Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 505 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.5
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 7.5
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.4
  • Facilities 6.7
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel Located at 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Hobart.
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart
74% 505
-42.8806577 147.3277008
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
13th Oct 2016
8.0

Great location! Situated right in the city centre so everything was within walking distance. Has a funky bar downstairs to grab a drink or a bite to eat. You can get your boogy on from your room as you can here the music from downstairs quite loudly. Staff were friendly. Only downfall was my room was really cold, other then that it was good value for money!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thank for leaving a review with us. We are happy to know you had an enjoyable stay in our hostel. We certainly do have a great location in the centre of the city. Our downstairs bar offers great entertainment and a hearty menu with discounts for guests. We are glad our staff could be of service to you. We hope to see you again!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
2nd Oct 2016
6.0

A good location, but that's about all. It was cold, damp and fairly miserable. The only heating appears to be a few random radiators, there was a leaking roof in the hallway leading to the bathroom (given that it rains a lot in Hobart, this is a serious problem!), and the hostel appears to have sacrificed much of its former common areas in order to open a new beer garden, which no doubt brings in some extra cash, but makes the hostel both extremely loud and rather cramped.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Oct 2016
8.0

the hostel itself was really clean & had a great location for exploring. However, the main problem was that there were mainly local men staying who would start drinking first thing (7am) ande by the afternoon/evening would create a really uncomfortable atmosphere, i would recommend to a girl travelling alone..

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Sep 2016
8.9

I recommend this hostel for Tassie backpackers. Friendly environment and staff beyond convenient price :)

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Sep 2016
4.6

Absolutely disgusting communial kitchen - food scarabs left every where, dirty water in the sink, foul smell. The whole place is just so disgusting. Do not stay here if you're a girl on your own - I believe people live at the hostel who are very rough around the edges.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
11th Aug 2016
6.9

Towel hire is $2. Locker hire is $4 with a $5 deposit. There is a smaller kitchen that doesn't have many cups or mugs but otherwise is well stocked. There appeared to be a lot of people living in the hostel. Many restroom and shower options, even a bathtub in one restroom. The place was fairly clean but not a lot of power points. The attached bar has a restaurant as well but the prices weren't backpacker friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jul 2016
6.6

Best price for a hostel in Hobart and great central location. Above a lively pub but the staff, although friendly, are just pub staff and the facilities are a bit dated and the kitchen isn't always clean. Not very busy in winter but still had some atmosphere.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • China, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
5.7

need more improvement on cleanliness

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2016
10.0

Everything good except the fact that the kitchen on the ground floor was a little messy. Cooking utensils were pretty old.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
6th Jul 2016
9.7

Just a quick stopever before the five-day tour. Clean, warm, centrally located. Coffee, tea and towels available in the room. A hostel beyond standard. Will definitely return for another stay.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.