Hostelworld.com

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Thomas Grill & Garden

Group of 15 or more?

Contact our Group Travel team directly for a tailor made solution for your group

Prices
map
reviews
7.3
Very Good 39 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.5
BOOK NOW
7.3
Very Good 39 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 7.1
  • Security 8.1
  • Location 7.8
  • Staff 7.9
  • Atmosphere 6.0
  • Cleanliness 7.5
  • Facilities 6.5

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • USA, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
18th Dec 2016
10.0

we had a wonderful stay here. the room was so comfortable and very clean and they provided a space heater. we had a private room w a double bed. make sure you communicate with the staff about when you arrive. our bus arrived 3-4 hours later than expected but because we were able to let them know there was someone to let us in at 2 am. staff was incredibly kind and helpful. would absolutely stay here again!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Couple, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
7th Dec 2016
5.1

It is not what the pictures show, at all. We had planned to stay several nights here but only stayed one. It is cheap (for Cuzco) for couples looking for a private room. The staff were very inefficient. The bathroom mat was covered in hairs, the toilet seat was broken and the duvet cover had weird stains. The patio was a dump with old rusty chairs and the umbrella in the picture is nothing more than a metal skeleton with some dirty pieces of cloth hanging from it. Eggs for breakfast were nice.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 4.0Cleanliness
  • emilyaburger94
  • USA, Female, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
17th Nov 2016
5.1

Good enough for one night. You have to let the receptionist know what time you'll get there otherwise you'll be locked out because she's not there. She was super nice once she came. The room was cleanish and a little run down. Had a tv though and hot water. Nice quieter part of town. Easily within walking distance of the Plaza de armas.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 6.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good Afternoon I am Thomas. We ask the time of arrival if is one more night because people make reservations and don't arrive and we lose other guests. The recepcionist told us that she was on time BEFORE 7PM and said for open you dont wait outisde and we think that our hostel is not just for one night for the price of 80 soles. We know we give more services than the price. THANKS THOMAS

  • Anonymous
  • Bulgaria, Mixed Group, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 13 reviews
25th Oct 2016
9.1

A well run hostel with a great garden. Our room was on the ground floor and was extremely cold-we had to wear all our clothes when we were inside. Maybe the rooms on the higher floors are warmer.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
13th Oct 2016
9.4

In a quiet location in San Blas, but only two blocks or so from Plaza De Armas! Great hostel, super comfy, Jenny was the host and she was great! Serves tea upon arrival. Bed very comfortable. The host gave great recommendations and also organized taxis to the airport, only 10 soles. Only two things I would say are the dog problem in Cuzco is insane, this location along with I'm sure many others but barking and sleeping don't mix. The wifi was great, but the showers run hot and cold in streaks.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
11th Oct 2016
9.1

Well considering our first experience at a hostal in cusco, we found this place to be quite nice. It's not a hostal, more like a house with some rooms. There's no amazing hostel backpacker atmosphere but it is clean, and we had a private bathroom. When we got there they brought us two cups of coca tea which was very nice. It had decent wifi, not so great showers, and a good breakfast. The girl working there was very nice and knowledgeable. The location is perfect! I'm the san Blas district

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 25-30
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
13th Sep 2016
9.1

Great little b&b, definitely good if you're looking for somewhere to relax and not be bothered too much. The wifi was great and showers were hot. Bed was comfortable and the owner does everything she can to help you. They aren't always around because it's not a hostel or hotel but if you let them know when you arrive and your plans they will do everything to accommodate you. We stayed there before and after our trip to Machu Picchu and they kept our luggage for us. Great value for money as well!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Female, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 2 reviews
25th Aug 2016
8.3

I only booked an hour before arrival, but the lady was there and waiting for me with a pot of tea. Although she is only there intermittently she had great knowledge of what to do and how to get to places. One tour booked at short notice she paid for a taxi to take me down to the square. If you are leaving early she will put together a take away breakfast. The room was large and clean and warm. Excellent Internet. Hot water takes ages but plenty of it. Up steep stairs so not disability friendly.

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 25-30
  • Avid Traveller
  • 10 reviews
7th Aug 2016
4.3

WARNING - DO NOT STAY HERE! This is literally the most poorly run hostel I have ever stayed in. There is never any staff there so you have to tell them an exact time you are arriving - as you'll be aware you can never be 100% sure of such a thing. We waited over an hour outside the hostel while no one was there to let us in earlier than our original arrival time. The location pin as to where this place is is NOT accurate and was the reason I booked here - it's up massive stairs and further away

    • 2.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 2.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

GOOD AFTERNOON THIS IS MOST AMAZING THING THAT COULD WRITE : FIRST YOU'VE REQUESTED TO CHECK IN AT 11:30 PM AND WE WAITED ALL DAY FOR YOUR CHECK IN, AND YOU DIDN'T WAIT BECAUSE YOU RANG THE BELL 2 TIMES, NOT ONE HOUR. WE ASKED ABOUT THE TIME TO HAVE READY THE ROOM AND WE DONT UNDERSTAND WHY YOU DO THIS IF THIS HOSTEL IS SO POOR AND YOU BOOK AGAIN. THE OTHER THING WHY THE SERVICE IS SO POOR AND THERE ARE MANY HOSTELS IN CUSCO WITH A LOT OF DIFFERENT RATES WHY YOU BOOK AGAIN YOU DIDN'T SEE THE PERSONAL. YOU ASKED IF YOU COULD LEAVE YOUR BAGS HOW COULD YOU KNOW WHERE YOU COULD LEFT THE BAGS. IS SO INCREDIBLE THIS KIND OF THINGS. WE ASKED ABOUT TIME OF ARRIVAL TO WAIT AND THE MOST IMPORTANT THING, WE DID NO SELL THE ROOMS BECAUSE OF YOUR LATE CHECK IN, 11:30 PM. OTHER TIMES PEOPLE RESERVE AND DON'T COME AND WE CANNOT SELL THE ROOMS. THAT IS THE REASON WHY WE AND OTHER HOSTELS IN CUSCO ASK YOU WHAT TIME YOU WILL ARRIVE. WITH NO MORE THINGS TO SAY THANKS AND REGARDS

  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
6th Aug 2016
6.3

We were disappointed by the hostel. Everything seemed a bit run down, not well taken care of. The expectations that the pictures created were not met. I would almost label it as "false advertising". The shower temperatures were unreliable, the wifi weak and overall cleanliness lacking. The hostel has potential but needs some serious effort from the staff. The price we paid was therefore unreasonable. The good things: good location, kind staff, spacious room.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 6.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Good Night I am the owner of the hostel and I asked about your Staying at the hostel first you make a reservation for two beds because say 2 males in your reservation equal we give you a Matrimonial bed because we have all the hostel full and also the reception say for change the room for that you saw on internet and we dont understand why you could say that is a false advertisement when even we have to give a room matrimonial not for 2 beds if we will give this room 2 beds we could understand all your comments Then you make a cancelation at the last moment in the afternoon and we only say that pay for one Night and we dont make any problem also we lost other bookings that they want to stay in this hostel now we are really disappointed about your comment because we lost other guests at the hostel Thanks and Regards

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight to your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.