X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

33,000 properties, 170 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2986 Total Reviews
  • 76%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 94%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 77%Atmosphere
  • 70%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

83%

This hostel is in a great location, perfectly located in easy walking distance of the beach and the train station. The hostel staff were helpful and friendly. My dorm was very clean and modern. The bed was very comfortable and the linen was nice. The bathroom was quite out-dated, but the price, location, staff and cleanliness more than makes up for the out-dated bathroom. My only warning is that the advertised gym equipment is located inside the unisex bathroom below the bar.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, great to read that you found the staff helpful, your dormitory clean and the beds very comfortable. You have also rated the hostel 5 out of 5 for location. As you mention, the hostel is within easy walking distance of the beach (only 3 minutes by foot) and all of the main sites in the city. We hope to see you again when you next visit the city of Nice. Best regards, from all the Villa team.

51%

Too big hostel to meet people. No kitchen. It's not clean. Location is ok. Staff is really slow. We always wait for long time.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest.We regret to read that you were unhappy.The hostel has a large and popular bar area where travellers can meet and talk to other guests staying at the hostel. There is a fully equiped kitchen at the hostel which guests can use. Sorry to read the hostel cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We try our best to make sure the hostel is kept clean.All rooms and common areas are cleaned everyday. Cleaning is inspected afterwards by a manager. Good to see you liked the location.

51%

The photos online made me expect a better place and is complete different. I wouldn't recommend as my experience there wasn't great.

  • 4th Oct 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Sorry to read your experience did not meet your expectations, We try our best to make sure all our guests have a good time at the hostel and that they get the most out of their stay on the French Riviera. We would have liked to have had more details in your review so we could have tried to remedy some of the issues that you were not happy with. We hope the rest of your travelling is enjoyable, and that you will come back again to stay at Villa St Exupery.

77%

Didn't liked the bathroom cleaness and they need requalification, too old facilites. The rest of the hostel was excellent!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, sorry to see that the hostel cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We try our best to keep the hostel bathrooms as clean as possible. All dormitory bathrooms are cleaned everyday and then checked by a manager afterwards. Bathrooms in the rooms are shared and so may become dirty again after use. The hostel does have alternative extra showers available in the basement which are modern. Great to read you found all other aspects of the hostel to be excellent.

63%

Very dirty bathroom with mould and the shower head didn't work

  • 30th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thanks for the feedback. We are sorry to see the hostel did not meet your expectations. We will be fixing the problems that you mention in your review.. Hope you enjoy the rest of your journey.

97%

Great location, easy check in, friendly staff! The room was clean and the comforters were so comfy! Only thing is that I heard one woman talking about how she has a lot of cash stolen from her bag and she was talking to the staff and the staff member didn't really seem to care, though he did help move her to another room. A little unsettling, but I had a great stay personally.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Great to see you rated our hostel highly. You mention security in the review. There are many security measures in place to ensure guests feel safe at the hostel. The hostel entrance is locked in the evenings, only accessible by guests key card access. There is a nightwatch security all through the night and CCTV cameras in all public areas. The is secure luggabe storage with 24 hour camera surveillance. Lockers are provided in every room so guests can secure their belongings.

86%

The Villa has lost all the ambiance the old monastery used to have. The common room doesn't have the same joie de vivre. The staff aren't as friendly. The place used to feel like home and be a good time, now it's just boring and run of the mill.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. We see you were a fan of the Villa St Exupery Gardens hostel, which was closed down recently. We recommend you come back to stay at the beach hostel during the busy summer months of June, July and August because your visit was at the end of September, when the hostel does become much quieter. The hostel bar is a great place to meet other travellers and a pint is just 1.50 euro during happy hour. We hope the rest of your travelling is an enjoyable experience.

100%

Great place, beach is a 8 minute walk down the square. Old Town is 5 minutes away. Great people at the front desks who let us keep our stuff after we checked out. Highly recommend.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thankyou very much for the 10 out of 10 review and for highly recommending the hostel to other travellers.It is a pleasure to recieve glowing reviews like yours and really qualifies all the unseen hard work that the Villa staff put in on a day to day basis to make sure all guests have a great stay. All the best for the rest of your journey, and we hope you will choose to stay with again on your next visit to Nice.

54%

It was really dirty and insect in the room

  • 26th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Norway
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We regret to read that the hostel cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We try our best to make sure the rooms are cleaned to a high standard. All rooms are cleaned everyday and then checked afterwards. The room you stayed in has been checked and we did not see any signs of insects. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

74%

Everything was good, except it seemed that the cleaning was lacking. Hair balls and dirt everywhere. Other than that was a great stay!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. It nice to read that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Villa. With regards to the cleaning, we try our best to make sure the rooms are cleaned to a high standard. All rooms are cleaned everyday and checked after cleaning for any faults. We hope you come back to stay with us again on your next visit to the French Riviera.

