Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto

  • 25-10 Shimotorida-Tyou Murasakino, Kita-ku, Kyoto, Japan

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.1
Fabulous 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5
BOOK NOW
8.1
Fabulous 309 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 7.9
  • Location 7.0
  • Staff 8.0
  • Atmosphere 8.7
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
16th Feb 2017
9.7

This place is probably the hippest hostel I've ever stayed at. Heated blankets for those cold Kyoto nights. And the common room is stocked with the best jazz/funk records. Would strongly recommend if you're going to Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
31st Dec 2016
9.7

Good house, very nice traditional feel to it. Cold in winter, however heated blankets are provided :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Dec 2016
10.0

If you are looking for a real and explicit traditional Japanese guesthouse, I would love to recommend you to stay at Small World Guesthouse in Kyoto, which is located among traditional Japanese houses in the center of Kyoto and nearby tourist spots. The manager is really nice and guesthousemates are really friendly. I was so appreciate staying there and if I go to Kyoto, I would definitely stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Dec 2016
8.6

A really unique little place, great for meeting people from all over. Situated within walking distance of the station, and lovely sightseeing spots such as Daitoku-ji. Only downside is that is winter, the building is coooold. Not unusual for Japanese buildings, but still, dress warm if you are staying in winter!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Dec 2016
8.3

Nice and small. Traditional feeling. However, it's like staying in a Japanese house of the 1950ies. My stay was in winter and it was pretty cold. They are well equipped with air conditioners and heating though. Was a nice stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
9.7

It is very easy to find. You just get off from the bus at Shimotoridacho Stn and the house is at the back of the building near the bus stop. I have great experience living here as I got to experience traditional Japanese house with a modern touch but cheap price. Would stay here again if I ever go to Kyoto again as it is very cozy and the host are helpful

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
28th Nov 2016
6.6

The hostel location is not ideal, about 45 mins bus from the train station, but it's close to other tourists attractions such as the zen garden and not too far from the bamboo grove, so for us it worked well. The house is traditional japanese so it's pretty but it's a bit cold outside of the room and not soundproof at all. Facilities were a bit outdated, tiny kitchen so you can be more than one cooking at a time. Staff was really accomodating with keeping our luggage which was helpful.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Norway, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Nov 2016
9.4

Lovely stay, clean and exciting! A little bit cold in the rooms at nights, but in all a lovely place, very traditional japanese. Loved it!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Nov 2016
8.6

We had a pleasant stay at Small World Guesthouse. Although the room was quite small, it was a traditional Japanese style room that was clean and suitable for myself and my partner. We did initially struggle finding the place as it is down a small lane way and easy to miss. I would recommend Small World Guesthouse for those seeking budget friendly accommodation in Kyoto.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
26th Nov 2016
8.0

The owner has turned his old house into a hostel and it is an interesting place... Almost like being in the Taisho Era of Japan. All facilities you may need are available. Towels and soap and toothbrushes, etc, for a low fee. But it is a bit of a walk to and from the nearest station. About a 20 minute walk. Also while there is no real curfew, the main doors are locked at night we found out when we came home late one night. We had to call to be let in...

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.