Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.8
Fabulous 3050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.8
Fabulous 3050 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.2
  • Location 9.2
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.1
  • Cleanliness 8.7
  • Facilities 8.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
16th Jul 2017
7.7

Wifi only available at the reception area. Walking distance to the "underground" and 2 min walk to Chinatown, but quite far from Petronas Towers and "new down town", so check before in which area of the city you prefer to stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • bigsmallsteps
  • Poland, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 5 reviews
13th Jul 2017
9.7

I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Lovely atmosphere, very clean and backpacker friendly. Would definitely recommend! :)

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Jul 2017
8.3

Hostel was in great location, with Chinatown and central market in walking distance. Facilities were clean and staff was nice, only thing I did not like was the bunk beds. It was literally a steel bunk bed, very insecure and every time you move, it creaks. Also, every time you come back to the hostel, you have to press a button and wait for staff to open the front door for you, safe but inconvenient.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
6th Jul 2017
8.0

Clean, good wifi in the lobby, friendly staff, very close to the Central Market and Petaling street, not far from two LRT stations. It was a shame the other guests were so noisy throughout the night and there was no window in the room.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
4th Jul 2017
9.4

I liked this place. Very clean. Large. Nice common areas; nice roof. I was initially turned off by the lack of windows in the room and the mildewy smell, but the air conditioning took the smell away and the room was spacious (for a hostel room with 2 bunks) and very quiet.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Indonesia, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
1st Jul 2017
9.1

i choose a private room with my friend and we have a enough large room i think for 2 twin bed. friendly staff , maybe it's a little bit old built but overall it's okay . free breakfast (bread+jam,tea and coffe) .location is perfect for walking to central market and near LRT.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Jun 2017
7.4

Beds were SUPER creaky, even a cough would make the loudest noise. Showers were full of mold and smelled of urine. Lockers were very tiny and could barely fit 1 tote bag. Otherwise, guests and staff were very friendly and location was great.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • alistairhamilton
  • England, Couple, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
28th Jun 2017
8.3

We started 3 nights in a double private room. The room was spacious and clean with A/C but no windows. The bathrooms were also clean. Wifi was unavailable in the rooms but this is pretty standard. Whilst there was a lot of travellers there not many people spoke and it was quite quiet. It is a in a great location, close to petaling market and the security was also good with a 24hr reception. I would recommend this hostel.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Jun 2017
9.1

Awesome hostel. Ticks all the boxes, clean, security, free basic breakfast, decent rooms. Be social in the common room it's the only place for internet, very underrated rooftop terrace no one ever went up on. Great if you want mix of relax/quiet/active people. I wish they would have a board people could write on what they are doing that day to encourage more interaction.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • jadetalley09
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
25th Jun 2017
9.4

Checked in late and realized I made the booking wrong but they still accommodated for us and gave us a room to sleep for a couple of hours. Very generous and want to make sure you have a great time! Beds weren't too bad and great A/C

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.