X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Stayokay Amsterdam Stadsdoelen Reviews

Kloveniersburgwal 97, 1011 KB, Amsterdam, Netherlands

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
1401 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 92%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 74%Atmosphere
  • 77%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

Quite expensive for a large dorm, but then again, so is everything in Amsterdam. Breakfast was included, and the rooms were large, clean, and not cramped at all. Would recommend.


71%

The facilities are really good, the breakfast is awesome, however it lacks atmosphere. There were never a lot of people in the bar (even on the night Netherlands was playing in the world cup) so it was harder to meet people when travelling alone.


91%

This hostel was in a great, quiet location, only 5 minutes walking from all of the action. In addition, I loved that the lockers were big enough to fit a giant suitcase inside...you didn't have to leave anything out if you didn't want to. There was no AC in the room, so staying on the top floor got a bit warm at night. The bathrooms are cleaned daily, but with so many people using them, they got dirty quickly. However, there were plenty of showers, toilets, and sinks - no waiting!


100%

Great location, close to Red Light district but quiet like it's not. Friendly staff and travelers. Would stay again! Only downside is no food or alcohol allowed in rooms and the Wifi only works in the lobby


94%

Nice hostel in a great location close to most of the main attractions and the red light district. We took out a full dorm for a stag weekend and it was great, friendly and helpful staff, decent beds and a good breakfast and bar, couldn't ask for much more.


100%

I was highly satisfied with everything. This was the nicest hostel I've experienced thus far. More than accommodating staff, Everything was very clean, very satisfying breakfast, PERFECT location, and the price was cheaper than expected for the experience. Met people from all over the world, and the hostel has a lovely lounge that serves drinks and food to hang out in.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your great review and ratings. We are very happy to hear that you had such a great stay with! Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

86%

Great hostel but very pricey

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are happy to hear that you had a great stay. We do believe we offer good value for what you pay for. Especially compared to other places in the area. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

83%

This place had some great common areas and pretty average bedrooms. The breakfast is better than most and it's right near the red light district and a plethora of food options.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review and ratings. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you liked our breakfast and location. Frank, Stayokay Stadsdoelen

57%

Well located, but brings in all the people who only want to get wasted every night until 5 am. Impossible to make friends, the other travellers are very disrespectful. Impossible to have a good night of sleep there. No help from the staff for that aspect.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

We got a room with 20 beds, I thought there where no room enough between the beds… two people couldn't be between the beds at the same time. NO locker for free available to leave the luggage, and no computer for free. The toilet was good… very nice showers, but also very small to change clothes on the dry side. The staff was very nice and the location is perfect.


77%

It was a great hostel very clean and secure, however the atmosphere was not very up beat. most other hostels i have stayed at have had brightly colored public spaces and a very up beat atmosphere. also he rooms were kind of drap and almost prison-like with the stainless steel beds and dim lighting. overall it was a good bed and i had no issues making sure everything was secured.


80%

It was a bit pricey, but everything in Amsterdam seems to be more expensive anyway. The breakfast is awesome! Stayed in a 10 dorm. They give you sheet and pillow case covers. Bring your own towel bc they are 5 euros! The location is very central! Close to the red light district, and tram stops.


71%

Decent hostel, you get what you pay for and that's about it. Great location. Could be cleaner and I wish the lockers were in the same rooms as the beds. Decent bar in it with okay prices. No outlets in the sleepers so you pretty much can't charge your phone unless your downstairs. Also no wifi anywhere but the lobby.


60%

This was my second stay at the hostel. A big minus for not offering towels for guests. We stayed in a room of 16 females and I can't say I slept well. The breakfast was a great value for money. Location is just alright - a 10-minute walk to the Dam Square. I wish there was a better atmosphere all-in-all.


63%

This place will suffice if you need somewhere to stay. It is in a really good location in Amsterdam. It is not too clean and pretty old. The highlight of the place is the bar/lounge and location. However, please be aware that there are basically NO plugs. The lounge has a few but it closes early. When asking for access to electricity, I was rudely spoken to by the staff who seemed to care less. Like I said, this place is fine otherwise and we had a good experience.


80%

Good Things - The hostel is in a very good location. The room was clean and also the shared bathrooms. The gentleman in the reception (a mature man with glasses) is very kind with very good attitude to support the guests Neutral - None Bad Things - The building is too old and the room needs some improvements. The WiFi is only available near the reception. There is a guy in the staff very rude acting like if he were doing me a favor


74%

Stayokay Hostel is very good with a excelent location, but there were a lot of people in the same bedroom and the bathroom is outside of the bedroom, this is the only negative aspect.

  • 20th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

Definitely feels a little like a prison with steel beds, but not a bad hostel overall. Very close to all the major attractions, and the free breakfast is pretty good. Wi-fi is slow in the rooms, and there are no individual power plugs.


94%

Awesome hostel experience! The local is absolutely perfect, right on a canal and walking distance from everything in the city. The staff was helpful and the rooms were pretty standard and very clean/secure.


60%

The place to take shower was really bad. Too small to get change and the water stops on the floor mixed with water from the other showers. Inside looks like a old hospital/prison something like that. There is not plugs inside the room, so you have to live your phone charging in other room. Internet doest work well inside the room.

  • 17th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(85 results)


View all Amsterdam Hostels

Please give us your feedback