Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 1033 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.6
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.2
  • Atmosphere 7.7
  • Cleanliness 6.8
  • Facilities 6.8

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Poland, Female, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
12th Feb 2017
6.3

There is no parking, you park on the street.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
4.3

Terrible beds. 2 showers only 2 toilets only. Not clean

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Feb 2017
9.1

This spot was in the perfect location, felt clean, & welcoming. The staff was friendly and all visitors were kind and outgoing.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
5th Feb 2017
8.6

Its a bit cold on the 3 weeks a year it rains.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Female, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
4th Feb 2017
4.3

Not really worth the money. If you like drunk people or drinking too much that's the place for you. It´s not a big deal if someone is completely drunk and spreads his stink there. Couldn´t breathe when I had breakfast. Staff is cleaning everyday, but there´s still smutch from the past years on the surfaces. You don´t even get a duvet cover for your blanket, not very hygienic. You cannot lock the showers and the toilets. There´s just 2 bathrooms for many rooms. The breakfast was simple and okay.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
24th Jan 2017
10.0

Nothing worse than being sick on vacation. The staff was so helpful about everything. I was lucky I stayed there. A+++

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Austria, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jan 2017
6.3

There were two locations of the hostel, one where we checked in and one where we stayed. Both of them difficult to find, no signs. We had a private room, which was very small and cold. The breakfast was at the other location, so we would have had to walk outside and walk a few minutes, what´s not very convenient when it´s raining really hard. The stuff was nice but all in all it was way too expensive for this accommodation. I was disappointed from the hostel.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jan 2017
4.3

Old house turned hostel. The place smells. 2 bathrooms and 2 showers for 30+ people. Privacy whilst showering: only a flimsy curtain, and the shower is in the main bathroom (which cannot be locked). Beds are very squeeky and you can feel the springs through the mattress: bad back guaranteed in the morning. Can't say if the sheets were clean or not. Towels are 2$ extra. Floor has very old dusty carpet. Kitchen makes you want to clean everything twice before using it.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

It is the oldest hostel in Venice, all linen is fresh, we do not have 30 + beds at that location.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
13th Jan 2017
7.1

It's as grungy as any hostel. All the facitilities function well, but there's just a bit of that odd charm, like why is there a van in the storage space? It doesn't really matter though. It's pretty to get to Venice Beach if you want on the bus line. It's not really close to any metro, so it's a bit of a trek to get anywhere else in the city if you don't have a car. If you do have a car, there's a lot of amazing drives really close by.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 6 reviews
3rd Jan 2017
6.9

We stayed two nights at the hostel. The staff we friendly but it's a very basic hostel. It's about a 15 minute walk to Venice beach, about an hour walk to Santa Monica pier. The rooms were relatively clean but could be improved. A few new things in this hostel would help a huge amount.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.