X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel Reviews

No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1889 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

Except for the unperfect Wifi facility (provided in first floor only) it's a good choice to stay in KL


97%

The free breakfast is a fantastic bonus for backpackers looking to save money, the staff are very helpful with ideas for things to do, great experience - we are heading back soon.


91%

Had a wonderful time at explorer's, would definitely return!

  • 11th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

i had an enjoyable stay here. the staff are lovely, very engaging and friendly. would have been great if there's wifi in the room instead of always going down and staying longer in the lobby.

  • 10th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Staff are 10/10. Rooms are comfortable. Room key and lockers provided in the female dorm. Toilets are clean and nicely decorated. Awesome lounge area with a great atmosphere. Will be back!

  • 8th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Singapore
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


97%

A great hostel. beds were so comfortable,dorm and bathroom were both spotless. my only criticism is that each bed doesnt have an individual light/power socket but I would definitely stay here again.


97%

We enjoyed our stay really, the hostel is perfect located in the middle of Kuala Lumpur. The building itself has a nice appeareance!


89%

This hostel has a spacious common area and is in a great spot for the Central Market, where cheap, tasty food is easy to find. It's also close to bus, train and metro services. A grand spot!


89%

Very clean and modern hostel with excellent wifi, however this killed the atmosphere a bit as no one talked to each other. A very good location being in China town and close to the 'go kl' free bus services and train station.


100%

I've now been here three times. I commented before on the friendly staff and convenient location. I want to add how impressed I am with the cleanliness of the place. They go above and beyond to keep the rooms and common areas tidy. Not an easy feat given how popular the place is and the turnover.


89%

A great hostel! The best double bed during our trip :)


100%

Thanks a lot for a great week, will never forget this!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


100%

We really loved to stay in The Explorers. Thanks for making our first days in Malaysia so comfortable!

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Czech Republic
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

Good hostel! Comfortable rooms and they provide towels. Some downsides: there is no lamp and electric socket per bed which is a bit troublesome, there are no electric sockets in the bathroom for hairdryers and there was internet only in the first floor. Location is good and staff are very friendly. The atmosphere is good and the decoration is very cool!


89%

Breakfast could be better and more healthier. The cups need to be bigger.

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

Really excellent hostel! Really surprised at the space and facilities of the communal areas!


83%

Basic, but conveniently located - would highly recommend. Good value for money.

  • 26th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)


100%

Explorer's was excellent for our stay in KL. The location was perfect... close to the sentral market, railway station, and some cool landmarks and museums. The staff was very helpful and gave us tips on where to go during the day. The hostel itself is big with good showers and clean bathrooms. There is a nice rooftop terrace to have beers and relax at night. The lobby is a good place to meet other travellers and have a good breakfast to start your day! Definitely recommend staying here!


100%

Explorers Guesthouse is a great hostel! Really nice staff, great atmosphere, clean, WiFi downstairs and breakfast in the morning. It's well located too. I stayed for 14 days, and I didn't have any problems.

  • 23rd Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

One of the best hostels I've ever stayed at. A cheap, clean, and safe hostel that is located right in the middle of Kuala Lumpur. The staff members are very kind and accommodating without being pushy. I would come back to this hostel every time I visit KL!

  • 21st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


(117 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback