X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

78%

Rating
2405 Total Reviews
  • 71%Value For Money
  • 83%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 78%Staff
  • 79%Atmosphere
  • 66%Cleanliness
  • 73%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

71%

Please wash your bathrooms...mold is absolutely disgusting.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for the feedback. We are in the process of cleaning all our bathroom tiles in the rooms to eradicate the mould.

63%

Ignored at reception by staff member so ended up waiting ages to get checked in. Bed was very comfortable but the bathroom was disgusting, neither I nor another girl who was in the room would shower there. Poor value for money as I paid extra to be in an ensuite room. Would not recommend.

  • 15th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ireland
  • Female, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. All our bathrooms are cleaned everyday. Bathrooms may become less clean after usage.However, should any of our guests be unhappy with the state of the bathrooms we have staff on hand, 24 hours a day, who are more than willing to re-clean the bathroom at anytime.

54%

The hostel is pretty old and for that price you expected a lot more. The kitchen is dirty and they don't have great cocking utensils if you want to do your lunch/dinner by yourself. The breakfast is just toast and cereals and some juice but thats it. The furniture is old and the beds are shaky and loose. Also our 14-bed-room was going to the street and it was so loud!!! For the money we expected a bit more.....50€ for a 14-bed-room per night and person for this hostel....nothing more to say!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We regret to read that your stay did not meet your expectations. We shall be adding some kitchen utensils to our Kitchen to make it better for the guests. With regard to our breakfast, we offer a free breakfast consisting of cereal, toast bread, daily delivery of fresh bread from a local French Boulangerie, honey, jam, orange juice and apple juice, tea, coffee and fruit.

37%

Not worth the price, too expensive, and not very clean. Very noisy also.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We regret that you were disatisfiedwith your stay at our hostel.You stayed in one of our private rooms for one night, which are our highest priced rooms. We also have lots of other cheaper options available in the hostel. All our rooms are kept very clean. Our staff clean the rooms thoroughly everyday, after which they are checked by management to ensure standards are maintained. Should any problems with cleanliness be noticed, they are dealt with immediately.

94%

Very good hostel with excellent location and facilities - gym, bar, sauna. Bit pricey though


77%

Good hostel with everything you need. It is a bit expensive but the free breakfast is a good inclusion.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We see you mention our free breakfast. We try and give our guests all the essential services they would like to have. We also have a cheap laundry service for just 7e, so while your at the beach, we wash and dry your laundry. We have 10 computers which offer free internet and there is free wifi all around the building. We have a free Gym for those guests wanting to work out and cheap beers for just 1e at our bar as well cheap meal deals, dinners for just 8euro.

83%

So expensive for what you receive, you are paying for the location

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our prices are higher in summer time than in winter time.Our clients benefit from a wide range of free and low priced services once they are at the hostel. We have a free eat as much as you like breakfast, free internet computers, free wifi everywhere, a free Gym to use,a play for free table tennis, a free city walking tour, free luggage storage, free tea and coffee all day,wash and dry all your laundry for just 7 euor beers in the bar for 1 euro and more.

60%

This hostel is located near to the beach, which is really amazing. However, the room was very dirty and the wifi don´t work properly there. There´s only one socket to share with the people in the room (5). The bathroom was disgusting, there is a big mould in the ceiling and, therefore, I had to take medicine to avoid allergies. The lift doesn´t work and I heard it´s off for over a year.


97%

Loved my stay here

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for the positive comments. It's great to read that you had an enjoyable time while staying at our hostel. We're sure you enjoyed the beautiful city of Nice and the French Riviera as much as we do. We hope to see you again when you return to the Riviera for more fun.

94%

A great place to stay, right in the centre and only a 5 minute walk to the beach. Staff were great apart from the american(?) guy on the front desk who seemed to not really give a damn. The rest were absolutely great. The bar was fun and the rest of the facilities are excellent. I definitely recommend this place!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our security, location and atmosphere. All our rooms have lockable lockers, with key card access throughout the building, security camers in our common areas and a night security. Our bar is lively, beginning with our happy hour where you can buy a pint before 7pm for 1 euro (it's 2;50 euros after for a pint) Other faciliuties include the gym, table tennis, free internet, a movie room and free tea and coffee all day.

