Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Red Boat Mälaren

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.2
Very Good 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.2
Very Good 864 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.7
  • Security 8.2
  • Location 8.2
  • Staff 6.8
  • Atmosphere 6.6
  • Cleanliness 7.3
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 8 reviews
24th Oct 2016
6.3

Great idea, a hostel on a boat, but it is lacking atmosphere and the staff weren't that helpful. When I was there the common room was deserted and the staff didn't talk either.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
20th Oct 2016
4.9

it was cool to stay on a boat hostel so I would recommend it for one night. staff is really unfriendly and not very helpful. atmosphere is almost none

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.3

The red boat was a wonderful and unique way to stay in Stockholm. The boat is beautiful and very authentic, and our little cabin was perfect for two travelling friends. The hostel really should not advertise snacks or dinner, as both nights the staff member stated that he was too busy to make any food. That's fine, these things happen. But just don't give the option and avoid disappointment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
7.7

It's an Okay place. The location is good in that it's right near the downtown area. It was a little hard to find initially but it's walking distance to everything. As you'd expect, its cramped, a bit uncomfortable and my room with 2 bunks didn't have functioning windows so it made the room stuffy. The bathrooms were spotless! I didn't like that it had no lockers or shelves. I also didn't like that food was not allowed, no common fridge or anywhere to heat water on your own.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Sep 2016
5.7

It's cute when you first hear that you will be staying on a boat however, it's an actual boat which means tiny tiny rooms for 4 people to stay, small bunk beds, no wifi in the rooms only in the reception area. Also, the rooms are divided with a piece of wood I guess since everything can be heard from any room. No space to put your belongings, especially if you are staying for more than a few nights and you have a bigger luggage than a weekend getaway.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
6.6

Great location, very small rooms. All staff didn't make me feel welcome. Front desk guy made me put down a deposit, girl in my room said she didn't have to. When I checked out he was waiting for me to leave and gave no indication of giving the deposit back until I asked for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
7.1

Location wise is perfect but the accommodation is not so good. No internet on the second deck Room is too small no activities No locker room Staff are very nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
26th Aug 2016
8.0

The location is right in the old town/Gamla Stan, great for sightseeing. Only have 2 complaints - wifi doesn't work on the white boat, and the top bunks do not have ladders attached to them, just some small removable steps. This is fine if you're tall but at 5"1 tall, I struggled and had to swap to a bottom bunk! Other than that a great choice for Stockholm.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.