X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

The Venice Beach Hostel Reviews

716 Washington Boulevard, Venice, CA 90291, Los Angeles, USA

Reviews & Ratings Explained

71%

Rating
694 Total Reviews
  • 65%Value For Money
  • 68%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 81%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 68%Cleanliness
  • 66%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful.

  • 25th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • All Male Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


51%

No lockers in or near the dorms. I was in the second location which is closer to 30 than 15 minutes walk from the beach. The place is a bit scruffy. And it costs $5 to leave your bag in the unlocked garage for a day after you check out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
There were lockers 2 metres from your room next to the soda machine !

37%

"The Venice Beach Hostel" (this hostel) and "Venice Beach Hostel" are two completely different hostels. The Venice Beach Hostel isn't even located to Venice Beach, it's in Marina Del Rey. Why the pictures of Venice Beach? It's a good 25 minute walk to the beach. Also, they moved us to "the other hostel". My rating is of the "other hostel". It's a old unit which has been coverted into a one bedroom (6 beds) and a single private. This wasn't even a hostel!

  • 16th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


83%

Great location for getting busses and trains into Hollywood and LA. Also not too far from Disney. Stayed at the 2nd location on Yale avenue which was a 15min walk or more to Venice and muscle beach. Chilled out relaxed atmosphere safe area Great stay

  • 14th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

So the staff was really nice and helpful all the time and they gave good advices for trips all around Los angeles. Nevertheless in my opinion towels would be needed in the bathroom for drying hands, the toilets smelled bad and the blankets seemed not to be washed for every new traveler (either they should be washed every time or they should use sheets/covers).

  • 13th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Nice and quiet but a bit far from the main activities. Great staff and clean rooms.


100%

Everything was good ! The hostel us Nice ans zen and 20 min to walk for The beach Thank you so much !! Xxx


91%

Friendly and helpful staff regarding the area and things to do. Pleasant stay. Bathrooms a bit lacking in privacy for the female travelers.

  • 9th Jun 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

While there are things that are rustic in nature I love the atmosphere of this place. People are laid back and there is a hominess to the facility. After staying in a few other hostels this one remains my best pick out of all of them.


57%

We booked a private room with bathroom and it was not disclosed that it was without a shower. Also the location of Hostel is not clear we thought we booked closer to the ocean but when we arrived they said the only private wasd at the other Hostel further away.


43%

You can not even lock the shower as it just has a curtain. There were not ladders to the top bunk.

  • 9th May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Little unfair Kiralee, you were picked up from the airport saving you $25 in a taxi, the shower has a nice door as you are aware & you chose a top bunk when many other beds were available !!

83%

good breakfast, nice staff

  • 1st May 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


74%

Great location - 10 min walk to Venice Beach. Double room was extremely simple and located in the other building on Washington (main bld is on Yale). This location is less crowded so probably cleaner and quieter, but the main house feels more "homey", also the majority of the guests stay there so more people to hang out with. Breakfast is great and the bike rental is very cheap. Ian the owner is super cool and kind. Overall great atmosphere but expensive for what you get with the double room.

  • 27th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Had a wonderful stay. Got picked up straight from the airport! It's in a great location, there are 2 Venice Beach Hostels which can be a bit confusing- that's my only criticism. The people are so friendly and helpful. Thanks Ian for answering all our questions! There are lockers (bring your own lock) and in terms of security I felt safe in the hostel. Kitchen is all you expect and the free breakfast is very nice. Big shared bathroom, good price, would stay again. Sarah and Loretta

  • 19th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Nice, but basic hostel. Not that close to the sea.

  • 18th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


100%

Great stay, 10 minute walk to the venice beach awesome bars and shops close by, great kitchen for cooking for your self. Ian the owner is very helpful and great chat. Definitely recomend to anyone looking to fully enjoy their time in LA

  • 5th Apr 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


60%

Attention: This hostel is not at the Venice Beach!! When I booked and checked on Google maps it showed it would be right next to the beach. In addition to that they just transfered me to another hostel (first they said it would only be for check in) which turned out to be in a calm neighbourhood, about 30 minutes walk to the beach (the hostel staff kept saying 15 minutes which is absolutely not true, I talked to other people in the hostel). I wouldn't recommend this hostel honestly.

  • 19th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We do not claim to be on the beach & our address if you google it is a 15 min walk to Venice Pier !!

37%

The hostel was one of the worst we've ever been. The address mentioned on the website of hostelword.com was not possible to find. We drove around more than 2 hours. After we had the right address they did not have all our reservations. They gave us additional mattresses but no blankets. It was a joke. In the morning, we found the most terrible bathroom. The shower was for men and women but no key to close the door. And the shower curtain was grey from dirt. JUST TERRIBLE! DONT GO THERE!!!!

  • 14th Mar 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Mixed Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


54%

It took me four hours to find this hostel - inc. 2 buses &2 taxis - 1 taxi gave up trying to find the hostel. The address on website doesn't exist. When I checked in although it was 2am the hostel employee was drunk. He didn't have my booking despite me showing my hostelworld reservation. He told me the hostel was full and "made me a spot" which was a very thin foam mattress with a sheet over it on the bare floor under a staircase and charged me $30.The lady working in morning was very rude.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Perhaps you should have telephoned with the free number & we could have helped you find us. As per the website the last check in is midnight, if you have not arrived or advised us of a late arrival we are allowed to sell the bed which we did. The staff member did a good job in creating an emergency bed for you, you were actually quite fortunate !

29%

Despite airport pick up advertised this was not available on our stay which was disappointing. We booked a private double with ensuite which turned out to be 2 camp beds with a bathtub and toilet in the same room - not what we were expecting! Staff not particularly friendly or helpful - unable to provide recommendations. Also location wise, at least a 25 min walk to venice beach and not too much around the hostel itself. Wouldn't recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Apologies for the absence of the pick up, you came during a week when the regular staff where away on vacation that week & we were running a temporary staff.

(41 results)


View all Los Angeles Hostels

Please give us your feedback