37%

This was by far the most unclean and disappointing hostel that I have stayed in. I spent the 1st night in a 10 bed dorm and the following 2 nights in a twin room. On the website the rooms looked comfortable especially the twin room looked like hotel quality. When I arrived there was building work in progress on every floor which meant that the lift did not work and there was constant noise. The beds were barely made and sheets had stains! Bathroom was disgusting and not of an acceptable standand

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. The construction that you mention was to install a brand new lift to improve the hostel for guests. The construction is now finished, there is no more noise and the new lift is operational. We are sorry to read that the hostel cleanliness did not meet your expectations. We make every effort to ensure the rooms are of an acceptable standard of cleanliness. Our in house laundry washers all sheets, all rooms are cleaned everyday and inspected afterwards.

77%

Friendly staff, fun travelers. Felt safe and clean, with the exception of mold growing in the shower in the bathroom of the women's three-bed dorm. Electricity went out due to a storm and a staffer led me to my room by lamplight!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. Thanks for the feedback. The problem of mold you mentioned in the room has been dealt with and cleaned. Thanks for the comments about our staff and levels of safety and cleanliness.As you mentioned, there was a storm that made the electricity go out and meant the hostel was without power for the evening and the morning after. Everything has been fixed now though and all is back to normal. No more taking guests to their rooms by lamplight.

74%

Stayed here for 3 nights and unfortunately they were doing construction out the front of the hostel and the first night I was showering and the power went off because of the construction which i wasn't told could possibly happen. Therefore I'm in the shower and its dark cant see a thing this happened several times I was in the bathroom even the next morning. They did upgrade me in the beginning but I think that was because of what was happening. Apart from that was in a good location.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest. The electrical problems you mention were unforeseen and were due to a storm which hit the coast and the city of Nice. The hostel was not responsible for the power cuts. Several other streets in the city were also affected during this time. The French electricity company carried out construction out front of the hostel as you mentioned and the problem has now been fixed. There is no more construction and the hostel has power.

71%

Hostel was too overcrowded and constant problems with facilities. Money not well spent - breakfast is an additional cost which I think should be included in the whole room fee. It is however a clean hostel but I've had much better for much less. Do some research before choosing this one.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest,you stayed at the Villa during the summer and the hostel is very popular during the summer period therefore is often full everyday during this time of year. When the hostel is full, however, there is a very lively and fun atmosphere. Outside this summer period the hostel is much calmer and quieter. The hostel has a paid breakfast, just 4 euros, in order to be able to offer a quality all you can eat breakfast. Included are ham, salami, cheese, bread, eggs, yogurts, fruits, cereals etc.

34%

We have been traveling for 3weeks all around Europe & stayed at several hostels, this was the worst & most expensive. Our bathroom wasn't clean, & after they had been inside & cleaned, it looked exactly the same. One morning we also discovered that the floor was full of ants. I removed my bag from the floor & even more ants showed up. It was raining during another night & in the morning the corridor was filled with water & it was raining inside & the power was out. Mold inside the hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear client. We are sorry to read the hostel did not meet your expectations. Unfortunately there was a large storm which hit the city of Nice during your stay which blew the hatch on the roof open, causing rain water to come inside. A manager came to the hostel as quick as possible and closed it. The water was then cleaned up by our staff. The storm also caused a black out, not just in the hostel, but in other streets in the city. This meant the hostel was without electricity for some time.

86%

The room was clean and nice. Very good value for the money.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, brilliant to read that you found the hostel ,to be 'very good value for money'. You have rated the hostel highly and it seems one of the main plus points for you was the cleanliness. The hostel staff work very hard to maintain a high level of cleanliness in the hostel areas and the hostel rooms. We hope to see you stay with us again upon your next visit to Nice. All the best from all the Villa team.

86%

Very lively, youthful atmosphere. Gym was a little lacklustre but was good enough for my personal requirements. Good central location and very helpful staff. Includes good food for cheap prices. Biggest issue was with the cleanliness of the dorm floors as walking barefoot for 1 minute would cover your entire sole in dirt. I believe they need to clean their mops regularly.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, recently the staffl has undertaken a deep cleaning of the hostel floors. The floors in the rooms have been scrubbed to remove the dirt you are refering to. The gym has recently been upgraded with new equipment inside. The gym now has enough facilities for a full body workout. It is pleasing to read you found the staff very helpful and that you rate the location highly. It seems you also appreciated the hostel bar where food and beers are available for 'cheap prices' as you say.

91%

Great place to stay. It has a large bar downstairs which is very social. They also have a small food menu which makes eating in Nice cheaper. Bathroom was a bit run down. Staff very helpful and friendly. Great activities. Just a bit expensive on some nights.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, great to read you found the hostel a 'great place to stay'. It seems you enjoyed the hostel bar where food and beers are available at cheap prices. With regards to the bathrooms you mention,over the winter period all the bathrooms will be undergoing renovations to make them better for guests arriving in the future.Thanks for rating the hostel staff highly, you gave 5 out of 5, and mentioning that hostel staff were 'very helpful and friendly'.Take care and all the best from the team.

91%

Good place to stay. Clean bathroom every day! I really enjoy the happy hours at the bar in the hostel it's good place to meet some people! Employee are really helpful and nice! I really enjoy my stay. Close to beach, train station, shopping and Old Nice.


83%

Very friendly staff, the position is quite good and easy to find. The only thing that didn't correspond (at least to us) was the towels, which we didn't had it. In overall opinion is a worth place.

  • 6th Sep 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Italy
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)


(108 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback