Mexico, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
9.7

The headmaster is a really nice person, he helped us a lot during our staying, he even booked a reservation for my wife and me for a bus to Tokyo, the place is nice and comfortable, and the environment is great, we would like to return.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th Jul 2016
9.4

If you want to try real "old"/poor Japanese style living, do it! Perfect experience if you are little bit adventurous. If you try Japanese style room, it is really nice experience. Building is wooden and everything is "old style" in good way. Of course there is AC, new shower room and microwave oven. Due to wood and poor isolation (because of earthquake) it may be cold during winter, but in summer AC worked well. Little bit far from centre, but at least place is quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
4th Jul 2016
6.0

Very quiet hostel in a cute lane house. I thought it was okay - depends what you like. I thought it was a bit dingy and hard to meet people. The owner is quite aloof too. Also - maybe don't stay here if mosquitoes like you because the dorms are a bit inside/outside and i got attacked by them in my sleep.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Jun 2016
8.3

Nice and oldsyle japanese hostel. I can defenitely recommend this place to anyone who does not want to spend too money much on accomodation but still enjoys a nice and uncomplicated retreat. The location is very easy to find and the original japanese neighbourhood has a speacial charm (for non-asians). Although the mattresses really are not very thick I slept amazingli well and have not really to complain about anything.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Taiwan, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
19th May 2016
7.4

It's very hard to find the location. But the house is very old and cool.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th May 2016
7.4

Overall nice. In a safe area but mostly out of the way from the major transit routes in Kyoto for visiting what one would come to see. No locker to store luggage. The owner is nice, but often seemed frustrated or gave off an unwelcoming vibe. Very cold (in early May), but the blankets provided are more than adequate. Minimal communal space due to the layout of the 4 person gendered rooms. Small kitchen facilities for anyone staying long-term. Good Wi-Fi, and open late for arrival which was nice.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.