Hostelworld.com

Yangtze River International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 938 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 938 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 8.9
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.5
  • Staff 9.4
  • Atmosphere 8.2
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.3
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Located at Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing.
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel
China
Chongqing 400010 Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port
85% 938
29.5596833 106.5882182
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 31-40
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
25th Jun 2016
9.1

For someone trying to travel on a budget this was the ideal place. In terms of facilities it had good internet and hot shows, which is pretty much all I need. The staff and the atmosphere was really the strongest points, they really went out of their way to help me plan what to see and the atmosphere in the hostel in general was very positive and friendly. I even got given a lift the bus shelter when I couldn't find the way, which was above and beyond.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 1 review
17th May 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel in good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
13th May 2016
8.0

It's good but it's at the bottom of a steap hill which soon gets boring after you've climbed up and down though the narrow lanes once or twice. I ordred breakfast and an hour later nothing came. I literally sat there waiting for an hour and they played on their smart phones. When I asked where my food was they couldn't care less so my life is now one hour shorter because of them. Other than this the girls at reception were quite nice the rest of the time.

    • 6.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
8.0

Great, helpful, fun, and cheerful staff! Dorms a bit cramped but bunk curtains a nice touch. Beautiful architecture and nice Yangtze River views! Wifi almost always a problem. ;-( OK bar/restaurant but the rule against outside drinks is a tad exploitative, since there's little competition in the immediate vicinity, especially at night. Cleaning staff are great but should be instructed to use their "indoor voices" in the morning when people are still sleeping!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
29th Apr 2016
4.3

The hostel itself was in a really awkward location and the directions online weren't that helpful. The room was filthy and also very damp, from which I'm now suffering with a cold/flu. Really wouldn't recommend staying here, it's a shame because the staff were really helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Had a relaxing time, the staff were very helpful in organising 3 Gorge Cruise and in advising on what to do and where to go in Chonqing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review,hope you had a great time here!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
6.6

Position is convenient but it is located near a busy port so you have to weave your way through a crowd of workers to get there. Ok for an overnight stay but if you are looking to stay longer would look elsewhere,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.9

Excellent hostel a bit out of the way to get to and Strange flies bit me in the night. BUT amazing stay the staff was the best I've ever experienced in China extremely helpful. I fell asleep on the main couch and woke up with a blanket around me. Now that is what you call hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Mar 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel. Quite a convenient location, staff are really nice and the cafe has really nice food. I stayed in one of the private rooms and the bed was quite comfortable. No complaints regarding the wifi, there were tours you could book there (although I didn't) - pretty good hostel all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, hope you had a great stay here ! And have a good journey !

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2016
7.7

The rooms are a bit noisy due to the trains passing by, but it was manageable and they had earplugs. The lobby was quite nice and the Chongqing noodles are fantastic. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.