Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Red Boat Mälaren

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
8.4
Fabulous 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3
BOOK NOW
8.4
Fabulous 880 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.8
  • Security 9.0
  • Location 9.1
  • Staff 9.0
  • Atmosphere 8.3
  • Cleanliness 8.3
  • Facilities 7.3

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
25th May 2017
6.0

This hostel is charming because it's on a boat. That's about all it has going for it. Because it's on a boat, it feels damp and smells mildew-y. The rooms are tiny and cramped. I don't recommend this hostel. If you want a fun novelty place to stay, try the Hotel Langholmen (Langholmens Vandrarhem). It's in an old jail! You sleep in the cells! The location is comparable, the rooms are so much nicer, and it costs the same.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
24th May 2017
7.1

Good hostel, would definitely recommend

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
23rd May 2017
7.1

Wi-fi is almost useless. Rooms are really small for even hostels. Beds are small to. You really have to want to stay on a boat to enjoy this novelty. They did check me in early and the view is nice outside the boat.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • France, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th May 2017
8.6

Great location, good value for money. It is 25 min walking distance from Arlanda express central station. It is a real amazing experience to stay in boat cabin even if they are small (We were 2 in a 4 beds dormitory). The breakfast is good (nothing fancy) for small budget. I definitely recommend this place for a short stay.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
28th Apr 2017
8.3

Cool set up. Walking distance to Gamla Stan & soldermalm - two of the most recommended areas to explore. I was surprised to find I think I was the youngest staying there at 28 yrs old. I was in the cheapest room with 2 sets of bunk beds. Room was way too small for 4 strangers. Only 1 person can possibly be out of their bed, standing at a time. The toilets and showers and sinks sometimes didn't feel clean but if I would return 10 min later they would be cleaned. Clearly the staff works hard

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Argentina, Couple, 31-40
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
14th Apr 2017
9.1

The hostel is amazing and really nice. They prepare food but we couldn't Cook by ourselves. However, the staff is so friendly! There are two boats, and if you have to sleep at the white one, you can't use wi fi because of signal. Is about 10-15' from the central station and the harbour, and 5' from Gamla Stan. We've a great stay here!!!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • alexmacfarlane5279
  • Scotland, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
17th Mar 2017
9.7

It was very fun to stay on a boat, but also very pleasant: a comfortable bed (if narrow), a quiet setting away from busy streets but a short walk from Gamla Stan. I'd happily return.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Mar 2017
6.3

No towels provided, pretty grim shower facilities, and you have to make your own bed which is the last thing you want to do after arriving at a hostel. No wifi in the rooms and incredibly expensive. However the staff and food were really nice and the location is good. The reception area is a lovely place to chill. All in all, fine if you're willing to shell out big money for the gimmick of staying on a boat!

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.