X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2987 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 93%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Staff were helpful and nice and knew a lot about the area and suggested things for us to see. Would have enjoyed our stay here in Summer better I think, as there were lots of Summer activities available (white water rafting etc) but was still fun as we visited Eze village (would highly recommend)


89%

Need a fridge!!!!

  • 6th Dec 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

They overbooked the Hostel and our room wasn't available any more, so they put us for the paid money into a good hotel 2 doors away. that was fair

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we apologize for any inconvenience that may have been caused by this change. We did our best assuring that your other hotel was in the central location, and had really good services to offer. Hopefully, you had an amazing stay in Nice and got a chance to explore this beautiful region. Best Regards, VSE Team

69%

The beds were comfy and wifi was good. However, the ensuite was dirty, grimy and old and overall the hostel was quite dirty. When checking in, the staff member was rude, unhelpful and dismissive. However, we were later greeted by a man (possibly by the name Nadee?) who was so helpful and knowledgable and very informative.


97%

GREAT Hostel! I love how even though this is a hotel turned hostel facility it didn't fell that way. The staff are very friendly the 6-8pm happy hour is unbeatable. The 4Euro breakfast is worth it - buffet, but with lots of options. Wi-Fi is good. Oh the shower heads are pretty amazing. BUT. Please let your guests borrow your corkscrew. I understand you have a bar, but this is France let someone enjoy their dinner with wine. I had to use my car key and goPro screw to pop open my bottle of Cab!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your very kind review. We really appreciate your nice feedback. It looks like you have pointed out all of our key services and most importantly great staff! We understand that you were here to enjoy being in France and that the good bottle of wine with your dinner is a must. Unfortunately, we have to follow the bar license legislation that does not allow any outside of our sell alcohol to be consumed on the premises. We hope that you still enjoyed it. Regards, VSE Team

86%

The location of this hostel is fantastic, however small things such as upgrading the bathroom facilities would go a long way.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you much for your time spent in writing us this review. We always appreciate any feedback we receive from our guests. It makes us happy to see that you liked our hostel and generally your stay in Nice. Regarding the bathrooms, this is our winter project that has already started. We are doing our best to work through the next couple months upgrading some rooms and bathrooms. Thank you again for your kind comment and notes. All the best from VSE Team

100%

One of the best hostels I've been to. Great location, amazing staff, nice and bright. Workout room, table tennis, inexpensive drinks, and free city tours every few days. I had a great time in Nice and it's mainly due to my stay here :) Thank you guys!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you so much for your very nice comment. Guests' happiness and satisfaction after their stay with us is the greatest reward that we receive for our work. Thank you again for your time spent in writing us this review. We wish you all the best and hopefully we will see you coming back to Nice. VSE Team

83%

Great location, The bathroom could have been a bit nicer - holes in the window frame.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Great to see you have rated the location of the hostel 5 out of 5. We are undertaking alot of fix up during the winter period in all of our rooms. The holes in the window you mention will be fixed during this round of maintenance. Thanks for the feedback and we hope to see you again.

94%

The staff was very helpful, had a great atmosphere, clean facilities, and you could not ask for a better location. I would definitely return.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks very much for the glowing review. It is nice to read you had a great stay at the hostel. We hope the rest of your trip goes smoothly and we look forward to seeing you again when you return to Nice. Best wishes, from all the Villa team.

69%

location is great. the place could be a little bit cleaner.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for taking the time to write your review. We try our best to keep the hostel as clean as possible. All the common areas are cleaned once everyday as are the rooms too. Cleaning is checked afterwards by a manager. We are only able to clean during the daytime and so some areas may become untidy again during the evening after use. Should you have any further feedback or suggestions please contact the hostel. We would be happy to hear from you.

83%

Villa Saint Exupery Beach is easily the most upscale hostel I have ever been to. They've essentially turned a hotel into a hostel by adding more beds, but keeping the previous facilities. All in all, they made my stay in Nice during the offseason very comfortable.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Thanks for the feedback and thanks for the label 'upscale hostel'. Just to reinforce that point, we offer our guests the use of a gym, sauna, a large bar, TV and movie room, table tennis room, aswel as the free internet area and wifi . Great to read that you had an enjoyable and comfotable stay at the hostel. Your right about the building, it was a previous hotel. Hope you come back again in the future. All the best, from all the team at VSE.

77%

Excellent location. Good for short stay. Bathroom needs to be cleaned though.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we try our best to keep the hostel bathrooms as clean as possible.All the dormitory bathrooms are cleaned everyday by the housekeeping team. The rooms are then checked and verified afterwards by a manager. Unfortunately, in shared dormitory room it is possible that the bathroom may become dirty again after use. Great to read you liked the hostel location. It seems you enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and all the cities main attractions. All the best for the rest of you trip.

97%

Stayed in both a 6 bed and private room, both of which were comfy and had large, clean bathrooms. Awesome location, close to everything. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Can't comment on the atmosphere as didn't spend any time in the common areas, but it seemed like a cool spot with a bar, ping pong table, sauna, and large common area. Would stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the feedback. Really great to read you rated the hostel 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. We know how important the cleanliness is to our guests and so we try our best to keep the hostel as tidy as possible. Nice to see you rated the hostel staff full marks, 5 out of 5. There're a really great bunch of people who work hard to look after all the people who come to stay at the hostel. Thanks again for the glowing review and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Nice.

97%

A comfortable hostel and friendly staff - highly recommend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are pleased to read you had a comfortable stay at the hostel. Great to read too that you rated the hostel cleanliness 5 out of 5. We try our best to ensure the hostel is as clean and pleasant as possible for our guests. The staff will be happy you rated them 5 out of 5. It is a really great team of people who work here at the Villa. Thanks for the recommendation to other travellers too. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Nice. All the best, VSE team.

60%

Rooms, especially common bathrooms could be cleaner! Maintenance please, especially "noisy doors" = grease them ! Staff, - a simple smile would make a big difference! I am not asking for a french kiss.💋I am not your enemy, just a customer and a foreigner in France!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, sorry to read the hostel cleanliness did not meet your expectations.We try our best to make sure the rooms are cleaned to an acceptable standard. All our rooms are checked after the cleaning team have finished to make sure nothing has been missed. Generally we recieve very good reviews about the hostel staff. All the staff make efforts to make our guests feel welcome. Thanks for the feedback regarding the doors. We will make a round of the hostel and fix those noisy doors.

91%

Such a great staff! They are doing everything so very well! Keep up the great work!

  • 30th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guerst, great to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa and particularly that you mention the 'great staff'. We'll do our best to keep up the great work and we hope that the rest of your travelling goes as well for you too. All the best, from all the Villa team.

80%

Good place for the price you pay. Breakfast isn't the greatest but who really cares at a place like this

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, nice to see you have liked the hostel. With regard to breakfast we try to offer as many items as we can for the breakfast. If you have any suggestions of other items you would like to see offered in addition to these, please contact us. We would be happy to have the feedback. Hope the rest of the travelling is enjoyable, and we hope to see you come back again on your next visit to Nice.

54%

The location was perfect but everything else was poor. The place was extremely dirty and they don't clean the rooms as often as should. The staff was helpful but they only had one staff member working the desk at a time which was extremely frustrating. The gym and sauna and extra bathrooms were dirty and nothing like the photos. I didn't feel comfortable using them. This place needs a complete makeover ASAP

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with your stay. We try our best to make sure the hostel is kept clean for our guests.All the rooms and common areas are cleaned once per day and then checked afterwards by a manager to make sure they are properly cleaned. The hostel has over 50 rooms so it is not really possible to clean them more times.You stayed in a 13 bed female dorm and it is possible the bathroom facilities were used after our cleaners had been through.

94%

Good hostel, great facilities and very friendly staff.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, great to read that you liked the Villa hostel and particularly the 'very friendly staff'. We hope you recommend us to other travellers you meet on your journey and that you come back to stay with us again when you next visit Nice and the French Riviera. All the best, from all the Villa team.

100%

Supposedly the best hostel in France--deserving of that title and much more. We also went on one of the free walking tours offered on Mondays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. We learned a lot with Phil; thanks so much!

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, really nice to read your comments about the hostel. Also nice to see you enjoyed our free city walking tour that we offer to our guests. And like you say, It's a good chance to learn alot about the city. Well, we hope you'll come back and visit us again on you next trip to the south of France. All the best with the rest of your holiday, from all the Villa staff.

(107 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback