Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
8.9
Fabulous 2,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
BOOK NOW
8.9
Fabulous 2,582 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.8
  • Security 9.1
  • Location 9.3
  • Staff 8.9
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 9.1
  • Facilities 8.5
The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel Located at No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, , Kuala Lumpur.
The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel
Malaysia
Kuala Lumpur 55000 No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee
89% 2582
3.1455724 101.6968131
The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
20th Jul 2016
10.0

Place is accessible to establishments and transportation. The price is good, place is safe and receptionists are friendly. I'm a solo backpacker and I will recommend this place 😁

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
16th Jul 2016
7.4

Good, clean hostel in a good location

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Thailand, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
16th Jul 2016
8.3

I stayed here only one night but it was a nice place easy to find and go around KL. For the dorm room that I stayed don't have personal light quite hard when you have to get up early and pack your bag while another still sleep.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Scotland, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
15th Jul 2016
9.4

Really great hostel! Staff were so helpful and friendly, gave me some great advice on where to go in KL and how to get around. Really clean and tidy, also free tea and coffee (&toast until 11am) which is always a plus. Was nice to sit in the lobby and have a cuppa while meeting new people. Only get wifi in the lobby but that didn't bother me. Stayed in a 10 bed dorm which was very clean and had plenty of space, though no privacy as there are no curtains attached to the beds.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
10th Jul 2016
10.0

The hostel itself was amazingly clean and well kept but quiet, which is exactly what I want in a hostel but I'll admit isn't for everyone. Just next to Chinatown so you can get some great food nearby, if you want good food anywhere the eis good, the Indian quarter does amazing food and just 2 streets up is Soong Kee's beef ball place, well worth a visit but be sure you can use chopsticks. Also get the chicken porridge.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
8th Jul 2016
8.0

Great place to stay for a couple of nights. Location right on the edge of Chinatown, reasonably priced. Free toast and coffee for breakfast. However no charging points or lights in the beds and the room doors do not lock automatically (the doors have the buttons on the inside handle which you press prior to closing the door to lock it) which in reality means they are often left unlocked.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
7th Jul 2016
8.3

This hostel needs to invest in wifi extenders and a better internet plan. There is NO wifi in the rooms. Internet service in the lobby becomes abominably slow during peak hours. Malaysia has great Internet infrastructure. Kuala Lumpur is the capital. There is absolutely no excuse for this hostel to not have fast, reliable internet in this day and age.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Jul 2016
8.9

We had a really nice stay at the Explorers guesthouse. The hostel is clean and the staff is nice. It's located right next to chinatown, which was nice try a lot of Chinese food there.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Costa Rica, Mixed Group, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.7

This hostel is very nice. Very close to Chinatown and Medeka Square. Close to metro station too. The staff is relax and very helpful. The only con is that the internet just work in the communal area in the ground floor. They can keep your extra luggage for free and have books to lend while you are there. I am going back as my flight home departs from KL.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
2nd Jul 2016
9.7

Perfect location to get to from the airport and to explore KL! Also very relaxed atmosphere to chillax after an exhausting sightseeing day.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.