Hostelworld.com

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 475 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.4
  • Security 7.7
  • Location 9.6
  • Staff 7.8
  • Atmosphere 7.1
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.6
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel Located at 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart, Hobart.
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
Australia
Hobart Tasmania 7000 67 Liverpool Street, Hobart
76% 475
-42.8806577 147.3277008
Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • CaughtDatTravelBug
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
20th Jun 2016
8.0

Really great hostel to stay at! Perfect location directly opposite Woolworths and right next to the mall. One of the few hostels I've stayed at that has a fully equipped kitchen, and even a free food section!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jun 2016
6.3

The restaurant is nice, the hostel not really.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jun 2016
8.3

This was quite a good place to stay, the bar down stairs is really nice, the rooms clean and quiet. My only complaint is that my towel was stained and possibly dirty when I got it. Put me off a little

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Globetrotter
  • 22 reviews
16th Jun 2016
9.1

I returned after a few years to find the down stairs communal area drastically smaller with a smaller kitchen, which was definitely one of the highlight of this place from memory(now the pubs space). I really enjoyed our private room & the staff were helpful! Location was so central, we walked EVERYWHERE! Two things, the kitchen tap needs to be fixed and I think there was someone sleeping on the couches in the common room every night we were there, which made it a strange space to share.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
23rd May 2016
7.4

Overall is good except the one and only one light in my dorm is not functioning. I stay only one night so... nevermind... besides, wifi is SUPER slow, cant even see any video on youtube. And limited bandwidth 250mb per ppl per day.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
14th May 2016
8.3

Great location in Hobart CBD, great value for money. Showers were clean, though there was mold on the walls and ceiling. Rooms were good enough, but maybe a little damp and cool, and there wasn't good access to outlets. I did not use the kitchen, but it looked pretty neglected and in need of some cleaning and organizing. Overall, I would stay here again as the price was very reasonable.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
11th May 2016
8.3

Awesome spot, cold in winter but all of Hobart is, typical hostel setup, but above a pub.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Apr 2016
7.7

Yeah alright

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
26th Mar 2016
8.3

Great location and awesome setup! This is a gem of an older building. The bar downstairs is a very cool spot complete with patio out the back. A variety of rooms spread out in the maze-like building gave it some real character. Rooms were good, clean and well-kept. Lockers available for rent (flat rate $4) if you wanted them. Walking distance to shops, cafes, pubs, and the harbour/Salamanca market. Staff were super friendly and helpful with everything we needed.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Mar 2016
4.3

I've stayed in a lot of crappy hostels, but still was on another level. There is no security in the hostel. My food got stolen from the fridge and housekeeping left our dorm door open after cleaning despite rucksacks and backpacks still being in there. The staff made you feel like an inconvenience even just for checking in and out. It say free wifi, but that only matters when you can connect to it in your room - which I couldn't. People staying there long term made you feel unwelcome.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.