X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million Guest Reviews 21 million bookings

Villa Saint Exupery Beach Reviews

6 Rue Sacha Guitry, Nice, France

Reviews & Ratings Explained

82%

Rating
2197 Total Reviews
  • 75%Value For Money
  • 85%Security
  • 95%Location
  • 82%Staff
  • 83%Atmosphere
  • 74%Cleanliness
  • 80%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

86%

Great place to meet people, lots of activities to join in on, good location, great staff, plus free breakfast and happy hour beers. The kitchen is small but sufficient, just don't buy anything that looks delicious and expect it to be in the fridge in the morning (especially alcohol). Rooms are clean, beds are very comfortable, but the big 12 person dorms lack individual lights and outlets which makes it a little weird. Rooms can be loud too, depending on who's staying around you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's nice to read you had an enjoyable stay at our hostel. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location, our staff and the atmosphere at the hostel. Villa St Exupery is in a great place, with great people, both guests and staff alike. This all adds up to a lively hostel for everyone to enjoy.

100%

Can't say enough! Great people. The staff were friendly and so helpful, and the rooms were clean. Met so many fun loving people here, and the location is wonderful. Left this hostel with great memories.

  • 9th May 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. That's what it's all about. You guys really got to the heart of what Villa St Exupery is about. It's really nice to read that you took away great memories from your stay here, in our hostel on the French Riviera. It's certainly a place built to make great memories.

63%

PROS: This hostel was in a good location The staff were quite helpful, efficient and friendly. Free pasta bowl with a beer for 2.50 euro + lively bar was great. CONS: The worst thing about this hostel, and for which I raised to the staffers, was the renovations of the new wing. We were in a very very run down private room and each morning at 8am workers were doing construction work with power tools OUTSIDE OUR DOOR. The room also had no windows, felt like a prison cell. Ruined the stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 4 out of 5 for our location, our staff and our atmosphere. Our staff are young backpackers from all over the world, and so are our guests, and this means our bar has a lively atmosphere everynight. Our hostel is only minutes from all the main bars in Old Nice. We have recently carried out renovations to our building to make things the best we can for everyone staying at the Villa. All these renovations are now complete and entirely finished.

63%

My room had many damages: toillete was not working (I paid for a ensuite room), light was not working either, so we had to illuminate with our cell phones at night. And the first day, wifi did not work for me and they had to re start. Breakfast was very poor, you have to ask everyday for a little jam. The only good thing is the Argentine guy who gives you tips for the day, which bus you have to take, etc. he was always nice and willing to help.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It seems your stay did not match your expectations, and we apologise for this. We attempt to deal with any maintenance issues in our building immediately, however, should that not be possible, all issues are dealt with the next day. We have a permanent maintenance team working at our hostel all the time. Our breakfast policy is to have jam and butter on the tables, so it shouldn't be necessary to ask for jam. We'll check into this too.

91%

I stayed at a private room with my friend because the price of the room when I was looking for a room of this hostel was quite reasonable and cheap. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable but the building was under construction so the noise was unbelievable. But some staff were not that friendly and they seemed like they didn't know how to say hi to the customers. But generally great hostel and want to stay here again later for sure.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Nice to hear that you will be coming back to stay with us again and it's nice to read you say we're a great hostel. Thanks for the kind words. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. We have a very professional house keeping team here at Villa St Exupery who work hard everyday to ensure our guests rooms are kept clean. You gave us 5 out of 5 for our facilities too. We have a gym at our hostel and a sauna, a ping pong table, free luggage storage and more.

63%

Excellent location. Just value for the money you paid. One thing I didn't like : the bathroom in my dormitory (10beds) was little mess because there was just a piece of shower curtain so water flows every where :(

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. The great location of our hostel gets mentioned alot in our reviews and that's probably because it really is unbeatable.Everything a backpacker wants is within close proximity to the hostel.With regard to the water on the floor, we are always willing to re-clean any bathroom that our guests consider not to be in a reasonable state of cleanliness. We appreciate feedback from all our guests and do our best to deal with any complaints in the shortest time possible.

100%

Epic! Could not be any better.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Great to read that you guys had an enjoyable stay at the Villa. It seems you guys really made the most out of what our hostel has to offer: a great young and friendly atmosphere, an unbeatable location on the French Riviera, a stream of great facilities and a nice secure and clean hostel. We hope to see you again, should you decide to visit the south of France again in the future.

74%

Hostel was pretty good- very fun bar with cheap wine! My biggest complaint was the cleanliness. Our bathroom was pretty disgusting, the floor especially. Also, the lockers In the lock up downstairs really need to be cleaned out they are covered with grime. As well at the time we stayed there a huge little boys rugby team were also there-,running around the bar and harassing the female guests. They were loud and obnoxious and had very little supervision. Not sure if this is regular occurrence.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Nice to read you enjoyed our bar area. With regards to the cleanliness, every room and bathroom in the hostel are cleaned everyday.The bathrooms are always left in a clean state after our housekeeping has been done.In dormitories with shared facilities, unfortunately there maybe occasions where another guest staying uses the shower and leaves them it in a poor state.However, we are always willing to re-clean showers upon request once our reception is informed

80%

I really appreciated the free breakfast! Lockers were a great idea. The doors were a bit of a pest until you got the hang of wriggling the handle on exactly the right angle, which some roommates never got the hang of, that was irritating. Otherwise, great.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa st Exupery. Thanks for taking the time to write your review, we value the feedback we get from all our guests. We have lockers in every room and have never recieved any complaints before, so we will be checking into this unusual occurance. We hope you enjoyed the beautiful city of Nice and the French Riviera.

