Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Tassie Backpacker @ The Brunswick Hotel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 550 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 9.5
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 7.0
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.7

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
13th May 2017
6.0

Cheap place in good location, the pub underneath is nice for a drink, but both the pub and beer garden are pretty loud and could be heard from my bed so don't expect to get to sleep early. No security locker in the room just a wooden cupboard. The pillows are really bad. You can only use, either the Kettle or the toaster in the kitchen because there is only one power point which is pretty annoying if there are a few people making breakfast.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th May 2017
7.1

kitchen was super small- would be really hard to cook during peak season. hostel was above a nice pub and cool bar next door which was nice.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Estonia, Female, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
10th May 2017
8.0

The lack of common areas, limited internet access and location next to two bars made the stay slightly uncomfortable. However, the staff was helpful and the location was good!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Apr 2017
7.1

Cool place for a budget hostel

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
30th Mar 2017
9.7

Everything you could ask for from a hostel beds upstairs and a bar downstairs they give you a 2 for 1 voucher on arrival, I stayed here each of the three times I've visited Hobart and would stay there again.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
24th Mar 2017
10.0

You gotta love this place. It is fun, but quiet enough for a good night's sleep even on a Friday or Saturday night. It is right downtown and they can arrange for the shuttle out to the airport for you. I assume they could arrange a shuttle pickup from the airport to them if you emailed them to do so. The staff here is friendly and helpful.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
3rd Mar 2017
8.3

Atmosphere isn't as open as I would've hoped, not much common area space. Other than that they have all the basics.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Feb 2017
4.6

Terrible stay. The rooms were smelly and dirty - no windows. Staff didn't know about their own promotions (i.e free chicken parmigiana on checkin). They also stuffed up our booking. We booked a 4 bed dorm and they split up our party and put 2 of us in one room and 2 of us in another room. The location was good but definitely not value for money and I think there are better options out there.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
29th Jan 2017
9.4

clean and tidy, chilled out place. Staff were helpful and happy. Pretty cool that its inside a hotel. Connected bar is nice to have although it closes pretty early. Lockers being miles from room was pretty annoying but whatever. Beds were comfy and showers were good! Good value for money and very central!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
15th Jan 2017
10.0

Very good, clean & helpful staff

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.