Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.8
Very Good 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
7.8
Very Good 557 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.9
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 8.3
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Aug 2017
5.1

The rooms are badly maintained, the sheets and room smell damp and smelly with crumbs of dirt underneath the beds. There's only 1 small fan heater in the room. Power outlets are lacking not just in the room but in the common areas as well. It needs some major cleaning to be done. It was also a bit noisy as the room is beside the streets. The sinks are clogged and bathrooms are worn down. Also stayed in a room with a long termer and I didn't feel safe. I wouldn't recommend staying here.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2017
9.4

First stay in a Hostel & i really enjoyed it. I was on my own & wanted somewhere safe for a first experience... I didn't even hesitate about my safety at one point. The bar downstairs was great, outside area too. About a 10 min walk to Salamanca. Would return with no hesitations!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
22nd Jun 2017
4.6

Worst hostel where I've been in 2months in Australia. Well.. price and location are the good things of this hostel but I highly recommend to pay a bit more to go somewhere else. No people, nor socket if you want to charge your device in the common areas, small kitchen with nearly nothing, cold corridor (late June).. even the staff wasn't that friendly and welcoming. The room was decent but without curtains.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
6.0

Cheap place in good location, the pub underneath is nice for a drink, but both the pub and beer garden are pretty loud and could be heard from my bed so don't expect to get to sleep early. No security locker in the room just a wooden cupboard. The pillows are really bad. You can only use, either the Kettle or the toaster in the kitchen because there is only one power point which is pretty annoying if there are a few people making breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
7.1

kitchen was super small- would be really hard to cook during peak season. hostel was above a nice pub and cool bar next door which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th May 2017
8.0

The lack of common areas, limited internet access and location next to two bars made the stay slightly uncomfortable. However, the staff was helpful and the location was good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
7.1

Cool place for a budget hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything you could ask for from a hostel beds upstairs and a bar downstairs they give you a 2 for 1 voucher on arrival, I stayed here each of the three times I've visited Hobart and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

You gotta love this place. It is fun, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep even on a Friday or Saturday night. It is right downtown and they can arrange for the shuttle out to the airport for you. I assume they could arrange a shuttle pickup from the airport to them if you emailed them to do so. The staff here is friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Atmosphere isn't as open as I would've hoped, not much common area space. Other than that they have all the basics.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.