Hostelworld.com

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
7.7
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.7
Very Good 467 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.8
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.8
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel Located at 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Hobart.
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart
77% 467
-42.8806577 147.3277008
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
7.7

Yeah alright

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.3

Great location and awesome setup! This is a gem of an older building. The bar downstairs is a very cool spot complete with patio out the back. A variety of rooms spread out in the maze-like building gave it some real character. Rooms were good, clean and well-kept. Lockers available for rent (flat rate $4) if you wanted them. Walking distance to shops, cafes, pubs, and the harbour/Salamanca market. Staff were super friendly and helpful with everything we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
4.3

I've stayed in a lot of crappy hostels, but still was on another level. There is no security in the hostel. My food got stolen from the fridge and housekeeping left our dorm door open after cleaning despite rucksacks and backpacks still being in there. The staff made you feel like an inconvenience even just for checking in and out. It say free wifi, but that only matters when you can connect to it in your room - which I couldn't. People staying there long term made you feel unwelcome.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
9th Mar 2016
7.7

Nice Room, good value for money.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
29th Feb 2016
9.1

Lovely old building, plenty of spaces to relax and hang out, great location opposite the supermarket and bottle shop with one of the cheapest restaurants in town right next door. Very happy I stayed here. The dorms seemed a little cramped, but nobody seemed to spend much time in there, as there are so many communal areas.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
29th Feb 2016
4.9

A French girl in the reception help us a lot and in a nice way about some stuff in the room. However the rest of the staff at reception was muddy, rude and very arrogant (the manager maybe). The rooms smell muggy and not well ventilated.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
27th Feb 2016
6.3

good hostel, if: no kitchen is needed (or you can handle messy and poor equipped kitchens), if you can sleep with loud music from a bar.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
25th Feb 2016
9.4

Not sure how this place is rated lower than Pickled Frog. I stayed at both and enjoyed this one much more! Closer to main attractions and had a better atmosphere imo.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
16th Feb 2016
5.7

It was good that it was so close to the pub and the atm.... Not close enuff to the pokies though I had to walk a few hundred metres to gamble which was frustrating.... Also the place had steps as well... These were hard to climb, especially after 10 pints I think they should get an elevator. I thought it was rude that we weren't allowed to smoke in the rooms too because after I sink a few I just wanna lung darts in bed. It was difficult to keep going outside, up and down the steps again!

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 11 reviews
7th Feb 2016
7.4

Fantastic location, lovely friendly and helpful staff, nice clean rooms. Free drinks vouchers for the bar and hotel next door. The completely under equipped and dirty kitchen completely lets the place down!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.