57%

getting to the iron board required me to exit the hotel and going into the basement of the next building, no easy access. While ironing, an impolite young Englishman suggested that I "find a girl to do that for you" even thought I had never met that indivudual in my life. The hotel part used to be "Hotel Carlyna", only now it is more expensive. There's some new paint and new carpeting, but the air conditioner is insufficient for August.

  • 9th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Sweden
  • Male, 31-40
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Geetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking time to write your review. Sorry to see your were not very happy. It's true, the entrance to our private rooms is next to the hostel entrance in the building next door. All our facilities are in the hostel building, like our great bar, TV room, Table tennis, Gym and Sauna, free internet computers, free breakfast etc etc. It's unfortunate that another guests made a comment you did not like, however, we accept no responsibilty for that.

74%

Not great value for money, I stayed here before moving to a bed and breakfast opposite the beach for cheaper! Positives being the wifi good, breakfast included and bar for mingling.


57%

the staff must have a responsibility for his fault. but he didn't. just say " sorry. i don't know" his attitude makes me angry. i had a good memories about Villa Saint Exupery garden. so i booked Villa Saint Exupery Beach. now i regret bitterly!


69%

WIFI HORRIBLE POINT ONE (.1) Mbps most of the time. The deafening smoke alarm goes off every night practically.


74%

It's expensive for what it is! But on the plus side it has a decent bar and cheap food!


91%

In mixed dorms showers and toilet were in common. When someone having shower it tooks a lot of time, because people changes their clothes there after shower too.


91%

Fantastic hostel! Really good breakfast. They offer activities outside of what regular hostel do which is awesome. Perfect location for exploring Nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Really nice to read your review. We really appreciate it when people who have a great time here take a moment to write a review. We do have some great activities on offer, like canyoning, sailing and scuba diving, which can make unforgettable memories. Keep the positive vibe going for the rest of your trip, we hope it's as enjoyable as your stay on the French Riviera!

86%

Solid hostel. Excellent location about 5 minutes walk to the beach. My dorm room was nice enough and quiet considering how many guests there must be. The rooms have lockers. They also have a downstairs locker-room that is really handy for when you check out in the morning but don't want to haul your stuff everywhere on your last day. Breakfast was fine, considering it's free. You wash your own dishes, which isn't hard but makes me think the dishes can't be that clean considering the gross sponge

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Lovin' the tag 'Solid hostel'! Thanks heaps for the review. We believe we have the best location of any other hostel in Nice. 5 minutes from the beach, the old town, 1 minute from the tram stop and the main city square. We appreciate the positive comments. We do ask our guests to help out and rinse their own dishes, however, after the guests have rinsed them, we put all our dishes through the dishwasher which sterilises them.

83%

Huge bathroom, room great size as well. The lift was broken while I was there which sucked because I had to drag my 20kg bag up 3 flights of stairs. Apart from that it was great. Free tea and coffee was nice, as was the included breakfast - some nice cereals to choose from, better than other hostels I'd stayed in. Also the bar in the evening was going off!

  • 4th Aug 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's really great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We see you like our free breakfast and free tea and coffee. We try to give our guests as many free and low priced additional services as we can. Some others that you haven't mentioned include our free internet and wifi, a free city walking tour, free luggage storage, free Gym and table tennis, low priced food and drinks in our bar (beers from €1, dinners at €8) We look forward to seeing you again.

86%

Close to everything. Small communal kitchen that isn't open during dinner time and you couldn't do your own laundry, they do it for you- you have to pay the same amount whether you just wash or wash and dry. good continental breakfast. Excellent service in that the bar staff and people that come around at breakfast and help you to work out what to do for the day. Front desk are mostly good, some are a little rude. Had a double room, pretty good. Extras: canyoning

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have a restaurant in our hostel in the evening time where all our guests are able to buy dinners at very low prices.We also have the laundry service for just 7euros which means our guests can enjoy the day on the Beach or visiting the surrounding areas while we do all the work for them.We see you liked our bar and breakfast staff.We try and make sure people enjoy themselves in Nice by helping them plan their day trips and giving them all the inside knowledge they need.

(136 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback