X
NOTE: 9 or more guests qualifies as a group booking, change the number of guests to return to normal search.
Enquire Now HostelBookers Logo Group of 15 or more?

Our sister site HostelBookers can create a tailor-made booking plan for your large travel group.

Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Reviews

Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing, China

Reviews & Ratings Explained

88%

Rating
724 Total Reviews
  • 93%Value For Money
  • 86%Security
  • 78%Location
  • 92%Staff
  • 88%Atmosphere
  • 93%Cleanliness
  • 87%Facilities

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months.

All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines »

  • Show:

91%

The staff very very helpful and excellent information about river cruises.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review on our hostel. Wish you have a nice Yangtze river cruise and also a excellent trip in China. Best Regards Henry

94%

Great atmosphere, very cosy. Great team as well, so nice!!

  • 28th Mar 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • France
  • Female, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Elise We are so happy that you have a great stay here. Hope you would come back the next time, and have a nice trip in China, too. Best Regards

100%

Great stay with very helpful staff.


71%

We stayed in the double bed private room ensuite. Good place, clean but the staff should improve the way to welcome and help their guests ... About 15 minutes walk to the metro station, not easy to find especially at night ( the way is scarry and very dark ). Nothing around at night if you want to eat. No taxi to move around at night from the place. Good place but will try another one next time if I go back Chongqing ...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. The way from the metro station is the fastest way to our hostel and it is also very safe at night, because many girls and local people would take this way, too. Thanks for your advice, we will improve our stall again and again. Hope you will come back the next time, and experience our welcome on you. Best Regards

71%

Very difficult to find and not in a great area. Staff were friendly enough. Rooms were very basic, but the food was pretty good.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are just under the newly-built orange bridge, and 5 minutes' walk to the Chaotianmen dock. We will improve ourselves and make the guests feel at home. Hope you will come back again the next time, and see the difference of the hostel.Wish you have a nice trip in China. Best Regards Henry

94%

The common room, with the view of the river and bridge as well as the possibility to order drinks, food made this hostel. The neighborhood was authentic with lots of street food nearby, and the architecture was a lot more interesting here than in the more gentrified parts of town just a few blocks away. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room, a double, could use a little maintenance (sealing the window, better shower drain), but overall we were pleased and would come back. Thank you!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks your review on our hostel and you highly comments on us. We are very happy that you have a great stay here. We will make you feel at home when you come back the next time. Wish you have a nice in China. Best Regards Henry

51%

Chongqing is a city where you are either going up or down. Unfortunately this hostel is at the bottom, hard to find and with nothing around it. There is no atmosphere in the hostel with everyone keeping to themselves. If you are on the 2nd floor you have to walk upstairs to the use the shower. For the number of people there should be more showers. A very forgettable place.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, So sorry for your unhappy experience here.The 2nd floor is 8-dorm and they have one common bathroom ourside,one toilet in each room so no one needs to go to the 4th floor to use another 4 bathrooms and 4 toilets,so normally it's enough for our Dorm guests.The time during your stay is Chinese New Year,not so many pepole coming out and most of staff were at home,not working in the hostel,it's the special time.BTW we feel so sorry for everything,hope everyhing goes well as usual.

91%

The best part was the staff. They obviously enjoy their job.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for the highly comment on our staff, and we are so happy that you have a great stay here. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Happy Chinese New Year. Best Wishes Henry

94%

Directions from the subway stop are accurate, but take you through a sketchy area-- but, don't worry! Hostel is located in a very nice old building with friendly staff (all of whom speak great English), a kitchen and bar, travel tips/tours available, and great rooms (one of the most comfortable beds I've ever slept in). Location is actually very convenient and facilities are very nice. Would stay here again!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We are so happy that you had a nice stay here, and stayed here for the Chinese Spring Festival. wish you could come back here next time and stay here in summer, which will be another great experience for you. Best Regards Henry

74%

Generally our stay was good, however due to a lot of building works the route to the hostel is not the safest especially at night. We orderd breakfast which was not badly priced however took a ridiculously long time and was cold when is did arrive. I waited 40 minutes for eggs on toast with no one else in the cafe!

  • 28th Jan 2014
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • All Female Group, 18-24
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. I'm so sorry about the breakfast, and it is our big mistake. I just told the staff and the chief about this, and we will take very serious about this. In the later days, we will improve ourselves, and make this never happen again. Wish you have a nice trip in China, and hope you will come back again. Henry

94%

The staff is awesome and very friendly! Bus line 503 directly drives to the central bus station and Ci Qi Kou. One of the best hostels we stayed in China :-) Only advice would be go for bigger lockers but the hostel is pretty save and on the bottom line you can lock your valueble things away by taking them out of your backpack...

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review and advice. We are so happy that you have a great stay here. For the lockers in the room, we will make some bigger ones to guarantee the safety of the guests in our hostel. You will see the difference when you come back here the next time. Wish you have a very nice trip in China. Henry

83%

Great little hostel with helpful staff and friendly atmosphere.

  • 20th Dec 2013
  • Novice Nomad
  • Anonymous
  • England
  • Female, 25-30
  • (1 review)

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks for your review. We will improve ourselves and the facilities in our hostel, and you will see the difference when you come back here the next time. Wish you have a nice trip in China.

89%

That's very clean hostel I've stayed. But At that time there is an big construction so the way from subway to the hostel is not convenience.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. I'm very sorry for the construction nearby, but it will be very convenient after the construction has been completed. Wish you could come back to our hostel again the next time. Best Regards

91%

Very nice and helpful staff. Best place if you want to go to Yangtze cruise.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review, and wich you have a nice trip in China. Henry

91%

Awesome here. Room are cool. Friendly and very helpful staff. Nice hostel.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Dear you, thanks for your awesome reply, we'd still keep our hospitality to anyone. Hope to see you again. Sandy

100%

All staffs were great and very helpful !!

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your view and looking fowad seeing you next time. Henry

86%

Nice hostel with bar, where you can sit and drink and eat and chill out after sightseing in this hard harbour city. The staff is helpful and book for you everything you need. Nice place to stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Thanks Dear, wish to see you again. Sandy

100%

Great location and the staff were very helpful. Most comfortable bed so far and loved hotpot night.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review. All the staff are so happy that you have a great stay here. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Henry

100%

Wonderfull stay, friendliest most helpful staff, great food and fantastic location. Lobby area is really comfy, loved the music in the background. They organised the Yangtze xruise and walked me to the boat and to my cabin, we even explored the boat together which was really nice as im travelling alone. Cruise on The Blue Whale was fab, amazing food and English guide, very hospitable, couldnt have done more to ensure a comfy stay.

Owner Comment (Hide)
We are so happy that you have a great stay here, and we miss you so much. Wish you have a fantastic trip in China. Welcome back some day in the future. Henry

94%

The hostel, especially the stuff, is really great! They offer good trips and they're always helpful and nice.

Owner Comment (Hide)
Hi, Thanks for your review, and we are so happy that you have a great time here in our hostel. Wish you have a nice trip in China. Henry

« first « Prev 1 2
(23 results)


View all Chongqing Hostels

Please give us your feedback