X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Monkeys in the Trees Reviews

49 Becklow Road, Shepherds Bush, London, England

Reviews & Ratings Explained

76%

Rating
607 Total Reviews
  • 74%Value For Money
  • 82%Security
  • 71%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 70%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

Brand new place ;) Everything's been redecorated and repainted and it looks really good!

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Nice free breakfast, good wi fi and a nice bar/chill out area. Clean hostel but it just had maintenance so still smelled a bit of paint. But minus the smell, nice colors.

  • 29th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


71%

If it was not for the middle-aged Polish guy who was friendly, talkative and helpful, I would have felt very unsecure in that hostel, since the manager seemed like a gangster.

  • 29th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Spain
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


54%

It wasnt clean and its very dirty and there are dusty everywhere

  • 24th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Malaysia
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


69%

Very good and warm Hostel, but it is far away from the main attractions and underground. We had some problems with bathrooms, and water was not warm to take a good shower.


80%

Staff was very friendly and we had a nice time while there.

  • 18th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


63%

I really wanted to like this hostel, it has a catchy name and a nice website. The 'tree' I slept in didn't look anything like the ones on the website and I ask for a privacy curtain which it didn't have. The mattress was awweful! I could feel ever single one of the springs and my light didn't work. The bathrooms always had wet floor because the shower head holders were all broken and you end up accidentally getting water everywhere. Mould in corners one basin hanging off the wall. Bar good!


89%

I liked the hostel

  • 4th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


89%

Good place, small hostel which means you get to meet a lot of people. Small kitchen and bathrooms.

  • 3rd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Had a great, short stay. Staff is very friendly, especially Bart who took his time to give me directions and make sure I don't get lost. Good free breakfast, boiled eggs are a nice touch however if you come late you might miss them. Good wi fi and not exactly next to the station but a 10 minute walk does it. Code operated doors can be a hassle so don't forget to make a copy or you might be stuck in the rain at night... See ya

  • 2nd Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


69%

Good for what it is. As with any hostel, the connection to a pub makes atmosphere either exceedingly good if the right people are around or bad if the right type isn't there. The beds and pillows are also well below par, just lumpy and uncomfortable.


91%

+ Very friendly staff, clean place and a nice breakfast - small-ish bathrooms, not exactly central

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Cozy bar and met many nice people. Good prices too.

  • 27th Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel! Codes on all the doors and lockers available, so no problem with security. The staff were great and the facilities fantastic, especially with free breakfast and a pub downstairs that showed the Wales game! And all for £20.

  • 22nd Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Wales
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


40%

While the location and security of the hostel were fine for the price for a London hostel, the facilities were not up to any standard that should be approved by an inspector. Every room outside of the bar was in poor condition. There was mold in every room I entered, even the dorm. The bed was fine. Every room I saw had only the plain metal bunks. The common space in the hostel is unwelcoming and cramped. The pub below was empty and a little dingy. The breakfast was less than continental.

  • 21st Nov 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


31%

The beds in the 19 bed dorm was the worst I've ever slept in! I could feel every spring in my back. And there was a distinct smell of mould in the dorm as well! Staff seemed nice and the hotel pub looked very cosy but honestly I've stayed at many cheap hostel before but this was the absolutely worst and not even that cheap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to hear about your terrible stay but we don't have a 19 bed dorm so maybe this review shouldn't be addressed to us.

66%

very nice staff, liked the bar downstairs and the free breaky ^^ but the rooms were really dirty (though bathrooms were clean but very old) , the beds were horribly uncomfortable. alright for backpacking or party-trips to london but if you plan a relaxed stay you´ll better search for an other place.


60%

Pub-comfortable, welcoming; location-decent; Staff-friendly, courteous, knowledgable; Beds-squeaky, unstable, and some unsafe (semi-detached ladders); Mattresses-the worst I have encountered in 15 years of hostels, comparable to sleeping on a box of bundled wires. Noisy and run down! Things needed repair; especially broken showers, faucets, and fans. (And the credit card machine). Dorms could use: a thorough vacuuming, wall hooks, a mirror, a chair, bedside: lights, power, shelves.


94%

Felt really welcome and at-home here, the staff were fantastic and GREAT pub too! Having somewhere safe to keep my bike was a bonus, too. I'd definitely come again!


91%

good hostel for long term people, plenty of warm showers and most rooms are quite big. very friendly atmosphere and cute little bar downstairs. quite far from metros and city center. recommended


(49 results)


View all London Hostels

Please give us your feedback