Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.5
Very Good 1,022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.5
Very Good 1,022 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.9
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.1
  • Facilities 6.8
The Venice Beach Hostel Located at 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles.
The Venice Beach Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291
75% 1022
33.9893320 -118.4497040
The Venice Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
6.3

There were two locations of the hostel, one where we checked in and one where we stayed. Both of them difficult to find, no signs. We had a private room, which was very small and cold. The breakfast was at the other location, so we would have had to walk outside and walk a few minutes, what´s not very convenient when it´s raining really hard. The stuff was nice but all in all it was way too expensive for this accommodation. I was disappointed from the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
4.3

Old house turned hostel. The place smells. 2 bathrooms and 2 showers for 30+ people. Privacy whilst showering: only a flimsy curtain, and the shower is in the main bathroom (which cannot be locked). Beds are very squeeky and you can feel the springs through the mattress: bad back guaranteed in the morning. Can't say if the sheets were clean or not. Towels are 2$ extra. Floor has very old dusty carpet. Kitchen makes you want to clean everything twice before using it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.1

It's as grungy as any hostel. All the facitilities function well, but there's just a bit of that odd charm, like why is there a van in the storage space? It doesn't really matter though. It's pretty to get to Venice Beach if you want on the bus line. It's not really close to any metro, so it's a bit of a trek to get anywhere else in the city if you don't have a car. If you do have a car, there's a lot of amazing drives really close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

We stayed two nights at the hostel. The staff we friendly but it's a very basic hostel. It's about a 15 minute walk to Venice beach, about an hour walk to Santa Monica pier. The rooms were relatively clean but could be improved. A few new things in this hostel would help a huge amount.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Colombia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Dec 2016
9.4

Nice hostel in a prime location. Just rent a bike for $15 the whole da from the hostel and ride the bike route to the beach, follow beach bike route north stooping at the shops in Venice, the pier in Santa Monica. I you are in good shape go up to the Bel-Air Bay Club where the beach bike route ends. The bikes at the hostel is really cheap when compared with the the rent bikes shops.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
23rd Dec 2016
10.0

Very nice hostel, just a few minutes from the beach. Different concept really, looks and feels very cosy and friendly. Met some really cool people there. The manager Ian is a really nice guy, he helped me out a lot and I suppose is pretty nice for an Englishman. Highly recommend this place.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
21st Dec 2016
9.1

Terrific staff, great atmosphere and a great place to stay if you like hostels, the only thing that put me off was that the beds were not the most comfortable, the springs were quite hard.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
16th Dec 2016
5.7

I was greeted with, "You can only stay for a few days because Americans steal." Bread for breakfast. Windows open all night so some guests were literally catching cold. People they liked less were sent to another location. Lack of privacy with windows that won't shut. Just... weird.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Please accept our apologies, during your stay we were operating with temporary staff due to Xmas vacations. We haven't had a theft in over 10 years & American travelers are more than welcome. Incidentally breakfast is two types of cereal, toast, coffee & fruit.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Nov 2016
4.6

THE WORST STAFF I HAVE EVER MET. They told us they were making a huge exception for us since were American.Tati and the manager were rude,condescending& judgmental. When they got there they kept questioning why we wanted to stay there& treated us like criminals&made us feel extremely unwelcome just because were american.we asked 4 a refund&said we werent going to stay there regardless&they said no&once again were condescending,telling us they were doing us a favor because we were dressed nicely.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

As per the website, we offer accommodation for international travelers or US citizens visiting LA not local residents who live 5 miles from the hostel. The manager explained the situation & said she would make an exception, you accepted this & proceeded to check in Although you later decided to check out early & return to your apartment we did fulfill our booking obligations. The manager was courteous & professional in the way she dealt with you & your obvious sensitivities.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Nov 2016
10.0

Really nice hostel. Friendly staff. Nice quiet and homey feel with a great interior and comfy beds. Near lots of places to eat/drink/chill. I'd definitely stay here again and recommend to anyone.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.