X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

79%

Rating
2369 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 79%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Perfect location, good bar area and friendly staff. Saw a few bugs in my room and the bathrooms weren't very clean. However overall it's a good hostel.


51%

- bathroom was not cleaned at our arrival : water and hairs everywhere (a real swimming pool) - bathroom not practical with the clod bathtub - rooms very small without enough rack for everybody

  • 10th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greeting from Villa St Exupery. Very sorry to read your negative comments regarding our hostel. We would like to make a few comments ourselves. All our rooms are cleaned everyday and checked afterward. Should a guest use the bathroom after our staff have cleaned, and the bathroom be left in an unclean state, we are always willing to go up to the room and re-clean. All our rooms have lockers, where our guests are able to arrange their belongings and lock them up for safety.

51%

the elevator not wotking, but i stayed 5th floor. very tired. and the bathroom very old, the hole was pluged up, so i can't take a shower.

  • 9th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • All Female Group, 25-30
  • (1 review)


74%

It was an Ok hostel. There was a mix up with the rooms, the bunk beds aren't labelled and they don't allocate beds which gets confusing when not everyone is in the room at the same time. The breakfast was good, staff friendly. They don't have the bar menu available until 7pm which we thought was a bit late but dealt with it.


74%

This Hotel was like a trip back in time.. very old-fashioned vibe, wallpaper covered walls. Pros: -Reasonably priced -Large room -Large bathroom -Great breakfast Cons: -Uncomfortable, worn out, too-soft, spring mattress -Queen bed is 2 twin beds combined -Not much of a socializing area -Very outdated hotel styling and feel To summarize: not a great hotel by any means but is pretty good value for money and is well-located. My main complaint is that the bed really wasn't comfortable.

  • 7th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


77%

Very good location! Walking distance from everywhere you would want to go. The hostel staff seemed nice! Only real negative was that the kitchen wasn't able to be used at very many hours and there was no communal fridge or storage for food which is a shame when you want to be on a budget.

  • 5th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


46%

We booked a train room with private bathroom and were located just 2 buildings away but it was not very nice. The bathroom and shower were dirty and the room as well. Would not stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret to read the negative comments in your review. We would like to make a few comments ourselves. All our bathrooms are cleaned everyday to hotel standards. The bathroom you refer to in one of our private rooms is old and admitedly in need of refurbishment, it is not, as you suggest, dirty. We will be carrying out the necessary refurbishments over the winter period and we hope you will come to visit us again in order that you can re-valuate us.

54%

The best location you can ask for. We stayed in a double room ensuite which is in the building next door. Surprisingly the rooms don't have TV, the air conditioning is noisy, the room needed some cleaning and you have to hire towels for your stay. We asked for 4 towels and 2 of them were very old beach towels. Really?! Our bathroom's light automatically turned off after 10 minutes of use. No small bathroom amenities whatsoever. Oh and we had some drain pipes as a room view. No value for money!

  • 4th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Portugal
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret to read the negative comments in your review. We would like to make a few comments ourselves. It is true our private rooms do not have a TV, we do not claim anywhere that they do. The noise of the air conditioning is merely the air passing through the grill, this can be adjusted to blow less strongly.The bathroom you refer to is in one of our private rooms and is old and admitedly in need of refurbishment, it is not, as you suggest, dirty.

100%

Best hostel in Nice and one of the best I have personally seen in Europe. Vibrant environment and excellent location to old town.

  • 3rd Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


37%

-the bathroom was very dirty (mold on walls and around the tap) - packaging of soap left on the side of the bathroom when we arrived - the window was broken and we couldn't sleep because of the noise of the street - poor sound damping - the electricity wasn't in the standards, it's dangerous - the bar where was served the breakfast has no windows and the breakfast was really poor. - the price is expensive for the service ( 70€/per night for 2) but the location is good.

  • 1st Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay as we work hard to ensure the best experience for all our guests. We are looking into your comments regarding the room and cleaning to make sure this does not happen for future guests. We hope one day you give us another chance! Best regards from the team at Villa Beach

83%

Excellent location, very close to the beach and main tourist areas. Check-in was quite slow and took a long time. We had a 3 bed room with an ensuite, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean. The bathroom was a bit dated but usable. There was a lift, however you have to walk up a flight of stairs to get to it. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was ok for a free breakfast.


89%

Best hostel I have stayed at. Close walk to the beach, staff is very helpful and will answer and questions you have. Atmosphere is very good, as a solo traveler I was able to meet so many people and make my traveling much more fun. Price isn't terrible for being in Nice. I will be back for sure when I come back to France.


43%

We stayed in a private room. It had a very bad smell in it, when we opened the (only) window the smell was just as bad out there. The air conditioning was old and didn't blow cold air, the room was hot over night and we didn't get a good sleep. Its the first hostel we've stayed in (2 months of traveling) that charge for towels. 5Euro was a bit steep for a towel. The sink plug was broken and the whole room made us feel dirty.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We will be carrying out maintenance work over the winter period to address some of the issues mentioned in your review. We hope you come to stay with us again so you can re-evaluate us after we have carried out the work.

63%

We were disappointed by this hostel as it was a bit pricey and we had heard really good things about the garden hostel in town run by the same company. The food although cheap, was very bland, the laundry took forever to do, the staff weren't very friendly, and there was only one outlet in our room of 6 girls.


51%

At 90 euros for two people in a private room it was not worth the price. The whole wing with the private rooms smelled of sewage. The rooms looked like they could have been nice if they had been thourly cleaned, but there was a large amount of black mold growing on the shower in the room, making the idea of a shower very unappealing. We had a room whose only window opened up to a middle area that was just a shoot and appeared to be the source of the stench.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


100%

Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Absoloutly beautifuk, the staff was fantastic, everyone was nice and lots of fun. I reccomend it to every traveler I meet.

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


80%

It was prettty good. The most stuff where very simpathic! Just one woman at the front desk was little bit unsimpatic... but the guys were really helpful! I enjoyed the lot different people comming from everywhere in the world.. I stayed in a room of 10. Late night at 4 o clock AM came people inside the room that were not from ours.... like we were sleeping at this time and woke up and where little confused what they are doing there inside in the darkness... :S All in all it was ok! thx

  • 26th Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Switzerland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Thought it was a cool and welcoming place, my sheets were dirty when I went into room but I told the guy he was lovely and changed them straight away... happy hr is great! Cool place


66%

They put us in another hostel 2 doors down the main hostel and the wifi in our room didn't work well as we expected. Wifi was very slow and sometimes never work inside our room. Also, the AC in our room was not cold enough and it would get hot at night and would be tough to sleep.

  • 23rd Sep 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. All of our private rooms are in a building next door. It is not another hostel, it is a Villa St Exupery building. Our guests staying in the private rooms still have all the great services like our free breakfast, free luggage storage, free tea and coffee all day, free internet and wifi, free lockers, free gym and sauna, free city walking tour, free table tennis, information and help about day trips and more.

97%

Wow! What a warm and welcoming staff. Always recommended eateries, rebooted the wifi for us, and are fun to have a few drinks with when they're off the clock at the hostel bar. Cheap happy hour and food and I always felt my stuff was secure. 5 minute walk to the beach and located right next to the main piazza, you won't be disappointed even if you stayed in a 16 bed like me! 22 years old, traveling with my best girlfriend

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Nice to read you had an enjoyable stay with us. We hope the rest of the journey works out just as well for you guys. Maybe we will see you again in the future, for some more drinks at the bar.

(220 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback