X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2283 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

54%

This place was extremely dirty and when I approached staff regarding this issue they were rude and ignorant. Lucky for me I only stayed one night and could do with out a shower for one day.


100%

Amazing hostel! Would definitely stay here again. The staff was very helpful and knowledgable about the surrounding area and with ideas of fun things to see. The drinks and food were super cheap too, which is a nice alternative for struggling students!


63%

The over all feeling we got from this hostel was that it was too hard for the staff to serve you when it came to check in or check out and anything in between you could forget about, there first priority was either there phone or food.


83%

Pleasant stay in Nice, we didn't hang around much in the hostel but the bar area was a great place to meet people during the evening. Fantastic location.


34%

Absolutely horrivle hostel! We had a double room for 100 euro per night and it was the dirtiest room/bathroom we ever had in a hostel/hotel. The staff (though not all of them) was so unfriendly and did only bring as clean sheets after we asked for it three times! And then no apology but a bitchy comment. Never ever again!


91%

I thought this hostel was great. There were times when it wasn't the cleanest, but this was clearly due to guests and not the staff. Cheap food, cheap beer, good atmosphere (instantly met other travellers and also managed to have an impromptu guitar and piano session one evening). Was able to leave my bag in the locker room while away for a couple days. Highly recommended, even if it is a bit expensive.

  • 28th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

A fun hostel in a great location. Staff quickly helped with a small complaint I had.


74%

It's not an expensive place that one can afford if one has limited budget Disadvantages: cleanliness (showers) facilities (you have to bring or buy a lock, that's a cost of 6,5 EUR; you pay for towels - 5 EUR, there's no REAL hairdryer, there's only one and it was out of order throughout my weekly stay) Advantages: location (7minute walk to the coast, 2 minutes to one of the main markets, 10minute walk to Place Garibaldi where leave buses to Monaco, same walking distance to the train station)


66%

St christophers was a party hostel. I was in an 8bed dorm and was woken every night several times by other guests noisily coming and going. The staff were helpful and cleaning staff very diligent and hardworking. However, hostel guests did not clean up after themselves, leaving their rubbish in the room and their hair in the sinks!! The breakfast here was not good. There was some bread cheese slices and spam slices. There was also some apples, cornflakes and coco pops.


74%

Stayed in the girls only room, comfy enough but there was a strange damp smell through the room. Lights in the showers also on a timer and sometimes wouldn't come back on. Otherwise the staff were great and friendly, and it's in a great location!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. We hope you had an enjoyable time visiting the beautiful city of Nice. We see you liked our location and staff.

86%

The hostel was in a great location. It was so easy to get around the city. The bar was also great for socialising in the evening. The only negative would have to be the bathrooms in the dorms. They flooded as soon as the shower was turned on and the bathroom was constantly in a puddle of water!

  • 22nd Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking time to write your review and for your positive comments about our bar area. With regards to the bathrooms, our housekeeping team clean every room, everyday, and after they have finished, the rooms are in a clean state. After usage, they may become less clean. However, we have members of staff on duty at the hostel 24 hours and they are always willing to re-clean a bathroom upon request. We onyl ask that our clients alert us to the problem.

40%

Worst place you could possibly stay.. we payed $180 a night for a double room (most we've spent on accommodation for our 3 month Europe trip.) So we expected big things. But we were let down the second we walked into our room. The room was filthy. Walls dirty. Bath tub hadn't been cleaned for years. The staff were not one bit helpful when our aircon stopped working after the 1st night. Our first morning there the complex had a power out. I hope everyone reads this and books elsewhere!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret to read that your stay was not up to your expectations. We are in the process of renovating our bathrooms over the winter period. We hope you return after our renovations have taken place so you can re-evaluate us.

89%

Great food and bar atmosphere. Good hostel to stay and party.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou very much for the review. Our bar is open until late and is a great place to party and meet other travellers. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our cleanliness. The whole hostel is cleaned everyday by our professional staff to make sure our guests are comfortable.

91%

Had so much fun there!!! Stayed 2 nights initially in a 8 person dorm then finished my trip with 3 nights in a double bed private. Have no complaints with the facilities in either room, the hostel itself was clean, always saw staff cleaning at any given time, especially in the dishwashing area (since many guests are pretty lazy with that haha). I also really liked the bar area, where I started most nights with cheap drinks compared to the rest of Nice. Best part was the location!! Au Revoir!!!!


66%

mushrooms in the bathroom.. it was cleaned every day, but nevertheless it was not really clean..

  • 18th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Austria
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our staff clean every room every day. We have checked your reservation and seen which room you were in. We have removed the mold from the ceiling in the bathroom. Thanks for the feedback. We hope you enjoy the rest of your trip.

57%

I had the worst experiences in this hostel! To begin with, our shower in the bathroom was leaking in 2 stops near the nozzle, and would almost flood our entire bathroom whenever someone had a shower. There was nothing we could do. The staff were ALL lazy and unhelpful. They would be sitting at the front desk either eating food, searching the web (i.e. facabook) or chatting to each other. And to top it all off, the first level had no power for 12 hours, so couldn't see a thing in the room :(.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret to read you did not enjoy your stay with us. It's true we did have a problem with the electricity, and it was fixed the next day as soon as the electrician came to the hostel. This was not our fault. However, we do apologise for the broken shower head, this has now been repaired. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

66%

Severely overpriced for shared dorms regardless of numbers Staff were very pleasant

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks very much for the comments regarding our staff. With regard to our prices, they are high in summer during the busy periods, in winter they are much lower. This is standard for almost all other hotels and hostels. When our guests are at the hostel, they benefit from a wide range of other free services, like our free breakfast, free tea and coffee all day, free Gym and Sauna, free internet and more.

37%

Horrible dirty rooms with no view x terrible value for money x a rip off for the money x staff not helpful and when we were given a triple bed room instead of a double refused to change it despite having booked in April for a double and despite checking in early x unimpressed and have complained x want compensation for a ruined last night of holiday

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret to read your stay did not reach your expectations. We are in the process of making renovations to our bathrooms over the winter. We hope you stay with us again after our renovations have taken place so you can re-evaluate us.

54%

This hostel is in a great location and advertises many facilities that could make it a great hostel. However, the overcrowded rooms and lack of cleaning of all bathroom facilities made this one of the worst stays of our two month trip. We arrived to find our bathroom had flooded into the corridor the day before and the it was still damp and dirty, as were the communal bathrooms. This hostel could be improved if more staff were employed to keep on top of the cleaning. In the meantime stay away!


86%

I had a great time in Nice, and this was mainly due to this hostel. I would definately come back here again. The only thing is the price though, that i found to be slightly too high for a youth hostel.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We value all our customers feedback. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regard to our prices, they aree higher in summer during the busy season and lower during the winter. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Nice.

(248 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback