X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2138 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

97%

Amazing price for what you got would definitely recommend


97%

Don't be scared off by some of the sketchy reviews- we had a fantastic stay here! Everything was super clean (saw staff cleaning all the time), very comfortable beds, outlets at every bed, front desk very knowledgable about the area. They provided a nice map with things to do and everything was very close! Would love to stay again!


74%

The location is great and the facilities are a lot better than the Villa Gardens. Although the view is not really good from the rooms compared to the Gardens. We had a double private room that was really big and in good conditions with and actual double bed, not like in the Gardens. The breakfast didn't work so well because they always seem to run out of bread, coffee, etc. Also they were doing some construction on the building and it smelled quite awful (like paint ) and was full of dust.


71%

Not enough toilet facilities. Gym should not be advertised - very poor condition.


89%

The location is FANTASTIC. It is right in the city center so it is close to EVERYTHING. You can stay late out in another city and then come back to the hostel knowing that there is always a Tram connecting. The atmosphere is vibrant and you get to know many new friends. The only thing is that it can be noisy if you stay in a 4+ people room.

  • 31st May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


94%

This hostel was very good! The location was great. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were big. There were also ensuite bathrooms, which was super nice. Would recommend!


94%

Great hostel! Will be returning

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Lovin' the review. Enjoy the rest of your travels and it will be good to see you back in Nice!

97%

I really enjoyed my stay here, great location and friendly atmosphere. Rooms were clean with very comfortable beds, the room even had air conditioning! Bar served good breakfast, had 1€ beer during happy hour and was a nice relaxing place to hangout and meet other people. I will most definitely be back

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Good to read you had a great time while staying at our hostel. We get alot of good comments like yours regarding how comfy our beds are. It can get pretty hot and sunny on the French Riviera too, so all our rooms have air conditioning like you mentioned, to keep everyone comfortable.

94%

This hostel was perfect! Not one complaint. Rooms were nice, clean, well laid out. Staff very nice and helpful. Made this part of our trip that much better!


100%

Very busy most of the time, but the staff handled the chaos brilliantly. Friendly and helpful, the night shift guy was awesome!


97%

This hostel was the nicest one that my group stayed at (and we went to Dublin, London, Paris, Nice, Florence, and Munich)! Our room was clean and the beds were comfortable, however the bathroom was kinda icky (not dirty, just stained and worn down from frequent use). They had happy hour from 6-8pm every night and you could buy a bottle of wine for 6.50 euros + house beer for 2.00 euros! They also let you rent towels and will give you your money back when you return them! Great location too.


100%

I can not say enough good things about Villa Saint Exupery!! It was my best experience by far when traveling Europe! The staff is absolutely so great and so much fun, the bar is nice and has a great happy hour, it's so close to the beautiful beach, and you are guaranteed to meet other visitors!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Thanks for the kind words, it's nice to read that you had a great time while staying with us.We really appreciate you saying we were the best hostel experience of your travels around Europe. And we reckon you have stayed in alot of hostels, in alot of cities during those travels. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to the French Riviera.

94%

Best place to meet people. Cheap drinks. Comfy mattresses and super helpful staff. What more could you want?

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery Great review! We like your style. We agree, these are all the right ingredients for a good hostel stay.

60%

One bathroom and toilets in the same room for 10 people is not enough at all. Moreover because there are not many others available in the Hostel. Water was leaking in the bathroom, from the ceiling and nothing done to repair it during the 3 days we stayed here. We had to insist to get a bucket. The check-in/check-out organization is not very easy. No real kitchen, we can't store or cook ! Only buy food cooked. What propose the hostel is not worthing the money, I got so much better for 20 EUR.

  • 28th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Apologies for the problem with the broken pipe in your room. Our maintenance team has now fixed the problem. All our rooms are ensuite, however, should these be occupied, there are more showers and toilets in our basement area. Our kitchen area is available to use during the day and early evening. However afterward, we have a professional chef cook delicious meals available for our guests to buy at reasonable prices.

66%

Not too sure about the quality of cleaning...stayed in a 16person dorm and was present for the 10drcond clearing Job done by hostel staff. They did nothing more than a quick sweep and spray with disinfectant...bed linen didn't smell clean or look to be changed after guests had checked out. Otherwise really average, nothing special

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Sorry you were disappointed by your stay. The rooms should be thoroughly cleaned everyday. We shall be keeping a closer eye on the standards of our cleaning staff.

63%

The localisation was great but unfortunatelly the room was dirty, partucularly the bathroom. Furthermore, the window was broken and can't be closed.

  • 26th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for the feedback. We will make sure our maintenance team makes the necessary reapirs to the broken window.

80%

The hostel's location makes getting around on foot quite easy. The staff was helpful, and the rooms were clean, as was the rest of the place. I really liked the extra showers and toilets in the gym area. Over all, a nice place to stay.


86%

The room I had only had one working outlet for 6 people. The reception desk staff could be more friendly. It almost feels like they go out of their way to be unfriendly. One guy did the walking tour and was so nice and then the next day at the desk he was just rude. And when I mentioned I was in the tour he became friendlier. Made no sense. Just be nice to people...you work at a hostel where it is your job to be hospitable. Overall a nice/clean place. Food decent and the cook is so nice!


89%

The closeness to the beach and bars was certainly a plus. However, I liked the atmosphere (and the bar) at the Villa Exupery Gardens more. The rooms were very clean and spacious.

  • 23rd May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

It was a quite pleasant stay. Close to the city centre & beach. Bed was nice and comfortable. However, we had no window in our room and because of that the air conditioning was on all day and night due to lack of air circulation (and it was not even that warm outside). The staff was sympathetic, yet a little bit uninterested in confronting guests about various issues. NB Friday night stay may be a sleepless night (as it was for me) due to loud music and bass!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's good to read that your stay was a pleasant one. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location. We are located right next to the main city square, only 30 seconds from the nearest tram stop, 2 minutes walk to the beach and the 17th century old town of Nice where all the bars and nightlife are. We apologise for not giving your concerns the attention they needed. Generally we are responsive to all our guests with any concerns they have.

(183 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback