Hostelworld.com
HostelBookers Logo

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

The Venice Beach Hostel

Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Prices
map
reviews
7.6
Very Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8
BOOK NOW
7.6
Very Good 891 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 7.5
  • Location 7.7
  • Staff 8.6
  • Atmosphere 8.0
  • Cleanliness 7.2
  • Facilities 6.8
The Venice Beach Hostel Located at 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles.
The Venice Beach Hostel
USA
Los Angeles CA 716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291
76% 891
33.9893320 -118.4497040
The Venice Beach Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Jul 2016
8.6

Great hostel, great vibe, great staff. Be prepared to walk about 15-20 minutes to Venice beach but for what you pay, particularly compared to other hostels/hotels in the same area, this hostel is a bargain. staff are extremely helpful and friendly. I would recommend hiring a bike to enhance your stay. Bathrooms and shower are up their with the best for hostels I've stayed in.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
22nd Jul 2016
2.0

Security - incessantly lacking Location - absurdly distant from the beach from which it steals it's name Staff - consescending and unhelpful. Preposterously annoying habit of shining flashlights and kicking beds whilst we slept ( not a joke they kick your bed to wake you up on the day you're checking out) Atmosphere - exceedingly boring people, the toilet queues were a literal sh*tfight Value - We were placed in a bigger room then we ordered Facilities - 1 cm foam mattress

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your 1 night stay, you never mentioned anything, you arrived after midnight & yes we put you in a 13 bed dormitory & gave you a $20 discount. I woke you up at 10am but your bed wasn't kicked, I just tapped the mattress with my hand.. There was no bathroom issue & we are sorry that you considered your fellow travelers 'boring'.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
21st Jul 2016
9.7

Great hostel,really friendly atmosphere and welcoming staff, as well as good location!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
20th Jul 2016
2.0

Bad experience ever Very bad owner The first ever bad experience in a hostel I don t advice this hostel

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 2.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your one night stay, the manager tried hard to accommodate your security concerns, as you are a more older guest & not in the 18-24 age bracket as per your booking we would have hoped that you could have understood the effort she made in trying to meet your concerns.

  • Anonymous
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
19th Jul 2016
9.4

An amazing experience:) Had a wonderful stay!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • BarnyFletcher
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
14th Jul 2016
10.0

Really enjoyed staying here. I'm from London and this was my first time visiting the Venice area. I met some great people in the 2 days I was there, and all the people that worked their were extremely kind. Getting to Venice beach itself was super straightforward. Would definitely stay at this hostel again, a super chilled environment perfect for the beautiful location in which the hostel is located.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Italy, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
13th Jul 2016
2.3

I booked the s hostel because it was cheap but honestly the staff is one of the worst. The hostel itself is terrible as well. the ENTIRE HOSTEL is sharing TWO TOILETS AND SHOWERS. Man ,woman and you can't even lock doors so privacy is not included. No air-conditioning either and so door remain unlocked and no reception so i didn't feel safe at all. Do yourself a favor. Spend that extra money and go somewhere else. You are welcome.

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 2.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 2.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
11th Jul 2016
6.0

Beer in the vending machine was awesome but there was a lot of drama/noise at night time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
8th Jul 2016
10.0

It was so awesome! My first time in a hostel, but I will definitely be using them more often. It was so much fun!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
6th Jul 2016
7.1

The location was pretty good. Close to airport and Venice Beach. They say they offer a free airport pickup, but it was not driving that day for some reason. The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Although both buildings were in a pretty safe area, people would often leave the door to the dorm open to the street and the door locks did not work consistently (they were hard to open even with a key).

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 4.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.