X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
2043 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 73%Atmosphere
  • 79%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Very good hostel! Nice location, only a few blocks to Dam Square or Leidseplein. Was very clean, but not much people on the bar. The staff was nice and told us how to get to different places.

  • 31st Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are happy you had such a great time at the hostel and in our beautiful city Amsterdam. Come back soon;)

86%

The hostel was very clean and well-organized with great lockers outside the room. It's located in the red light district, within walking distance to everything. The atmosphere was pretty quiet, we were the only guests in our room going out and coming back late at night. Overall, great location, good facilities and very good breakfast.

  • 22nd Jan 2016
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Good hostel, quite large and a quiet location considering it's only 15 minutes walk from Central Station and five minutes from main shopping and sights. Was in a large female dorm and would suggest a dorm with less beds next time, there was a lot of movement of people in and out at all hours. Bathrooms adequate and did not have to wait to use showers etc, a plus. Breakfast was basic and wholesome. The location made it a good choice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to read you had such a nice time! Come back soon;) Have a nice day

71%

If you want to have fun especially if travelling alone DON'T go there. I always easily make friends at hostels but this place just had no atmosphere at all even over the weekend and no-one was socialising. Has a bar there only for guests but no-one was ever there. Would be fine with mates or if you just wanted somewhere to sleep but not to meet people. Good breaky and PERFECT location. Definatly made Amsterdam a bit boring.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, thanks for your review, we appreciate your feedback and are sorry to hear that you did not get to meet some fun people during you stay! We will think about getting more activities to improve the social atmosphere here! Have a great trip and kind regards

74%

The swipe lock to the dorms was broken but was quickly fixed. Great location, friendly staff,


97%

The location is amazingly good!!


89%

Security overall is fine. However a girl managed to sneak a guy in for a all female hostel room.

  • 24th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there. things like that can happen but shouldn't happen ofcourse. Maybe this guy was also a guest from the hostel?! When something happens like this please come to the reception so the staff can solve it. I'm glad you liked the rest and had a great time here!

97%

Really great hostel! Don't let the idea of being in a room of 20 people disuade you. The room was really big and fairly spacious. Really close to the main Red Lights District street, and to Niuew Markt.


69%

Didnt like the rooms and too many people inside, But the cafeteria is very nice and the coffe.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there! Nice you liked the food and drinks. We have 2 other locations in Amsterdam and they provide more private rooms that are smaller;) Also have a look over there next time! Have a great 2016! Cheers

77%

Overall, I had a good experience staying at the StayOkay hostel. They provide good breakfast, which is a bonus. However the cards we use to open the room doors aren't sensible enough so it was a painful experience to open the door everytime.


66%

I have stayed here for two nights. Staff is friendly and location is good. However there is no kitchen (they do have 1 but not for us). The light in the room is pretty dark. As in I get a below bed between two beds there is no light beside me. The girls above my bed on first night is pretty rude because she thought that I have threw her toiletries which she put under my bed.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi And thanks for your review, Glad that you enjoyed tour time here with us. Unfortunately we do not have a kitchen for guests, this is because of food and hygiene legislation. Food is also served in our bar. Sorry to hear that you had a misunderstanding with the girls in the room; such situations are never nice.

71%

Good and clean hostel, nice and friendly café/bar, surprising breakfast but a few more decoration items in the dorms would make it absolutely great, like personal light and plug as well as bed curtain, i felt like sleeping in a hospital :/

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your rating and feedback! We are happy you liked it over here! Come back soon and we will try to make the rooms more comfortable and cool! Have a nice day

57%

Location is great, easy access to trams and walking distance to many places. Security is good. Staff was alright, not very warm or welcoming or helpful. Atmosphere was decent. Cleanliness was average. Facilities are basic. We stayed in a private room, and it was cold out and they had no heating. It was freezing at night, and the one comforter provided was not enough. That should be mentioned ahead of time. There are better places and hostels to stay at with better value in Amsterdam.

  • 27th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

We were immediately greeted by smiley reception staff who made us feel very welcome. Good security - need to use keycard to get into the hostel, into your room lockers and finally to get into the bedrooms. Each had designated lockers that can be padlocked. Fixed a power issue immediately and we were given free drinks for letting them know. Good they had gluten-free bread at breakfast. Environment friendly and clean hostel. Could do with more lights and plugs in rooms but good hostel!!

  • 13th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • daneeeeks
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your excellent review, we are working on getting more lights and power points, hope to see you back again, have a great day!

71%

Mix bathroom is not very good. Should have more outlets on the rooms. Difficult to share one outlet among 20 people

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello, We also have a bathroom only for females, maybe you missed it:(. You're right about the outlets! As a solution we have a powerplant behind the reception. In the near future we will have enough plugs in to the rooms! Please visit us again and have a nice day. Ciao

69%

It was pretty much what I expected. The location was very good as we were always around the red light district area in the night so it was a comfortable feeling knowing that we could come back at any time via a short walk. Also, I think the shower/toilets area needs renovation. Thanks

  • 7th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Stayed for 3 nights, nice and quiet place. Very close to the Red Light District and pretty central to everything else.

  • 6th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Toilets and showers are great. Rooms are too dark.

  • 5th Nov 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Only one power point in a 16 bed room wasn't great, but other than that I enjoyed my stay. The weekend prices are almost double the weekday prices so keep that in mind for budget. Beds and showers were very good and the breakfast was worth getting up for, obviously the earlier you get there the more variety.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and information to others. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and had a good time. Come visit us again;) Have a nice day!

86%

Very clean and secure hostel with large bright airy rooms.Lots of large lockers.Friendly staff. No kitchen Only one electrical outlet per room, you can charge your phone downstairs but it's hardly convenient.They claim this is for security but that is bull. Place is a bit sterile.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi there, great you liked the rooms, lockers and staff. Because there are not enough plugs in the room you can charge your phone at the reception. It's also more safe at the reception, but it's not our main reason;). Thanks for your review and rating! Have a nice day and please visit us again

« first « Prev 1 2 3 4 5
(81 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback