Hostelworld.com

Yangtze River International Youth Hostel

Prices
map
reviews
8.5
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
BOOK NOW
8.5
Fabulous 934 Total Reviews
  • Value For Money 9.2
  • Security 8.7
  • Location 7.6
  • Staff 9.3
  • Atmosphere 8.4
  • Cleanliness 8.4
  • Facilities 8.2
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel Located at Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port, Chongqing.
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel
China
Chongqing 400010 Dock 11, ChaoTian Men Port
85% 934
29.5596833 106.5882182
Yangtze River International Youth Hostel
    Rooms available

The rating percentage is calculated from customers who booked within the last 12 months. All ratings and reviews are based on the feedback and opinions of the customers who submitted them and do not express the opinions of Hostelworld.com. This way, you get an up-to-the-minute opinion of just how good a hostel really is.
Read our review guidelines

  • Show:
  • Sort By:
  • itelford
  • New Zealand, Couple, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
17th May 2016
10.0

Excellent hostel in good location

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
8th May 2016
8.0

Great, helpful, fun, and cheerful staff! Dorms a bit cramped but bunk curtains a nice touch. Beautiful architecture and nice Yangtze River views! Wifi almost always a problem. ;-( OK bar/restaurant but the rule against outside drinks is a tad exploitative, since there's little competition in the immediate vicinity, especially at night. Cleaning staff are great but should be instructed to use their "indoor voices" in the morning when people are still sleeping!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • England, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 9 reviews
29th Apr 2016
4.3

The hostel itself was in a really awkward location and the directions online weren't that helpful. The room was filthy and also very damp, from which I'm now suffering with a cold/flu. Really wouldn't recommend staying here, it's a shame because the staff were really helpful.

    • 4.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 4.0Facilities
    • 8.0Staff
    • 2.0Atmosphere
    • 2.0Cleanliness
6th Apr 2016
9.4

Had a relaxing time, the staff were very helpful in organising 3 Gorge Cruise and in advising on what to do and where to go in Chonqing

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review,hope you had a great time here!

  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 41+
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
27th Mar 2016
6.6

Position is convenient but it is located near a busy port so you have to weave your way through a crowd of workers to get there. Ok for an overnight stay but if you are looking to stay longer would look elsewhere,

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 10.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 4.0Staff
    • 4.0Atmosphere
    • 6.0Cleanliness
17th Mar 2016
8.9

Excellent hostel a bit out of the way to get to and Strange flies bit me in the night. BUT amazing stay the staff was the best I've ever experienced in China extremely helpful. I fell asleep on the main couch and woke up with a blanket around me. Now that is what you call hospitality!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 4.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • Australia, Male, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 7 reviews
5th Mar 2016
8.9

This is a great hostel. Quite a convenient location, staff are really nice and the cafe has really nice food. I stayed in one of the private rooms and the bed was quite comfortable. No complaints regarding the wifi, there were tours you could book there (although I didn't) - pretty good hostel all around!

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
View Property Reply

Thanks for your review, hope you had a great stay here ! And have a good journey !

  • Anonymous
  • Netherlands, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 3 reviews
28th Feb 2016
7.7

The rooms are a bit noisy due to the trains passing by, but it was manageable and they had earplugs. The lobby was quite nice and the Chongqing noodles are fantastic. Thank you!

    • 8.0Value For Money
    • 6.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 8.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Male Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
11th Feb 2016
9.7

It was a great stay and they were very helpful. It can be a little difficult to find because of its location along the lower road that runs at the level of the river. Nearby is a very active tourist area where the night tour/party boats launch from, and then restaurants and shops are situated nearby accordingly.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 10.0Security
    • 8.0Location
    • 10.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 10.0Atmosphere
    • 10.0Cleanliness
  • Anonymous
  • USA, All Female Group, 18-24
  • Novice Nomad
  • 4 reviews
22nd Jan 2016
8.0

The staff were very nice and welcoming to my friend and me. We stayed here for 4 days and participates in their Hot Pot Party which was pretty good. We met many other people who stayed in the hostel. Although the hotpot was a bit lacking in meat, it was quite delicious. Only 35RMB! Not the easiest place to spot and a bit of a walk to get to the Metro station due to the hill and the lively area, but if you ask the staff, they will tell you the best route. Also, this hostel is in a great location.

    • 10.0Value For Money
    • 8.0Security
    • 6.0Location
    • 6.0Facilities
    • 10.0Staff
    • 8.0Atmosphere
    • 8.0Cleanliness

Hostelworld Mobile Apps

Book on the go with the new Hostelworld mobile apps.

Search and book more than 33,000 properties in over 170 countries, from anywhere.

Newsletter Sign Up

Submitting your info

Thank you for signing up to our newsletter!

Sign up for our monthly Newsletter to get the best hostel deals and news sent straight your inbox. You can unsubscribe at any time.