Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Red Boat Mälaren

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.2
Fabulous 856 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.1
BOOK NOW
8.2
Fabulous 856 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.6
  • Security 8.5
  • Location 8.9
  • Staff 8.5
  • Atmosphere 8.5
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.1
The Red Boat Mälaren Located at Södermälarstrand kj 6, , Stockholm.
The Red Boat Mälaren
Sweden
Stockholm 118 20 Södermälarstrand kj 6
82% 856
59.3213127 18.0612123
The Red Boat Mälaren
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
15th Sep 2016
6.3

The red boat was a wonderful and unique way to stay in Stockholm. The boat is beautiful and very authentic, and our little cabin was perfect for two travelling friends. The hostel really should not advertise snacks or dinner, as both nights the staff member stated that he was too busy to make any food. That's fine, these things happen. But just don't give the option and avoid disappointment.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
7th Sep 2016
7.7

It's an Okay place. The location is good in that it's right near the downtown area. It was a little hard to find initially but it's walking distance to everything. As you'd expect, its cramped, a bit uncomfortable and my room with 2 bunks didn't have functioning windows so it made the room stuffy. The bathrooms were spotless! I didn't like that it had no lockers or shelves. I also didn't like that food was not allowed, no common fridge or anywhere to heat water on your own.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Turkey, All Female Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
1st Sep 2016
5.7

It's cute when you first hear that you will be staying on a boat however, it's an actual boat which means tiny tiny rooms for 4 people to stay, small bunk beds, no wifi in the rooms only in the reception area. Also, the rooms are divided with a piece of wood I guess since everything can be heard from any room. No space to put your belongings, especially if you are staying for more than a few nights and you have a bigger luggage than a weekend getaway.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
1st Sep 2016
6.6

Great location, very small rooms. All staff didn't make me feel welcome. Front desk guy made me put down a deposit, girl in my room said she didn't have to. When I checked out he was waiting for me to leave and gave no indication of giving the deposit back until I asked for it.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
29th Aug 2016
7.1

Location wise is perfect but the accommodation is not so good. No internet on the second deck Room is too small no activities No locker room Staff are very nice

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
17th Aug 2016
9.7

Really incredible!! The hostel is actually an ancient boat right in front of the Old City, it made me approach the wonderful city of Stockholm in a completely different way! Moreover it's clean, comfy and funny, I was only disappointed by the lack of a guest kitchen, but wasn't a major problem. Definitely recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jul 2016
8.9

Really cool/fun concept for a hostel. Right on the water with a great view of the city, especially sunset. Very short walk to old town and the ferries. Friendly, accommodating staff. Nice breakfast available to buy. Very clean. Rooms are pretty tiny and can get hot with multiple people in there, but it IS a boat, so it's kind of expected. Linen was provided and was decent quality. Nice common areas, including out on the decks. Women's showers not very private. Big spiders outside, but not in.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
27th Apr 2016
8.0

Beautiful, and moody old boat in the harbour one of the best boats to stay on in Stockholm. Staff were friendly and happy to talk about Stockholm and provide some recommendations of things to do and see in the city. Food was a touch pricey but....... Stockholm in general is a touch pricey. Note though that the rooms do not have lockers so you'll be staying in a dorm room of strangers and hoping that no-one goes through your stuff. There is a lock up at reception for smaller items though.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
15th Apr 2016
8.9

I stayed in a twin private room, at the white boat. There was no internet signal at there - I qualify it as bad

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
31st Mar 2016
8.9

A very sweet and unique spot to stay in Stockholm. The cliffs just above where the boat is docked offer an amazing viewpoint of the whole city at your feet.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.