86%

We were a group of 7 people, and we had a great time! the location is ideal, and the staff's attention is pretty good!

  • 29th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's nice to read that your group had an enjoyable stay at our hostel in Nice. It seems our staff played a part in that as we see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our staff. We think we've got a really great team here at the Villa. Our staff are very helpful, professional and friendly. We have a really multi national staff too so we have many different languages here, from Chinese to Spainish to English and more.

80%

We were put up in the building next to the main one which is a new addition but was not complete yet, One of the contractor was sleeping in the corridor! The room was almost finished but lacked shower curtain (water everywhere), skirting boards etc...The potential is there, we didn't mind but ask first. Overall, it's still a perfect location, excellent price and good atmosphere in the main building where the reception, bar, internet etc. are located.

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Couple, 31-40
  • (1 review)


89%

The only complaint I have is the bathroom in the room. One bathroom for 16 people isn't enough. Other than that it was a great place to stay.


100%

My friend and I stayed here one night and loved it! We were able to drop our luggage off in the morning before check in, and leave it in storage the next day so we could tour the city. Very large common area that is a great place to hang out and meet new people! Beds were comfortable and dorm rooms were very clean. Overall loved our stay!

  • 28th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. It's nice to read that you guys had a good stay while in Nice. We hope you enjoyed the beauty of the French Riviera. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for security.We have key card access to our hostel, to the floors, and to the rooms to ensure the safety of our guests.In the rooms we have lockers available to secure valuable itmes, we have CCTV cameras throughout our common areas, a nightwatch security guard and a secure luggage storage. We hope to see you again.

63%

A decent place to stay given its great location but the staff was not as helpful as I expected, I asked for a simple restaurant suggestion and the reception couldn't help me with a single suggestion! Their staff are travelers who decided to stay and exchange their services for accommodation (ads everywhere in the hostel). This would have been fine if they were better trained. The guy who cleaned our room made so many mistakes an smelled SO bad. I lucked out with good roommates.


91%

Great spot. RIght near the beach and Old Town. Helpful, knowledgable staff that keep their cool even when understaffed and busy as hell at the front desk. Good breakfast, energetic bar, and friendly clientele made for a positive experience for a solo traveler new to the hostel scene.

  • 27th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)


83%

breakfast was good, room was comfortable, bathroom clean and in good condition, Wifi good, would recommend this hostel to others


100%

- I booked a last minute trip to Nice and found that Villa Saint Exupery was the the best out of all of them. - This was my first time staying in a hostel, also with a 10 bed mixed room - but there were no issues. Every roommate was awesomely nice, friendly and everyone just wants to be comfortable in their own atmosphere. - The town is small so you can easily see everything in a few days, including other surrounding cities. I missed the walking tour (Wed & Sat only) but did scuba diving!!

  • 24th Apr 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • USA
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for cleanliness. We know how important a clean hostel is to travellers, and so we work very hard each day to maintain high standards of cleanliness in our hostel. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for Ambiance too. Practically all our guests are young, friendly backpackers and we have great common areas for all these people to hang out, meet each other and have fun in. We have a great bar,a free table tennis room, TV room and more.

91%

Loved the hostel! Free breakfast and cheap bar and especially happy hour and free pasta were big plus. The staff was very friendly and they let us stay before and after our check in/out. The common area was nice, easy place to meet new people. Big hostel with many floors but still the staff made you felt unique and the athmosphere was welcoming. I definetely recommend this place! It looks like fancy place but they accept you the way you are. I would go again anytime.


94%

Well located and very friendly staff. The only one bathroom in the 10-bed mixed room was a weddy adventure, but don't worry, just go downstairs. There are good showers in front of the gym. The airconditioner is a bit noisy and the only window was not ment to be open. But the hostel is worth to be and his restaurant is a big meeting point

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for ambiance. we have a great bar here at the hostel, which has the best prices in Nice for beers, only €1 a pint between 6pm and 7 pm! We have televised sports in our bar and live music and party's on the weekends. With over 200 beds at our hostel, our bar gets to have a really lively vibe during the summer. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for location. We're just a few minutes walk from the beautiful Mediterranean coast.

83%

A nice place. However, living in a hostel sometimes require some luck, and the most important thing is not the hostel's facilities but the roommates...:( There is a kitchen, but all the dishes need to be washed by the users by themselves, so U can imagine.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Greetings from Villa St Exupery. While we do appreciate our guests washing up after themselves, we know that it is not always done. So during the evening, we have staff who wash the dishes used during the day to make sure they are clean for the following day. We see you gave us 5 out of 5 for our location. We really couldn't be better placed. We are right next to the central city square, only a few minutes walk from the beach and the 17th century old town of Nice.

(213 results)


View all Nice Hostels

Please give us your feedback