Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 2952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 2952 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • sofiehjort
  • Denmark, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
21st Apr 2017
9.4

Good location - just 100 m walk to the big market in China town where you can buy good cheap food. Nice staff - really helpful! We lived in a 4 beds dorm and it was under average - nothing special. If you looking for a party - this is not the place. It's really chill and relaxing - television on all the time.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2017
7.7

Guy at front desk was cool. Good location.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Falkentochter
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Apr 2017
9.4

Liked it a lot! Will go back there in a week.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Apr 2017
7.7

Really relaxed atmosphere, as a result of the common room with tea and coffee all day. Twin bedroom was spacious and basic, with aircon. Bathroom facilities were clean, shared. Just slightly strange that you had to take off your shoes downstairs and therefore be bare feet in the toilet too. Super central location. All in all a great stay

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
11th Apr 2017
9.7

First time staying here. Stayed here for 2 nights with my friends. Had a very good trip. Few stuffs can be improved. But still, it was a great experience at The Explorer Guesthouse.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
9th Apr 2017
8.6

Really clean modern hostel. Comfy beds that didn't make much noise. WiFi is only in the lobby which can be a little annoying, and it does mean everyone comes down just to check their phones not socialise

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
9th Apr 2017
9.1

I had a very pleasant stay at the Explorers Guest house. It's clean, beds are comfy and the location is perfect. Very close to the Pasar Seni Subway Station and China Town is in walking distance (about 150 m). Breakfast is simple but good and the staff is very helpful when it comes to giving you advise about KL. Would stay there again.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Mexico, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
3rd Apr 2017
7.4

It was a really cool experience overall. Sunny, the reception guy is super cool and friendly. Ivy is also a lovely person, but she got so confused when I wanted to change my reservation for 2 nights as I wanted to stay in the private bedroom with the guy I met and then go back to my already payed nights at the mix 6 bed dorm. If it wasn't for this guy that helped me explain to her, she would've charge more money to me. Also she got a really bad attitude in the beginning bt solved at the end.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2017
8.3

I liked the place which is well situated and as there is no internet in the rooms I met a lot of friendly people in the lobby. There was some insects in my bed and got a lot of bites in my back the first night. The lady however was very kind, she upgraded me to an individual room were all was fine.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
20th Mar 2017
10.0

I was actually really looking forward to write a review for this place. It was fantastic. Staff were very helpful, location great as it's very close to the train station and some major shopping areas/central market/historical buildings,etc. AC in dorm rooms was amazing. I was a bit turned off at first at having to take shoes off...but the entire place was so clean it ended up not bothering me at all. Great common area and they have loads of travel guides and books you can borrow.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.