X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

83%

Rating
2138 Total Reviews
  • 77%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 83%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 76%Cleanliness
  • 82%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

100%

- I booked a last minute trip to Nice and found that Villa Saint Exupery was the the best out of all of them. - This was my first time staying in a hostel, also with a 10 bed mixed room - but there were no issues. Every roommate was awesomely nice, friendly and everyone just wants to be comfortable in their own atmosphere. - The town is small so you can easily see everything in a few days, including other surrounding cities. I missed the walking tour (Wed & Sat only) but did scuba diving!!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. We know how important a clean hostel is to travellers, and so we work very hard each day to maintain high standards of cleanliness in our hostel. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for Ambiance too. Practically all our guests are young, friendly backpackers and we have great common areas for all these people to hang out, meet each other and have fun in. We have a great bar,a free table tennis room, TV room and more.

91%

Loved the hostel! Free breakfast and cheap bar and especially happy hour and free pasta were big plus. The staff was very friendly and they let us stay before and after our check in/out. The common area was nice, easy place to meet new people. Big hostel with many floors but still the staff made you felt unique and the athmosphere was welcoming. I definetely recommend this place! It looks like fancy place but they accept you the way you are. I would go again anytime.


94%

Well located and very friendly staff. The only one bathroom in the 10-bed mixed room was a weddy adventure, but don't worry, just go downstairs. There are good showers in front of the gym. The airconditioner is a bit noisy and the only window was not ment to be open. But the hostel is worth to be and his restaurant is a big meeting point

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for ambiance. we have a great bar here at the hostel, which has the best prices in Nice for beers, only €1 a pint between 6pm and 7 pm! We have televised sports in our bar and live music and party's on the weekends. With over 200 beds at our hostel, our bar gets to have a really lively vibe during the summer. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for location. We're just a few minutes walk from the beautiful Mediterranean coast.

83%

A nice place. However, living in a hostel sometimes require some luck, and the most important thing is not the hostel's facilities but the roommates...:( There is a kitchen, but all the dishes need to be washed by the users by themselves, so U can imagine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. While we do appreciate our guests washing up after themselves, we know that it is not always done. So during the evening, we have staff who wash the dishes used during the day to make sure they are clean for the following day. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location. We really couldn't be better placed. We are right next to the central city square, only a few minutes walk from the beach and the 17th century old town of Nice.

97%

-My bed sheet has stains on it and look pretty dirty. There is only one toilet in the bath room which include two shower and the sink. So if someone use the toilet no one can use the shower.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We apologise for the stain on your sheet. We dispose of any sheets like this that are found in our laundry. We will be checking our laundry again to make sure there are no more sheets like this one within our laundry system. All our rooms are ensuite, but should anybody find the facilities occupied, we have more showers and toilets available throughout our common areas.

63%

This review is going to be a bit skewed in the negative direction - my friend and I stayed in a section of the hostel that was being added on to the main building, and the renovation was far from complete. The staff was very helpful and I'm sure that once the renovations are complete, this hostel will be great.

  • 19th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

We had a problem with the bathroom insiste the room, because the floor got full of water. We called the staff and they said they would go clean but never did, so we had to use a waterful bathroom for 2 days, then it was check out. In spite of that, the stay was great! Just whatch out more carefully about the issues that will come by...

  • 17th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Brazil
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We apologise for the water on the floor of your bathroom. This should have been dealt with immediately, however, all our rooms are cleaned everyday, so at the very latest, this usually would have been dealt with the day after. Nice to see that in spite of that problem you guys had a great stay. We hope you enjoyed our beutiful city and the surrounding areas as much as we do.

97%

Very nice big hostel, with a great party atmosphere and good drink deals too.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa

94%

Great place. Staff were extremely helpful - there was a mix up with my booking at the beginning, which meant I would have to change rooms between nights, but one of the guys went out of his way to sort it out for me, thank you! The bar is a great place to meet people, and has a lovely barman. Great location. I was in a 3 bed ensuite dorm and the shower leaked all over the floor, but not a real problem.


94%

Very nice, clean, and secure. Excellent staff.


74%

I stayed at villa for 2 nights, and it was fine - felt safe and rooms were nice enough, however it was a bit shabby (bathrooms) and the common areas were spread out so not the best opportunities to meet people. Free breakfast was amazing though!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We have lots of common areas for our guests to enjoy. We have a table tennis room, a gym area, a sauna, a TV room, a bar area and internet cafe area. We have over 200 beds here at the Villa and there are usually plenty of people around to meet and chat to. Especially in our bar, which has the lowest prices in Nice! Only €1 for a beer between 6pm and 7pm. €2.50 after 7pm. We have live music on the weekends too and our bar is usually full for these nights.

89%

Great hostel experience!


97%

We were a group of six and had a six bed ensuite dorm to ourselves which was perfect! We stayed for a weekend, the Friday night was really great in the hostel, you can buy bottles of wine there for 6e. The free breakfast is quite good, lots of cereal, bread and juice. The staff were very helpful and recommended different activities for us to do, and the location was great, just a minutes walk from the main square! Nice is a gorgeous place and we were sorry we couldn't stay longer!


89%

I have to admit that this hostel is great ;-) I spent there one night in a room for 12 people. Everybody was nice, it was quiet during the night and what is very important- beds are really comfortable. My friends enjoyed this stay too. Moreover, breakfast is inncluded so as you can see, you have to sleep here! :)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We get alot of good reviews about how comfortable our beds are. We've tried them too, and we can testify that you get a great nights sleep in them. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for Atmosphere. Our hostel is full of young backpackers and our big common areas and our bar are great places for everyone to meet each other. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location too. We're right in the city centre, only 2 minutes walk from the beach, and the old town of Nice.

77%

Great location, average breakfast

  • 9th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


91%

Great hostel in Nice! Close of the beach, lovely and helpful staff, great atmosphere... Couldn't ask better! The only con would be the lack of care in he bathroom; the two days I were there, there was no soap... But the rest is awesome, And would be perfect if it came with soap!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our staff. We have a really great team of people here at the Villa. All of us work hard to make sure our guests stay is best possible. We see you gave the hostel 5 out of 5 for location too. We're centrally located, only 30 seconds from the main city square Place Massena and 30 seconds from the nearest tram stop. We've filled up all the soap dispensers too.

91%

Great location, just exit the villa's door and you're in the center of the old city: 5-10 min by walk to the beach, market area and bus stops (Monaco, Eze, Saint Jean Cap). The hostel staff is more than helpful. Their English is much better than mine (that happened very rarely during my trip Paris-Nice-Marseille), and they have a beautiful girls at the reception=) They also prepared special maps with very helpful information about what to see around Nice and how to get there. Thank you guys!

  • 7th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Ukraine
  • Male, 18-24
  • (1 review)


63%

It's a very lively and friendly hostel. But don't stay here if you expect to sleep! The rooms are too crowded and we had people coming in/waking up at all sorts of hours, fiddling through their bags, talking loudly and turning on the lights... Also, there is only one shower per room, which is really not enough... Maybe I'm just too old... I could have seen the appeal 5-10 years ago!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We appreciate that not everyone likes to share a large dormitory with other travellers, so at our hostel, we provide a wide choice of room types to book. We have private rooms, with double or twin beds, small dormitories with four, five or six beds, medium dorms with eight or ten beds, and of course, our large dorms with twelve, fourteen or sixteen beds. So there should really be something to suit everyone here. Extra showers and toilets are available.

86%

40 minutes before the end of the breakfast there was no bread left and there was no possibility to have some.Plus half of the cereal machines were broken. Other than that. Can t ask for a better spot

  • 6th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


86%

I stayed here about 3 weeks ago. Staff was great. There's a fun little bar and a nice lounge area with couches, tv and a beautiful PIANO. Rooms were clean, our dorm bathroom was so-so. The other bathrooms had this horrible strong perfumy smell. The kitchen is poorly equipped and had such a weird smell I wouldnt want to cook there anyway. It smelled like the dishroom at the end of the night at the restaurant I used to work at. They probably just need to clean the drains. Otherwise good hostel.


(183 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback