X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

84%

Rating
2473 Total Reviews
  • 84%Value For Money
  • 87%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 88%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 73%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

94%

I did like my stay here the beds were so comfortable so that was a bit of a god send after some of the beds I have been in and the laundry service was really good. I didn't have breafast but the bar was good and the hostel was pretty close to most of the things I wanted to see.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to read you enjoyed our comfortable beds and our memory foam pillows. We often recieve good comments about how comfortable our beds are. We see you liked our laundry service. This is one of many extra services available at our hostel. We have other things like cheap international phone calls, a free city walking tour, free internet and wifi amongst others. You gave us 5 out of 5 for location. We are highly rated for our central location right next to the main city square Place Massena.

91%

One of the best locations you'll find, a lot of walkable sites, great atmosphere, highly recommend

  • 13th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's a pleasure to read you had an enjoyable stay at our hostel. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location. As you say, we are within walking distance to lots of the main sights in Nice. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our staff and 5 out of 5 for our atmosphere. The hostel has large common areas, which include things like a TV room, a bar and table tennis room, so our guests can hang out and meet other travellers. Our beers are pretty cheap too, only 1 euro a pint during happy hour!

86%

We stayed for 2 nights in a double room. The staff are fantastic! They were really friendly and gave us loads of advice and suggestions on what to do and see in the area. The double rooms are quite spacious with en suite bathrooms. The beds and pillows are really comfortable! The street below is pretty noisy but this can't be helped in such a central location! The hotel is right in the center of town. 10 min walk to the markets and old town. 5 mins to the beach. Will stay again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We see you gave us five out of five for our staff and location. We have a good group of staff here who enjoy meeting our guests and helping them out. We have to admit we are quite proud of our location. We're right next to the main city square, Place Massena, which is only minutes walk to the beach and old Nice, where you'll find all the bars, shops and restaurants. We look forward to meeting you again and wish you a safe journey onward.

86%

Great place, great location, close to pretty much everything in Nice. Stayed in a 5 bed dorm on the third floor.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. Nice to read you enjoyed your stay. We see you liked our central location. We're only minutes walk from all the main sights in Nice. The bus stops and train station are nearby too. This gives easy access to visit all the places outside of Nice, like Monaco. We hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to Nice. We wish you all the best for the rest of you travels.

83%

Nice staff and clean rooms A problem with check out as the person in charge was not at the reception

  • 30th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for taking the time to write your review. We are happy to read you enjoyed your stay with us. It was nice to meet you and we wish you all the best for the remainder of your journey. We look forward to meeting you again on your next visit to Nice.

60%

I can't really say I was a huge fan of this hostel, mainly due to the cleanliness of it's rooms, though it probably has more to do with guests than the hostel. I walked into my dorm and the smell of it made my eyes water, and that same smell stuck to the linen. The atmosphere was alright, though a lot of people seemed to be long term. It was sufficient for one night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are disappointed to read the comments in your review. The smell in the room was obviously the fault of the guests inside and as you say not the fault of the hostel. We are always willing to try our best to help our guests out, and would have had no problem to change your room if you would have notified us. It's a shame you felt you had to pass the night in a room you were obviously not happy with. We hope you stay with us again so you can re-evaluate the hostel on your next visit to Nice.

83%

Room number 208 is much tooo small for three persons who have a lot of luggage! If possible, this could become a 2 persons private room, but with three persons, you cannot store your big bags to organise yourself for a longer stay. It is really impossible.

  • 25th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This is a great hostel! The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. They provided us with lots of information on what to do in the city. The breakfast is no longer included, but is €3.50. However, there are cereals, fruit, yogurt, cheeses, meats, toast, jam, juice, and coffee, and it is all you can eat. The rooms are good and the bathroom is fairly large. The bar has happy hour from 6 to 8 where cocktails are €4 and beer is €1. We came in low season so it wasn't too busy. Recommended!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for recommending us like this to other travellers. Were're really please you had a nice time at our hostel. We like to try and make sure our guests get the most out of their visit to the Riviera, and so we give them the lowdown on all the things to see and do here. And there's alot to see and do! We look forward to welcoming you again upon your return to the French Riviera.

80%

Great staff! Bathrooms are a little dirty and there's no ventilation but the common room and bar are comfortable and have a great atmosphere for meeting fellow travelers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel. Great to recieve the compliment about our staff. Come back again to spend some more time with us, the next time your in Nice. Enjoy the rest of your travels.

100%

one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in!!!! the location is super!!! a very quiet and comfortable place!!!! highly recommended for all the tourists!!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the amazing recommendation, it's really appreciated. Really nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us and all the kind words. We'll keep working hard to improve even more the hostel, so when you come back and stay with us again, we'll be even better. Enjoy the rest of your travels from all the VSE staff.

80%

I enjoyed a lot during my stay in Nice :-) Nice people :-)

  • 12th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to post your review. And we appreciate the compliment towards our staff. It's satisfying to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please come back again, when you next visit the French Riviera.

100%

It was a great hostel. Really safe and good location, and all the facilities are clean and arranged well. And I'm still really thankful of you that your hostel gave me a double room instead of domitory room that i booked. Thanks!

  • 8th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
It's a real pleasure to see that you had a nice time at our hostel. We hope you decide to come back and stay with us again on your next visit to the French Riviera.

77%

Good hostel but I preferred 1000 times the atmosphere, the beautee places and the magic of the hostel garden, I'm sad that it will close....

  • 5th Jan 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Belgium
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your comments regarding our Gardens hostel. Great to hear you enjoyed staying there. Unfortunately, we will be closing our Gardens location. However, our city centre Beach location follows the same concept and has all the same great services and facilities available, if not more! Our Beach location offers more convenience for our guests due to it's central location next to the main city square, 2 minutes walk from the beach and Nices' 17th century old town.

89%

Great hostel! Lots of space to chill and socialize. Super helpful having someone available all day long to ask questions. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast.

  • 30th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for leaving your review of our hostel. It's really great you found the time to post something. Where ever you decided to go after Nice, we hope you have a great time. And we hope the weather is not to cold where ever you are. Come back in summer time to Nice and you'll see how buzzing and busy the hostel gets. Full of Aussies and Kiwi's. Take care and we hope to see you again. From all the VSE staff.

83%

Very good location, walking distance to the main city sights. We stay double bed room with toilet, the room was spacious and clean. The free breakfast is very basic.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to read your review pointing out some of the many good things about our hostel like our location and spacious private rooms.Our breakfast has been upgraded in the meantime. We now have available for our guests a good quality breakfast which includes items like fruit, yogurts, ham and cheese amongst many other things.We hope you enjoyed the beauty of the French Riviera, and hope you choose to stay with us again on your next visit to this charming part of the world.

100%

had a lot of fun...perfect place to stay

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for taking the time to write your review of our hostel and for giving us a good recommendation to other travellers reading this. We read each and every review we recieve and try to reply to everyone. Have fun on the rest of your travels, and maybe we'll see you guys again the next time your in Nice.

89%

Excellant location, excellant staffs. Thanks to Saint Exupery Beach Hostel. I've got amazing memories because of you guys help. Thank you. Merci:)

  • 25th Dec 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • South Korea
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hello there. Really great to read that you took away good memories of your stay in Nice. We say thanks to you too, for finding the time to write some comments about us and our hostel. Make sure you stay with us again when you come back to visit the beautiful city of Nice, and make some more good memories to take home.

77%

We were indeed blessed to locate this accommodation right at Place Massena hence I can't complain about proximity. Breakfast will be charged from Jan 2015 and I don't mind paying if hot food is provided. The current breakfast consists of bread, cereal and hot drinks. But the ambience and space is remarkable! There are computers, a gym and even a steam cabinet! Room is simple and though looks alittle run down, I am not complaining because hot water avails and it is well ventilated with heater.

Owner Comment (Hide)
It seems you had a nice comfortable stay in at our hostel and we're glad you found us. Please come and see us again on your next visit to the beautiful city of Nice and the Cote d'Azur.

97%

Great hostel, friendly staff! Common room and bar area is awesome, good atmosphere!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your kind comments. Great to read you enjoyed the bar area of the hostel. Our bar becomes the centre of activity on most days at the hostel. We wish you a safe journey home and look forward to meeting you again on you next visit to Nice.

100%

Having stayed in over 30 hostels around the world, I can honestly say that this hostel is exceptional. It has everything that a budget traveller could possibly want including a sauna and a gym. Lockers in the room contribute to added security and the free tea and coffee is an added bonus. The manager even took the trouble to get some feedback from customers and to advise them with sightseeing. Well done to Philip and his team for a job well done and going out of their way for their customers

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks very much for your review. It's really satisfying to read your comments. Great to read you appreciated all our services and advise. We're always trying to improve and evolve, so the next time you decide to visit us again, we expect that you will find many changes and upgrades. We hope that the rest of your trip is enjoyable, and we look forward to meeting you again upon your return. Best regards, from all the VSE staff.

(54 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback