X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Reviews

Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

86%

Rating
850 Total Reviews
  • 87%Value For Money
  • 88%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 89%Staff
  • 89%Atmosphere
  • 87%Cleanliness
  • 83%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

66%

Bad location, it is a kind of wholesale/industrial area. There is a bridge just behind with subway passing through so very noisy starting from 6AM (that's why hostel provides ear plugs). There is nothing around the hostel. None of the 3 taxis we took during our stay, knew where was this hostel. The girl staff at night is not friendly/helpful. The guy in daytime is much more nicer and efficient. Thus said, rooms were very clean and comfortable. But this is only the positive point.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing and staying at our hostel. So sorry about the noisy of the metro, that's why we provide the ear-plugs to our guests staying here. There is a very famous restaurant near our hostel, which is just 3 minutes' walk. About the staff, we will train them again, and make them more helpful and efficient. Welcome back again, and you will see the difference. Have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

100%

I arrived late at night and had a bit of trouble finding the right place, the signs that say the hostels name are not clearly illuminated. Other than that, the beds were comfy and the showers were plentiful and warm. The hostel has a bar/lounge area including a pool table. Unfortunately I only stayed 1 night and continued the next day on the river cruise organised by the hostel. Staff are friendly and speak decent english

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying at our hostel. The sigh now is Travelling With Hostel, and we will write that in the directions to make it clearly. I heard that you had enjoyed the river cruise. Hope you have a nice trip in China. Wish to see you again at our hostel. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

69%

What a quaint building, really has character. The room was excellent (double private en-suite) and very clean, with a very nice bathroom. The atmosphere in the common room was dull, but the staff was nice enough. The biggest down for me, was how noisy it is, both because of the metro and the building not being very soundproof , but earplugs was provided. The location is not convenient but has a nice view. The menu not was good, food was very spicy and it didn't specify that at all.

  • 28th Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


77%

Thanks for the staff!!! They also shower us the town and took us to Hotpot dinner. Thats called hospitality and big heart! This I will remember forever!!! Greetings from Finland 😊

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are so happy that you have a good time here at our hostel. We will also remember you. Our staff will also take you to hotpot when you come here next time. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

100%

Very good hostel and thanks for your hospitality!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So happy that you have a nice stay here. Hope to see you next time. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

97%

Like its sister institution, Greenforest, it's pretty much the perfect hostel. Ticks all the boxes with aplomb. Our only problem was with the Yangtze River Cruise reservations - prices were confusing, itinerary was messy and unpredictable, and basic cruise information lacking.The staff tried to be helpful but it felt like they didn't know much of what was going on either. Mabe a leaflet with your cruise info, that you can carry with you in the boat, would help. That said, the cruise was nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for choosing and staying at our hostel. So sorry about the problem that you had in our hostel. For the staff are new here, and they did not know all of the information. After training, now they can give our guest much more information than before. Hope you have enjoyed the cruise already. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

94%

My favourite place in Chongqing. I stayed here for the fourth time and won't hesitate to go back, which I guess sums up my opinion of the hostel. Tips for improvement: better internet connection (is really really bad in the evening), some of staff could brush up on their English, and also, the key cards opened the room in about one in ten attempts (more different cards tried, not sure if it's general or just problem of one room - 303). Anyway, thanks and keep up the good work!


71%

A nice hostel, friendly staff (although English not too good) & cool lobby area. However! Getting to hostel from nearest subway station nightmarish!! There's a lot of building work so route down to Changbinlu very dodgy - going through rubble & very steep unlit metal stairs! Luckily there was two of us, otherwise getting there (and getting lost/having to ask directions multiple times) would've been quite scary at night! Also small card map reception gives you misses out roads, and is inaccurate.


91%

The staff were great and very helpful. Would stay here again if I come back to Chongqing.


100%

This is a really good hostel and I would highly recommend it. We stayed in a double room for 3 nights, and it was a very nice experience. The room was in really good standard, and the bed was really soft and comfortable (something which is kind of unusual in China, the beds are usually hard). The room also had a big TV screen and the bathroom was really nice and clean. They changed the towels and emptied the garbage bin every day. It is the best hostel we have stayed in in China!


94%

Good atmosphere. Close to the harbour of the Yangtze river ferry from Yichang. But the location is not really central and it is quite a walk to the metro station. Many cheap restaurants in this area.


77%

Staff was great and helpful. Nice view of the bridge and river. Common area always had other travelers around, mostly Chinese. Room had a moldy spot on wall.


66%

Nice hostel in general. Communal area is good and staff helpful. Wifi was pretty slow. The dorm room we were in stunk of damp and there was a thick layer of dust everywhere in and around the bunk, did not enjoy breathing it in. Even the sheets felt damp and my clothes that I had out.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying at our hostel. The room you stayed is the best dorm in our hostel. You could tell us to change room if you did not like it after your check-in, and our staff would like to arrange another room for you. You know, in winter, Chongqing have a lot of rains almost every day. Sometimes it is a little wet in the room, but we provide electronic blanket in every bed. Also the air-con is available in winter if you ask the reception. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards

89%

Hard to find at first and a steep walk up to town, but the location is only 10 minutes from the nearest metro. There's decent food here and the staff and really helpful. Rooms and showers and clean and modern.


94%

Great location, next to the city steps into the downtown where all the old porters carry around colossal packages through the bustling streets. Hostel rooms are very modern and clean and the common area is particularly nice. Food is very good but stick with the Chinese options, the western food is overpriced. Staff are very friendly and can help you with your travel plans. Atmosphere was brilliant, met many cool people. Book the dorm room in advance, it was sold out when I arrived without notice

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for you review on our hostel, and we are so happy that you have a great time here at our hostel. All the staff are happy that we can be friend and you are also so cool. Wish you have a good trip in China, and we are looking forward meeting you next time. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

80%

Hostel is fine located. Maybe a bigger sign on the outside will help finding the place. Free coffee was very friendly by arrival.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing and staying at our hostel. We will think about making a new sign outside the hostel in order that the guests can find it more easily. Thanks for you suggestion and wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangtzeriver Team

89%

ถ้าเดินทางด้วยsubway อาจจะไกลและลำบากหน่อย แต่ถ้ามาจากท่ารถทัวร์ค่ารถแท๊กซี่มารร.ประมาณ13-16หยวน วิวแม่น้ำหน้ารร.เลย


100%

Fantastic place, the place to be in Chongqin! Only positive. LIke to come back!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi,Thank for staying at our hostel, and all the staff are so happy that you like here. We hope you could come back again. Wish you have a great trip in China. Best Regards Yangtzerive Team

86%

Very nice backpacker hostel. We had a double room with bathroom and it was nice and clean and comfortable. Hallways were really well done and kept clean as well. Common area was inviting and staff were accommodating. Good location but TONS of stairs getting there and into the city center.

  • 12th Oct 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Canada
  • Couple, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are so happy that you like the hostel here, and have a really good time. You know, in Chongqing, there is a lot of stairs everywhere because of the Mountain City, But it is good for the health if you practice going up and down the stairs every day. It is a different experience that you will never see in other cities. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangzteriver Team

74%

Staff really helpful, food in restaurant good but it was a bit noisy but they provide ear-plugs. Thats nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thank for choosing and staying at Yangtzeriver Youth Hostel. We are near the road by the riverside, it is a little noisy sometimes. But for most of the day, it is Ok. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangtzeriver Team



View all Chongqing Hostels

Please give us your feedback