X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2126 Total Reviews
  • 78%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 84%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 81%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

80%

Wifi was really bad and didn't work if you were in an upstairs room. Hot water ran out twice. Other than that it was really good, breakfast was decent and the staff were really helpful with day trip ideas.

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the feedback. We are looking into the problem with the wifi and will be contacting our supplier to make necessary repairs. Apologies for the hot water going off. There was a problem with the boiler which has now been fixed by engineers. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our staff. All our staff are very knowledgable about the area.We try and make sure that our guests get the maximum form their stay by giving them the lowdown on what to see and how to get there.

51%

It's not possible to have the bedroom before 15 p.m. because different people cleaned the room between 10 a.m. and 15 p.m. The staff only speak English, no French! The breakfast it's good with nice atmosphere and the wifi works! But they didn't give towels and soap! The bedrooms are new and not finish yet so it's very noisy at the morning! Good location next to the big place front of the beach!

  • 19th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
We have alot of guests check in and out of the hostel everyday, more often than not over 100 people, and our house-keeping team work hard to get the beds and rooms ready as soon as possible. This may mean some rooms and beds are not ready until our check-in time. However, often rooms are ready earlier and we are always prepared to check guests in early if the rooms are ready. All our recepetion team speak French, towels are available with a deposit and soap dispensers are in every room.

83%

Great atmosphere, plenty of helpful staff around. Top hostel !

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Thanks for giving us the rating of 'Top hostel' ! It's rewarding for us to read that you had a great time time while staying with us. You obviously tried out our lively bar and our ideas for great day trips. We hope to see you again on your next visit to the south of France.

83%

Good experience, wish we could have done our own laundry though. I also wish that there was more than one toilet per 16 person room.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Nice to read that your experience was a good one. Our laundry service is available to all our guests for just €7 and is very popular. We do all the laundry for our guests, so they can enjoy the day while we do the work. However, should guest wish to do their own laundry it is possible as there is a laundry mat near the hostel. It is more expensive than our price however.

97%

best hostel i've stayed. simply brilliant. would definitly visit again.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thankyou very much for your kind words. Our team works very hard to make the hostel the best we can for our guests, and alot of that work is unseen by our guests. Reading reviews like yours really makes all the work worthwhile. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit. We hope the rest of your voyage is amazing too.

51%

Very dirty rooms, not cleaned after complaints had been made.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • British Virgin Islands
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It seems your expectations were not met, even after your concerns were raised to our team. We seem to have fallen short of our usual high standards with regards to your stay and we apologise for that. We hope you still enjoyed the beautiful city of Nice and hope you will stay with us again and give us another opportunity to demonstrate the true standards of Villa St Exupery.

83%

An interesting plae where to stay ,every weekend, I just regret that prices can vary too much from a day to another.

  • 16th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Algeria
  • Male, 41+
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Our prices do vary according to availability and season, so it's always better to make a reservation well in advance to benefit from the best prices. Like you have said, the hostel certainly is an interesting place to stay for the weekend, as we are always full and there's always a party happening.

83%

Location was fantastic. Everything else was pretty good as well.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Great to read you found our hostel fantastic! We think so too. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our cleanliness. We work very hard to make sure our rooms and common areas stay clean and tidy so that our guests have the most comfortable stay possible. Be sure to visit us again the next time you visit the sunny French Riviera.

91%

It is a pity that this so called hostel is actually a hotel that they don't have a very good common room with different facilities for us to use. But the price is really good.

  • 13th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • China
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review. We value all feedback we get from our guests. Visit us again the next time you are in Nice.

89%

I couldn't have got through my trip and onward journey without the great reception staff who were brilliantly helpful. The lady on the bar each afternoon was also very friendly and although the cleanliness and kitchen facilities are not as good as the Gardens hostel in my opinion, and some of the dorm bathrooms are inadequate for there use I like the hostel and will always use one of the Villa properties when I'm in the area.


46%

The worst customer service of all the hostels I've stayed at in Europe. Their cleaning staff stole two pairs of my shoes from my room. There were no other guests checked into the room during the hours that they were stolen, but the bed and room was cleans out completely. When I reported it to the reception staff, they said it was not their problem. The wifi doesn't work most of the time and the bed linen had stains all over it.


80%

This hostel wasn't as nice as others we have stayed at but it did the job. Our bathroom was not very clean and the water was cold. The downstairs showers weren't very clean but the water was hot so we showered down there most of the time. It was close to the beach which was good and the bar was great for drinks. the rooms were nice and clean with good security.. very comfy beds.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. We are very responsive to all the feedback we receive from our guests. As a result of your review we have deep cleaned the showers in the basement and shall be keeping a close eye on the cleanliness in there. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location and our security.We have lockers available in every room for our guests, CCTV surveillance, key card access to the hostel, to the floors and to the rooms, secure luggage storage with lockers and night security.

97%

Great stay here. Facilities are great, location is great. Happy hour special is awesome and well worth it. Great value considering the location and what they have to offer.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for the kind words, it's nice to read you had an enjoyable stay at our hostel. We're really proud of our central location and believe we have the best location of any hostel in Nice. We hope to see you again.

86%

I had been in both of the Saint Exupery hostels and i like them both.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Good to read you like our hostel, we're sure you enjoyed the beautiful French Riviera too. Be sure to stay with us again the next time your in the south of France.

80%

Good hostel just a few steps from the beach and old town in Nice. On the evenings you can hang in the bar with others backpackers. Can really recommend this hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We know how important word of moth is on the travelling circuit, so we really appreciate when our guests rate us as a good hostel.Thanks for recommending us to other travellers.

86%

Great place to meet people, lots of activities to join in on, good location, great staff, plus free breakfast and happy hour beers. The kitchen is small but sufficient, just don't buy anything that looks delicious and expect it to be in the fridge in the morning (especially alcohol). Rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, but the big 12 person dorms lack individual lights and outlets which makes it a little weird. Rooms can be loud too, depending on who's staying around you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's nice to read you had an enjoyable stay at our hostel. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location, our staff and the atmosphere at the hostel. Villa St Exupery is in a great place, with great people, both guests and staff alike. This all adds up to a lively hostel for everyone to enjoy.

100%

Can't say enough! Great people. The staff were friendly and so helpful, and the rooms were clean. Met so many fun loving people here, and the location is wonderful. Left this hostel with great memories.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. That's what it's all about. You guys really got to the heart of what Villa St Exupery is about. It's really nice to read that you took away great memories from your stay here, in our hostel on the French Riviera. It's certainly a place built to make great memories.

63%

PROS: This hostel was in a good location The staff were quite helpful, efficient and friendly. Free pasta bowl with a beer for 2.50 euro + lively bar was great. CONS: The worst thing about this hostel, and for which I raised to the staffers, was the renovations of the new wing. We were in a very very run down private room and each morning at 8am workers were doing construction work with power tools OUTSIDE OUR DOOR. The room also had no windows, felt like a prison cell. Ruined the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our location, our staff and our atmosphere. Our staff are young backpackers from all over the world, and so are our guests, and this means our bar has a lively atmosphere everynight. Our hostel is only minutes from all the main bars in Old Nice. We have recently carried out renovations to our building to make things the best we can for everyone staying at the Villa. All these renovations are now complete and entirely finished.

63%

My room had many damages: toillete was not working (I paid for a ensuite room), light was not working either, so we had to illuminate with our cell phones at night. And the first day, wifi did not work for me and they had to re start. Breakfast was very poor, you have to ask everyday for a little jam. The only good thing is the Argentine guy who gives you tips for the day, which bus you have to take, etc. he was always nice and willing to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It seems your stay did not match your expectations, and we apologise for this. We attempt to deal with any maintenance issues in our building immediately, however, should that not be possible, all issues are dealt with the next day. We have a permanent maintenance team working at our hostel all the time. Our breakfast policy is to have jam and butter on the tables, so it shouldn't be necessary to ask for jam. We'll check into this too.

91%

I stayed at a private room with my friend because the price of the room when I was looking for a room of this hostel was quite reasonable and cheap. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but the building was under construction so the noise was unbelievable. But some staff were not that friendly and they seemed like they didn't know how to say hi to the customers. But generally great hostel and want to stay here again later for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Nice to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us again and it's nice to read you say we're a great hostel. Thanks for the kind words. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. We have a very professional house keeping team here at Villa St Exupery who work hard everyday to ensure our guests rooms are kept clean. You gave us 5 out of 5 for our facilities too. We have a gym at our hostel and a sauna, a ping pong table, free luggage storage and more.

(177 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback