X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2990 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 76%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

Dirty room, but very helpful staff

  • 26th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Germany
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are sorry to read that the cleanliness did not meet up to your expectations. We try hard to make sure the hostel is well cleaned for our guests. All rooms and common areas are cleaned everyday and then checked by a manager to ensure they have been cleaned properly. Thanks for the comments regarding our staff. The hostel staff make a real effort to help our guests with information, or any questions and queries they may have. Enjoy the rest of your travelling.

91%

Wonderful hostel. We we were a group of 9 stayed in hostel 3 days. Very good facilities, good staff, and good rooms. Hostel is very close to most of the excitements in NICE. enjoyed my stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the accolade of 'wonderful hostel' it is a real pleasure to see you enjoyed staying at Villa Saint Exupery.Great to read you have rated the hostel staff top marks with 5 out of 5. We are fortunate to have a team of friendly people at the Villa.Thanks also for the top marks regarding the location of the hostel, 5 out of 5. Like you mention, the hostel is close to most of the main sights and places of interest in the city. Hope to see you and your group again in the future.

77%

The receptionist from Sunday evening was very helpful. He provided a map to the bus stop for the airport and gave me helpful tips. The hostel is right beside Place Messena and less than a 5 minute walk to the beachfront. Bus 98 stop is really close too, which is nice especially when you have to depart at 5:00 am. Thanks for a nice stay.

  • 25th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, great to read that you had a nice stay at the the hostel. Nadi is our evening receptionist and he'll be happy too to read your comments. He really makes an great effort to make sure all our guests feel welcome and that they get all the information they need to have the best stay possible. We see you liked the hostel location too and rated us a high 4 out of 5.We hope you find the next destination after Nice as enjoyable and we wish you all the best. From all the team at the Villa.

91%

Excellent hostel! Just around the corner from Massena Square, tram stop, and shopping street. Ocean just a block or two away. Staff very helpful and small but good kitchen space available for use. Room had lots of space and showers/bathroom in-room. Reception was super helpful--labeled all bus stops&destinations and old town destinations on a map for me. They mentioned free tea and coffee but i never figured out where that was...overall excellent :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Brilliant to see that you liked the hostel and the facilities on offer. It is very satisfying to read you labelled it 'excellent hostel' It seems the hostel location was a big plus point for you. The hostel is well reviewed for it's central location which is only minutes away from the beach. Shame you did not get to try the hostel free tea and coffee. Maybe on you next visit to Nice.It would be good to have you come back and stay with us again. Best regards, from all the Villa team

97%

Staff was very helpful and nice! Very clean rooms and comfy beds. Wifi was fantastic downstairs in the common room and still pretty good in my room on the second floor. Love having free coffee/ tea available all day and kitchen was a huge plus! Would definitely stay here again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the great review. It's a real pleasure to read that you had an enjoyable stay at the hostel and we hope you enjoyed the many beautiful places there are to visit here on the French Riviera too. We look forward to seeing you again when you come back to visit the south of France.

97%

Great hostel. Fantastic location and the staff give you flyers and advice with heaps of information for day trips. Cheap bar as well!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the accolade of 'great hostel'. We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Villa. We see you liked the location of the hostel, which you rated 5 out of 5. We are sure you found it convenient to be just a matter of minutes walk from all the main sights in the city like the beach, the promenade, the main city center square and the 17th century Nice old town. Thanks for rating the staff 5 out of 5 too. We try and help all our guests make the most of their stay.

77%

Great location very easy to get around from.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Nice to read that you liked the location of the hostel. It makes it much easier for travellers when all the main sights in the city and transport are nearby. Hope to see you again when you visit Nice in the future.

74%

Had a great stay here. Unfortunately they have a piano that random members off the street play and is very intrusive. Also an old man bust into our private room with a clip board who had a key and without knocking claiming to be the owner seeing if any repairs needed to be done to the room. Was very awkward as we were not clothed at the time. He then proceed to talk and talk explaining who he was. This was very uncomfortable

  • 18th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, nice to read that you had a great stay at thehostel. It seems you were staying with us during the week of the piano competion which takes place in the city of Nice each year. The hostel accomodates some of the candidates and they have use of the piano to practice. During the time you were at the hostel we were placing pictures in the rooms. We were entering into the rooms to see where the pictures would be placed.All the best for the rest of your travels.

100%

Very cool location and you find always new friends.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the 100 percent, full marks review. It seems like you had a good time at the hostel and met some cool people. All the best for the rest of the travels and we hope you will be back again to stay at the Villa one more time.

97%

great place!!! Thx!!!

Owner Comment (Hide)
And thank you for the great review. It's great to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope the rest of your travelling is as enjoyable and we hope to see you again in the future. Take care and all the best, from all the team at Villa St Exupery.

80%

Excellent location, less than 10 mins walk to the beach! Large bedrooms with good sized lockers, although shower and toilet facilities were a bit small. Large bar and seperate lounge area with widescreen tvs showing major sporting events. Would recommend this hostel for its convenient location, and comfy beds!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, brilliant that you are recommending the hostel to other travellers. It seems there were many different aspects of the hostel that you liked. You gave top marks for the location, 5 out of 5. As you mention, it's very convieniently located next to the beach. Most importantly though you liked our 'comfy beds!'So looks like you had a good nights sleep. Come bach to stay with us again on your next visit to the south of France. All the best, from all the Villa team.

100%

Absolutely loved my stay. Felt like more of a hotel than a hostel as the facilities downstairs were fantastic for meeting people. However the 'gym' advertised has some seriously basic equipment but what do you expect for it to be free. Clean, modern, wifi was sometimes dodgy in the upstairs room but that's as close to a complaint that I can get.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to read you liked the hostel. Your right about the gym though, we need to get some new equipement in there. It is a bit basic at the moment. We'll have a look at getting some new things in there for the future. Come and stay with us again on your next visit to Nice. All the best, from all the team at Villa St Exupery.

77%

Staff were polite and helpful, it would have been nice if we didn't have to wait in line for ages each time we had a question though. Rooms were modern and clean with lockers, just a pity there weren't more power points. Breakfast wasn't great considering you had to pay extra for it. The hostel offered free tea and coffee all day after breakfast which i really appreciated. There was an unofficial kitchen where they allowed us to cook which was also helpful. Great location, i would stay again.


86%

The private 3 person room was perfect for our stay. We had a great time!

  • 14th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, super to see that you had a great time at the hostel and that you liked our rooms. We are also happy to you have rated the hostel full marks for location, staff and security. Enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe we will see you back again in the future. All the best, from all the Villa team.

74%

In a great location and very helpful staff, the construction outside our window every morning at 8.30am wasn't ideal, I literally shook the room. Also the gym is not a gym, it's a flat bench, a bar and some scattered weights, not even a rack.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, great to read that you liked our 'very helpful staff'. You gave the hostel top marks for the location too, 5 out of 5. The construction you mention was the French electric company EDF replacing cables on the street. The work lasted a few days and unfortunately there was nothing the hostel could have done about it. Thanks for the feedback on the gym. We have now put some extra equipement inside and so a full body workout is now possible. We hope you come back to stay with us again.

60%

A volitile man with a potential weapon, a large knife he was slamming down on tables, was in one of the communal areas and was scaring us but the staff did not ask him to leave.


71%

Beds were comfy and

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Great to read you enjoyed the hostel comfy beds. We hope to see you again when you next visit Nice.

57%

The location was great as it was close to everything. The staff were friendly and the facilities were fairly clean. However, this hostel was too expensive given how less than average it was. The building it was in was old and very outdated (needs renovations). On top of the expensive price that they charge per night, you have to pay for breakfast. In my opinion, breakfast should be included with a price like that and the facilities should look a bit more modern. Overall, it was an okay hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest.During this winter there will be a few renovations made to improve the rooms.The prices at the hostel change according to the season. Prices are higher in the peak summer period and very low in the winter period.Dorm beds are available from just 15 euros per night in low season.The breafast is 4 euros at the hostel. The charge was introduced in order to improve the quality of breakfast offered.Breakfast now includes items like ham, salami, cheese, eggs, yogurts, fruits, cereals etc

63%

There are lockers in the room which I used however I had my wallet stolen from my trouser that I had taken off and put at the end of my bed. When I went to sleep. I had €1200 charged to my card, I had to report it to the police and they say it's not the first time something like this has happened in that hostel. So if you stay here just make sure nothing valuable is left out of the lockers as people check in the hostel just to steal things from travellers.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest.Sorry to read that you had your wallet stolen. We try our best to ensure the security of our guests and their belongings. As you mention, there are lockers are provided in all the rooms so guests can secure their valuables. There are CCTV camers in all the common areas of the hostel. There is a nightwatch security guard to check people coming into and leaving the hostel. The hostel entrance door and the doors to the rooms are only accesible by guests with their electronic key cards.

57%

The restaurant has been closed since my last visit only a month ago. The bar prices have increased and the facilities were dirty. The only positive is there was a locker in the room to lock my valuables up from the odd bunch that were in my room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are sorry to see you were not satisfied with your stay. We try our best to make sure everyone staying with us is as comfortable as possible and that they get the most from their stay. The only price which has changed in our bar is that of our happy hour house beers. Due to a price increase from the supplier we have had to add 0.50 cents, so they are now 1.50 euros per pint instead of 1 euro a pint. It is still a great price for a pint of beer.We hope you enjoy the rest of your travelling

(104 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback