Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

The Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.4
Very Good 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
BOOK NOW
7.4
Very Good 956 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 6.8
  • Security 7.4
  • Location 7.4
  • Staff 8.4
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.7
The Venice Beach Hostel Located at 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles.
The Venice Beach Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291
74% 956
33.9893320 -118.4497040
The Venice Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Finland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Sep 2016
8.3

I stayed at the "other building", which is not the one where they have the reception or breakfast. There is only one toilet and one shower and the both are behind the same door, so locking the door while using the one blocks access to the other as well. But hanging out in the lounge area with the other guys was great fun.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
10th Sep 2016
9.4

I've stayed in many hostels over the years and have to say this one is up there. Excellent location with only 20 min walk to Venice beach. Tons of restaurants and bars and very nice area! Felt like a home away from home, staff where really friendly, Ian the guy who owns the hostel was very helpful. Defiantly got my money's worth and would recommend anyone to stay!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
5th Sep 2016
8.9

Easy walk to the beach or connections into town, bed was just as you'd expect and the staff were super helpful and friendly. The general atmosphere of the place is also really chilled, not too loud and just generally a great place to hang out in. Would definitely recommend.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 17 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
4.6

Overpriced, won't not recommend or stay here again. No where near Venice Beach, about 20 min walk. No locks on the bathrooms, and only two in the whole hostel, so you always had to wait, they were also very dirty. No ladder for top bunk, all the mattress were disgusting and very old. There was even a mattress on the ground, under the stairs that someone was sleeping on. No where to put my backpack as they was someone living in the room who had there belongings everywhere.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Philippines, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
3rd Sep 2016
10.0

Excellent choice, very happy l.: recommend to anyone. Cheers

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
2nd Sep 2016
9.1

Good vibes, laid back and easy

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Canada, Mixed Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
10.0

I loved my stay at The Venice Beach Hostel! The staff working there were extremely friendly! I stayed there for my birthday and they made sure to treat me very well! The people staying there were also super chill and the whole place just seemed to have a really good vibe to it. You can rent bikes there and then bike down to the beach in under 10 minutes, which is super convenient. 10/10 would recommend.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
27th Aug 2016
9.1

We were quite disappointed not to be in the hostel located next to the beach. Of course, it was just 25 min of walking to reach the beach but it wasn't what we expected.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Germany, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
5.7

10 people squeezed into a tiny room (nowhere to charge my phone) with shaky bunk beds, no air condition on a noisy street with one bathroom to share with many more people from the other rooms. WiFi wasn't working, no locks for lockers provided. You can leave your luggage after checking out and hang out, but it'll cost you 5 $. Staff is nice though.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
26th Aug 2016
5.7

Friendly staff and ok location. But, we overpayed! There are Cheaper and nicer places through Airbnb nearby. The other guests were up all hours of the night and we heard everything, keeping us awake. The bathroom was ALWAYS occupied. Wifi was terrible. Won't be returning.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry that you had a few issues but as you pointed out to us, you don't like hostels & only stayed because the hotels were so expensive !

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.