Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 542 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.6
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 9.4
  • Staff 7.7
  • Atmosphere 6.9
  • Cleanliness 6.7
  • Facilities 6.4

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
7.1

Cool place for a budget hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything you could ask for from a hostel beds upstairs and a bar downstairs they give you a 2 for 1 voucher on arrival, I stayed here each of the three times I've visited Hobart and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

You gotta love this place. It is fun, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep even on a Friday or Saturday night. It is right downtown and they can arrange for the shuttle out to the airport for you. I assume they could arrange a shuttle pickup from the airport to them if you emailed them to do so. The staff here is friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Atmosphere isn't as open as I would've hoped, not much common area space. Other than that they have all the basics.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.6

Terrible stay. The rooms were smelly and dirty - no windows. Staff didn't know about their own promotions (i.e free chicken parmigiana on checkin). They also stuffed up our booking. We booked a 4 bed dorm and they split up our party and put 2 of us in one room and 2 of us in another room. The location was good but definitely not value for money and I think there are better options out there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

clean and tidy, chilled out place. Staff were helpful and happy. Pretty cool that its inside a hotel. Connected bar is nice to have although it closes pretty early. Lockers being miles from room was pretty annoying but whatever. Beds were comfy and showers were good! Good value for money and very central!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good, clean & helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jan 2017
8.6

All good really. No activities organised, but otherwise pretty good facilities, awesome beds and matresses. Good pub. Awesome live music.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
31st Dec 2016
5.7

Room was in need of a very good clean. The carpets smelt terrible and there is no natural ventilation. For the price the charged a better standard was expected.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Hong Kong, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
22nd Dec 2016
3.4

The room and place is nothing like those in the pictures. I was shocked to find out the reviews from hostel world and tripadvisors were in such a big difference. The twin room I booked was a very small bunk bed room with a dirty sink next to the bed. The shared bathroom does not separate female and male which was also not mentioned on their web page. The photos they showed mostly reflect the bar right below their rooms. Socket was loose enough that I dare not to use. A very bad hostel experience

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.