X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Sultanahmet Violet Apartment Reviews

Yerebatan cad. Salkimsogut sok. No:6 Sultanahmet-, Address 2 :, Istanbul, Turkey

Reviews & Ratings Explained

60%

Rating
18 Total Reviews
  • 60%Value For Money
  • 60%Security
  • 100%Location
  • 40%Staff
  • 60%Atmosphere
  • 40%Cleanliness
  • 60%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

60%

I was am disappointed with the room as it was filthy not clean wel, Wi Fi internet was not working sometimes comes but very slow, the electricity been cut the last day which means all the cheese and food I had bought went off , means as well that the room is too hot and fan not working as well as water. No one came to change the bed sheets No one even come to collect the rubbish , I couldnt even use my phone or my camera or go out no power electricity . ants came to the room ,

  • 5th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Egypt
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


The reviews below do not count toward the property's recent rating.
Hide older reviews
74%

The room is very small for 2 people


54%

The apartment building is in a good location. We were just a few blocks away from the Blue Mosque, Sofia, palace, and many museums. The manager let us keep our extra suit case there while we were travelling around Turkey. We didn't have the use of an apartment as we expected for our week. A close review of our email with the owner revealed that we got what he promised but not what was implied by the website. The bed was poor, room small and hot, and bath poor. Overall I wouldn't recommend.


20%

Do not trust this hostel, you room will be double booked. Then you will end up in elsewhere in a lower standard accomodation. The water tap was broken, no room heating was available. Blankets are very thin and not enough to protect from cold. Very unreliable property. Please think twice before you book this hostel. Very bad customer service.

  • 4th Nov 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Bangladesh
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
You are right that we had double reservation.It was not intentional. We had dificulties in closing our availability at hostelworld.com resulting in this rare occasion of a double booking. Your reservation was a last minute one which caused us the issue. Due to this error we found you appropiate accomidation at another site according to your details originaly sent through. The origional booking was for 5 persons, but upon arrival there were 7 in your group, still only wishing to pay for 5. During some period of the visit the tap was broken and repaired at our expence. This was not contracted to you and not charged for this. Please be fair and tell the story as an objective person. We apoligise for the error of a double booking but rightly house you in another location incouring extra expence which was not charged to you. Your group estamite was incorrect and you damaged property which you have not been charged with. If this is unfair then i am unsure to what is.

94%

Violet apartment is a good, clean place, with an excellent view. It's location is strategic, you are in the heart of Sultanahmet and the Hagi Sophia and Blue Mosque are actually visible formt he balcony! There's running hot water, electric tea-kettles, extra blankets, fresh towels and what is more, enough bathroom slippers for every one and more! The manager is very cooperative, courteous and proactive, if you need to book cabs for sight-seeing/airport.

  • 25th Oct 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • India
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Our family enjoyed our stay in Sultanahmet Violet appartments. The panoramic view of the sea and especially of the Hagia Sophia is really fantastic. The appartments are located in 'the place to be' of Istanbul. Most of the sights are within walking distance. Compliments for the owner Naim. He is always friendly, extremely helpful and strives to make it as pleasant as possible for you. Well, he succeeded successfully! Thanks Naïm

  • 8th Aug 2012
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Mixed Group, 41+
  • (1 review)


63%

The apartment did not have a kitchen and on the site there was photo of a kitchen and there is none. So there were only two rooms and we do not call this an apartment. The rooms are full of beds and there is no place to live. It is very dirty with all kinds of carpets on the floor and you better don't look under the beds.... The shower is at the toilet and very poor. The floor in one bedroom was soaked during our stay. There was also a terrible smell. The view and situation are excellent.

  • 15th Oct 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Couple, 41+
  • (1 review)


90%

small but clean has every thing it said it would plus a great location. staff are caring and concerned that wall is well.

  • 23rd Jun 2011
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


90%

It's a really nice place to stay, close to the historical center of Istanbul. From the uppermost apartment (where we stayed) you have a beautiful view of Haga Sophia from your balcony! Nearby the apartment, there's several places to eat cheap and a lot of kiosks to buy stuff like water and snacks. We will return again!


100%

LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! LOCATION! Perfect location to stay in Istanbul. Walking distances from all the major sites. The staff were very friendly and more than welcome to help with any questions we had. The view from the balcony is amazing! I will definately go back when I visit Istanbul again. Thank you for making us feel at home!


97%

Great location, i just love it! The owner of this place is very very friendly and help us a lot. Thank you Naim and looking forward to see you next year. We wish you all the best!


63%

We have been a couple of weeks in the five person apartment with kitchen. The apartment is not very nice, but is located in a good location. The cleanliness is not what you expect for the price, and is the biggest mistake of the house. Carpets, fornitures and items for the kitchen are kind of old and dirty, and you better dont look bellow the beds. If you need the darkness for a good sleep, this is not your place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
After reserving a 2 week stay at our place and then deciding that they wished to leave after 4-5 days of their stay and so cancel their reservation.This is too late for me to refund their money as i will be unable to fill the reservation at such short notice and no reason whatsoever to make false accusations in relation to cleanliness in the review.Read other reviews.

87%

Le propriétaire est réellement très gentil, convivial et très honnête. L'appartement est très très bien situé .


100%

Will go there again on my next trip to Istanbul!


93%

Its a great place and I recommend to stay for a few nights in the heart of European Istanbul with friendly and trustworthy people at Violet. Near to walk to a lot of sight-seeing and well connected to the public transport.


87%

We had a fantastic stay at the apartment and our host made us feel very welcome. The only difficult we had was in finding the apartment when we arrived in Istanbul. More detailed directions and map would be useful.


97%

thanks for making us very welcome naim!




View all Istanbul Apartments

Please give us your feedback