X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Explorers Guesthouse and Hostel Reviews

No 128 & 130 Jalan Tun H.S Lee, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Reviews & Ratings Explained

90%

Rating
1814 Total Reviews
  • 90%Value For Money
  • 92%Security
  • 91%Location
  • 93%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 92%Cleanliness
  • 86%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

The best hostel i have ever stayed: good location, the place is clean, people there are friendly and very helpful. Thank you!!!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Poland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


94%

The staff was absolutely wonderful and went above and beyond to make my stay pleasant!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


97%

This is a great hostel in a great location. The staff are very friendly and I would stay here again for sure.


97%

It was a great stay here, i absolutely loved it!

  • 1st Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)


91%

I really enjoyed my stay at the explorers. The rooms were clean. The staff was amazing. One of the older ladies at the front desk was really kind and made me feel right at home. The staff members were always willing to assist.the hostel had a great vibe and I met some amazing people. I would definitely recommend this place. The only downside was that the wifi was only available on the first floor.

  • 31st Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Africa
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


77%

Its a really quite place, great to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city.


97%

Better if I could use wifi in my room. Except that, my stay was great.


97%

Amazingly friendly atmosphere, helpful staff, convinient location in the centre of Kuala Lumpur. I'd like to thank all the people that work in the hostel for their extreme patience (they were woken by us several times in the middle of the night as we had to check in or out at very inconvienient times), still they rememained friendly and helpful :)


83%

Good place to stay for 1 night or so, facilities are clean and comfortable. In the heart if China town so close to stations etc. It's not really great if you want to meet new people as the atmosphere is more of a transit hotel nature. I would consider staying again as it was decent value.


74%

Good place if you want to be in the city center. The whole area is a bit depressed though.

  • 18th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


80%

Nice to stay here,


100%

was a great stay

  • 16th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


97%

I had only a brief stay here, but it was a nice one. Everything was great, my only complaint would be that there isn't a ton of space in the dorm rooms to put your stuff.


74%

Ok place to stay. The location is a bit dodgy, be careful especcially at night. The dorms have no windows.


91%

Very convenient location when arriving from the bus station. Not all surroundings should be tackled alone by women at nigh. Fancier than the usual hostel. Staff was amazing. Welcoming and helpful. And... peanut butter! Strongly recommend.

  • 13th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

This hostel is very clean and comfortable with helpful and friendly staff, especially Ivy who helped me several times to direct me around the city and plan my adventure beyond KL. After visiting other travelers at their hostels in the area, I'm glad I picked Explorers because of its location, staff, great facilities, and quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

  • 12th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

only slight complaint was the room had no window.


71%

Room with no window? darkness? If you're a vampire, fine, but i like to have a window, have some light coming in. Hated the unisex bathroom. who wants to see some hairy chest and more in the morning. too much information. the atmosphere, clinical, nobody talked to oneanother. everybody just busy with their mobile devices. Sheesh, talking to real people, now way. Small kitchen area next to the toilet. Yummy.


91%

This hostel has a good position of the city, locating between some sightseeing places, quite near one metro station. But it is a little chaotic in the midnight, so need to be careful once heading out late. The staff and atmosphere in the hostel is warm, feeling so relaxed here. Btw, Wifi only works in the hall, but it may be the good reason to gather people together. I definitely visit it again when I am back to KL.


100%

Awesome hostel.


(114 results)


View all Kuala Lumpur Hostels

Please give us your feedback