X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels!

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

80%

Rating
2273 Total Reviews
  • 72%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 80%Staff
  • 81%Atmosphere
  • 72%Cleanliness
  • 78%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

77%

In a 5 bed dorm there was a good sized locker for each person but only 2 power points to charge electronics. Good bar and common area. Pretty good location. Walking distance to everything

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for the comment. We are happy to see that you liked our bar and the location of the hostel. We have started some work on the power sockets in the rooms so it has been improved recently. We hope you will be coming back to Nice and to the hostel again. Your Villa Team

94%

Free breakfast and tea plus! Free walking tour by hostel is a must , gathers at 11am and takes place on certain days only. Meet new people! Good place to relax, party, or whatever you choose. Great helpful staff! Clean rooms and facilities. Strong free wifi. Free CPUs. Central location - within walking distance to many popular Nice attractions.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your visit in the hostel and also for your top notes! It is great to see that you have enjoyed everything that we offer at the hostel. We hope that you had a chance to see a lot in Nice, and that you will be coming back. Wishing you all the best! Your Villa Team

97%

One of the best hostels that I stayed on during my trip! Great location, 5 minutes from the beach and the promenade! They had a good breakfast with lots of cereals. The dorms were clean and had great lockers. I lived in a 14 female dorm and we hade two showers and a bathroom inside our dorm, it was more than expected! The staff were also really helpful and could recommened their favourite places in Nice. Also, I forgot my ID-card there and they sent it back home. So grateful for that! Stay here!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay in the hostel Villa Saint Exupery Beach in Nice. We are very happy to see that you fully enjoyed being in our hostel. We also hope that you liked city as well. Our staff is always available for our guests and willing to help. We hope you will come back at some point in the future and visit us again. Your Villa Team

97%

Added security in the dorms and the entrance was welcomed improvement since the last time I stayed at St. Exupery Hostel. most disappointed that the elevator was out of service and that self-catering option has been discontinued but the chef is doing a terrific job offering a varied menu for nominal cost. The cleanup area and dishwashing station is a bottleneck. It needs to be bigger and better organized if the guests are expected to properly wash their dishes, stack them before sterilize

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, we are very happy to see one of our returning guests being satisfied with our service again! Thank you for your very good notes; we definitely have in plans extending kitchen and dishwashing station so it will be more comfortable for our guests. This is great to see you coming back to us every year for 4 years already. We are very proud to have a customer like you. We hope that you still had a good time in Nice. Wishing you all the best, hopefully to see you again! Your Villa Team

80%

Bit dissapointing to be honest considering the price we paid. No doubt the location was amazing, but our room had no air conditioning, was small, wifi did not work in our room and the noise from the traffic was really really loud. The common area was very comfortable though.

  • 6th Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)


86%

Great atmosphere. It's really easy to meet people at the bar and in the dorms. The bar is pretty cheap and does some good deals. The beds are super comfy. I slept comfortably in the 16 bed dorm which was conveniently broken up into two rooms. Location also great. Really close to the beach, market, stores, and only 10min walk from the station.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay and for your comment. We are glad that you appreciate a very good value of the service with also fairly cheap price that we offer. Our location is right in the city center that is very convenient for all of our guests. We hope to see you coming back to our hostel. Wishing you all the best! Your Villa Team

51%

I reserved Villa Saint Exupery in NIce after looking at all the excellent reviews from other travellers. The location of the hostel is excellent, close to the old town and the port, with many cafes and shops all within walking distance. However, the hostel itself was extremely dirty. I reserved a three bed dorm with two friends, the shower was filled with hair, there was mold all over the ceiling of the bathroom and the room felt damp and had a stale smell. It is also far overpriced.


89%

Great hostel and loved happy hour at the bar however the only downside really was that it was 40 euro for a room of 13 people and not very much space.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, Thank you for your stay and for your comment. We are glad that you liked the hostel. We are pretty busy every day of the summer, that reflects on prices as well. Our location is right in the city center and our bar is very cheap. We hope you understand that. Beside that, we wish you all the best! Your Villa Team

86%

Good vibe in the hostel, the included breakfast and tea/ coffee facilities were excellent. Free internet on the computers and free wifi in the rooms. The beds were comfortable. Great location and easy to find. The biggest issue was the bathroom (filthy) and the fact that there was only two power points in the 5 bed dorm, one of them being broken and at the entrance to the room. Overall would recommend to other budget travellers.

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Australia
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay with us and for your very good notes. We can see that you have enjoyed our hostel and the services, free breakfast, free coffee, tea and our location. Thank you for the suggestion about the power points, we will do our best to improve. The cleaning team is working on all of the rooms every day, however it is quite hard to maintain them cleam in dorms. We will keep an eye on those things. Thank you. We wish you all the best! Your Villa Team

80%

VSE is a fairly good hostel, with nice comfy beds. However it's a bit pokey, lots of stairs doors and corridors before you get to your room - one of the hand railings on the stairs almost broke when I tried to put some weight on it as I climbed the stairs. I stayed in a Dorm with around 12 other girls, the bathroom has poor design, would be much better if shower and toilet are separate with that amount of girls. They need to supply bath mats as the tiles are extremely slippery and dangerous!

  • 2nd Jul 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • tammyrose
  • New Zealand
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear guest, thank you for your stay in the hostel and for your feedback. We are always looking for improvements; therefore comments from our guests help us a lot. We had fixed the staircase railing and put some bath mats. We hope you had a good time in Nice. Wishing you all the best! Your Villa Team

91%

Really great vibe in this place! Easy to meet people in the bar. Enjoyed the lounge room where you could chill and watch movies. Close to the markets and a short walk to the beach. We stayed in a 12 bed dorm which was divided into two sections so there was quite a lot of space. Bigger dorm was definitely better than our 4 bed dorm that we'd stayed in the first night - hardly room to move! Only other negative thing was checking in - it took forever!


86%

Location is fantastic, staff are extremely helpful and have great recommendations for activites/restaurants. We stayed in one of the private rooms, which are next door from the dorms, so I can't really comment about the dorm facilities. Complementary breakfast in the morning was really convenient. The atmosphere at the bar at night was fun too. Bring your own towel.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Mixed Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

We had a great experience at the Villa Saint-Exupery Beach! The location couldn't haven't been more perfect; easy to find, and easy access to the beach and the old town. The hostel itself was really nice. We enjoyed the free breakfast, and the free towels, beach mats and parasols. The staff was really nice and proactively seeked to give us advice on where to go and what to do. We ate dinner at the hostel and, while it was cheap, the food could've been slightly better. Overall, a lovely stay.

  • 30th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


54%

There's no fridge they say there is but it's locked by the chef so if he's not around you can't get your food. I paid for a female dorm and some girls brought boys home that weren't even staying in the hostel pretty bad security and then when we went downstairs to report it the guy at the desk said as long as they aren't making noise there's nothing he can do so he left the men lying on the floor of my female dorm extremely disappointed! The dinner was also terrible paid for steak got chicken?


60%

Whole place reeked of paint! Gave me headache while I slept.


86%

Great location in Nice right alongside the old part of the city, the main shopping street and beach area. Facilities were fine in the 16 bed dorm, the room was split in half so essentially it is smaller numbers in there then you think. Only one toilet/shower in the room but there is plenty downstairs to speed things up if traveling in a group. Bar downstairs isn't expensive and is a good way to meet others, watch sport or unwind. Staff are happy to help out if asked.


94%

Amazing location--close to the beach and easy access to public transit. Only downside--I asked about the party bus to Monaco that they mention on HostelWorld, but it doesn't exist according to the staff.


60%

We paid €80 for a private room with ensuite, which was run down with the mouldiest shower I've ever seen. The receptionist simply pointed us in the direction that our room was in the building 2 doors down. At the time of booking it was told dinner was included but when we asked she said this was no longer offered which was the only reason we were happy to pay so much for the room! Air con in room didn't work, kitchen/eating area very unclean. Would not stay here again.


86%

Great hostel in a great location! Showers and bathroom were cleaned regularly, though bathroom did start to smell after a few days (total of 5 nights with 13 people sharing a bathroom)..Overall cleanliness was very good, breakfast was minimal, unless you really like cereal, in which case it was amazing. Staff were very helpful and informative. Only downside was that a good night's sleep was difficult with the noise and light (curtain didn't keep much out).

  • 25th Jun 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


80%

Great location... Helpful staff


(245 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback