X

Home to the world's greatest Hostels

30,000 properties, 180 countries Over 3.5 million guest reviews 21 million bookings

Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Reviews

Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

81%

Rating
880 Total Reviews
  • 82%Value For Money
  • 84%Security
  • 73%Location
  • 87%Staff
  • 80%Atmosphere
  • 81%Cleanliness
  • 76%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

57%

We were really disappointed with this hostel. The biggest positive was the very helpful and friendly staff :) Whilst the bathroom areas were kept clean, unfortunately our 6 bed dorm was another story. The sheets were lovely and fresh however all down the side of the wooden bed was layered with dirt and dust and the top of the bunk above was covered in cob webs all over it (I'm not talking 1 or 2). We were in room 302. There were also only 3 showers available, one floor up right at the other end.


100%

By far one of the friendliest staff I've came across. 毛毛 is awesome.


43%

the bedrooms had cobwebs and spiders down the side and were very cramped! the staff were friendly but didnt speak very good english. The tours are all in chinese, one tour didnt provide transport back to the hostel, which i wasnt told beforehand

  • 11th Jul 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)


66%

We had a dorm for 6 People and it was very moldy and dark, but it is very convenient for the yangtze River Cruise.


71%

Average. Good location by the riverside. You have to do a lot of climbing to get away from there, though. The room had AC, but it was straight above my bed, and when other guests wanted it to blow really cold air it was not a good bed to be sleeping in. Also, only one remote control for the AC's, meaning you always have to go to the reception when you want to adjust it! Nice staff. Nice music and atmosphere in the lobby was often spoiled by the TV, which seemed to be on ALL THE TIME.


97%

Even though it is hard to find, it is in a good location with a lovely view of the river. The rooms and facilities are both good, beds comfy! The communal lounge area is great for relaxing in in the evenings. The hostel provides great day plans if you haven't a clue of what to see or how to time your days well. Really enjoyed staying here and loved the city! :)


100%

Really good hostel. Cleen, quite, good location, helpful staff, nice bathrooms.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying at our hostel. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

60%

its terrible the traffic too far from the subwaystation, you must walk alot and if you take a taxi it will be hard to arrive there also but the clerk all kind

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for staying at our hostel. We will give the guests much more specific directions before they arrive here. Chongqing is a mountain city, and it is difference from other cities, so it is a little difficult to find the way when you go somewhere. We will do our best to make our guests to find the way easier. Best Regards Yangtze River team

91%

Great place, nice common room. 20 minute walk from great bars and restaurants. If you follow the map on this app it's not hard to find at all. The metro doesn't go at night so the noise isn't that bad at all. I liked it very much, thank you.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying at our hostel. Wish you could come back again at our hostel. Have a nice trip around China.

69%

The staff is friendly and helpful, the dorm room is a bit small for six people and luggage, but ok, some things need fixing (my bedside lamp for example). The water pressure in the showers is best when nobody else is showering but you. The location of the hostel is both good and bad: The river view is amazing, but the traffic on the bridge which is right above the hostel can be really loud.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing and staying at our hostel, and we are so grateful for you suggestions. We will check all facilities at our hostel, and change something old. We will make our guests much more convenient and comfortable. You will see the difference when you come here next time. Wish you have a very nice trip in China.

66%

Bad location, it is a kind of wholesale/industrial area. There is a bridge just behind with subway passing through so very noisy starting from 6AM (that's why hostel provides ear plugs). There is nothing around the hostel. None of the 3 taxis we took during our stay, knew where was this hostel. The girl staff at night is not friendly/helpful. The guy in daytime is much more nicer and efficient. Thus said, rooms were very clean and comfortable. But this is only the positive point.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, thanks for choosing and staying at our hostel. So sorry about the noisy of the metro, that's why we provide the ear-plugs to our guests staying here. There is a very famous restaurant near our hostel, which is just 3 minutes' walk. About the staff, we will train them again, and make them more helpful and efficient. Welcome back again, and you will see the difference. Have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

100%

Great place... highly recommended


100%

I arrived late at night and had a bit of trouble finding the right place, the signs that say the hostels name are not clearly illuminated. Other than that, the beds were comfy and the showers were plentiful and warm. The hostel has a bar/lounge area including a pool table. Unfortunately I only stayed 1 night and continued the next day on the river cruise organised by the hostel. Staff are friendly and speak decent english

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for staying at our hostel. The sigh now is Travelling With Hostel, and we will write that in the directions to make it clearly. I heard that you had enjoyed the river cruise. Hope you have a nice trip in China. Wish to see you again at our hostel. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

69%

What a quaint building, really has character. The room was excellent (double private en-suite) and very clean, with a very nice bathroom. The atmosphere in the common room was dull, but the staff was nice enough. The biggest down for me, was how noisy it is, both because of the metro and the building not being very soundproof , but earplugs was provided. The location is not convenient but has a nice view. The menu not was good, food was very spicy and it didn't specify that at all.


77%

Thanks for the staff!!! They also shower us the town and took us to Hotpot dinner. Thats called hospitality and big heart! This I will remember forever!!! Greetings from Finland 😊

  • 21st Feb 2015
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • Finland
  • Male, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, We are so happy that you have a good time here at our hostel. We will also remember you. Our staff will also take you to hotpot when you come here next time. Best Regards Yangtze River Team

100%

Very good hostel and thanks for your hospitality!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So happy that you have a nice stay here. Hope to see you next time. Best Regards Yangtze River Team



View all Chongqing Hostels

Please give us your feedback